Film Archive

Countries (Film Archive)

Film Unlimited 2013
A Chairy Tale Normen McLaren, Claude Jutra

A wooden chair rejects a man who wants to sit down on it and starts to move with a will of its own. After the first consternation, the man’s ambition is kindled and the two begin a bizarre dance which ends in

1957

A Chairy Tale

Animadoc
Canada
1957
10 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Normen McLaren, Claude Jutra
Ravi Shankar, Chatur Lal, Maurice Blackburn
Evelyn Lambart
A wooden chair rejects a man who wants to sit down on it and starts to move with a will of its own. After the first consternation, the man’s ambition is kindled and the two begin a bizarre dance which ends in mutual consent.
“A Chairy Tale” developed the pixilation technique with which McLaren had already experimented in his surprise hit “Neighbours” further. He created alternative versions of the text editions that were also published by the NFB for this extraordinary dance film. The music was the contribution of a then largely unknown Indian musician: Ravi Shankar.

---Annegret Richter
International Competition Animated Film (until 2014) 2013
A Girl Named Elastika Guillaume Blanchet

Elastika is not like any other girl, because she is made of elastics. And because her universe is made of cork. Her journey is also one of a kind, as she jumps from one building to another, crosses an ocean, or travels to space by holding on to a firework rocket.

A Girl Named Elastika

Animated Film
Canada
2012
3 minutes
subtitles: 
French

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet
Bamprod
Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet, Minh Tran
Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet
François Bélanger, Pierre-Hugues Rondot
Elastika is not like any other girl, because she is made of elastics. And because her universe is made of cork. Her journey is also one of a kind, as she jumps from one building to another, crosses an ocean, or travels to space by holding on to a firework rocket.
Cross Media Screening 2013
A Journal of Insomnia

The world of insomnia as an interactive self-experience. Personal stories and staged encounters form a psychological profile of Western society. Intimate, but also disturbing.

A Journal of Insomnia

Documentary Film
Canada
2013
45 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Hugues Sweeney
What is it, what keeps us up at night? The interactive documentary looks into this question inviting users to immerse in the universe of insomnia – a phenomenon that is linked to stress and anxiety and affects one in three people in our contemporary society. Moving beyond the narrative boundaries of the documentary form, “A Journal of Insomnia” collects personal stories of insomnia via video, text and drawings and creates a collaborative experience of affected people from across the world. The revealing testimony of four insomniacs in particular offers an intimate experience of a distressing condition that is usually experienced in solitude.

A Sea Turtle Story

Animated Film
Canada
2012
8 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Silvia Basmajian, National Film Board of Canada
Kathy Schultz
Zach Kellum & Kurt Firla
Andrew Sneyd
Marcus Matyas
Kathy Shultz
Alex Bullock
A little sea turtle is born amidst dangers lurking everywhere. The film recounts the adventures the turtle must survive in its life.

A Sister’s Song

Documentary Film
Canada,
Israel
2018
91 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Danae Elon, Paul Cadieux
Danae Elon
Peter Venne
Danae Elon, Itamar Mendes Flohr
Vincent Guignard, Alexandre Leblanc
Danae Elon
Benoît Dame
Marina and Tatiana moved from Russia to Israel with their family as children. Being immigrants, their arrival in the new country wasn’t easy. This back story resonates in their search for models and identity. The narrative focuses on Marina. As an adolescent her younger sister Tatiana followed her spiritual father to a strict Orthodox convent in Greece. That was twenty years ago. They last saw each other four years ago. Since then, Marina has more and more gained the impression that her sister is unhappy there, and she wants to get her back. But is she responsible for Tatiana’s happiness? How can you understand a close person’s decision that’s in conflict with your own position?

The Canada-based award-winning Israeli director and cinematographer Danae Elon returns once more to her home country for this film. Discretely and yet very much present, she watches the two sisters’ encounter, included only occasionally – but almost like an accomplice – in the protagonists’ conversation. Her tale of the sisters Marina and Tatiana is dramaturgically outstanding and innovative. “A Sister’s Song” – a film about love and loss and the art of following one’s inner voice.

Annina Wettstein
Next Masters Wettbewerb 2015
A Summer Love Jean-François Lesage

Glaring neon lights, pounding Techno rhythms, lying in the grass, talking and dancing … the midsummer night’s dream of a group of adolescents, a sensuous feast.

A Summer Love

Documentary Film
Canada
2015
63 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean-François Lesage
Jean-François Lesage
Gold Zebra
Jean-François Lesage, Marianne Ploska
Mathieu Bouchard-Malo, Ariane Pétel-Despots
Jean-François Lesage
Bruno Bélanger, Alexis Pilon-Gladu, Aude Renaud-Lorrain
Bright neon colours are reflected in the faces of young people in a nocturnal park. The rhythms of electronic music can be heard from a distance. In the darkness big trees can be discerned whose branches grow high into the sky and which stand there as if they were guarding the young people lying in the grass. After a while they dance... and talk... a lot. Sometimes you feel like you’re in one of those French black and white films from the 1960s where people also talk incessantly. French is also spoken in this work by the Canadian director Jean-François Lesage – the main subjects are nothingness, and love. We hear a young man’s poetic off screen comment: “Love exists anyway.” The digital generation obviously has a lot to think and talk about concerning relationships and romantic dramas. The neon lights show them the way through a nocturnal nature, into the uncertain future of adulthood. Watching this is a sensuous experience.

Zaza Rusadze
International Programme 2018
A Transplant François Méthé

Three people are waiting for an organ donation. In delicate but nonetheless explicit images, “A Transplant” documents the miracle of the renewal of a waning life.

A Transplant

Documentary Film
Canada
2018
69 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marie-Claude Morazain
François Méthé
Joseph Marchand
Philippe St-Gelais
Sébastien Goyette
François Méthé
Cyril Bourseault
In life’s holding pattern: Shannon, a young woman, three-year-old Nolan and five-times grandmother Suzanne all need an organ donation. A race against the clock and against death, which approaches rapidly and relentlessly while they slowly move up the waiting list step by step. For patients and relatives, this time of waiting is an ever-changing mixture of the fear of loss and the hope for a future. From this existential state of insecurity, worry and hope, “A Transplant” takes us in delicate but explicit images into the operating room and into the body that is being renewed by a team of doctors and helpers – practiced and level-headed, but also aware of the risks and the responsibility weighing down every movement. A film about the, if you will, uniqueness of life. And about the miracle that occasionally and in dire need it can even escape this uniqueness.

Lukas Stern

After the Storm

(none)
Canada
2015
480 minutes
subtitles: 
(none)

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Heather Grieve, Helios Design Labs
Dan Sundy
Dear future disaster survivor,

This is the story of how your city is completely devastated and your world perishes without you.

On 26 April, 2011, the city of Tuscaloosa, Alabama, was devastated by a tornado. The result: 4,700 homes damaged, 10,000 made homeless, thousands injured. This web documentary in letter form offers not only general information about natural disasters. Its simple images, delicately drawn charts and the director’s voice over also create a very personal and emotional access to the subject.
Strictly Animated 2018
Afterlife Ishu Patel

After life has ended, humans enter the sphere of eternity – memories mingle with the unpredictable. Other people, animals and mythical creatures appear.

Afterlife

Animated Film
Canada
1979
8 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Derek Lamb
Ishu Patel
Herbie Mann
Ishu Patel
After life has ended, humans enter the sphere of eternity – memories mingle with the unpredictable. Other people, animals and mythical creatures appear and merge into a unified whole. Ishu Patel depicts the metamorphoses of this transcendental space in brilliantly shimmering clay images, endowing the afterlife with a beauty of its own.

Duscha Kistler
International Programme 2017
An Echoing Memory of a Tongue Arash Akhgari

In his films the painter, draftsman and animation filmmaker Arash Akhgari keeps returning to a radical inner perspective.

An Echoing Memory of a Tongue

Animated Film
Canada
2017
2 minutes
subtitles: 
VO_English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Arash Akhgari (Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema)
Arash Akhgari
Ashkan Behzadi
Arash Akhgari
Arash Akhgari
Arash Akhgari
In his films the painter, draftsman and animation filmmaker Arash Akhgari keeps returning to a radical inner perspective, for example in the “insomniac thoughts of a fearful mind”. This film is about the experience of an involuntarily fragmented act of speech: stuttering. Expressionist drawings, string instruments and broken repetitions of sounds illustrate the struggle of finding one’s language.

Esther Buss
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2018
Äquator 360° – Mittelpunkt der Erde Nicolas Jolliet, Richard Decaillet

We plunge into an impressive world of sound and colour. The shamans of the Yuruparí tribe live in the Amazonas rainforest in south-west Colombia.

Äquator 360° – Mittelpunkt der Erde

360°-Film
Canada,
Germany
2018
14 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Irene Vandertop
Nicolas Jolliet, Richard Decaillet
Ian Dunbar
Nicolas Jolliet
Ian Dunbar
Nicolas Jolliet, Richard Decaillet
Nicolas Jolliet
Ed Kelly
Marita Hübinger
Franz Hildgen
Thomas Wallner
Thomas Wallner
We plunge into an impressive world of sound and colour. The shamans of the Yuruparí tribe live in the Amazonas rainforest in south-west Colombia. Their sacred sites are distributed over a network that precisely follows the line of the equator. The Yuruparí believe that they live at the centre of the world and that it’s their duty to keep the earth in spiritual balance.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2015
ARTE360 – Plattform für 360°/VR-Video Thomas Wallner

ARTE is currently working on new 360° and virtual reality projects in the fields of culture, documentary and fiction which can be experienced via the ARTE360 platform and through virtual reality glasses.

ARTE360 – Plattform für 360°/VR-Video

(none)
Canada,
France,
Germany
2015
480 minutes
subtitles: 
(none)

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Thomas Wallner, Irene Vandertop, DEEP Inc.
Thomas Wallner
Scott Hermann, Joshua Park, Franz Hildgen, James Acres
ARTE is currently working on new 360° and virtual reality projects in the fields of culture, documentary and fiction which can be experienced via the ARTE360 platform and through virtual reality glasses.

The exhibition offers visitors access to the first documentaries through virtual reality headsets and cardboard glasses.

Blackout

Animadoc
Canada
2013
4 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sharron Mirsky
Sharron Mirsky
Tristan Capacchione
Sharron Mirsky
Sharron Mirsky
Sharron Mirsky, Tristan Capacchione
A short animated documentary film in which several storytellers share their experiences of the Northeast blackout of 2003, which affected much of Ontario, and seven U.S. states. The unexpected effects on the community highlight the best of our humanity under adverse conditions.

Blind Vaysha – VR

360°-Film
Canada
2017
8 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marc Bertrand (NFB), Julie Roy (NFB)
Theodore Ushev
Vaysha is not like other girls: she sees the past with her left eye, the future with her right eye. Caught in a blurred world between the two, the present is a blind spot for her. This 360° film combines traditional linocut with innovative animation techniques. The use of stereoscopic images enables us to see the world through Vaysha’s eyes.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann
Film Unlimited 2013
Blinkity Blank Normen McLaren

Audiences can expect a firework of colours and sounds in this film, arguably the most important work of Norman McLaren’s career. Its motifs, scratched and drawn directly on the film, and the decision to intersperse them with blank frames make it a brilliant experiment on the human eye’s abilities of perception ...

1955

Blinkity Blank

Animadoc
Canada
1955
6 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Normen McLaren
Normen McLaren
Maurice Blackburn
Normen McLaren
Roger Beaudry, Joseph Champagne
Audiences can expect a firework of colours and sounds in this film, arguably the most important work of Norman McLaren’s career. Its motifs, scratched and drawn directly on the film, and the decision to intersperse them with blank frames make it a brilliant experiment on the human eye’s abilities of perception. McLaren’s best-known quote is based on this concept: “Animation is not the art of drawings-that-move, but rather the art of movements that are drawn. What happens between each frame is more important than what happens on each frame.”

---Annegret Richter

Filmarchiv

Countries (Film Archive)

Film Unlimited 2013
A Chairy Tale Normen McLaren, Claude Jutra

Ein Holzstuhl wehrt sich gegen den Mann, der sich auf ihn setzen möchte, und bewegt sich eigenmächtig. Nach der ersten Fassungslosigkeit wächst der Ehrgeiz des Mannes, und die beiden beginnen einen bizarren Tanz, der ...

1957

A Chairy Tale

Animadok
Kanada
1957
10 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Normen McLaren, Claude Jutra
Ravi Shankar, Chatur Lal, Maurice Blackburn
Evelyn Lambart
Ein Holzstuhl wehrt sich gegen den Mann, der sich auf ihn setzen möchte, und bewegt sich eigenmächtig. Nach der ersten Fassungslosigkeit wächst der Ehrgeiz des Mannes und die beiden beginnen einen bizarren Tanz, der in einer friedlichen Einigung endet.
„A Chairy Tale“ war eine Weiterentwicklung der Pixilationstechnik, mit der McLaren bereits in seinem Überraschungserfolg „Neighbours“ experimentiert hatte. Zu diesem außergewöhnlichen Tanzfilm schuf er alternative Versionen aus den Textreihen, die ebenfalls vom NFB veröffentlicht wurden. Die Musik steuerte der damals noch weitgehend unbekannte indische Musiker Ravi Shankar bei.

Annegret Richter
Internationaler Wettbewerb Animationsfilm (bis 2014) 2013
A Girl Named Elastika Guillaume Blanchet

Elastika ist nicht wie die anderen kleinen Mädchen, denn sie besteht aus Gummibändern. Und ihre Welt ist aus Kork. Einzigartig ist auch ihre Reise, bei der sie von Gebäude zu Gebäude springt, ein Meer überquert und in den Weltraum fliegt, indem sie sich an einer Feuerwerksrakete festhält

A Girl Named Elastika

Animationsfilm
Kanada
2012
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
französische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet
Bamprod
Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet, Minh Tran
Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet
François Bélanger, Pierre-Hugues Rondot
Elastika ist nicht wie die anderen kleinen Mädchen, denn sie besteht aus Gummibändern. Und ihre Welt ist aus Kork. Einzigartig ist auch ihre Reise, bei der sie von Gebäude zu Gebäude springt, ein Meer überquert und in den Weltraum fliegt, indem sie sich an einer Feuerwerksrakete festhält.
Cross Media Screening 2013
A Journal of Insomnia

Die Welt der Schlaflosigkeit als interaktive Selbsterfahrung. Persönliche Geschichten und inszenierte Begegnungen als Psychogramm der westlichen Gesellschaft. Intim, auch verstörend.

A Journal of Insomnia

Dokumentarfilm
Kanada
2013
45 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Hugues Sweeney
Was bringt uns nachts um den Schlaf? Der interaktive Dokumentarfilm geht dieser Frage nach, indem er die Nutzer einlädt, die Welt der Schlaflosigkeit zu erkunden – ein Phänomen, das in Zusammenhang steht mit Stress und Angst und in unserer heutigen Gesellschaft jeden dritten Menschen betrifft. „A Journal of Insomnia“ lotet die erzählerischen Grenzen des Dokumentarfilms aus. Per Video, Text und Zeichnungen werden persönliche Geschichten zu Schlaflosigkeit gesammelt und zu einem kollektiven Erfahrungsraum für Betroffene aus der ganzen Welt verbunden. Insbesondere die erstaunlichen Aussagen von vier Schlaflosen geben intime Einblicke in einen verstörenden Zustand, den wir meist in Einsamkeit durchleben.

A Sea Turtle Story

Animationsfilm
Kanada
2012
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Silvia Basmajian, National Film Board of Canada
Kathy Schultz
Zach Kellum & Kurt Firla
Andrew Sneyd
Marcus Matyas
Kathy Shultz
Alex Bullock
Eine kleine Meeresschildkröte wird geboren und schon lauern überall Gefahren. Der Film erzählt von den Abenteuern, die Schildkröten in ihrem Leben zu bestehen haben.

A Sister’s Song

Dokumentarfilm
Kanada,
Israel
2018
91 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Danae Elon, Paul Cadieux
Danae Elon
Peter Venne
Danae Elon, Itamar Mendes Flohr
Vincent Guignard, Alexandre Leblanc
Danae Elon
Benoît Dame
Marina und Tatiana sind als Kinder mit ihrer Familie aus Russland nach Israel gezogen. Als Einwanderinnen war die Ankunft im neuen Heimatland nicht einfach. Diese Backstory schwingt bei ihrer Suche nach Vorbildern und Identität mit. Im Zentrum der Erzählung steht Marina. Ihre jüngere Schwester Tatiana ist als Jugendliche ihrem spirituellen Vater in ein streng orthodoxes Kloster in Griechenland gefolgt. Das ist zwanzig Jahre her. Vor vier Jahren haben sie sich zum letzten Mal gesehen. Seither verstärkt sich bei Marina der Eindruck, ihre Schwester sei dort unglücklich, und sie möchte sie zurückholen. Doch ist sie verantwortlich für Tatianas Glück? Wie kann man Verständnis aufbringen für die Entscheidung eines nahestehenden Menschen, der im Widerspruch zur eigenen Haltung steht?

Die in Kanada lebende preisgekrönte israelische Regisseurin und Kamerafrau Danae Elon kehrt auch für diesen Film in ihr Heimatland zurück. Diskret und doch sehr präsent schaut sie der Wiederbegegnung der beiden Schwestern zu. Nur punktuell, aber fast komplizenhaft wird sie von den Protagonistinnen ins Gespräch einbezogen. Die Geschichte von Marina und Tatiana erzählt sie dramaturgisch herausragend und innovativ. „A Sister’s Song“ – ein Lied über Liebe und Verlust und über die Kunst, seiner inneren Stimme zu folgen.

Annina Wettstein
Next Masters Wettbewerb 2015
A Summer Love Jean-François Lesage

Grelles Neonlicht, stampfende Techno-Rhythmen, im Gras liegen, reden und tanzen … Der Sommernachtstraum einer Gruppe von Jugendlichen, ein sinnlicher Rausch.

A Summer Love

Dokumentarfilm
Kanada
2015
63 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean-François Lesage
Jean-François Lesage
Gold Zebra
Jean-François Lesage, Marianne Ploska
Mathieu Bouchard-Malo, Ariane Pétel-Despots
Jean-François Lesage
Bruno Bélanger, Alexis Pilon-Gladu, Aude Renaud-Lorrain

Die grellen Neonfarben spiegeln sich auf den Gesichtern der jungen Menschen in einem nächtlichen Park. Man hört die Rhythmen der elektronischen Musik aus der Ferne. In der Dunkelheit erkennt man die großen Bäume, deren Äste hoch hinaus in den Himmel reichen und die so dastehen, als wachten sie über die Jugendlichen. Die liegen im Gras. Etwas später tanzen sie … und sie reden … viel. Manchmal überkommt einen das Gefühl, in einem dieser französischen Schwarzweiß-Filme aus den 60er Jahren gelandet zu sein, in denen auch ununterbrochen geredet wurde. Auch in dem Werk des kanadischen Regisseurs Jean-François Lesage spricht man Französisch und viel über das Nichts und viel über die Liebe. Aus dem Off ist die poetische Bemerkung eines jungen Mannes zu hören: „Liebe existiert trotzdem.“ Die Generation des digitalen Zeitalters hat offenbar viel über Beziehungen und Liebesdramen nachzudenken und einander zu erzählen. Das Neonlicht weist ihnen den Weg durch die nächtliche Natur, in eine ungewisse Zukunft des Erwachsenseins. Dies zu beobachten ist ein sinnliches Erlebnis. Zaza Rusadze


Internationales Programm 2018
A Transplant François Méthé

Drei Menschen warten auf eine Organspende. Mit behutsamen, aber auch expliziten Bildern dokumentiert „A Transplant“ das Wunder der Erneuerung eines ausgehenden Lebens.

A Transplant

Dokumentarfilm
Kanada
2018
69 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marie-Claude Morazain
François Méthé
Joseph Marchand
Philippe St-Gelais
Sébastien Goyette
François Méthé
Cyril Bourseault
In der Warteschleife des Lebens: Die junge Shannon, der erst dreijährige Nolan und die fünffache Großmutter Suzanne benötigen eine Organspende. Ein Wettlauf gegen die Uhr und gegen den Tod, der rasend und unaufhaltsam näher kommt, während man langsamen Schrittes auf der Bedürftigenliste nach oben rückt. Für Patienten und Angehörige ist diese Zeit des Wartens eine sich stetig neu zusammensetzende Mixtur aus der Angst vor dem Verlust und der Hoffnung auf eine Zukunft. Aus diesem existenziellen Zustand der Unsicherheit, der Sorge und der Zuversicht führt „A Transplant“ mit behutsamen, gleichwohl expliziten Bildern hinein in den OP-Saal und hinein in den Körper, der von einem Team aus Ärzten und Helfern erneuert wird – routiniert und besonnen, aber auch im Bewusstsein des Risikos und der Verantwortung, die auf jedem einzelnen Handgriff lasten. Ein Film über die, wenn man so will, Einzigartigkeit des Lebens. Und über das Wunder, dass es zuweilen und in größter Not seiner Einzigartigkeit sogar entgehen kann.

Lukas Stern
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2015
After the Storm

Lieber zukünftiger Naturkatastrophenüberlebender,

das ist die Geschichte, in der deine Stadt komplett verwüstet zurückbleibt und deine Welt ohne dich untergeht.

2015

After the Storm

(none)
Kanada
2015
480 Minuten
Untertitel: 
(none)

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Heather Grieve, Helios Design Labs
Dan Sundy
Lieber zukünftiger Naturkatastrophenüberlebender,

das ist die Geschichte, in der deine Stadt komplett verwüstet zurückbleibt und deine Welt ohne dich untergeht.

Am 26. April 2011 wurde die Stadt Tuscaloosa im US-Bundesstaat Alabama von einem Tornado zerstört. Die Bilanz: 4.700 kaputte Häuser, 10.000 Obdachlose, Tausende Verletzte. Diese in Briefform adressierte Webdoku gibt nicht nur allgemeine Informationen über Naturkatastrophen, sondern ermöglicht durch ihre schlichten Bilder, fein gezeichnete Grafiken und die Stimme des Regisseurs aus dem Off einen sehr persönlichen und emotionalen Zugang zum Thema.
Strictly Animated 2018
Afterlife Ishu Patel

Nach dem Ende des Lebens tritt der Mensch in die Sphäre der Ewigkeit über – Erinnerungen vermischen sich mit Unvorhersehbarem.

Afterlife

Animationsfilm
Kanada
1979
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Derek Lamb
Ishu Patel
Herbie Mann
Ishu Patel
Nach dem Ende des Lebens tritt der Mensch in die Sphäre der Ewigkeit über – Erinnerungen vermischen sich mit Unvorhersehbarem. Andere Menschen, Tiere und Fabelwesen tauchen auf und verschmelzen zu einer Einheit. Ishu Patel schildert die Metamorphosen dieses transzendentalen Raumes in intensiv schimmernden Plastilinbildern und verleiht dem Jenseits eine eigene Schönheit.

Duscha Kistler

An Echoing Memory of a Tongue

Animationsfilm
Kanada
2017
2 Minuten
Untertitel: 
VO_Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Arash Akhgari (Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema)
Arash Akhgari
Ashkan Behzadi
Arash Akhgari
Arash Akhgari
Arash Akhgari
Der Maler, Zeichner und Animationsfilmer Arash Akhgari widmet sich in seinen Filmen immer wieder einer radikalen Innensicht, etwa den „insomnischen Gedanken eines ängstlichen Gemüts“. Hier geht es um die Erfahrung eines unfreiwillig fragmentierten Sprechakts: das Stottern. Expressionistische Figurenzeichnungen, Streicherklänge und gebrochene Lautwiederholungen illustrieren den Kampf, der mit der Sprachfindung einhergeht.

Esther Buss
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2018
Äquator 360° – Mittelpunkt der Erde Nicolas Jolliet, Richard Decaillet

Wir tauchen ein in eine beeindruckende Klang- und Farbenwelt. Die Schamanen des Volkes der Yuruparí leben im Regenwald des Amazonas im Südwesten Kolumbiens.

Äquator 360° – Mittelpunkt der Erde

360°-Film
Kanada,
Deutschland
2018
14 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Irene Vandertop
Nicolas Jolliet, Richard Decaillet
Ian Dunbar
Nicolas Jolliet
Ian Dunbar
Nicolas Jolliet, Richard Decaillet
Nicolas Jolliet
Ed Kelly
Marita Hübinger
Franz Hildgen
Thomas Wallner
Thomas Wallner
Wir tauchen ein in eine beeindruckende Klang- und Farbenwelt. Die Schamanen des Volkes der Yuruparí leben im Regenwald des Amazonas im Südwesten Kolumbiens. Ihre heiligen Stätten befinden sich verteilt in einem Netzwerk, das exakt der Äquatorlinie folgt. Die Yuruparí glauben, im Zentrum der Welt zu leben und dass es ihre Aufgabe sei, die Erde spirituell im Gleichgewicht zu halten.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2015
ARTE360 – Plattform für 360°/VR-Video Thomas Wallner

ARTE arbeitet aktuell an neuen 360°- und Virtual-Reality-Projekten in den Bereichen Kultur, Dokumentation und Fiktion, welche über die ARTE360-Plattform und durch Virtual-Reality-Brillen erlebt werden können.

ARTE360 – Plattform für 360°/VR-Video

(none)
Kanada,
Frankreich,
Deutschland
2015
480 Minuten
Untertitel: 
(none)

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Thomas Wallner, Irene Vandertop, DEEP Inc.
Thomas Wallner
Scott Hermann, Joshua Park, Franz Hildgen, James Acres
ARTE arbeitet aktuell an neuen 360°- und Virtual-Reality-Projekten in den Bereichen Kultur, Dokumentation und Fiktion, welche über die ARTE360-Plattform und durch Virtual-Reality-Brillen erlebt werden können.

In der Ausstellung werden erste Dokumentarfilme durch Virtual-Reality-Headsets und Cardboard-Brillen für den Besucher erfahrbar gemacht.

Blackout

Animadok
Kanada
2013
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sharron Mirsky
Sharron Mirsky
Tristan Capacchione
Sharron Mirsky
Sharron Mirsky
Sharron Mirsky, Tristan Capacchione
Ein kurzer animierter Dokumentarfilm, in dem mehrere Menschen ihre Geschichten vom Stromausfall 2003, der den größten Teil Ontarios und sieben US-Staaten betraf, erzählen. Die unerwarteten Auswirkungen auf die Gemeinschaft bringen das Beste an einer Gesellschaft unter widrigen Bedingungen hervor.

Blind Vaysha – VR

360°-Film
Kanada
2017
8 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marc Bertrand (NFB), Julie Roy (NFB)
Theodore Ushev
Vaysha ist nicht wie andere Mädchen: Auf ihrem linken Auge sieht sie die Vergangenheit, auf dem rechten die Zukunft. Gefangen in einer verschwommenen Zwischenwelt, ist die Gegenwart für sie ein blinder Fleck. Der 360°-Film vereint den traditionellen Linolschnitt mit innovativen Animationstechnologien. Der Einsatz von stereoskopischen Bildern ermöglicht es, die Welt mit Vayshas Augen zu sehen.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann
Film Unlimited 2013
Blinkity Blank Normen McLaren

Ein Feuerwerk aus Farben und Sound erwartet den Zuschauer bei diesem Film, der als wichtigstes Werk in der Karriere von Norman McLaren gilt. Durch seine direkt auf Film gekratzten und gezeichneten Motive sowie die Auswahl von Schwarzbildern dazwischen gerät es zum virtuosen Experiment mit der Wahrnehmung des menschlichen Auges ...

1955

Blinkity Blank

Animadok
Kanada
1955
6 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Normen McLaren
Normen McLaren
Maurice Blackburn
Normen McLaren
Roger Beaudry, Joseph Champagne
Ein Feuerwerk aus Farben und Sound erwartet den Zuschauer bei diesem Film, der als wichtigstes Werk in der Karriere von Norman McLaren gilt. Durch seine direkt auf Film gekratzten und gezeichneten Motive sowie die Auswahl von Schwarzbildern dazwischen gerät es zum virtuosen Experiment mit der Wahrnehmung des menschlichen Auges. Das wohl bekannteste Zitat von McLaren basiert auf diesem Konzept: „Animation is not the art of drawings-that-move, but rather the art of movements that are drawn. What happens between each frame is more important than what happens on each frame.“

Annegret Richter