Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

International Programme 2016
Ada for Mayor Pau Faus

Campaigning in Barcelona: political activist Ada is the left party’s top candidate and must learn to be glib and authentic at the same time. A balancing act and strenuous effort full of suspense and drive.

Ada for Mayor

Documentary Film
Spain
2016
90 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ventura Durall
Pau Faus
Diego Pedragosa
Joan Manel Vilaseca, Àlex Garcia, Núria Campadabal
Pau Faus, Ventura Durall
Ada Colau is an activist of the movement for affordable rents in Barcelona. When the fragmented left of the city needs to be united to enter practical municipal politics and, ideally, supply the next head of the city, she qualifies as front-runner for the collective platform “Barcelona en Comú”.

Over a period of nine months, director Pau Faus observes a process that could be called a “basic democracy workshop”. Faus claims that it’s neither intentional nor coincidental that his film has also, to a large extent, become a participant observation of the top candidate’s life, but inevitable. He confidently avoids raising any suspicion that this is the finished, valid and undoubted image of a politician. Instead he reflects on how these images are produced while the engine is running. At the end of the film Ada Colau will have become a different person AND remained the same – an impossible feat she is forced to pull off by her character and the political ethics she feels bound to. The motto that Ada Colau had inscribed on the door of the council chamber as a universal reminder after she became mayor in May 2015 was: “Let us never forget who we are or why we are here.”

Ralph Eue
International Programme 2016
Yellow Ana Pérez López

This fruit has been part of our cultural history for centuries and is now threatened by extinction through monocropping and a looming epidemic.

2016

Yellow

Animadoc
Spain,
USA
2016
4 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Laura Sofía Pérez
This fruit has been part of our cultural history for centuries and is now threatened by extinction through monocropping and a looming epidemic. Ana Pérez López lets us take part in her internet expedition to explore the fate of the Gros Michel banana with alert humour. A finely drawn chronicle which also uses relics of the media and everyday history of the 20th century to retrace how telegenic the industry banana is and will remain. Even if it will soon cease to exist.

Nadja Rademacher

Filmarchiv

Sections (Film Archive)

Internationales Programm 2016
Ada for Mayor Pau Faus

Wahlkampf in Barcelona: Die Politaktivistin Ada ist Spitzenkandidatin der Linken und muss lernen, aalglatt und authentisch zugleich zu sein. Ein Balance- und Kraftakt voller Spannung und Drive.

Ada for Mayor

Dokumentarfilm
Spanien
2016
90 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ventura Durall
Pau Faus
Diego Pedragosa
Joan Manel Vilaseca, Àlex Garcia, Núria Campadabal
Pau Faus, Ventura Durall
Ada Colau ist Aktivistin der Bewegung für bezahlbare Mieten in Barcelona. Als es darum geht, die zersplitterte Linke in der Stadt zu vereinigen, um über eine gemeinsame Liste in die kommunale Realpolitik einzutreten und im Idealfall das nächste Stadtoberhaupt zu stellen, qualifiziert sie sich als Frontfrau der Sammelplattform „Barcelona en Comú“.

Regisseur Pau Faus beobachtet über neun Monate einen Prozess, den man „Basisdemokratie als Werkstatt“ nennen könnte. Dass sein Film dabei auch in großem Umfang zu einer teilnehmenden Beobachtung im Leben der Spitzenkandidatin wurde, bezeichnet Faus’ als weder beabsichtigt noch zufällig, sondern unvermeidlich. Souverän umschifft er den Verdacht, hier würde das fertige, gültige, unzweifelhafte Bild einer Politikerin präsentiert, und reflektiert stattdessen die Produktion solcher Bilder im laufenden Betrieb. Ada Colau wird am Ende des Films eine andere geworden UND die gleiche geblieben sein – eine Unmöglichkeit, die zu bewältigen ihr von ihrem Charakter und der politischen Moral, der sie sich verpflichtet fühlt, diktiert wurde. Das Motto, das Ada Colau, nachdem sie im Mai 2015 Bürgermeisterin geworden war, zur allseitigen Erinnerung an die Tür des Ratszimmers schreiben ließ, lautete: „Lasst uns niemals vergessen, wer wir sind und warum wir hier sind.“

Ralph Eue
Internationales Programm 2016
Yellow Ana Pérez López

Diese Frucht ist seit über hundert Jahren Teil unserer Kulturgeschichte und droht, aufgrund von Monokultur und einer sich anbahnenden Epidemie auszusterben.

2016

Yellow

Animadok
Spanien,
USA
2016
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Laura Sofía Pérez
Diese Frucht ist seit über hundert Jahren Teil unserer Kulturgeschichte und droht, aufgrund von Monokultur und einer sich anbahnenden Epidemie auszusterben. Ana Pérez López lässt uns an ihrer Internetexpedition teilhaben, die das Schicksal der Bananensorte Gros Michel mit wachem Humor erkundet. Eine Chronik in feinen Strichen, die auch aus Relikten der Medien- und Alltagsgeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts nachzeichnet, wie telegen die Industriebanane ist und bleibt. Auch wenn es sie bald nicht mehr gibt.

Nadja Rademacher