Film Archive

Countries (Film Archive)

Bodycheck 2015
1977 Peque Varela

The game of life is about playing a role. The best actor wins. There are rules for girls and boys, women and men. But what happens if you’re not allowed to play because you don’t fit in?

1977

Documentary Film
Spain,
UK
2007
8 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gavin Humphries
Peque Varela
Natalie Holt
Neus Ollé-Soronellas
Fiona De Souza
Alejandra Jimenez, R. Vetusto, Kaori Hamilton
Peque Varela
Chu-li Shewring
The game of life is about playing a role. The best actor wins. There are rules for girls and boys, women and men. But what happens if you’re not allowed to play because you don’t fit in? How it feels to break out and make your own rules.

---Kim Busch

3 Stolen Cameras

Documentary Film
Spain,
Sweden
2017
17 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
Mariem Hassan
RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
David Gülich
We don’t see or hear much coming out of Western Sahara. The region was annexed by Morocco in 1979 and the Moroccan occupiers were able to impose an almost complete media blockade since then. For years, activists of the Equipe Media group have been the only ones who covertly film rallies, police brutality and human rights violations and smuggle the material abroad, while they themselves frequently get in the line of fire of the occupation forces.

Ralph Eue

A Mythology of Pleasure

Documentary Film
Germany,
Spain
2017
6 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lara Rodríguez Cruz, Jule Katinka Cramer, Ute Dilger (KHM – Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln)
Lara Rodríguez Cruz
Lennart Saathoff
Jule Katinka Cramer
Arturo Peña
Lara Rodríguez Cruz, Jule Katinka Cramer
Paul Große-Schönepauck
Really, there used to be a lot more action back then! And even more before that. And at the beginning of time? One dares not imagine what was happening then. Filmmaker Lara Rodríguez Cruz and her camerawoman and co-writer Jule Katinka Cramer have imagined it anyway, and done so in the brightest colours and finest words. It’s a matter of speculation whether our Lord Almighty, had he known how much fun his heathen ancestors had at work, would have been just a tiny bit envious.

Ralph Eue

A Story for the Modlins

Documentary Film
Spain
2012
26 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sergio Oksman, Documenta Films
Sergio Oksman
Sergei Rachmaninov
Migue Amoedo
Fernando Franco, Sergio Oksman
Carlos Muguiro, Emilio Tomé, Sergio Oksman
Carlos Bonmatí
Are you in the wrong film? Didn’t you expect to see a short documentary about the souvenirs of a deceased American couple? Why are they screening the opening credits of a Hollywood movie: Mia Farrow in “Rosemary’s Baby”?
Fiction and documentary reality keep clashing in this film. The hero is not Mia Farrow, but the bit player Elmer Modlin and his wife Margaret, a passionate painter. Based exclusively on found letters, photos and other documents, the director reconstructs these two people’s life stories. Having appeared in “Rosemary’s Baby” as an extra, Elmer left the States with his wife and son to move to Madrid, where they lived a reclusive life in a small flat for more than 30 years. Margret played the artist; Elmer worked as a television actor. What is left of them? An empty flat and a dustbin full of discarded souvenirs. Evidence of their lives, discovered by chance by the filmmaker on a walk through Madrid. It’s true that the most exciting stories are found in the street.

– Antje Stamer
International Programme 2016
Ada for Mayor Pau Faus

Campaigning in Barcelona: political activist Ada is the left party’s top candidate and must learn to be glib and authentic at the same time. A balancing act and strenuous effort full of suspense and drive.

Ada for Mayor

Documentary Film
Spain
2016
90 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ventura Durall
Pau Faus
Diego Pedragosa
Joan Manel Vilaseca, Àlex Garcia, Núria Campadabal
Pau Faus, Ventura Durall
Ada Colau is an activist of the movement for affordable rents in Barcelona. When the fragmented left of the city needs to be united to enter practical municipal politics and, ideally, supply the next head of the city, she qualifies as front-runner for the collective platform “Barcelona en Comú”.

Over a period of nine months, director Pau Faus observes a process that could be called a “basic democracy workshop”. Faus claims that it’s neither intentional nor coincidental that his film has also, to a large extent, become a participant observation of the top candidate’s life, but inevitable. He confidently avoids raising any suspicion that this is the finished, valid and undoubted image of a politician. Instead he reflects on how these images are produced while the engine is running. At the end of the film Ada Colau will have become a different person AND remained the same – an impossible feat she is forced to pull off by her character and the political ethics she feels bound to. The motto that Ada Colau had inscribed on the door of the council chamber as a universal reminder after she became mayor in May 2015 was: “Let us never forget who we are or why we are here.”

Ralph Eue

Anger

Documentary Film
Spain
2014
24 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sergi Casamitjana
Mireia Fontanals
Jordi París
Anna Serra
Eli Sort
Mireia Fontanals
Aleix Burgueño
Anita and Amadeu are still a couple, though age is definitely getting to them. They can’t escape their different habits, accomplishing everything with infinite slowness. Their only companions nowadays are the cats and the dog. She is still quick on her feet and keeps things going, while Amadeu just about manages, with effort and patience, to keep upright. Being dependent on each other, their tone gets sharper.
The whole drama of ageing is precisely sketched in a few scenes. The young filmmaker Mireia Fontanals keeps visiting the two over an extended period of time to document the same processes. Quite simple, in principle, because there are only a few locations left in the life of the couple: their home, the hospital ward, the nursing home. And there are only a few questions left open. This one for example: do you still love me?
Cornelia Klauß

Another Night on Earth

Documentary Film
Spain
2012
52 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

David Muñoz, Hibrida
David Muñoz
David Muñoz
David Muñoz, Alicia Medina
David Muñoz
David Muñoz
Cairo traffic can justifiably be called an experimental chaos. Streetlights seem to be regarded on principle as mere lighting consoles, erected to adorn the city but otherwise negligible. Taxis, however, are looked upon as halfway trustworthy ferries navigating this erratic stream of road users, all the more so when the whole city has been set in motion even more than usual. Produced between March and September 2011 during the blossoming of the Arab Revolution and recorded with the smallest available equipment, permanently installed in several taxis, “Otra noche en la tierra” is an exciting picture of Egyptian society during those months. Dozens of passengers share their concerns (frequently) or euphoria (sometimes), their expectations and fears in view of an uncertain future with us. The most interesting moment in a taxi ride, according to the Spanish director David Muñoz (who acted as cameraman, producer and editor), is the one when the taxi turns from a vehicle to an uncensored communication space, when this strange mix of anonymity and privacy becomes the catalyst for breathtaking moments of human bonding. One could even say when the human condition shows its many faces.

Ralph Eue



Prize of the Trade Union ver.di and Prize of the Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique 2012

Astigmatismo

Animated Film
Spain
2013
4 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nicolai Troshinsky
Nicolai Troshinsky
Shogun Kunitoki
Nicolai Troshinsky
Nicolai Troshinsky
Pierre Sauze
A boy, having lost his glasses, can only see one thing in focus at a time. His sight gets attracted by the sounds that surround him. He will have to explore a blurry world of unknown places and strange characters.
Retrospective 2018
BiBiCi Story Carlos Durán

Eight lessons in a language course, including: various forms of political oppression, sexual freedom, Vietnam and a cinephiliac homage.

BiBiCi Story

Documentary Film
Spain
1969
8 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Carlos Durán
Ricardo Bofill
Eight lessons in a language course, including: various forms of political oppression, sexual freedom, Vietnam and a cinephiliac homage.

Ralph Eue
Strictly Animated 2018
Decorado Alberto Vázquez

Arnold occasionally wonders whether the world he lives in is really real and whether his life is really his. What if the world is just a stage setting?

Decorado

Animated Film
France,
Spain
2016
12 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Iván Miñambres, Nicolas Schmerkin
Alberto Vázquez
Víctor García
Khris Cembe, Pamela Poltronieri, Roc Espinet
David Rodríguez
Arnold occasionally wonders whether the world he lives in is really real and whether his life is really his. But in this pitch-black comedy, no one but Arnold seems to notice that existence is played out in episodes, infiltrated by product placement and interrupted by cliff hangers. What if the world is just a stage setting?

Duscha Kistler

Flesh

Animated Film
Brazil,
Spain
2019
12 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Chelo Loureiro, Livia Perez
Camila Kater
Sofia Oriana Infante, Julia Teles
Samuel Mariani
Samuel Mariani
Camila Kater, Giovana Affonso, Flavia Godoy, Cassandra Reis, Leila Monsegur
Camila Kater, Ana Julia Carvalheiro
Xabier Ferreiro, Julia Teles, Luis Felipe Labaki
An animated documentary in five chapters by and about five female personalities. In the leading roles are their own physicality and a multi-perspective view of femininity. Because origin, environment and socialisation – with their occasionally perverted and compulsive side-effects – have a weight of their own. These autobiographical reflections gain depth of focus and impact through the choice of different haptic animation techniques. Vivid, haunting, beautiful.

Nadja Rademacher
International Programme 2018
Good Morning Spain Sara Pisos, Carlos Reyes, Irati Cano Alkain, María Barceló

The choreographed glorification of the past by a group of former Foreign Legionnaires in Catalonia who neatly dig their own hole with their talk.

Good Morning Spain

Documentary Film
Spain
2017
29 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

UAB - Master's Degree in Theory and Practice of Creative Documentary Making
Sara Pisos, Carlos Reyes, Irati Cano Alkain, María Barceló
Sara Pisos, Carlos Reyes, María Barceló
Diana Toucedo
Irati Cano Alkain
A group of former Spanish Foreign Legionnaires meet every week in a Barcelona suburb to parade and exercise and remember the good old days. In view of this excessive display of pride and patriotism the film crew concentrate on a few clear issues, small gestures and nuances – thus revealing much about the protagonists’ nostalgia for a heroic yesterday, much preferred to the unpleasantly complex and diverse today.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann

Las del diente

Animated Film
Spain,
USA
2018
6 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Paola Escobar
Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Laura Sofia Pérez
Nowadays, wanting to have children is tricky. Do I want children? And if so, when? Reproductive medicine even allows us to choose the “right” time. Have a career first and postpone the decision, thanks to social freezing? Three women over thirty ponder the female body and find warm words for their uterus, accompanied by Flamenco music – the pulse of life.

Annina Wettstein
International Programme 2014
Mar de Fons Bruno López, Florencia Luna

A father, a son, a fishing boat and the polluted coast off Barcelona. The death of a tradition and the disease of civilisation. A short novel with charisma.

Mar de Fons

Documentary Film
Spain
2014
30 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sergi Casamitjana, Escac Films
Bruno López, Florencia Luna
Julián Sánchez
Florencia Luna, Dídac Sáez
Bruno López, Dídac Sáez
Bruno López, Florencia Luna
Yago Flaquer, Mar Rosselló
“Another bad day!” This is what it sounds like when Catalan fishermen meet. The fish die-off and the pollution in the greater Barcelona area hit them hard. Ramón Costa has seen dramatic changes in his long career. This doesn’t refer to the fact that he made it from rowing boat to motorboat owner – no: Only six of the 100 fishing boats of his native village of Badalona are left. One of them belongs to Ramón. But he, too, is thinking about giving up his small family business, especially since he is worried about his eldest son. Opening a beach bar would be more profitable. The younger son, having at last emerged from adolescence, encourages him, that’s true. But junior is a stubborn smart-aleck.
All these problems accumulate in the narrow space of the fishing boat when father and son go out to sea. The film has all the ingredients of a short novel, telling a story of restless men, the death of tradition and the disease of civilisation and revolving around a charismatic main character: Ramón is a passionate storyteller and a father who makes touching efforts to stay connected to his sons, even if they grew up in a completely different age than he did.
Lars Meyer

Matilda

Animated Film
Belgium,
France,
Spain
2018
7 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Arnaud Demuynck
Irene Iborra Rizo, Eduard Puertas Anfruns
Karim Bagili
Anna Molins
Irene Iborra Rizo
Nuria Robles, Edu Puertas, Irene Iborra Rizo
Irene Iborra Rizo
Philippe Fontaine
At night, when little Matilda’s room gets dark, the great adventures begin: Who wants to sleep when there’s so much to discover by torch light in the room? In the play of light and shadow, she sees her toys from a very different angle. This puppet animation shows how Matilda overcomes her fear of the dark and gives free rein to her creativity.

Marie-Thérèse Antony

Memory of the Land

Animated Film
Spain
2017
13 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Samira Badran, Jaume Serra
Samira Badran
Lucas Ariel Vallejos
Oriol Martín Gual
Oriol Martín Gual
Oriol Martín Gual, Pol Cayuela Rull, Alex Guitart
Samira Badran, Oriol Martín Gual
Lucas Ariel Vallejos
In this collage film, the Palestinian artist Samira Badran demonstrates vividly what it means to be confronted by an Israeli checkpoint. A breathtaking accumulation of chains of command, claustrophobic architecture, constant surveillance and the guards’ arbitrariness demonstrates how structural and physical violence combine to become a spiral of aggression. A disconcerting animation, oppressive in its abstraction.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann

Filmarchiv

Countries (Film Archive)

Bodycheck 2015
1977 Peque Varela

Im Spiel des Lebens geht es darum, eine Rolle einzunehmen. Es gewinnt, wer diese bestmöglich ausfüllt. Es gibt Regeln für Mädchen und Jungs, Frauen und Männer. Doch was passiert, wenn man nicht mitspielen darf, weil man nicht reinpasst?

1977

Dokumentarfilm
Spanien,
UK
2007
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gavin Humphries
Peque Varela
Natalie Holt
Neus Ollé-Soronellas
Fiona De Souza
Alejandra Jimenez, R. Vetusto, Kaori Hamilton
Peque Varela
Chu-li Shewring
Im Spiel des Lebens geht es darum, eine Rolle einzunehmen. Es gewinnt, wer diese bestmöglich ausfüllt. Es gibt Regeln für Mädchen und Jungs, Frauen und Männer. Doch was passiert, wenn man nicht mitspielen darf, weil man nicht reinpasst? Wie es sich anfühlt, auszubrechen und sein eigenes Regelwerk aufzustellen.

Kim Busch

3 Stolen Cameras

Dokumentarfilm
Spanien,
Schweden
2017
17 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
Mariem Hassan
RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
David Gülich
Aus der Westsahara gibt es wenig zu sehen und zu hören. Seit 1979 ist das Gebiet von Marokko annektiert und die marokkanischen Besatzer konnten seither eine quasi vollständige Medienblockade durchsetzen. Aktivisten der Gruppe Equipe Media sind seit Jahren die Einzigen, die heimlich Aufnahmen von Demonstrationen, Polizeiübergriffen oder anderen Menschenrechtsverletzungen machen und ins Ausland schleusen. Immer wieder geraten sie dabei selbst in die Schusslinie der Okkupationsmacht.

Ralph Eue

A Mythology of Pleasure

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland,
Spanien
2017
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lara Rodríguez Cruz, Jule Katinka Cramer, Ute Dilger (KHM – Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln)
Lara Rodríguez Cruz
Lennart Saathoff
Jule Katinka Cramer
Arturo Peña
Lara Rodríguez Cruz, Jule Katinka Cramer
Paul Große-Schönepauck
Früher war echt mehr los! Noch früher noch mehr. Und ganz am Anfang der Zeiten? Man mag sich gar nicht ausmalen, wie es da zugegangen ist. Filmemacherin Lara Rodríguez Cruz und ihre Kamera führende Co-Autorin Jule Katinka Cramer haben sich das aber doch ausgemalt, und zwar in den schönsten Farben und tollsten Worten. Dass unser lieber Gott, wenn er gewusst hätte, wie sich seine heidnischen Vorfahren bei der Arbeit amüsiert haben, vermutlich ein bisschen neidisch geworden wäre, darf spekuliert werden.

Ralph Eue

A Story for the Modlins

Dokumentarfilm
Spanien
2012
26 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sergio Oksman, Documenta Films
Sergio Oksman
Sergei Rachmaninov
Migue Amoedo
Fernando Franco, Sergio Oksman
Carlos Muguiro, Emilio Tomé, Sergio Oksman
Carlos Bonmatí
Sitzen Sie im falschen Film? Wollten Sie nicht einen kurzen Dokumentarfilm sehen, der um die Erinnerungsstücke eines bereits verstorbenen, amerikanischen Ehepaars kreist? Warum läuft der Vorspann eines Hollywoodfilms: Mia Farrow in „Rosemary’s Baby“?
Fiktion und dokumentarische Realität stoßen bei diesem Dokumentarfilm immer wieder aufeinander. Nicht Mia Farrow ist die Hauptheldin unseres Films, sondern der Kleindarsteller Elmar Modlin und seine Frau Margaret, eine passionierte Malerin. Ausschließlich anhand von gefundenen Briefen, Fotos und anderen dokumentarischen Materialien rekonstruiert der Regisseur die Lebensgeschichte dieser beiden Menschen. Nach einer Statistenrolle in „Rosemarys Baby“ verließ Elmer mit Frau und Sohn die USA und zog nach Madrid. Dort lebten sie in einer kleinen Wohnung über 30 Jahre abgeschieden von der Außenwelt. Margret inszenierte sich als Künstlerin, Elmer arbeitete als TV-Darsteller. Was von ihnen blieb? Eine leere Wohnung und eine Mülltonne voller weggeworfener Andenken. Indizien ihres gelebten Lebens, durch Zufall entdeckt vom Filmemacher bei einem Spaziergang durch Madrid. Die spannendsten Geschichten liegen eben auf der Straße.

– Antje Stamer
Internationales Programm 2016
Ada for Mayor Pau Faus

Wahlkampf in Barcelona: Die Politaktivistin Ada ist Spitzenkandidatin der Linken und muss lernen, aalglatt und authentisch zugleich zu sein. Ein Balance- und Kraftakt voller Spannung und Drive.

Ada for Mayor

Dokumentarfilm
Spanien
2016
90 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ventura Durall
Pau Faus
Diego Pedragosa
Joan Manel Vilaseca, Àlex Garcia, Núria Campadabal
Pau Faus, Ventura Durall
Ada Colau ist Aktivistin der Bewegung für bezahlbare Mieten in Barcelona. Als es darum geht, die zersplitterte Linke in der Stadt zu vereinigen, um über eine gemeinsame Liste in die kommunale Realpolitik einzutreten und im Idealfall das nächste Stadtoberhaupt zu stellen, qualifiziert sie sich als Frontfrau der Sammelplattform „Barcelona en Comú“.

Regisseur Pau Faus beobachtet über neun Monate einen Prozess, den man „Basisdemokratie als Werkstatt“ nennen könnte. Dass sein Film dabei auch in großem Umfang zu einer teilnehmenden Beobachtung im Leben der Spitzenkandidatin wurde, bezeichnet Faus’ als weder beabsichtigt noch zufällig, sondern unvermeidlich. Souverän umschifft er den Verdacht, hier würde das fertige, gültige, unzweifelhafte Bild einer Politikerin präsentiert, und reflektiert stattdessen die Produktion solcher Bilder im laufenden Betrieb. Ada Colau wird am Ende des Films eine andere geworden UND die gleiche geblieben sein – eine Unmöglichkeit, die zu bewältigen ihr von ihrem Charakter und der politischen Moral, der sie sich verpflichtet fühlt, diktiert wurde. Das Motto, das Ada Colau, nachdem sie im Mai 2015 Bürgermeisterin geworden war, zur allseitigen Erinnerung an die Tür des Ratszimmers schreiben ließ, lautete: „Lasst uns niemals vergessen, wer wir sind und warum wir hier sind.“

Ralph Eue

Anger

Dokumentarfilm
Spanien
2014
24 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sergi Casamitjana
Mireia Fontanals
Jordi París
Anna Serra
Eli Sort
Mireia Fontanals
Aleix Burgueño
Anita und Amadeu sind immer noch ein Paar, obwohl ihnen das Alter schon arg zusetzt. Den unterschiedlichen Gewohnheiten können sie nicht entfliehen. Alle Abläufe absolvieren sie unendlich langsam. Nur die Katzen und der Hund sind ihnen als Gefährten geblieben. Sie ist noch flott bei der Sache und hält den Laden am Laufen, während sich Amadeu duldsam und mühsam gerade noch so aufrechthält. So aufeinander angewiesen, wird der Ton schärfer.
In ein paar wenigen Szenen wird das ganze Drama des Altwerdens präzise skizziert. Über einen längeren Zeitraum kehrt die junge Filmemacherin Mireia Fontanals immer wieder zu den beiden zurück, um dieselben Vorgänge zu dokumentieren. Im Prinzip ganz einfach, denn es gibt ja nur noch wenige Schauplätze, die im Leben der Eheleute eine Rolle spielen: das Haus, die Krankenstation, das Pflegeheim. Und es sind nur noch wenige Fragen, die zu klären sind. Zum Beispiel die: Liebst du mich noch?
Cornelia Klauß

Another Night on Earth

Dokumentarfilm
Spanien
2012
52 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

David Muñoz, Hibrida
David Muñoz
David Muñoz
David Muñoz, Alicia Medina
David Muñoz
David Muñoz
Straßenverkehr in Kairo kann mit Fug und Recht als experimentelles Chaos angesehen werden. Ampeln etwa scheinen grundsätzlich nur als Lichtorgel wahrgenommen zu werden, platziert zur Auflockerung des Stadtbildes, aber sonst nicht weiter zu beachten. Taxis allerdings gelten als halbwegs vertrauenswürdige Fähren in diesem unberechenbaren Fluss der Verkehrsteilnehmer, umso mehr, wenn in der Stadt plötzlich, noch mehr als zu normalen Zeiten, alles in Bewegung geraten ist. Produziert zwischen März und September 2011, also während der Frühlingsblüte der arabischen Revolution und aufgezeichnet mit kleinstem Equipment, das fest in verschiedenen Taxis installiert war, ist „Otra noche en la tierra“ ein aufregendes Zeitbild der ägyptischen Gesellschaft in diesen Monaten. Dutzende Passagiere lassen uns teilhaben an ihrem aktuellen Kummer (häufig) oder ihrer Euphorie (manchmal) und ihren Erwartungen oder Befürchtungen angesichts einer ungewissen Zukunft. Der interessanteste Moment einer Taxifahrt, so der spanische Regisseur David Muñoz (der zugleich Kameramann, Produzent und Cutter war), sei jener, in dem das Taxi von einem Fortbewegungsmittel zu einem zensurfreien Kommunikationsraum wird, in dem diese seltsame Mischsituation aus Anonymität und Privatheit zum Katalysator für atemberaubend echte Momente menschlichen Miteinanders wird, man könnte auch sagen: wenn die Condition humaine ihre vielfältigen Gesichter offenbart.

Ralph Eue



Ausgezeichnet mit dem Preis der Vereinten Dienstleistungsgewerkschaft ver.di und dem Preis der Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique 2012

Astigmatismo

Animationsfilm
Spanien
2013
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nicolai Troshinsky
Nicolai Troshinsky
Shogun Kunitoki
Nicolai Troshinsky
Nicolai Troshinsky
Pierre Sauze
Ein Junge verliert seine Brille und kann nun nur noch ein Ding auf einmal scharf sehen. Seine Augen werden von den Geräuschen um ihn herum angezogen. Er wird eine verschwommene Welt voller unbekannter Orte und fremder Personen erkunden müssen.
Retrospektive 2018
BiBiCi Story Carlos Durán

Acht Lektionen in einem Sprachkurs. Darunter: verschiedene Formen politischer Unterdrückung, sexuelle Freiheit, Vietnam und eine cinephile Hommage.

BiBiCi Story

Dokumentarfilm
Spanien
1969
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Carlos Durán
Ricardo Bofill
Acht Lektionen in einem Sprachkurs. Darunter: verschiedene Formen politischer Unterdrückung, sexuelle Freiheit, Vietnam und eine cinephile Hommage.

Ralph Eue
Strictly Animated 2018
Decorado Alberto Vázquez

Hin und wieder fragt sich Arnold, ob die Welt, in der er lebt, tatsächlich real ist, und ob sein Leben wirklich zu ihm gehört. Was, wenn die Welt bloß ein Bühnenbild ist?

Decorado

Animationsfilm
Frankreich,
Spanien
2016
12 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Iván Miñambres, Nicolas Schmerkin
Alberto Vázquez
Víctor García
Khris Cembe, Pamela Poltronieri, Roc Espinet
David Rodríguez
Hin und wieder fragt sich Arnold, ob die Welt, in der er lebt, tatsächlich real ist, und ob sein Leben wirklich zu ihm gehört. Doch außer Arnold scheint in dieser rabenschwarzen Komödie niemand zu bemerken, dass sich das Dasein in Episoden abspielt, von Product-Placement unterwandert und durch Cliffhanger-Szenen unterbrochen wird. Was, wenn die Welt bloß ein Bühnenbild ist?

Duscha Kistler

Flesh

Animationsfilm
Brasilien,
Spanien
2019
12 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Chelo Loureiro, Livia Perez
Camila Kater
Sofia Oriana Infante, Julia Teles
Samuel Mariani
Samuel Mariani
Camila Kater, Giovana Affonso, Flavia Godoy, Cassandra Reis, Leila Monsegur
Camila Kater, Ana Julia Carvalheiro
Xabier Ferreiro, Julia Teles, Luis Felipe Labaki
Ein animierter Dokumentarfilm in fünf Kapiteln von und über fünf Frauenpersönlichkeiten. In den Hauptrollen die eigene Körperlichkeit und eine multiperspektivische Sicht auf Weiblichkeit. Denn Herkunft, Umfeld und Sozialisierung – mit ihren mitunter pervers-zwanghaften Nebenwirkungen – haben ihr ganz eigenes Gewicht. Die autobiografischen Reflexionen gewinnen durch die Wahl unterschiedlicher haptischer Animationstechniken an Tiefenschärfe und Schlagkraft. Plastisch, eindringlich, schön.

Nadja Rademacher
Internationales Programm 2018
Good Morning Spain Sara Pisos, Carlos Reyes, Irati Cano Alkain, María Barceló

Choreografierte Vergangenheitsverklärung einer Gruppe von Ex-Fremdenlegionären in Katalonien, die sich selbst gepflegt um Kopf und Kragen redet.

Good Morning Spain

Dokumentarfilm
Spanien
2017
29 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

UAB - Master's Degree in Theory and Practice of Creative Documentary Making
Sara Pisos, Carlos Reyes, Irati Cano Alkain, María Barceló
Sara Pisos, Carlos Reyes, María Barceló
Diana Toucedo
Irati Cano Alkain
Eine Gruppe ehemaliger spanischer Fremdenlegionäre trifft sich wöchentlich in einem Vorort von Barcelona zum Paradieren und Exerzieren, und um der guten alten Zeiten zu gedenken. Angesichts der überbordenden Inszenierung von Stolz und Heimatliebe konzentriert sich das Filmteam auf wenige klare Fragen, kleine Gesten und Zwischentöne – und enthüllt auf diese Weise viel über die Sehnsucht der Protagonisten nach einem heroischen Gestern, das dem unangenehm komplexen und diversen Heute vorgezogen wird.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann

Las del diente

Animationsfilm
Spanien,
USA
2018
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Paola Escobar
Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Ana Pérez López
Laura Sofia Pérez
Heutzutage ist es verzwickt mit dem Kinderwunsch. Will ich Kinder? Und wenn ja, wann? Die Reproduktionsmedizin ermöglicht sogar Wahlfreiheit beim „richtigen“ Zeitpunkt. Erst einmal die berufliche Karriere verfolgen und dank Social Freezing die Entscheidung auf später verschieben? Drei Frauen über dreißig denken über den weiblichen Körper nach und plaudern liebevoll über ihre Gebärmutter. Dazu Flamenco-Klänge – Puls des Lebens.

Annina Wettstein
Internationales Programm 2014
Mar de Fons Bruno López, Florencia Luna

Vater, Sohn, ein Fischerboot und die verschmutzte Küste vor Barcelona. Vom Sterben einer Tradition und der Krankheit der Zivilisation. Kleine Novelle mit Charisma.

Mar de Fons

Dokumentarfilm
Spanien
2014
30 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sergi Casamitjana, Escac Films
Bruno López, Florencia Luna
Julián Sánchez
Florencia Luna, Dídac Sáez
Bruno López, Dídac Sáez
Bruno López, Florencia Luna
Yago Flaquer, Mar Rosselló
„Wieder ein schlechter Tag!“ So klingt es, wenn sich katalanische Fischer treffen. Das Fischsterben und die Umweltverschmutzung im Großraum Barcelona machen ihnen zu schaffen. Ramón Costa hat in seiner langen Laufbahn dramatische Veränderungen erlebt. Damit ist nicht gemeint, dass er es vom Ruder- zum Motorbootbesitzer geschafft hat – nein: Von 100 Fischerboten sind in seinem Heimatort Badalona gerade einmal sechs geblieben. Eines davon gehört Ramón. Doch auch er denkt daran, das kleine Familienunternehmen aufzugeben, zumal sein älterer Sohn ihm Sorgen bereitet. Eine Strandbar zu eröffnen, wäre lukrativer. Der jüngere, endlich aus der Adoleszenz erwacht, macht ihm zwar neuen Mut. Doch ist der Junior störrisch und besserwisserisch.
All die Probleme ballen sich auf dem engen Raum des Fischerbootes zusammen, wenn Vater und Sohn aufs Meer hinausfahren. Der Film hat alles, was eine kleine Novelle ausmacht. Er erzählt von rastlosen Männern, vom Sterben der Tradition und von der Krankheit der Zivilisation. Im Zentrum steht eine charismatische Hauptfigur. Ramón ist nicht nur ein passionierter Geschichtenerzähler, sondern bemüht sich als Vater rührend um eine Verbindung zu seinen Söhnen, auch wenn sie in einem vollkommen anderen Zeitalter groß geworden sind als er selbst.
Lars Meyer

Matilda

Animationsfilm
Belgien,
Frankreich,
Spanien
2018
7 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Arnaud Demuynck
Irene Iborra Rizo, Eduard Puertas Anfruns
Karim Bagili
Anna Molins
Irene Iborra Rizo
Nuria Robles, Edu Puertas, Irene Iborra Rizo
Irene Iborra Rizo
Philippe Fontaine
Abends, wenn es dunkel wird im Zimmer der kleinen Matilda, beginnen die großen Abenteuer: Wer will denn schlafen, wenn es mit Hilfe der Taschenlampe so viel im Kinderzimmer zu entdecken gibt? Im Spiel mit Licht und Schatten entdeckt sie ihr Spielzeug von einer ganz neuen Seite. Die Puppenanimation zeigt, wie Matilda die Angst vor der Dunkelheit überwindet und ihrer Kreativität freien Lauf lässt.

Marie-Thérèse Antony

Memory of the Land

Animationsfilm
Spanien
2017
13 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Samira Badran, Jaume Serra
Samira Badran
Lucas Ariel Vallejos
Oriol Martín Gual
Oriol Martín Gual
Oriol Martín Gual, Pol Cayuela Rull, Alex Guitart
Samira Badran, Oriol Martín Gual
Lucas Ariel Vallejos
Die palästinensische Künstlerin Samira Badran macht in dieser Filmcollage plastisch, was es heißt, mit einem israelischen Checkpoint konfrontiert zu sein. In einer atemberaubenden Kumulation von Befehlskaskaden, klaustrophobischer Architektur, ständiger Überwachung und der Willkür der Wachposten wird deutlich, wie sich strukturelle und physische Gewalt zu einer Spirale der Aggression verbinden. Ein beunruhigender und in seiner Abstraktion beklemmender Animationsfilm.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann