Film Archive

Ayan and the White Balloon

Documentary Film
Belgium,
Iran
2015
26 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

KASK Academy of art, Gent University, Belgium
Vida Dena
Emad, Meisam, Ali, Pooyan
Vida Dena
Dieter Diependaele, Vida Dena
Vida Dena
Milad, Michel Coquette
Hiding: behind masks, the white balloon, a fiction. The fears run deep. After five years in exile in Europe the director returns to Iran to make a film. She asks her friends to act in it. What starts as a game during the shoot gradually turns into a brutal clash between those who stayed and the one who left. Who has the prerogative of interpretation? What is a stereotype, what does the West want to see, what do the Iranians want to reveal about themselves?

Cornelia Klauß

Cleaning Schaerbeek

Documentary Film
Belgium,
Lebanon
2017
19 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
Yohan Dumas
Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
When the terror alert level in Belgium was raised, the Interior Minister made a pithy statement that he was going to clean up the Molenbeek district – by now a synonym for Islamist breeding ground. Meanwhile a resident of the Schaerbeek district, also predominantly populated by migrants, discovered that mysterious things were going on in front of her window. She informed the authorities and filmed what’s happening … An equally intelligent and amusing essayist look at paranoia and the obsession with security.

Frederik Lang

I Don’t Feel Anything Anymore

Animated Film
Belgium,
Canada
2017
10 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

William Henne, Delphine Cousin, Delphine Renard, Marc Bertrand
Noémie Marsily, Carl Roosens
Pierre Yves Drapeau
Noémie Marsily, Carl Roosens
The couple live high above the city in the basket of a crane. The woman fire fighter and the magician share the small joys and worries of life in their intimate life together. The world is still as it should be up here. Or is it? Similarities with escapist tendencies when dealing with the chaos of our riotous world are bound to be purely coincidental in this animated satire. The dynamic lines of the drawings are reinforced by a strong soundtrack by Canadian soprano Natalie Choquette.

Nadja Rademacher

My Daughter Nora

Documentary Film
Belgium,
France
2016
15 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Julie Frères
Jasna Krajinovic
Guillaume Vandenberghe
Marie-Hélène Mora
Quentin Jacques
It’s an achievement in itself: telling the drama of a whole generation, a family and a mother, in 15 minutes. Nora writes a letter of farewell to the world of hedonism and, like many young Muslims in Belgium, moves to Syria to join the Jihad – leaving behind desperate parents who wonder what went wrong. They have nothing left but the hope that Nora and the many others will return home safely. But not everyone is that lucky.

Matthias Heeder


Nominated for Young Eyes Film Award

Pulse

Documentary Film
Belgium,
Hungary,
Portugal
2015
26 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Robin Petré, Doc Nomads
Robin Petré
András Emszt
Robin Petré
Robin Petré
María Grazia Goya
Robin Petré
Rudolf Varhegyi, Asia Dér, María Grazia Goya, Kimberly Ivany, Tanya Haurylchyk
When stags are kept in captivity the borderline between autonomy and servitude runs through every single individual animal. The relationship between man’s claim to power and the authentic elegance of the wild beast must be continuously rebalanced. With “Pulse”, Danish filmmaker Robin Petré has produced an entrancingly beautiful work and an astute reflection on the history and present state of this kind of animal husbandry.

Ralph Eue



Silver Dove in the International Competition Short Documentary and Animated Film 2016

The Fullness of Time (Romance)

Documentary Film
Belgium,
France
2016
14 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nicolas Rincon Gille
Manon Coubia
Nicolas Rincon Gille
Manon Coubia
Aline Huber
One September morning in 1957 a mountaineer sets out with a friend to climb Mont Blanc and dies in the eternal ice. His young wife sleepily stays behind among the folds of her duvet. All her life she’ll wait for the glacier to give him up again. Manon Coubia portrays this almost classical love tragedy in which time stops, at least for the lost body, in a clear and symbolic visual language as a film triptych somewhere between stagnation and movement.

Lars Meyer

Filmarchiv

Internationaler Wettbewerb Kurzfilm (ab 2015) 2015
Ayan and the White Balloon Vida Dena

Nach fünf Jahren des Exils in Europa kehrt die Regisseurin in den Iran zurück, um einen Film zu drehen. Sie bittet ihre Freunde, darin mitzuspielen. Was als Spiel beginnt, erweist sich im Prozess des Drehens als knallharter Clash zwischen jenen, die geblieben sind, und der, die fortging

Ayan and the White Balloon

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien,
Iran
2015
26 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

KASK Academy of art, Gent University, Belgium
Vida Dena
Emad, Meisam, Ali, Pooyan
Vida Dena
Dieter Diependaele, Vida Dena
Vida Dena
Milad, Michel Coquette
Sich verstecken: hinter Masken, dem weißen Ballon, der Fiktion. Die Ängste sitzen tief. Nach fünf Jahren des Exils in Europa kehrt die Regisseurin in den Iran zurück, um einen Film zu drehen. Sie bittet ihre Freunde, darin mitzuspielen. Was als Spiel beginnt, erweist sich im Prozess des Drehens als knallharter Clash zwischen jenen, die geblieben sind, und der, die fortging. Wer hat die Deutungshoheit? Was ist Klischee, was will der Westen sehen, was wollen die Iraner von sich zeigen?

Cornelia Klauß

Cleaning Schaerbeek

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien,
Libanon
2017
19 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
Yohan Dumas
Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
Nachdem in Belgien die Terrorwarnstufe angehoben wurde, äußert der Innenminister mit markigen Worten, dass er den Stadtteil Molenbeek – mittlerweile ein Synonym für Islamistenbrutstätte – säubern wird. Währenddessen entdeckt eine Bewohnerin des ebenfalls migrantisch geprägten Bezirks Schaerbeek, dass sich vor ihrem Fenster mysteriöse Dinge abspielen. Sie informiert die Behörden und filmt das Geschehen … Ein intelligenter wie amüsanter essayistischer Blick auf Paranoia und Sicherheitswahn.

Frederik Lang

I Don’t Feel Anything Anymore

Animationsfilm
Belgien,
Kanada
2017
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

William Henne, Delphine Cousin, Delphine Renard, Marc Bertrand
Noémie Marsily, Carl Roosens
Pierre Yves Drapeau
Noémie Marsily, Carl Roosens
Das Pärchen wohnt hoch oben über der Stadt in einem Krankorb. Die Feuerwehrfrau und der Zauberer teilen in trauter Zweisamkeit die kleinen Freuden und Sorgen des Alltags. Hier ist die Welt noch in Ordnung. Oder? Ähnlichkeiten mit eskapistischen Tendenzen im Umgang mit dem Chaos unserer Welt in Aufruhr sind in dieser animierten Satire sicherlich rein zufällig. Der dynamische Charakter des Zeichenstrichs wird von einer starken Tonspur mit der kanadischen Sopranistin Natalie Choquette bekräftigt.

Nadja Rademacher

My Daughter Nora

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien,
Frankreich
2016
15 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Julie Frères
Jasna Krajinovic
Guillaume Vandenberghe
Marie-Hélène Mora
Quentin Jacques
Schon das ist eine Leistung: das Drama einer ganzen Generation, einer Familie und einer Mutter in knapp 15 Minuten zu erzählen. Mit einem Brief verabschiedet sich Nora von der Welt des Hedonismus und zieht, wie viele jugendliche Moslems aus Belgien, in den Dschihad nach Syrien. Zurück bleiben verzweifelte Eltern, die sich fragen, was schiefgelaufen ist. Ihnen bleibt nichts als die Hoffnung, dass Nora und die vielen anderen heil wieder zurückkommen. Aber dieses Glück haben nicht alle.

Matthias Heeder


Nominiert für Young Eyes Film Award

Pulse

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien,
Ungarn,
Portugal
2015
26 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Robin Petré, Doc Nomads
Robin Petré
András Emszt
Robin Petré
Robin Petré
María Grazia Goya
Robin Petré
Rudolf Varhegyi, Asia Dér, María Grazia Goya, Kimberly Ivany, Tanya Haurylchyk
Wenn Hirsche in Gefangenschaft gehalten werden, dann verläuft mitten durch das einzelne Tierindividuum die Grenze zwischen Autonomie und Knechtschaft. Das Verhältnis zwischen dem Machtanspruch des Menschen und der authentischen Eleganz des Wildtiers muss permanent fein austariert werden. Die dänische Filmemacherin Robin Petré hat mit „Pulse“ eine berückend schöne Arbeit geschaffen, in der sich Geschichte und Gegenwart dieser Art von Tierhaltung scharfsinnig gespiegelt finden.

Ralph Eue



Ausgezeichnet mit der Silbernen Taube im Internationalen Wettbewerb kurzer Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm 2016

The Fullness of Time (Romance)

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien,
Frankreich
2016
14 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nicolas Rincon Gille
Manon Coubia
Nicolas Rincon Gille
Manon Coubia
Aline Huber
An einem Septembermorgen 1957 bricht ein Bergsteiger mit seinem Kumpel zum Mont Blanc auf und verunglückt im ewigen Eis. Seine junge Frau bleibt verschlafen zurück in den Falten ihrer Bettdecke. Ein Leben lang wartet sie darauf, dass der Gletscher ihn wieder freigibt. Diese geradezu klassische Liebestragödie, in der zumindest für den verschollenen Körper die Zeit anhält, erzählt Manon Coubia mit klarer symbolischer Bildsprache, zwischen Stillstand und Bewegung, als ein filmisches Triptychon.

Lars Meyer