Film Archive

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Media Name: 801ef0a7-5102-4c33-8605-d09522e1a22b.jpg

A New Shift

Nová šichta
Jindřich Andrš
Competition for the Audience Award 2020
Documentary Film
Czech Republic
2020
90 minutes
Czech
subtitles: 
German Subtitles for deaf and hard-of-hearing, English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jindřich Andrš
Miloš Lochman
Augustina Micková
Studio Bystrouška
Czech Television
Tomáš Frkal
Jindřich Andrš
Lukáš Janičík
Šimon Herrmann
Eliška Cílková

For Tomáš the mine is the centre of his life, along with soccer, his kids and the cosy after-work beer. The 44-year-old has worked as a miner for 21 years, until the mine was closed down for economic reasons. Tomáš then re-trains as a coder in the appropriately named educational programme “New Shift”. What he doesn’t know yet is that his new skills alone won’t get him out of the crisis. A film about a tug-of-war with fate and the employment market.

In the constant ups and downs of looking for a job Tomáš shows impressive stamina, despite critical voices around him. His hopeful attitude repeatedly gets him in the local news as a positive example of successful reintegration – long before success is even remotely on the horizon. Jindřich Andrš’ first feature-length film is an equally quiet and thrilling observation. He gently follows his loveable protagonist and manages to present the tricky job situation with dignity and empathy. What emerges clearly is that unemployment and lack of jobs have long ceased to be phenomena that only occur on the fringes of our societies. They are part of a normality that the majority of people must cope with.
Kim Busch
Nominated for MDR Film Prize
#
Umverteilen und Mitreden
Zustand der Welt
Small Worlds, Big People
Download Film Details PDF
Re-Visions 2020
Media Name: 21ce684b-b089-4a62-861e-3f0f3890f2c3.jpg
Carnival of Animals Michaela Pavlátová
Two different planets: men and women. What used to be one in paradise was divided a long time ago by original sin. But the world is consumed with longing for a reunion.
Media Name: 21ce684b-b089-4a62-861e-3f0f3890f2c3.jpg

Carnival of Animals

Karneval zvířat
Michaela Pavlátová
Re-Visions 2020
Animated Film
Czech Republic
2006
9 minutes
without dialogue
subtitles: 
None

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Michaela Pavlátová
Negativ Film Productions
Michaela Pavlátová
Michaela Pavlátová
Michaela Pavlátová
Michaela Pavlátová

Two different planets: men and women. What used to be one in paradise was divided by original sin. Ever since then, the sexes have been facing each other in conflict, all the while consumed with longing for a reunion. Expectations are high, the excitement is immense, the imagination is boundless. A day in the garden of carnal delights – from ecstasy to exhaustion and back.

Ralph Eue
#
Poesie und Grenzgänge
Media Name: 5d71a81f-2675-4892-8137-18ed51cff031.jpg

Die Odyssee

Die Odyssee
Florence Miailhe
Competition for the Audience Award 2021
Animated Film
Germany,
Czech Republic,
France
2020
84 minutes
German
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Florence Miailhe
Dora Benoussilio
Luc Camilli
Ralf Kukula
Martin Vandas
Alena Vandasoá
Nassim Gordji Tehrani
Julie Dupré
Florian Marquardt
Marta Szymańska
Zuzana Studená
Anna Paděrová
Eva Skurská
Polina Kazak
Lucie Sunková
Urte Zintler
Paola de Sousa
Ewa Łuczków
Anita Brüvere
Aurore Peuffier
David Martin
Marie Juin
Valentine Delqueux
Andreas Moisa
Philipp Kümpel
Florence Miailhe
Marie Desplechin
Aline Helmcke

A country that could be anywhere, not precisely localized and yet everywhere. It’s a beautiful summer’s day when the life of siblings Kyona and Adriel changes forever. Their village is raided, destroyed and set on fire. The whole family is forced to flee and experiences many real and surreal situations on their tracks across a whole continent to finally arrive, perhaps, at a more peaceful place.

At the start of the film, Kyona leafs through a sketchbook, takes stock of her life and talks about the end of her childhood. It is only later that the siblings even realize that they are refugees, that like many others they are making their way to the border for a variety of reasons: natural disasters, the consequences of climate change, war, persecution. The two children come across dangerous and helpful people, are separated and find each other again. This feature-length animation, realized in oil on glass, relies on the rapid interplay between fantasy and reality, taking us, on the one hand, into a fictitious, non-real world. But on the other hand, the places, names, situations remind us of familiar things. They show fleeing, exile, setting out as a universal experience.
Lina Dinkla
Nominated for Gedanken Aufschluss Prize
#
Exile
Migration
Media Name: 72cb5444-370c-4193-9f21-c206a8e65ed7.png

Fluid Life

Život na vodě
Zora Čápová
Competition for the Audience Award Short Film 2021
Documentary Film
Czech Republic
2020
6 minutes
Czech
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Zora Čápová
Ondřej Šejnoha
Tomáš Šťastný
Ondřej Nuslauer
Jáchym Vanc
Daniel Habart
Anna Petruželová

Everything splashes in this poetic portrait sketch: the rain on the roof, the dog in the puddle, the grandchildren in the kiddie pool and the protagonist in the river Vltava. A middle-aged woman has lovingly converted a freighter into a house boat. The film captures her daily life in impressionistic, analogue aesthetics, from morning coffee in her bathrobe to the last cigarette on deck at dusk. She seems to have fulfilled a wish – a life by and in the river.

Jan-Philipp Kohlmann
#
Small Worlds, Big People
Family Ties
Media Name: a8297b60-2c9c-4695-89e2-c4ec01e39f31.png

Ilios

Ilios
Marcel Karnapke, Mika Johnson
Extended Reality 2020
-
Germany,
Czech Republic
2020
9 minutes
English,
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marcel Karnapke
Mika Johnson
Marcel Karnapke
Jackson Bierfeldt
Mika Johnson
Mika Johnson
Jackson Bierfeldt
Marcel Karnapke

When the artist duo Karnapke and Johnson are separated by Covid-19 in the middle of a project, the result is a correspondence about the constant change we live in. The VR experience based on this is a walk-in meditation: about reality, about normality and about the signs that distinguish the rule from the exception, visualized in a space made of countless particles.

Lars Rummel
Media Name: a26dfae8-0011-4ce8-9420-463bbcc3a319.jpg

Love, Dad

Love, Dad
Diana Cam Van Nguyen
Competition for the Audience Award Short Film 2021
Animated Film
Czech Republic,
Slovakia
2021
13 minutes
Czech
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Diana Cam Van Nguyen
Karolína Davidová
Jakub Viktorín
Tomáš Šimon
Luce Grosjean
Viera Marinová
Diana Cam Van Nguyen
Vojtěch Domlátil
Viera Marinová
David Štumpf
Lukáš Janičík
Matěj Piňos
Kryštof Melka
Barbora Halířová
Diana Cam Van Nguyen
Lukáš Janičík

After a long time, a young woman once again holds letters in her hand that her father wrote her fifteen years ago when he was in prison. His words are full of love and affection: Never again were they to be that close, the daughter sums up today. What happened? This is what she tries to answer in a letter to him, writing down what couldn’t be said until now. The complex relationship between father and daughter in the form of a fragmentary animation.

Lina Dinkla
Nominated for mephisto 97.6 Audience Award
#
Sense and Being
Family Ties
Media Name: 27ae30bc-388b-4639-9a0f-12cfd643ec94.jpg

The Cars We Drove into Capitalism

The Cars We Drove into Capitalism
Georgi Bogdanov, Boris Missirkov
Competition for the Audience Award 2021
Documentary Film
Bulgaria,
Germany,
Denmark,
Croatia,
Czech Republic
2021
93 minutes
Bulgarian,
German,
Norwegian,
Czech,
Russian,
English
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Georgi Bogdanov
Boris Missirkov
Martichka Bozhilova
Tina Leeb
Miljenka Čogelja
Dana Budisavljević
Jiří Konečný
Sigrid Jonsson Dyekjær
Sascha Beier
Simone Baumann
Boris Missirkov
Georgi Bogdanov
Boris Missirkov
Georgi Bogdanov
Emil Granicharov
Jacob Thuessen
Georgi Tenev
Veselin Zografov

A nostalgic trip into a past when buying a car constituted a lifetime’s work – especially for those Europeans who had a maximum of two handful of brands at their disposal. This cheerfully edited collection of auto biographies from socialist production evokes seemingly carefree times when the motorized vehicle was allowed to be simply a status symbol: free from ideological turf wars revolving around the climate crisis and mobility diets.

From Russia via Bulgaria and the Czech Republic to Germany and Norway, love stories between humans and Trabi, Moskvitch and Volga are captured on film. We meet protagonists who are fond of their beloved piece of tin, then or now, or have even amassed a considerable collection. There’s a couple who met and fell in love at a retro car exhibition and still drive the same model today. We meet a sexton who passes on his official car after 32 years of use. We make the acquaintance of a pin-up who always poses in front of vintage cars from the East. They all have a soft spot for these rickety rust buckets, because even though the products of the socialist car industry were usually slow, chunky, tedious to drive and to repair, they were all regarded as showpieces of a successful life. And there was one in almost every family: coveted, long longed-for, assiduously polished.
Lina Dinkla
Nominated for MDR Film Prize
#
Witty
State of the World

Filmarchiv

Jahr

Land (Film Archive)

Media Name: 801ef0a7-5102-4c33-8605-d09522e1a22b.jpg

A New Shift

Nová šichta
Jindřich Andrš
Wettbewerb um den Publikumspreis 2020
Dokumentarfilm
Tschechische Republik
2020
90 Minuten
Tschechisch
Untertitel: 
deutsche Untertitel für Menschen mit eingeschränkter Hörfähigkeit, Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jindřich Andrš
Miloš Lochman
Augustina Micková
Studio Bystrouška
Czech Television
Tomáš Frkal
Jindřich Andrš
Lukáš Janičík
Šimon Herrmann
Eliška Cílková

Für Tomáš ist die Mine neben Fußball, seinen Kindern und dem gemütlichen Feierabendbier das Zentrum seines Lebens. 21 Jahre lang arbeitet der 44-Jährige als Bergmann, bis die Mine aus wirtschaftlichen Gründen schließen muss. Tomáš macht daraufhin eine Umschulung zum Programmierer im passend benannten Bildungsangebot „Neue Schicht“. Was er noch nicht weiß: Seine neuen Kenntnisse allein werden noch nicht aus der Krise führen. Ein Film vom Tauziehen mit dem Schicksal und dem Arbeitsmarkt.

Im ständigen Auf und Ab der Jobsuche beweist Tomáš ein beeindruckendes Durchhaltevermögen, auch kritischen Stimmen in seinem Umfeld zum Trotz. Seine hoffnungsvolle Art führt dazu, dass er von den Lokalnachrichten immer wieder als Positivbeispiel für gelungene Reintegration gezeigt wird – lange bevor vom Gelingen überhaupt die Rede sein kann. Der erste abendfüllende Film von Jindřich Andrš ist eine ebenso ruhige wie mitreißende Beobachtung. Er begleitet seinen liebenswerten Protagonisten auf behutsame Weise und schafft es, die verzwickte Jobsituation mit Würde und Mitgefühl darzustellen. Es wird deutlich, dass Arbeitslosigkeit und Jobmangel längst keine Phänomene mehr sind, die nur am Rande unserer Gesellschaften auftreten. Sie gehören zu einer Normalität, mit der sich ein Großteil der Menschen auseinandersetzen muss.
Kim Busch
Nominiert für: MDR-Film-Preis
#
Umverteilen und Mitreden
Zustand der Welt
Small Worlds, Big People
Download Film Details PDF
Re-Visionen 2020
Media Name: 21ce684b-b089-4a62-861e-3f0f3890f2c3.jpg
Carnival of Animals Michaela Pavlátová
Zwei unterschiedliche Planeten: Männer und Frauen. Was im Paradies eins war, hat die Ursünde vor langer Zeit geschieden. Aber die Welt vergeht vor Sehnsucht nach Wiedervereinigung.
Media Name: 21ce684b-b089-4a62-861e-3f0f3890f2c3.jpg

Carnival of Animals

Karneval zvířat
Michaela Pavlátová
Re-Visionen 2020
Animationsfilm
Tschechische Republik
2006
9 Minuten
ohne Dialog
Untertitel: 
Keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Michaela Pavlátová
Negativ Film Productions
Michaela Pavlátová
Michaela Pavlátová
Michaela Pavlátová
Michaela Pavlátová

Zwei unterschiedliche Planeten: Männer und Frauen. Was im Paradies eins war, hat die Ursünde geschieden. Seither stehen sich die Geschlechter konfliktreich gegenüber und vergehen doch vor Sehnsucht nach Wiedervereinigung. Die Erwartung ist groß, die Erregung riesig, die Fantasie unermesslich. Ein Tag im Garten der fleischlichen Lüste – von der Ekstase zur Ermattung und wieder zurück.

Ralph Eue
#
Poesie und Grenzgänge
Media Name: 5d71a81f-2675-4892-8137-18ed51cff031.jpg

Die Odyssee

Die Odyssee
Florence Miailhe
Wettbewerb um den Publikumspreis 2021
Animationsfilm
Tschechische Republik,
Frankreich,
Deutschland
2020
84 Minuten
Deutsch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Florence Miailhe
Dora Benoussilio
Luc Camilli
Ralf Kukula
Martin Vandas
Alena Vandasoá
Nassim Gordji Tehrani
Julie Dupré
Florian Marquardt
Marta Szymańska
Zuzana Studená
Anna Paděrová
Eva Skurská
Polina Kazak
Lucie Sunková
Urte Zintler
Paola de Sousa
Ewa Łuczków
Anita Brüvere
Aurore Peuffier
David Martin
Marie Juin
Valentine Delqueux
Andreas Moisa
Philipp Kümpel
Florence Miailhe
Marie Desplechin
Aline Helmcke

Ein Land, das irgendwo sein könnte, nicht näher verortet und doch überall. Es ist ein schöner Sommertag, als sich das Leben der Geschwister Kyona und Adriel für immer verändert. Ihr Dorf wird überfallen, verwüstet und in Brand gesteckt. Die ganze Familie muss fliehen und erlebt auf dem Weg über einen ganzen Kontinent viele reale und surreale Situationen, um vielleicht endlich an einem friedlicheren Ort anzukommen.

Zu Beginn des Films blättert Kyona in ihrem Skizzenblock, zieht das Resümee ihres Lebens und erzählt vom Ende ihrer Kindheit. Erst spät begreifen die Geschwister überhaupt, dass sie Flüchtlinge sind, dass sie sich wie viele andere aus den verschiedensten Gründen auf zur Grenze machen: Naturkatastrophen, Folgen des Klimawandels, Krieg, Verfolgung. Die beiden Kinder geraten an gefährliche und hilfsbereite Menschen, werden voneinander getrennt und finden sich wieder. Der abendfüllende Animationsfilm, umgesetzt in Öl auf Glas, lebt vom rasanten Wechselspiel zwischen Fantasie und Realität. Er entführt, einerseits, in eine fiktive, nichtreale Welt. Doch Orte, Namen, Situationen erinnern andererseits an Bekanntes. Sie zeigen die Flucht, das Exil, das Sich-auf-den-Weg-Machen als universelle Erfahrung.
Lina Dinkla
Ausgezeichnet mit: Gedanken-Aufschluss-Preis
#
Exil
Flucht
Media Name: 72cb5444-370c-4193-9f21-c206a8e65ed7.png

Fluid Life

Život na vodě
Zora Čápová
Wettbewerb um den Publikumspreis Kurzfilm 2021
Dokumentarfilm
Tschechische Republik
2020
6 Minuten
Tschechisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Zora Čápová
Ondřej Šejnoha
Tomáš Šťastný
Ondřej Nuslauer
Jáchym Vanc
Daniel Habart
Anna Petruželová

Alles plätschert in dieser poetischen Porträtskizze: der Regen aufs Dach, der Hund in der Pfütze, die Enkel im Planschbecken und die Protagonistin in der Moldau. Eine Frau mittleren Alters hat ein Frachtschiff liebevoll zum Hausboot umgebaut. In impressionistischer, analoger Ästhetik fängt der Film ihren neuen Alltag ein, vom Morgenkaffee im Bademantel bis zur letzten Zigarette an Deck in der Dämmerung. Sie scheint sich einen Wunsch erfüllt zu haben – ein Leben am und im Fluss.

Jan-Philipp Kohlmann
#
Kleine Welten, große Menschen
Familienbande
Media Name: a8297b60-2c9c-4695-89e2-c4ec01e39f31.png

Ilios

Ilios
Marcel Karnapke, Mika Johnson
Extended Reality 2020
-
Deutschland,
Tschechische Republik
2020
9 Minuten
Englisch,
Deutsch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marcel Karnapke
Mika Johnson
Marcel Karnapke
Jackson Bierfeldt
Mika Johnson
Mika Johnson
Jackson Bierfeldt
Marcel Karnapke

Als das Künstlerduo Karnapke und Johnson mitten in einem Projekt durch Covid-19 getrennt wird, entsteht eine Korrespondenz über den ständigen Wandel, in dem wir leben. Die darauf basierende VR-Erfahrung ist eine begehbare Meditation: über Realität, über Normalität und über die Vorzeichen, die den Regelfall von der Ausnahme unterscheiden, visualisiert in einem Raum aus unzähligen Partikeln.

Lars Rummel
Media Name: a26dfae8-0011-4ce8-9420-463bbcc3a319.jpg

Love, Dad

Love, Dad
Diana Cam Van Nguyen
Wettbewerb um den Publikumspreis Kurzfilm 2021
Animationsfilm
Tschechische Republik,
Slowakei
2021
13 Minuten
Tschechisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Diana Cam Van Nguyen
Karolína Davidová
Jakub Viktorín
Tomáš Šimon
Luce Grosjean
Viera Marinová
Diana Cam Van Nguyen
Vojtěch Domlátil
Viera Marinová
David Štumpf
Lukáš Janičík
Matěj Piňos
Kryštof Melka
Barbora Halířová
Diana Cam Van Nguyen
Lukáš Janičík

Eine junge Frau hält nach langer Zeit erneut Briefe in der Hand, die ihr Vater ihr vor fünfzehn Jahren geschrieben hat, als er im Gefängnis saß. Seine Worte sind voller Liebe und Zuneigung: So nah seien sie sich danach nie wieder gewesen, resümiert die Tochter heute. Was ist passiert? Das versucht sie, in einem Brief an ihn zu beantworten, und schreibt auf, was bislang nicht gesagt werden konnte. Die komplexe Beziehung zwischen Vater und Tochter in Form eines fragmenthaften Animationsfilms.

Lina Dinkla
Ausgezeichnet mit: Silberne Taube (Wettbewerb um den Publikumspreis Kurzfilm)
#
Familienbande
Sinn und Sein
Media Name: 27ae30bc-388b-4639-9a0f-12cfd643ec94.jpg

The Cars We Drove into Capitalism

The Cars We Drove into Capitalism
Georgi Bogdanov, Boris Missirkov
Wettbewerb um den Publikumspreis 2021
Dokumentarfilm
Bulgarien,
Deutschland,
Dänemark,
Kroatien,
Tschechische Republik
2021
93 Minuten
Bulgarisch,
Deutsch,
Norwegisch,
Tschechisch,
Russisch,
Englisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Georgi Bogdanov
Boris Missirkov
Martichka Bozhilova
Tina Leeb
Miljenka Čogelja
Dana Budisavljević
Jiří Konečný
Sigrid Jonsson Dyekjær
Sascha Beier
Simone Baumann
Boris Missirkov
Georgi Bogdanov
Boris Missirkov
Georgi Bogdanov
Emil Granicharov
Jacob Thuessen
Georgi Tenev
Veselin Zografov

Ein nostalgischer Trip in die Vergangenheit, als sich der Kauf eines Autos als Lebensaufgabe gestaltete – insbesondere für jene Europäer, denen maximal zwei Handvoll Marken zur Verfügung standen. Die munter montierte Kollektion von Auto-Biografien aus sozialistischer Produktion erinnert an vermeintlich unbeschwerte Zeiten, als das motorisierte Gefährt einfach Statussymbol sein durfte: frei von ideologischen Grabenkämpfen rund um Klimakrise und Mobilitätsdiät.

Von Russland über Bulgarien und Tschechien bis nach Deutschland und Norwegen werden Liebesgeschichten zwischen Mensch und Trabi, Moskwitsch oder Wolga filmisch festgehalten. Wir treffen Charaktere, die damals wie heute an ihrem geliebten Stück Blech hängen – oder es sogar zu einer stattlichen Sammlung gebracht haben. Da gibt es ein Paar, das sich auf einer Retro-Auto-Ausstellung lieben lernte und heute noch das gleiche Modell fährt. Wir begegnen einem Küster, der sein Dienstfahrzeug nach 32 Jahren Nutzung weitervererbt. Wir machen die Bekanntschaft eines Pin-ups, das stets vor Ost-Oldtimern posiert. Sie alle haben ein Faible für diese klapprigen Rostlauben. Denn obwohl die Fabrikate der sozialistischen Autoindustrie in der Regel langsam, klobig, mühsam zu fahren und zu reparieren waren – sie galten als Schauobjekte eines geglückten Lebens. Und in fast jeder Familie gab es eines: heiß begehrt, lang ersehnt, eifrig poliert.
Lina Dinkla
Nominiert für: MDR-Film-Preis
#
Gewitzt
Zustand der Welt