Film Archive

Arid Zone

Documentary Film
Brazil
2019
76 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Antônio Junior, Fernanda Pessoa
Fernanda Pessoa
Pedro Santiago
Rodrigo Levy
Germano de Oliveira, Mari Moraga
Fernanda Pessoa
Daniel Turini
Mesa, Arizona, east of Phoenix and about 200 kilometres from the Mexican border, is said to be the most conservative city in the U.S. In 2001, Fernanda Pessoa was an exchange student in Mesa. She was 15 years old at the time. 15 years later she returned, in the weeks before the presidential election won by Donald Trump. Starting with numerous photos of that earlier time, Pessoa searches out people she met as a teenager. She finds a new approach to the United States, is more aware of everything she experiences; after all, she has grown up in the meantime. She conducts an inner dialogue with her former self as she rediscovers this country whose inhabitants are so proud of the fact that it’s theirs: America. The land of firearms and peculiar sports, the land that invented the shopping mall and the Western movie.

Pessoa quotes the philosopher Baudrillard, to whom America seemed like a fiction. With her film, she turns it into an experience of reality that ultimately makes her understand more about her own country: “Our cultural colonialism came to collect the bill.” “Arid Zone” (Arizona) opposes that colonialism with the gentle resistance of precise observation.

Bert Rebhandl



Honorable Mention in the Next Masters Competition Long Documentary and Animated Film.

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Flesh

Animated Film
Brazil,
Spain
2019
12 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Chelo Loureiro, Livia Perez
Camila Kater
Sofia Oriana Infante, Julia Teles
Samuel Mariani
Samuel Mariani
Camila Kater, Giovana Affonso, Flavia Godoy, Cassandra Reis, Leila Monsegur
Camila Kater, Ana Julia Carvalheiro
Xabier Ferreiro, Julia Teles, Luis Felipe Labaki
An animated documentary in five chapters by and about five female personalities. In the leading roles are their own physicality and a multi-perspective view of femininity. Because origin, environment and socialisation – with their occasionally perverted and compulsive side-effects – have a weight of their own. These autobiographical reflections gain depth of focus and impact through the choice of different haptic animation techniques. Vivid, haunting, beautiful.

Nadja Rademacher

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Next Masters Wettbewerb
Guaicurus Street João Borges

A red-light district in Belo Horizonte. The camera is admitted into a “running house”. Love for sale looks like a routine, dreary assembly line exercise here, sometimes almost like a comedy.

Guaicurus Street

Documentary Film
Brazil
2019
75 minutes
subtitles: 
English
German
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
João Borges, Thais Mol (Yara Filmes), Mariana Andrade
João Borges
Lucas Oscilloid, Pedro Durães
Lucas Barbi
Fabian Remy
João Borges
Lucas Oscilloid, Marcel Dadalto, Pedro Durães, Victor Brandão
A red light district in Belo Horizonte. The brothels are soliciting customers in all the colours of the night. The windows here are usually open, there is at most a guy in a plastic chair sitting in front of the door. The camera is admitted into one of the “running houses”. We see a long shot, almost like on a surveillance monitor, of men in a stark corridor scurrying from woman to woman. But suddenly we’re really close to some negotiations (“3 positions for 25 Real”) and at some point there’s an “impossible” cut: a reverse shot from the other side of the door, out of the woman’s room. We see sex workers tidying up, hanging around, and gossiping. They talk about violence, of pretend and real orgasms. But we also see sex scenes, played by actors, in which love for sale sometimes looks like a practiced, dreary assembly line exercise, sometimes almost like a comedy.

If this film systematically blurs the boundaries between the documentary and the fictional gaze, it has to do with the wish to leave the women their dignity and to avoid all-too-familiar images of misery. But it also has to do with the fact that sex can never be separated from fictions and projections.

Lukas Foerster

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Kids DOK
Skin Color Livia Perini

Kauan’s favourite pastimes are playing football and swimming in the sea. Two things spoil them for him: school and the sunrays that his skin can’t tolerate.

Skin Color

Documentary Film
Brazil
2018
15 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Karla Laet
Livia Perini
Pedro Santiago
Patrick Tristão
Yan Motta
Livia Perini
Tiago Lorena
Eleven-year-old Kauan’s favourite pastimes are playing football and swimming in the sea. Two things spoil them for him: school and the sunrays that his skin can’t tolerate. Sunscreen and long-sleeved T-shirts are his daily companions. Luckily, he’s not the only one in the family who struggles with albinism. A film about sticking together and enjoying life.

Marie-Thérèse Antony

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Arid Zone

Dokumentarfilm
2019
76 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Antônio Junior, Fernanda Pessoa
Fernanda Pessoa
Pedro Santiago
Rodrigo Levy
Germano de Oliveira, Mari Moraga
Fernanda Pessoa
Daniel Turini
Mesa in Arizona, östlich von Phoenix und gut 200 Kilometer von der Grenze zu Mexiko entfernt, gilt als die konservativste Stadt in den USA. 2001 war Fernanda Pessoa als Austauschschülerin in Mesa zu Gast. Sie war damals 15 Jahre alt. 15 Jahre später kehrte sie zurück, in den Wochen vor der Präsidentenwahl, bei der Donald Trump gewann. Ausgehend von zahlreichen Fotografien aus der damaligen Zeit, sucht Pessoa die Begegnung mit Menschen, die sie als Teenager kennenlernte. Sie findet einen neuen Zugang zu den Vereinigten Staaten, sie erlebt nun alles deutlich bewusster, schließlich ist sie inzwischen erwachsen geworden. Mit ihrem früheren Selbst führt sie einen inneren Dialog, während sie dieses Land neu entdeckt, dessen Bewohner sich so viel darauf einbilden, dass es ihres ist: Amerika. Das Land der Feuerwaffen und der eigentümlichen Sportarten, das Land, das die Shoppingmall erfand und den Western.

Pessoa zitiert den Philosophen Baudrillard, für den Amerika wie eine Fiktion wirkte. Mit ihrem Film macht sie daraus eine Wirklichkeitserfahrung, bei der sie am Ende auch mehr über ihr eigenes Land begreift: „Unser kultureller Kolonialismus kam zurück, um uns abzukassieren.“ „Arid Zone“ (Arizona) setzt dem Kolonialismus den sanften Widerstand genauer Beobachtung entgegen.

Bert Rebhandl



Lobende Erwähnung im Next Masters Wettbewerb Langer Dokumentar- and Animationsfilm.

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Flesh

Animationsfilm
2019
12 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Chelo Loureiro, Livia Perez
Camila Kater
Sofia Oriana Infante, Julia Teles
Samuel Mariani
Samuel Mariani
Camila Kater, Giovana Affonso, Flavia Godoy, Cassandra Reis, Leila Monsegur
Camila Kater, Ana Julia Carvalheiro
Xabier Ferreiro, Julia Teles, Luis Felipe Labaki
Ein animierter Dokumentarfilm in fünf Kapiteln von und über fünf Frauenpersönlichkeiten. In den Hauptrollen die eigene Körperlichkeit und eine multiperspektivische Sicht auf Weiblichkeit. Denn Herkunft, Umfeld und Sozialisierung – mit ihren mitunter pervers-zwanghaften Nebenwirkungen – haben ihr ganz eigenes Gewicht. Die autobiografischen Reflexionen gewinnen durch die Wahl unterschiedlicher haptischer Animationstechniken an Tiefenschärfe und Schlagkraft. Plastisch, eindringlich, schön.

Nadja Rademacher

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Next Masters Wettbewerb
Guaicurus Street João Borges

Ein Rotlichtviertel in Belo Horizonte. Die Kamera erhält Einlass in ein Laufhaus. Käufliche Liebe erscheint hier mal als routiniert-triste Fließbandübung, mal fast schon als Komödie.

Guaicurus Street

Dokumentarfilm
2019
75 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
deutsche
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
João Borges, Thais Mol (Yara Filmes), Mariana Andrade
João Borges
Lucas Oscilloid, Pedro Durães
Lucas Barbi
Fabian Remy
João Borges
Lucas Oscilloid, Marcel Dadalto, Pedro Durães, Victor Brandão
Ein Rotlichtviertel in Belo Horizonte. Die Bordelle werben um ihre Kundschaft in allen Farben der Nacht. Die Fenster stehen hier meist offen, vor der Tür sitzt höchstens ein Typ auf einem Plastikstuhl. Die Kamera erhält Einlass in eines der Laufhäuser. Wir sehen in einer Totalen, fast wie auf einem Überwachungsbildschirm, Männer in einem schlichten Gang von Tür zu Tür, von Frau zu Frau huschen. Bei einigen der Verhandlungen aber sind wir plötzlich dicht dabei („3 Positionen für 25 Real“), und irgendwann folgt ein „unmöglicher“ Schnitt: ein Gegenschuss von der anderen Seite der Tür her, aus dem Zimmer der Frau heraus. Wir sehen Sexarbeiterinnen beim Aufräumen, beim Abhängen, beim miteinander Klatschen. Sie erzählen von Gewalt, von vorgetäuschten und von echten Orgasmen. Aber wir sehen auch Sexszenen, mit Schauspielern nachgestellt, in denen die käufliche Liebe mal als routiniert-triste Fließbandübung, mal fast schon als Komödie erscheint.

Wenn der Film die Grenzen zwischen einem dokumentarischen und einem fiktionalen Blick systematisch verwischt, dann hat das mit dem Wunsch zu tun, den Frauen ihre Würde zu lassen und die geläufigen Elendsbilder zu vermeiden. Es hat aber auch etwas damit zu tun, dass Sex nie zu trennen ist von Fiktionen und Projektionen.

Lukas Foerster

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Kids DOK
Skin Color Livia Perini

Kauan mag am liebsten Fußball spielen und im Meer schwimmen. Zwei Dinge verleiden ihm den liebsten Zeitvertreib: die Schule und die Sonnenstrahlen, die seine Haut nicht verträgt.

Skin Color

Dokumentarfilm
2018
15 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Karla Laet
Livia Perini
Pedro Santiago
Patrick Tristão
Yan Motta
Livia Perini
Tiago Lorena
Der elfjährige Kauan mag am liebsten Fußball spielen und im Meer schwimmen. Zwei Dinge verleiden ihm den liebsten Zeitvertreib: die Schule und die Sonnenstrahlen, die seine Haut nicht verträgt. Sonnencreme und langärmelige T-Shirts sind seine täglichen Begleiter. Zum Glück ist er aber nicht der Einzige in der Familie, der sich mit Albinismus herumschlagen muss. Ein Film über Zusammenhalt und Lebensfreude.

Marie-Thérèse Antony

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.