Film Archive

Jahr

Sections (Film Archive)

Countries (Film Archive)

Media Name: b5e4fbaa-a3d0-4389-8a75-8a8ccea6252e.jpg

among us women

Unter uns Frauen
Sarah Noa Bozenhardt, Daniel Abate Tilahun
International Competition 2021
Documentary Film
Germany,
Ethiopia
2021
92 minutes
Amharic,
English
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sarah Noa Bozenhardt
Daniel Abate Tilahun
Sonja Kilbertus
Hiwot Admasu
Beza Hailu Lemma
Andrea Munoz
Alex Praet
Bernarda Cornejo Pinto
Anna-Marlene Bicking
Sarah Noa Bozenhardt
Ana María Ormaza

In rural Ethiopia the staff of a health centre are fighting maternal mortality. They tirelessly appeal to women to give birth in the clinic. But reservations are strong, and so are the practical obstacles. How are heavily pregnant women supposed to arrive in time when the ambulance comes hours later or not at all? Against medical advice, Hulu Ager decides to give birth at home, assisted by a traditional midwife.

With palpable familiarity, the film crew captures moments of intimate communion between Hulu Ager, the midwives and other women. On the margins of the central conflict, the many challenges they face in a patriarchal society emerge. The debates are most lively under the hood dryer at the hairdresser’s: She doesn’t enjoy sex because of her circumcision, the medical professional Welela reports. “Sometimes you have to prepare yourself for sex,” another customer advises. Sometimes it helps to get drunk. But the perky hairdresser is sure: Bad sex is grounds for divorce. The women share their desires and woes with each other, experience solidarity and gather courage for small and great acts of departure and resistance. Men are relegated to the role of extras, if at all.
Sarina Lacaf
Nominated for DEFA Sponsoring Prize, Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize, Prize of the Interreligious Jury, FIPRESCI Prize
#
Rural vs. Urban
Family Ties
Media Name: fa595ab8-2006-4c97-847c-07c8719a788c.jpg

Rift Finfinnee

Rift Finfinnee
Daniel Kötter
German Competition 2020
Documentary Film
Ethiopia,
Germany
2020
79 minutes
Amharic,
Oromo
subtitles: 
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Daniel Kötter
Meike Martens
Angelika Ramlow
Daniel Kötter
Daniel Kötter
Marcin Lenarczyk
Matthias Behrens
Getatchew Merkuria

Socio-geographic explorations on the periphery of Addis Ababa, run through by a variety of borders and rifts – between agrarian and urban spatial practices, between economic and linguistic floes, between perspective and dilemma. A polyphonic audiovisual narrative of people who are forced to experience the impetuous urbanisation of African societies the hard way, recorded as a case study that expands into a complex allegory.

Addis Ababa (Finfinnee in the language of the rural Oromo people) is a rapidly growing East African metropolis. “Rift Finfinnee” evolves from the concrete observation of main and side effects of urbanisation in four extremely different settlements, located within sight of each other on the eastern outskirts of the Ethiopian capital, to an expansive composition about the dynamics of an urban turbo modernisation. The Great Rift Valley currently still (!) constitutes a both natural and symbolic barrier to limit the further tentacle-like expansion of the megacity into agricultural territory – across this and other rifts. This interim report on the situation at the rifts probes the field of tension created by unstable pasts, unreliable futures and a contested present.
Ralph Eue
Nominated for DEFA Sponsoring Prize, Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize, VER.DI Prize for Solidarity, Humanity and Fairness
#
Zustand der Welt
Rural vs. Urban
Umverteilen und Mitreden
Natur in Bearbeitung
Download Film Details PDF

Filmarchiv

Jahr

Sections (Film Archive)

Countries (Film Archive)

Media Name: b5e4fbaa-a3d0-4389-8a75-8a8ccea6252e.jpg

among us women

Unter uns Frauen
Sarah Noa Bozenhardt, Daniel Abate Tilahun
Internationaler Wettbewerb 2021
Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland,
Äthiopien
2021
92 Minuten
Amharisch,
Englisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sarah Noa Bozenhardt
Daniel Abate Tilahun
Sonja Kilbertus
Hiwot Admasu
Beza Hailu Lemma
Andrea Munoz
Alex Praet
Bernarda Cornejo Pinto
Anna-Marlene Bicking
Sarah Noa Bozenhardt
Ana María Ormaza

Im ländlichen Äthiopien kämpft das Personal eines Gesundheitszentrums gegen die Müttersterblichkeit an. Unermüdlich fordert es Frauen dazu auf, in der Klinik zu entbinden. Doch die Vorbehalte sind groß, ebenso wie die praktischen Hürden. Wie sollen Hochschwangere rechtzeitig eintreffen, wenn der Krankenwagen erst nach Stunden oder überhaupt nicht kommt? Entgegen dem medizinischen Rat entscheidet sich Hulu Ager, ihr Kind zu Hause zur Welt zur bringen, begleitet von einer traditionellen Hebamme.

Mit spürbarer Vertrautheit fängt das Filmteam Momente intimer Gemeinschaft zwischen Hulu Ager, den Geburtshelferinnen und anderen Frauen ein. An den Rändern des zentralen Konflikts werden die vielen Herausforderungen sichtbar, die sie in der patriarchal geprägten Gesellschaft zu bewältigen haben. Im Frisiersalon unter der Dampfhaube sind die Debatten am lebhaftesten: Beim Sex empfinde sie aufgrund ihrer Beschneidung keinerlei Freude, berichtet die medizinische Fachkraft Welela. „Du musst dich nur vorbereiten“, rät ihr eine andere Kundin. Manchmal helfe es, sich zu betrinken. Für die kecke Friseurin jedoch steht vielmehr fest: Schlechter Sex ist ein Scheidungsgrund. Untereinander teilen die Frauen ihre Wünsche und Nöte, erfahren Solidarität und sammeln Mut für kleine wie große Akte des Aufbruchs und des Widerstands. Männer haben hier allenfalls als Statisten Platz.
Sarina Lacaf
Nominiert für: DEFA Förderpreis, Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts, Preis der Interreligiösen Jury, FIPRESCI Preis
#
Ländlich vs. urban
Familienbande
Media Name: fa595ab8-2006-4c97-847c-07c8719a788c.jpg

Rift Finfinnee

Rift Finfinnee
Daniel Kötter
Deutscher Wettbewerb 2020
Dokumentarfilm
Äthiopien,
Deutschland
2020
79 Minuten
Amharisch,
Oromo
Untertitel: 
Deutsch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Daniel Kötter
Meike Martens
Angelika Ramlow
Daniel Kötter
Daniel Kötter
Marcin Lenarczyk
Matthias Behrens
Getatchew Merkuria

Soziogeografische Erkundungen in der Peripherie von Addis Abeba: In vielfacher Weise verlaufen dort Grenzen und Bruchlinien – zwischen agrarischen und urbanen Raumpraktiken, zwischen ökonomischen und linguistischen Schollen, zwischen Perspektive und Dilemma. Eine vielstimmige audiovisuelle Erzählung von Menschen, die die stürmische Urbanisierung afrikanischer Gesellschaften ungefragt am eigenen Leib erfahren müssen, aufgezeichnet als Fallstudie, die sich zur komplexen Allegorie weitet.

Addis Abeba (in der Sprache der bäuerlichen Oromo-Bevölkerung: Finfinnee) ist eine ungestüm wachsende ostafrikanische Metropole. Aus der konkreten Beobachtung von Haupt- und Nebeneffekten der Verstädterung in vier extrem unterschiedlichen, obzwar in Sichtweite voneinander liegenden Siedlungskomplexen im östlichen Randgebiet der äthiopischen Hauptstadt entwickelt sich „Rift Finfinnee“ zu einer weit ausgreifenden Komposition über die Dynamiken einer urbanen Turbomodernisierung. Der Große Afrikanische Grabenbruch begrenzt derzeit noch (!) als ebenso natürliche wie symbolische Barriere die weitere tentakelhafte Ausbreitung der Megacity in landwirtschaftliches Terrain – über diesen und andere Rifts hinweg. Der Zwischenbefund zur Lage an den Verwerfungen sondiert das Spannungsfeld aus instabilen Vergangenheiten, unzuverlässigen Zukünften und einer umkämpften Gegenwart.
Ralph Eue
Nominiert für: DEFA Förderpreis, Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts, VER.DI Preis für Solidarität, Menschlichkeit und Fairness
#
Zustand der Welt
Rural vs. Urban
Umverteilen und Mitreden
Natur in Bearbeitung
Download Film Details PDF