Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

International Programme 2014
Marmato Mark Grieco

In the Colombian village of Marmato international corporations are fighting for the gold in the mountain and the locals for their existence. A globalisation thriller with strong characters.

Marmato

Documentary Film
Colombia,
USA
2014
88 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Stuart Reid, Mark Grieco
Mark Grieco
Todd Boekelheide
Mark Grieco
Ricardo Acosta, Mark Grieco
Noah Conti
Mark Grieco, Stuart Reid
Bob Edwards
Every day Dumar says goodbye to his wife and kids in a long ceremony of kisses and blessings as if it was the last time. Equipped with the spiritual protection of his family and the religious protection of the statue of a Jesus with outstretched arms that looks over the green mountains of Colombia from the town of Marmato, he enters the gold mine. For over 500 years, the locals have been digging and blasting narrow tunnels into a mountain that threatens to collapse any minute. But the miners have nothing but gold, even though they are the ones who profit least from it. There has been an international gold rush going on here since the government opened the gates to foreign corporations in 2006. It’s to be the end of the ancient methods. A Canadian company wants to strip-mine the mountain, allegedly in a socially and ecologically sustainable manner. But what will become of Marmato? The battle for one of the biggest gold deposits in the world has begun.
Mark Grieco followed the complex disputes surrounding the exploitation of the mountain, the existence and identity of the natives for six years in a film that has already garnered a number of awards. As tightly plotted as a suspense novel – and with fairly novelistic characters – he tells a tale of growing resistance against globalisation. The current gold rate, burned into the tunnel walls, delivers the comment on the various situations and an old balladeer in a cowboy hat picks his ironic songs on his guitar.
Lars Meyer
Animadoc 2014
Old Folks' Tales – Ysabel. Fear Comes Down From Heaven Marcelo Dematei, Carlos Smith

Memories are linked to personal and shared (hi)stories.
In this episode, Ysabel talks about her experiences in the Spanish Civil War in Bilbao in 1937.

Old Folks' Tales – Ysabel. Fear Comes Down From Heaven

Animadoc
Colombia,
Spain
2013
5 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Carlos Smith
Marcelo Dematei, Carlos Smith
BSO
Carlos Smith, Diego Fonti
Carolina Robledo Forero, Marcelo Dematei, Carlos Smith
Edi Calderón
Memories are linked to personal and shared (hi)stories. The transmedia project “Old Folks’ Tales” attempts to make the memories of senior citizens accessible to younger people via an animadoc television series, an interactive website and workshops. In this episode, Ysabel talks about her experiences in the Spanish Civil War in Bilbao in 1937.

Filmarchiv

Sections (Film Archive)

Marmato

Dokumentarfilm
Kolumbien,
USA
2014
88 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Stuart Reid, Mark Grieco
Mark Grieco
Todd Boekelheide
Mark Grieco
Ricardo Acosta, Mark Grieco
Noah Conti
Mark Grieco, Stuart Reid
Bob Edwards
Jeden Tag verabschiedet sich Dumar mit einer langen Zeremonie, bestehend aus Küssen und Segnungen, von Frau und Kindern, als wäre es das letzte Mal. Ausgestattet mit dem ideellen Schutz der Familie und dem religiösen der Jesusstatue, die vom Ort Marmato aus mit ausgestreckten Armen die grüne Bergwelt Kolumbiens überblickt, geht es in die Goldmine. Seit über 500 Jahren graben und sprengen die Anwohner klaustrophobisch enge Tunnel in den Berg, der jeden Moment einzustürzen droht. Doch etwas anderes als das Gold haben die Bergleute nicht, auch wenn sie selbst am wenigsten davon profitieren. Seit die Regierung 2006 die Türen für ausländische Konzerne geöffnet hat, herrscht hier internationale Goldgräberstimmung. Mit den uralten Methoden soll nun Schluss sein. Eine kanadische Firma will, angeblich umwelt- und sozialverträglich, den Berg von außen abtragen. Was aber wird aus Marmato? Der Kampf um einen der größten Goldvorräte der Welt beginnt.
Sechs Jahre lang verfolgt Mark Grieco in seinem bereits preisgekrönten Film die komplexe Auseinandersetzung um die Ausbeutung des Bergs, um Existenz und Identität der Einheimischen. Mit der Dichte eines Spannungsromans – und durchaus romantauglichen Charakteren – erzählt er vom wachsenden Widerstand gegen die Globalisierung. Als Kommentar auf die jeweils aktuelle Lage brennt sich der Gold-Aktienkurs in die Stollenwand ein und ein alter Bänkelsänger mit Cowboyhut zupft seine ironischen Liedchen.
Lars Meyer
Animadok 2014
Old Folks' Tales – Ysabel. Fear Comes Down From Heaven Marcelo Dematei, Carlos Smith

Erinnerungen sind an persönliche und gemeinsame Geschichte(n) geknüpft. Hier erzählt Ysabel von ihren Erlebnissen im Spanischen Bürgerkrieg in Bilbao 1937.

Old Folks' Tales – Ysabel. Fear Comes Down From Heaven

Animadok
Kolumbien,
Spanien
2013
5 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Carlos Smith
Marcelo Dematei, Carlos Smith
BSO
Carlos Smith, Diego Fonti
Carolina Robledo Forero, Marcelo Dematei, Carlos Smith
Edi Calderón
Erinnerungen sind an persönliche und gemeinsame Geschichte(n) geknüpft. Das transmediale Projekt „Old Folks’ Tales“ versucht, Erinnerungen von Senioren in einer Animadoc-Fernsehserie, einer interaktiven Website und durch Workshops für jüngere Menschen erlebbar zu machen. Hier erzählt Ysabel von ihren Erlebnissen im Spanischen Bürgerkrieg in Bilbao 1937.