Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

International Programme
Book-Paper-Scissors Hirose Nanako

Kikuchi Nobuyoshi is an old-school book designer. In his studio in Tokyo, he uses sheets of paper, adhesive tape and rulers to design minimalist works of art of great sensitivity.

Book-Paper-Scissors

Documentary Film
Japan
2019
94 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Kitahara Eiji, Amy Aoyama
Hirose Nanako
biobiopatata, Suzuki Tsunekichi
Hirose Nanako
Hirose Nanako
As a book designer, Kikuchi Nobuyoshi has drafted more than 10,000 covers. Working the traditional way, with graph paper, ruler, printed-out Kanji (the Japanese letters) and tape, every copy is first created by the most delicate haptic work, before his assistant, with whom he has been collaborating for more than thirty years, transfers the finished design to the computer. Kikuchi’s books represent a considered, minimalist aesthetics in which every single element – cover, binding, spine, marker ribbon – continues the story he encountered while reading it. Renowned writers like Furui Yoshikichi, who translated Robert Musil and others into Japanese, trust the intuition and skill of Kikuchi, who claims that he has grown increasingly empty over the decades. In her gentle portrait, director Hirose Nanako shows a man whose whole lifestyle is shaped by an elegant and cultivated attitude to things – whether it’s brewing freshly ground coffee, using an old gramophone or strolling through a Tokyo flea market.

Carolin Weidner

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Brothers Quay Night*footnotes
Institute Benjamenta or This Dream People Call Human Life Brothers Quay

Jakob enters the Benjamenta siblings’ servants’ school. The protagonist of Robert Walser’s novel “Jakob von Gunten” becomes an observer of a place that lies still and dreams.

Institute Benjamenta or This Dream People Call Human Life

Feature Film
Germany,
Japan,
UK
1995
105 minutes
subtitles: 
German
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Atelier Koninck QbfZ, Image Forum, Pandora Filmproduktion
Brothers Quay
Leszek Jankowski
Nic Knowland
Larry Syder
Brothers Quay
Alan Passes, Brothers Quay
Mark Rylance, Alice Krige, Gottfried John, Daniel Smith
Jakob enters the Benjamenta siblings’ servants’ school. The protagonist of Robert Walser’s novel “Jakob von Gunten”, which was published in 1909, becomes an observer of a place that lies still and dreams. The pupils still take mysterious exercises, for example the canon of the singing forks. But the soul of the institute glows in hidden chambers. The Brothers Quay’s first feature film features a brilliant cast, but breathes the spirit of animation. Just as Walser’s language personifies matter and states of being and objectifies persons, objects, light and the forest take over that role in the film.

André Eckardt

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Sections (Film Archive)

Internationales Programm
Book-Paper-Scissors Hirose Nanako

Kikuchi Nobuyoshi ist Buchdesigner der alten Schule. In seinem Atelier in Tokio entwirft er mittels Papierbögen, Klebestreifen und Linealen minimalistische Kunstwerke voller Feingefühl.

Book-Paper-Scissors

Dokumentarfilm
2019
94 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Kitahara Eiji, Amy Aoyama
Hirose Nanako
biobiopatata, Suzuki Tsunekichi
Hirose Nanako
Hirose Nanako
Als Buchdesigner hat Kikuchi Nobuyoshi mehr als 10.000 Titel entworfen. Klassisch, mit Millimeterpapier, Lineal, ausgedruckten Kanji (den japanischen Schriftzeichen) und Tesafilm wird jedes Exemplar zunächst in feinster haptischer Arbeit erschaffen, bevor seine Assistentin, mit der er seit über dreißig Jahren zusammenarbeitet, das fertige Design in den Computer überträgt. Kikuchis Bücher stehen für eine durchdachte, minimalistische Ästhetik, in der jedes einzelne Element – Buchumschlag, Einband, Buchrücken, Lesebändchen – jene Geschichte weiterträgt, der er selbst beim Lesen begegnet ist. Namhafte Autoren wie Furui Yoshikichi, der unter anderem Robert Musil ins Japanische übersetzte, vertrauen auf die Intuition und das Geschick von Kikuchi, der von sich behauptet, über die Dekaden immer leerer geworden zu sein. Regisseurin Hirose Nanako zeigt in ihrem sanften Porträt einen Mann, dessen gesamte Lebensführung von eleganter und kultivierter Haltung den Dingen gegenüber geprägt ist – sei es beim Aufgießen frisch gemahlenen Kaffees, beim Benutzen eines alten Grammofons oder beim Schlendern über einen Flohmarkt in Tokio.

Carolin Weidner

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Institute Benjamenta or This Dream People Call Human Life

Spielfilm
1995
105 Minuten
Untertitel: 
deutsche
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Atelier Koninck QbfZ, Image Forum, Pandora Filmproduktion
Brothers Quay
Leszek Jankowski
Nic Knowland
Larry Syder
Brothers Quay
Alan Passes, Brothers Quay
Mark Rylance, Alice Krige, Gottfried John, Daniel Smith
Jakob tritt in die Dienerschule der Geschwister Benjamenta ein. Der Protagonist aus Robert Walsers 1909 veröffentlichtem Roman „Jakob von Gunten“ wird Beobachter eines Ortes, der sich zur Ruhe legt und träumt. Noch exerzieren die Zöglinge mysteriöse Übungen, etwa den Kanon der singenden Gabeln. Aber in versteckten Kammern glimmt die Seele des Instituts auf. Der erste Spielfilm der Brothers Quay agiert mit großartigem Darstellerensemble, atmet jedoch den Geist der Animation. So wie Walsers Sprache Materie und Zustände personifiziert und Personen verdinglicht, übernehmen im Film Gegenstände, Licht und Wald die zentralen Rollen.

André Eckardt

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.