Film Archive

No Objects

Animated Film
Canada
2019
7 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Marc Bertrand
Moïa Jobin-Paré
Moïa Jobin-Paré
Moïa Jobin-Paré
Moïa Jobin-Paré
Benjamin Proulx-Mathers
Hands in movement, fingers typing, grasping, turning screw. Only the objects are missing. This visual gap brings out all the more clearly the presence of things and technical devices in our daily life. In her experimental animation, the musician and artist Moïa Jobin-Paré explores our sense of touch, using the analogue and haptic technique of scratching photos. The result is a musical pantomime.

Annina Wettstein

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

DOK Neuland
The Holy City Nimrod Shanit, Timur Musabay

In a mix of room-scale gaming and live action film Jerusalem can be experienced as a religious epicentre where three world religions overlap.

The Holy City

VR Experience
Canada,
Israel
2019
20 minutes
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Nimrod Shanit, Sean Thomas Evans
Nimrod Shanit, Timur Musabay
Ophir Leibovitz
William McMaster, Jurek Ostefeld
Brady Bothwell, Nimrod Shanit, Lenadro Amorim-Downie
Mishal Alam, Oury Atlan
Nimrod Shanit
Yuval Baron, Graham Bertie
Victoria Braverman
Scott Cairns
Mishal Alam, Oury Atlan
Mishal Alam
Nimrod Shanit
Lena Georgian
Daeve Fellows, Ariel Shtern
Matt Bilewicz
William McMaster
In a mix of room-scale gaming and live action film Jerusalem can be experienced as a religious epicentre where three world religions overlap. Believers of all denominations work on the narrative of the place, pleading for mutual understanding. The starting point of this intellectual game is the ambivalent term of Abrahamism which initiates a trialogue between Judaism, Christianity and Islam.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

International Programme
The Physics of Sorrow Theodore Ushev

Dreams can burst like chewing gum bubbles. Georgi Gospodinov’s novel “The Physics of Sorrow” was Theodore Ushev inspiration for this saga of a generation and for the animation of encaustic paintings.

The Physics of Sorrow

Animated Film
Canada
2019
27 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Marc Bertrand
Theodore Ushev
Theodore Ushev
Theodore Ushev
Theodore Ushev
Olivier Calvert
Dreams can burst like chewing gum bubbles. This and chronic Weltschmerz make the emphatic narrator – “I am us” – suffer. He tries to ward the important stuff against transience by compiling inventories of the present. Melancholic nostalgia is all that remains of his youth in Bulgaria, the move to Canada and world events in general. Georgi Gospodinov’s novel “The Physics of Sorrow” inspired Theodore Ushev to this saga of a generation and the first film made completely of encaustic paintings.

Nadja Rademacher

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

DOK Neuland
Unceded Territories Paisley Smith, Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun

In an age of dramatic climate predictions, each and everyone should ask themselves how big their own share in the destruction of the world is. Rage drives this work and rage is what it will ignite.

Unceded Territories

VR Experience
Canada
2019
6 minutes
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jason Legge, Paisley Smith, Ketsia Vedrine
Paisley Smith, Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun
A Tribe Called Red
ZeMind Studios
Paisley Smith
Adrian Ellis, Kieran Wagstaff
Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun
ZeMind Studios
ZeMind Studios
Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun, Paisley Smith, Dirk van Dinkel
ZeMind Studios
Paisley Smith, Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun
Dirk van Dinkel, Paisley Smith, ZeMind Studios
Matthew Smith, Nicky Thomson, Cliff Li
Andrew Guan, Miguel Sastre
Caitlin Conlen
Patrick Weekes, ZeMind Studios
In an age of dramatic climate predictions, each and everyone should ask themselves how big their own share in the destruction of the world is. Rage drives this work and rage is what it will ignite. The “Spirit Bear” invites us to the iconic world of the indigenous artist Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun and confronts us with the worst exploiters of nature: humans.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

No Objects

Animationsfilm
2019
7 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Marc Bertrand
Moïa Jobin-Paré
Moïa Jobin-Paré
Moïa Jobin-Paré
Moïa Jobin-Paré
Benjamin Proulx-Mathers
Hände in Bewegung. Finger tippen, fassen, schrauben. Nur der Gegenstand fehlt. Diese visuelle Leerstelle macht die Präsenz von Dingen und technischen Apparaturen in unserem Alltag umso deutlicher. Die Musikerin und Künstlerin Moïa Jobin-Paré erkundet in ihrer experimentellen Animation den Tastsinn: mit der analogen und haptischen Technik des Scratchens auf Fotografien. Das Resultat ist eine musikalische Pantomime.

Annina Wettstein

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

DOK Neuland
The Holy City Nimrod Shanit, Timur Musabay

In einem Mix aus Room-Scale-Gaming und Realfilm wird Jerusalem als religiöses Epizentrum erfahrbar, in dem sich drei Weltreligionen überlagern.

The Holy City

VR-Erfahrung
2019
20 Minuten
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Nimrod Shanit, Sean Thomas Evans
Nimrod Shanit, Timur Musabay
Ophir Leibovitz
William McMaster, Jurek Ostefeld
Brady Bothwell, Nimrod Shanit, Lenadro Amorim-Downie
Mishal Alam, Oury Atlan
Nimrod Shanit
Yuval Baron, Graham Bertie
Victoria Braverman
Scott Cairns
Mishal Alam, Oury Atlan
Mishal Alam
Nimrod Shanit
Lena Georgian
Daeve Fellows, Ariel Shtern
Matt Bilewicz
William McMaster
In einem Mix aus Room-Scale-Gaming und Realfilm wird Jerusalem als religiöses Epizentrum erfahrbar, in dem sich drei Weltreligionen überlagern. Gläubige aller Konfessionen arbeiten am Narrativ des Ortes und plädieren gleichzeitig für Verständigung. Ausgangspunkt für das Gedankenspiel ist der ambivalente Begriff des Abrahamismus, der einen Trialog zwischen Judentum, Christentum und Islam in Gang setzt.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Internationales Programm
The Physics of Sorrow Theodore Ushev

Träume können zerplatzen wie Kaugummiblasen. Georgi Gospodinows Roman „Physik der Schwermut“ inspirierte Theodore Ushev zur Saga einer Generation und zur Animation von enkaustischer Malerei.

The Physics of Sorrow

Animationsfilm
2019
27 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Marc Bertrand
Theodore Ushev
Theodore Ushev
Theodore Ushev
Theodore Ushev
Olivier Calvert
Träume können zerplatzen wie Kaugummiblasen. Daran und am chronischen Weltschmerz leidet der empathische Erzähler – „Ich sind wir“. Gegen die Vergänglichkeit sucht er mit Inventuren der Gegenwart das Wichtige zu bannen. Von der bulgarischen Jugend, der Übersiedlung nach Kanada und allgemein dem Weltgeschehen bleibt melancholische Nostalgie. Georgi Gospodinows Roman „Physik der Schwermut“ inspirierte Theodore Ushev zur Saga einer Generation und zum ersten Film gänzlich aus enkaustischer Malerei.

Nadja Rademacher

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

DOK Neuland
Unceded Territories Paisley Smith, Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun

In Zeiten dramatischer Klimaprognosen sollte sich jede und jeder fragen, wie groß der eigene Anteil an der Zerstörung der Welt ist. Wut treibt diese Arbeit an und Wut wird sie entfachen.

Unceded Territories

VR-Erfahrung
2019
6 Minuten
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jason Legge, Paisley Smith, Ketsia Vedrine
Paisley Smith, Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun
A Tribe Called Red
ZeMind Studios
Paisley Smith
Adrian Ellis, Kieran Wagstaff
Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun
ZeMind Studios
ZeMind Studios
Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun, Paisley Smith, Dirk van Dinkel
ZeMind Studios
Paisley Smith, Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun
Dirk van Dinkel, Paisley Smith, ZeMind Studios
Matthew Smith, Nicky Thomson, Cliff Li
Andrew Guan, Miguel Sastre
Caitlin Conlen
Patrick Weekes, ZeMind Studios
In Zeiten dramatischer Klimaprognosen sollte sich jede und jeder fragen, wie groß der eigene Anteil an der Zerstörung der Welt ist. Wut treibt diese Arbeit an und Wut wird sie entfachen. Der „Spirit Bear“ bittet uns in die ikonische Welt des indigenen Künstlers Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun und konfrontiert uns mit den schlimmsten Ausbeutern der Natur: den Menschen.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.