Film Archive

Puberty

Documentary Film
Russia
2019
28 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Elena Kondrateva
Elena Kondrateva
Elena Kondrateva
Liza Kozlova, Elena Kondrateva
Yurij Geddert
A mother of four children puzzles about love. One thing is clear: She needs sex. She also knows: So many allegedly happy couples hold on to their mutual error. It’s more honest to get a divorce. The Russian original title means “age of transition”. And that can hit you in every phase of life. The teenagers discuss with their mother what strategies can be used to face it. The experienced midwife, in all frankness, chooses her own path to happiness.

Saskia Walker



Awarded with a Golden Dove in the International Competition Short Documentary Film.

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

The Track

Documentary Film
Russia
2019
14 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Aleksej Evstigneev
Aleksej Evstigneev
Elizaveta Popova
Aleksej Evstigneev
Aleksej Evstigneev
Varvara Frolova
Children look out the windows, an old woman in light blue shower sandals stares at her laptop. A granny complains about her grandson’s loud music. A man still hasn’t gotten over the fact that he had to go to war then. An observation. A snapshot, from a world that seems to be stuck in another time. Once a day a lonely train wagon bearing the original nickname of “Matrix” drives into the Russian mountain village of Otdalennyj, which means “remote”.

Julia Weigl

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Ties

Animated Film
Germany,
Russia
2019
8 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Florian Grolig
Dina Velikovskaya
Artem Fadeev
Björn Ullrich
Vera Myakisheva
Nadya Fedotova
Dina Velikovskaya
Artem Fadeev
The only thing left now is to say goodbye to Mom and Dad. The taxi to adulthood is already hooting. The last cup of tea together is drunk and the threshold already crossed. When a child steps out into adult life, the parents’ former world sometimes unravels down to the last thread, with every side-effect, for the daughter, too. Jaunty lines, beautifully drawn characters, visual wit – Dina Velikovskaya knows how to use the tools of animation with humour, personality and pizazz.

Nadja Rademacher



Awarded with the Mephisto 97.6 Audience Award.

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Puberty

Dokumentarfilm
2019
28 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Elena Kondrateva
Elena Kondrateva
Elena Kondrateva
Liza Kozlova, Elena Kondrateva
Yurij Geddert
Eine Mutter von vier Kindern rätselt über die Liebe. Ganz klar ist: Sie braucht Sex. Außerdem weiß sie: So viele angeblich glückliche Paare halten an ihrem gegenseitigen Irrtum fest. Da ist es schon ehrlicher, sich scheiden zu lassen. Der russische Originaltitel bedeutet „Übergangsalter“. Und das kann einen in jeder Lebensphase treffen. Mit welchen Strategien man sich dem stellt, diskutieren die Teenager gemeinsam mit der Mutter. Die erfahrene Hebamme geht, in aller Offenherzigkeit, ihren eigenen Weg ins Glück.

Saskia Walker



Ausgezeichnet mit einer Goldenen Taube im Internationalen Wettbewerb Kurzer Dokumentarfilm.

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

The Track

Dokumentarfilm
2019
14 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Aleksej Evstigneev
Aleksej Evstigneev
Elizaveta Popova
Aleksej Evstigneev
Aleksej Evstigneev
Varvara Frolova
Kinder gucken aus den Fenstern, eine alte Frau in hellblauen Badeschlappen starrt in ihren Laptop. Eine Oma beschwert sich über die laute Musik ihres Enkels. Ein Mann hat es noch immer nicht verwunden, dass er damals in den Krieg musste. Eine Beobachtung. Eine Momentaufnahme, aus einer Welt, die in einer anderen Zeit stehen geblieben scheint. Einmal am Tag fährt ein einsamer Eisenbahnwaggon mit dem originellen Spitznamen „Matrix“ in das russische Bergdorf Otdaljonnyi, was soviel heißt wie „abgelegen“.

Julia Weigl

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Ties

Animationsfilm
2019
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Florian Grolig
Dina Velikovskaya
Artem Fadeev
Björn Ullrich
Vera Myakisheva
Nadya Fedotova
Dina Velikovskaya
Artem Fadeev
Nur noch der Abschied von Mama und Papa. Die Taxe ins Erwachsensein hupt bereits. Der letzte gemeinsame Tee ist ausgetrunken und die Schwelle schon überschritten. Wenn ein Kind sich ins Leben verabschiedet, löst sich für Eltern bisweilen die bisherige Welt bis zum letzten Faden auf. Mit allen Nebenwirkungen, auch für die Tochter. Launiger Strich, herzlich gezeichnete Charaktere, visueller Witz – Dina Velikovskaya weiß die Mittel der Animation mit Humor, Persönlichkeit und Pfiff einzusetzen.

Nadja Rademacher



Ausgezeichnet mit dem Mephisto 97.6-Publikumspreis.

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.