Film Archive

Jahr

Sections (Film Archive)

Countries (Film Archive)

Media Name: 5058e99c-ea45-478e-9a23-1b8b8178be76.png

Lo que queda en el camino

Lo que queda en el camino
Jakob Krese, Danilo do Carmo
Competition for the Audience Award 2021
Documentary Film
Brazil,
Germany,
Mexico
2021
93 minutes
Spanish
subtitles: 
German Subtitles for deaf and hard-of-hearing, English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jakob Krese
Danilo do Carmo
Annika Mayer
Bruna Epiphanio
Arne Büttner
Danilo do Carmo
Sofia A. Machado

In 2018, thousands of people from Latin America set out together, fleeing from a lack of perspective, poverty and violence to the U.S. Among them Lilian, a single mother from Guatemala, who found the courage to leave her violent husband. The caravan was her only chance to achieve this act of strength. Nevertheless: 4,000 kilometres with four small children, walking, hitchhiking and travelling north on “La Bestia”, the freight train, are still extremely perilous.

The film contrasts the media coverage with a sensitive view that deliberately focuses on one family. It registers inconceivable hardships, but also great helpfulness, Lilian’s power of endurance and her ability to make the exertions seem like an adventure trip for her children – at least occasionally. Despite this lightness, though, the struggle remains as present as the fact that the US is simultaneously building a wall to prevent anyone from crossing the border. When Lilian and her children reach the border after weeks of fear, she breaks down. Suddenly the question arises whether her goal is really this rich country. Isn’t it rather about finally standing up to male dominance and traditional gender roles? It’s very obvious that one thing remained on Lilian’s arduous way: Fear has yielded to a new self-confidence.
Luc-Carolin Ziemann
Nominated for DEFA Sponsoring Prize, Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize, Leipziger Ring
#
Family Ties
Migration
Media Name: bea54262-7004-4494-9234-8014bb262443.jpg

The Still Side

El lado quieto
Miko Revereza, Carolina Fusilier
Camera Lucida – Out of Competition 2021
Documentary Film
Philippines,
South Korea,
Argentina,
Mexico
2021
70 minutes
Spanish,
English
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Miko Revereza
Carolina Fusilier
Miko Revereza
Carolina Fusilier
Miko Revereza
Miko Revereza
Miko Revereza
Miko Revereza
Miko Revereza
Carolina Fusilier
Carolina Fusilier
Carolina Fusilier
Carolina Fusilier
Carolina Fusilier
Mateo Fusilier

The Mexican island of Capaluco was once home to a flourishing holiday resort. Now it is deserted. The tides are chipping away at the ruins of the amusement park and hotel complex. Sensory explorations of the terrain meet tales of a mythical sea monster from the Philippines that ended up here. Beguiling science fiction in the mirror of post-humanist theory.

“Welcome to Capaluco, the only all-inclusive island in the world! A place where fun is guaranteed for the whole family,” echoes from the loudspeakers. Gaudy dolphin sculptures stare into space. A crumbling Nestlé emblem reminds us of the glory days of an out-of-date civilization. Miko Revereza and Carolina Fusilier stage their location as an in-between place where the past reverberates and the future pushes its way in. In the meticulous observation of formations and textures, architecture and nature begin to converge. Is that still the droning of a radio mast or is it the ocean? The two directors speculate from offscreen who will be next to make use of the relics of the human empire in the relay race of the species.
Sarina Lacaf
#
Poetry and Crossing Boundaries
Intervening Nature

Filmarchiv

Jahr

Sections (Film Archive)

Land (Film Archive)

Media Name: 5058e99c-ea45-478e-9a23-1b8b8178be76.png

Lo que queda en el camino

Lo que queda en el camino
Jakob Krese, Danilo do Carmo
Wettbewerb um den Publikumspreis 2021
Dokumentarfilm
Brasilien,
Deutschland,
Mexiko
2021
93 Minuten
Spanisch
Untertitel: 
deutsche Untertitel für Menschen mit eingeschränkter Hörfähigkeit, Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jakob Krese
Danilo do Carmo
Annika Mayer
Bruna Epiphanio
Arne Büttner
Danilo do Carmo
Sofia A. Machado

2018 machten sich Tausende Menschen aus Lateinamerika auf den Weg. Gemeinsam flohen sie vor Perspektivlosigkeit, Armut und Gewalt Richtung USA. Auch die alleinerziehende Mutter Lilian aus Guatemala wagte es, ihren gewalttätigen Ehemann zu verlassen. Die Karawane war ihre einzige Chance, den Kraftakt zu schaffen. Dennoch: 4.000 Kilometer mit vier kleinen Kindern zu Fuß, per Anhalter und auf „La Bestia“, dem Güterzug gen Norden, bleiben lebensgefährlich.

Der Film setzt der medialen Berichterstattung einen sensiblen Blick entgegen, der sich ganz bewusst auf eine Familie konzentriert. Er registriert unfassbare Härten, aber auch große Hilfsbereitschaft, Lilians Durchhaltevermögen und ihre Fähigkeit, die Strapazen für ihre Kinder – zumindest manchmal – wie eine Abenteuerreise wirken zu lassen. Doch trotz aller Leichtigkeit bleibt die Anstrengung genauso präsent wie die Tatsache, dass die USA zeitgleich eine Mauer errichten, die jeden Grenzübertritt verhindern soll. Als Lilian und ihre Kinder nach Wochen der Angst an der Grenze ankommen, bricht sie zusammen. Plötzlich stellt sich die Frage, ob ihr Ziel wirklich dieses reiche Land ist. Geht es nicht vielmehr darum, sich endlich gegen männliche Dominanz und traditionelle Geschlechterrollen zu behaupten? Ganz offensichtlich kam Lilian auf dem beschwerlichen Weg etwas abhanden: Die Angst ist einem neuen Selbstbewusstsein gewichen.
Luc-Carolin Ziemann
Ausgezeichnet mit: Lobende Erwähnung (im Rahmen des DEFA-Förderpreis)
#
Familienbande
Flucht
Media Name: bea54262-7004-4494-9234-8014bb262443.jpg

The Still Side

El lado quieto
Miko Revereza, Carolina Fusilier
Camera Lucida – Außer Konkurrenz 2021
Dokumentarfilm
Philippinen,
Südkorea,
Argentinien,
Mexiko
2021
70 Minuten
Spanisch,
Englisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Miko Revereza
Carolina Fusilier
Miko Revereza
Carolina Fusilier
Miko Revereza
Miko Revereza
Miko Revereza
Miko Revereza
Miko Revereza
Carolina Fusilier
Carolina Fusilier
Carolina Fusilier
Carolina Fusilier
Carolina Fusilier
Mateo Fusilier

Die mexikanische Insel Capaluco beherbergte einst ein florierendes Ferienressort. Nun ist sie menschenleer. An den Ruinen von Freizeitpark und Hotelanlage kratzen die Gezeiten. Sensorische Erkundungen des Terrains treffen auf Erzählungen von einem mythischen Seeungeheuer, das es von den Philippinen ans mexikanische Festland verschlagen hat. Betörende Science-Fiction im Spiegel posthumanistischer Theorie.

„Willkommen auf Capaluco, der einzigen All-Inclusive-Insel der Welt! Ein Ort, an dem Spaß für die ganze Familie garantiert ist“, hallt es aus den Lautsprechern. Leuchtend bunte Delfin-Skulpturen starren ins Leere. Ein bröckelndes Nestlé-Emblem erinnert an die Sternstunden einer überlebten Zivilisation. Miko Revereza und Carolina Fusilier gestalten ihren Schauplatz als Zwischenraum, in dem die Vergangenheit nachhallt und die Zukunft sich ihren Weg bahnt. In der akribischen Betrachtung von Formationen und Texturen beginnen sich Architektur und Natur einander anzugleichen. Rauscht da noch ein Funkmast oder ist das der Ozean? Im Off spekuliert das Regieduo darüber, wer im Staffellauf der Spezies als nächstes Gebrauch machen wird von den Reliquien des menschlichen Imperiums.
Sarina Lacaf
#
Poesie und Grenzgänge
Natur in Bearbeitung