Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Media Name: d12207ea-e7fd-46f0-ab0d-8589be2ebd36.jpg

To the Moon

To the Moon
Tadhg O’Sullivan
Camera Lucida – Out of Competition 2020
Documentary Film
Ireland
2020
76 minutes
Czech,
German,
English,
Estonian,
Persian (Farsi),
French,
Irish,
Italian,
Japanese,
Norwegian,
Portuguese (Brazil),
Romanian,
Russian,
Albanian,
Swedish,
Chinese
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Tadhg O’Sullivan
Clare Stronge
Heino Deckert
Clare Stronge
Sara Ross-Samko
Amanda Feery
Feargal Ward
Michael Walsh
Apal Singh
Margaret Salmon
Peter Rubi
Sam Hamilton
Ian Powell
Ben Mullen
Clare Stronge
Jimmy Gimferrer
Lorenzo Gattorna
Joshua Bonnetta
Scott Barley
Tadhg O’Sullivan
Linda Buckley

How come the moon is able to pour such equally familiar and mysterious light on the earth it shines on? And why have the countless lunar addicts among international filmmakers been so willingly seduced by this magic power that they set important scenes of their works in the somnambulistic mood between a deeply decadent blood moon and the fresh innocence of the new moon? “To the Moon” is an entrancing ode to one of cinema’s central motifs.

Director Tadhg O’Sullivan, too, surrendered like a hypnotized man to the strange light of the moon and its cinematic supercharge. Using 130 sequences from international film history and enchanting 16mm footage shot exclusively for this project he weaves an immersive meta-narrative in which precisely placed film dialogues, literary “moon passages” and an ingeniously eclectic soundtrack also do their part. Is this where you find your own moon films, with which you were hopelessly struck at a time? Did Tadhg O’Sullivan give due space to “Black Moon” (no), “Suspiria” (no) or “Carnival of Souls” (yes)? Many may ask this. But profound consolation awaits the disappointed ones: Every missing film is outweighed by three others that are so amazing that the loss is easily got over with.
Ralph Eue
#
Poetry and Crossing Boundaries
Download Film Details PDF
Animation Perspectives 2020
Media Name: 0f4920cb-63c3-446a-991e-ac69bfba4678.jpg
Venetian Snares: Szamár Madár David OReilly
A computer animated music clip to dark breakcore beats celebrates effects and mysticism. But suddenly the abrasions of a vulnerable digital DNA are revealed.
Media Name: 0f4920cb-63c3-446a-991e-ac69bfba4678.jpg

Venetian Snares: Szamár Madár

Venetian Snares: Szamár Madár
David OReilly
Animation Perspectives 2020
Animated Film
Ireland
2005
4 minutes
without dialogue
subtitles: 
None

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

David OReilly
David OReilly
David OReilly
David OReilly

Celtic cult sites communicate effectively with the cosmos, the terrestrial darkness is churned by energy fields and sunrays. Even in one of his earliest works – a video clip for breakcore pioneer Venetian Snares – David OReilly dissects the myth of a homogenous CGI world, revealing the abrasions of a vulnerable digital DNA.

André Eckardt
#
Poetry and Crossing Boundaries

Filmarchiv

Sections (Film Archive)

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Media Name: d12207ea-e7fd-46f0-ab0d-8589be2ebd36.jpg

To the Moon

To the Moon
Tadhg O’Sullivan
Camera Lucida – Außer Konkurrenz 2020
Dokumentarfilm
Irland
2020
76 Minuten
Tschechisch,
Deutsch,
Englisch,
Estnisch,
Persisch (Farsi),
Französisch,
Irisch,
Italienisch,
Japanisch,
Norwegisch,
Portugiesisch (Brasilien),
Rumänisch,
Russisch,
Albanisch,
Schwedisch,
Chinesisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Tadhg O’Sullivan
Clare Stronge
Heino Deckert
Sara Ross-Samko
Amanda Feery
Feargal Ward
Michael Walsh
Apal Singh
Margaret Salmon
Peter Rubi
Sam Hamilton
Ian Powell
Ben Mullen
Jimmy Gimferrer
Lorenzo Gattorna
Joshua Bonnetta
Scott Barley
Tadhg O’Sullivan
Linda Buckley

Woher kommt es, dass der Mond die von ihm beschienene Erde in solch ein gleichermaßen vertrautes wie rätselhaftes Licht zu tauchen vermag? Und wieso haben sich unzählige Mondsüchtige des internationalen Films von dieser magischen Kraft so willig verführen lassen, dass sie wichtige Szenen ihrer Werke in der somnambulen Stimmung zwischen zutiefst dekadentem Blutmond und der frischen Unschuld des Neumonds spielen ließen? „To the Moon“ ist die hinreißende Ode an ein Zentralmotiv des Kinos.

Wie hypnotisiert überließ sich auch Regisseur Tadhg O’Sullivan dem seltsamen Mondlicht und seiner zusätzlichen Aufladung durch das Kino. Aus 130 Sequenzen der internationalen Filmgeschichte sowie berückenden, exklusiv für dieses Vorhaben gedrehten 16mm-Aufnahmen webte er eine immersive Metaerzählung, zu der präzise gesetzte Filmdialoge, literarische „Mondpassagen“ und ein virtuos eklektischer Soundtrack das ihre beitragen. Sind hier die eigenen Mondfilme, in die man irgendwann einmal hoffnungslos verliebt war, zu finden? Haben vielleicht „Black Moon“ (nein), „Suspiria“ (nein) oder „Carnival of Souls“ (ja) bei Tadhg O’Sullivan einen angemessenen Platz bekommen? Viele mögen so fragen. Doch auf die Enttäuschten wartet tiefer Trost: Jeder vermisste Film wird von drei anderen aufgewogen, die einen so verblüffen, dass sich der Verlust leicht verschmerzen lässt.
Ralph Eue
#
Poesie und Grenzgänge
Download Film Details PDF
Animation Perspectives 2020
Media Name: 0f4920cb-63c3-446a-991e-ac69bfba4678.jpg
Venetian Snares: Szamár Madár David OReilly
Ein computeranimierter Musikclip zu dunklen Breakcore-Beats zelebriert Effekt und Mystik. Doch plötzlich offenbaren sich die Schürfwunden einer verletzlichen digitalen DNA.
Media Name: 0f4920cb-63c3-446a-991e-ac69bfba4678.jpg

Venetian Snares: Szamár Madár

Venetian Snares: Szamár Madár
David OReilly
Animation Perspectives 2020
Animationsfilm
Irland
2005
4 Minuten
ohne Dialog
Untertitel: 
Keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

David OReilly
David OReilly
David OReilly

Keltische Kultstätten kommunizieren effektvoll mit dem Kosmos, das irdische Dunkel wird von Energiefeldern und Sonnenstrahlen aufgewühlt. Schon in einer seiner frühesten Arbeiten – einem Clip für den Breakcore-Pionier Venetian Snares – zersetzt David OReilly den Mythos einer homogenen CGI-Welt und offenbart die Schürfwunden einer verletzlichen digitalen DNA.

André Eckardt
#
Poesie und Grenzgänge