Film Archive

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Media Name: 1baa59f8-b351-4f7c-ab5e-429c951253b3.jpg

Father

Ye ye he fu qin
Wei Deng
International Competition 2021
Documentary Film
China
2020
97 minutes
Chinese
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Wei Deng
Wei Deng
Wei Deng
Wei Deng

“After I die, show your film at my funeral!” Zuogui, the director’s grandfather, is 86 years old and has been blind since childhood. Becoming a fortune teller was a way out of poverty for him. People are still coming to him for advice, including his son Donggu, a developer: “Dad, how is my fortune next year?” In his portrait of generations about his father and grandfather, Wei Deng depicts tradition and change, violence and alienation in Chinese society.

Pale greys and dim lights create an atmosphere that seems to correspond to the dark memories of famine, dead siblings and the violently enforced one-child policy. The camera stays close to the grandfather as he feels his way along the walls of his flat. Orienting himself in his own environment has become harder since Donggu had the old house torn down and a new one built. Zuogui has little use for the modern China that claims to stand for economic boom and prosperity. Only when another of his son’s developments, which the fortune teller had warned against, threatens to fail does affection between the two seem possible again.
Jan-Philipp Kohlmann
Nominated for Prize of the Interreligious Jury, FIPRESCI Prize
#
Family Ties
Media Name: e95bb9ce-1b64-4696-95f0-2170d010d0a0.jpg

Pink Mao

Pink Mao
Tang Han
German Competition Short Film 2021
Documentary Film
Germany,
China
2020
22 minutes
Chinese
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Tang Han
Tang Han
Tang Han
Tang Han
Tang Han

Why do we see certain colours even when they aren’t there? Chinese director Tang Han meticulously analyses the 100 Yuan bill, which carries a portrait of Mao Zedong, and finds that – despite official representations and general perception – the note is pink rather than red. In a serious tone and colourful, merry images she also casually upsets any number of other entrenched notions about digitalization, globalization, capitalism and gender.

Borjana Gaković
#
Witty
State of the World
Media Name: af1cdef1-23de-43db-8972-310651bcf9e2.jpg

Step Into the River

Dans la rivière
Weijia Ma
Competition for the Audience Award Short Film 2020
Animated Film
China,
France
2020
15 minutes
Chinese
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Weijia Ma
Damien Megherbi
Justin Pechberty
Marion Chopin
Didier Falk
Juanjuan Chen
Ziteng Qi
Kun Yu
Thilbault Dumoulin
Mathilde Poigniez
Jihua Zhu
Mengshi Fang
Joseph Roth
Emilie Pigeard
Le Van Ho
Yann Song
Alix Boiron Albrespy
Pablo Pico

Lu and Wei live in a village in rural China. The young girls often go to the nearby river to play or fish with their fathers. The river has a special meaning for them because China’s one-child policy has led to some parents drowning their newborn daughters there. A poetic and touching animation in which Weijia Ma explores the consequences of this tragic chapter in the lives of many Chinese families.

Lina Dinkla
Nominated for mephisto 97.6 Audience Award
#
Umverteilen und Mitreden
Family Ties
Small Worlds, Big People
Poesie und Grenzgänge
Rural vs. Urban
Download Film Details PDF

Filmarchiv

Jahr

Land (Film Archive)

Internationaler Wettbewerb 2021
Media Name: 1baa59f8-b351-4f7c-ab5e-429c951253b3.jpg
Father Wei Deng
Großvater Wahrsager, Vater Bauunternehmer, Sohn Filmemacher: Ein Generationenporträt über Tradition und Veränderung, Gewalt und Entfremdung in der chinesischen Gesellschaft.
Media Name: 1baa59f8-b351-4f7c-ab5e-429c951253b3.jpg

Father

Ye ye he fu qin
Wei Deng
Internationaler Wettbewerb 2021
Dokumentarfilm
China
2020
97 Minuten
Chinesisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Wei Deng
Wei Deng
Wei Deng
Wei Deng

„Wenn ich tot bin, zeig deinen Film auf meiner Beerdigung!“ Zuogui, Großvater des Regisseurs, ist 86 und seit Kindheitstagen blind. Der Beruf des Wahrsagers war für ihn ein Ausweg aus der Armut. Noch immer bitten ihn Menschen um Auskunft, auch sein Sohn Donggu, ein Bauunternehmer: „Papa, wie ist mein Schicksal im nächsten Jahr?“ In seinem Generationenporträt über Vater und Großvater erzählt Wei Deng von Tradition und Veränderung, Gewalt und Entfremdung in der chinesischen Gesellschaft.

Blasse Grautöne und schwache Lichtquellen schaffen eine Atmosphäre, die den düsteren Erinnerungen an Hungersnöte, verstorbene Geschwister und die gewaltsam durchgesetzte Ein-Kind-Politik zu entsprechen scheint. Nah bleibt die Kamera am Großvater, wenn er sich an der Fassade seiner Wohnung entlangtastet. Die Orientierung in der eigenen Umgebung ist schwieriger geworden, seit Donggu das alte Haus abreißen und ein neues errichten ließ. Mit dem modernen China, das für Wirtschaftsboom und Prosperität stehen will, kann Zuogui wenig anfangen. Erst als ein weiteres Bauprojekt seines Sohns zu scheitern droht, vor dem der Wahrsager gewarnt hatte, scheint wieder Zuneigung zwischen beiden möglich.
Jan-Philipp Kohlmann
Nominiert für: FIPRESCI Preis, Preis der Interreligiösen Jury
Ausgezeichnet mit: Goldene Taube (Internationaler Wettbewerb)
#
Familienbande
Media Name: e95bb9ce-1b64-4696-95f0-2170d010d0a0.jpg

Pink Mao

Pink Mao
Tang Han
Deutscher Wettbewerb Kurzfilm 2021
Dokumentarfilm
China,
Deutschland
2020
22 Minuten
Chinesisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Tang Han
Tang Han
Tang Han
Tang Han
Tang Han

Warum sehen wir bestimmte Farben, selbst wenn sie nicht da sind? Die chinesische Regisseurin Tang Han analysiert akribisch die 100-Yuan-Banknote mit einem Porträt Mao Zedongs und stellt fest, dass der Geldschein – offizieller Darstellung und verbreiteter Wahrnehmung zum Trotz – wohl eher pink als rot ist. Mit ernster Stimme und in bunten, vergnügten Bildern erschüttert sie ganz nebenbei auch jede Menge anderer festgefahrener Vorstellungen um Digitalisierung, Globalisierung, Kapitalismus und Gender.

Borjana Gaković
Ausgezeichnet mit: Silberne Taube (Deutscher Wettbewerb Kurzfilm)
#
Zustand der Welt
Gewitzt
Media Name: af1cdef1-23de-43db-8972-310651bcf9e2.jpg

Step Into the River

Dans la rivière
Weijia Ma
Wettbewerb um den Publikumspreis Kurzfilm 2020
Animationsfilm
China,
Frankreich
2020
15 Minuten
Chinesisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Weijia Ma
Damien Megherbi
Justin Pechberty
Marion Chopin
Didier Falk
Juanjuan Chen
Ziteng Qi
Kun Yu
Thilbault Dumoulin
Mathilde Poigniez
Jihua Zhu
Mengshi Fang
Joseph Roth
Emilie Pigeard
Le Van Ho
Yann Song
Alix Boiron Albrespy
Pablo Pico

Lu und Wei leben in einem Dorf im ländlichen China. Die jungen Mädchen gehen oft am nahe gelegenen Fluss spielen oder fahren mit ihren Vätern zum Fischen hinaus. Der Fluss hat für die beiden eine besondere Bedeutung, denn die Einkindpolitik Chinas führte dazu, dass einige Eltern hier ihre neugeborenen Töchter ertränkten. Poetisch berührend animiert, erzählt Weijia Ma von den Folgen dieses tragischen Kapitels im Leben vieler chinesischer Familien.

Lina Dinkla
Nominiert für: mephisto 97.6-Publikumspreis
#
Umverteilen und Mitreden
Familienbande
Small Worlds, Big People
Poesie und Grenzgänge
Rural vs. Urban
Download Film Details PDF