Film Archive

Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Katie's Story

Animadoc
UK
2015
3 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andy Glynne
Lucy Izzard
Alexander Parsons
Lucy Izzard
Alexander Parsons
The multiple award winning series “Animated Minds”, launched in 2003, visualises the interior worlds of mentally disordered people. The new instalment shows women who suffered from postnatal depression after the birth of their children. Katie talks of her feelings of guilt and powerlessness in the face of this new situation in her life. The animation makes her feelings and thoughts visible.

Annegret Richter
International Competition Animadoc (2015-2017) 2015
Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Mike's Story Dan Binns

It’s a little-known fact that postnatal depression affects not only women who find no access to their child and new life after birth. The disorder also radically changes their partners’ and families’ lives.

UK

UK
2015

Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Mike's Story

Animadoc
UK
2015
3 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andy Glynne
Dan Binns
Alexander Parsons
Dan Binns
Alexander Parsons
It’s a little-known fact that postnatal depression affects not only women who find no access to their child and new life after birth. The disorder also radically changes their partners’ and families’ lives. This episode of “Animated Minds” shows how Mike experiences the situation as a man and father.

Annegret Richter
Filmpreis Leipziger Ring 2015
Black Sheep Christian Cerami

Two brothers from a suburb in Northern England come under the influence of the right-wing “English Defence League”, known for its vociferous anti-Islam stance.

Black Sheep

Documentary Film
UK
2015
16 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Alex Sedgley
Christian Cerami
Simon Plunkett
Samuel Haskell
Vicky Harris

Two brothers from a suburb in Northern England come under the influence of the right-wing “English Defence League”, known for its vociferous anti-Islam stance. What starts as curiosity becomes a trip into the world of tough boys with outspoken attitudes for the older one and a nightmare for the 13-year-old Jack. With a feature-film-like camera the director captures the battle of wills between more than two different characters with impressive precision. Cornelia Klauß


International Programme 2015
If the Cuckoo Don’t Crow Steve Kirby

94-year-old Doris calls the BBC to report a great storm because she doesn’t hear the cuckoo’s call. And she’s right. The weather experts are astonished.

If the Cuckoo Don’t Crow

Animated Film
UK
2015
2 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Steve Kirby
Steve Kirby
Steve Kirby
Nic Pandolfi, Brian from Melton
94-year-old Doris calls the BBC to report a great storm because she doesn’t hear the cuckoo’s call. And she’s right. The weather experts are astonished. Later her son explains how this came about in a (real) radio interview. The interview in itself is already amusing, but the animation gives us a particularly refreshing view of the life of a woman who knows the weather.

Annegret Richter
International Programme 2015
No Signal Katharina Huber

The violence is planned. Whether as a protest or simply a statement, the manifesto and the stone to throw are ready. Now it’s a matter of waiting, killing time and mentally preparing for the confrontation.

No Signal

Animated Film
UK
2014
6 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Katharina Huber
Wolf Eyes
Katharina Huber
Marian Mentrup
The violence is planned. Whether as a protest or simply a statement, the manifesto and the stone to throw are ready. Now it’s a matter of waiting, killing time and mentally preparing for the confrontation. Like a warrior. But the fear won’t go away and every sound, every movement reminds you of what may be about to happen.

Annegret Richter
International Programme 2015
Territory Eleanor Mortimer

Gibraltar seen from the monkeys’ point of view. Apparently amazed, they watch the ceaseless activities of their human cohabitants but refuse to be driven away by construction noises or blow pipes.

Territory

Documentary Film
UK
2015
17 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Eleanor Mortimer, Jacob Thomas
Eleanor Mortimer
Fraya Thomsen
Eleanor Mortimer
Nina Rac
Florentin Tudor
Gibraltar seen from the monkeys’ point of view. Apparently amazed, they watch the ceaseless activities of their human cohabitants but refuse to be driven away by construction noises or blow pipes. With no respect for the British monarchy they swing from lanterns and slide down rain pipes. Intelligent montage and careful sound design reveal the double occupation of the rock as well as the double meaning of the term “colony”. Who actually owns this territory?

Lars Meyer

The Deal

Animadoc
UK
2015
4 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ewa Smyk
Ewa Smyk
Ewa Smyk
Ewa Smyk
Ewa Smyk
Tommaso Russo
When you open an old book you get a whiff of more than its contents. There’s the smell of old times, the feel of the once familiar. This playful book page animation uses various techniques to make grandfather’s notes come alive. Practical tips on popular courting in the Polish-Byelorussian border region. We learn that the young people were too shy to talk for themselves, but that the rules were clear. How complicated the world is today.

Lars Meyer

Filmarchiv

Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Katie's Story

Animadok
UK
2015
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andy Glynne
Lucy Izzard
Alexander Parsons
Lucy Izzard
Alexander Parsons
Die vielfach preisgekrönte Reihe „Animated Minds“ visualisiert seit 2003 die Innenwelten psychisch erkrankter Menschen. In den neuen Folgen kommen Frauen zu Wort, die nach der Geburt ihres Kindes unter postnataler Depression litten. Katie erzählt von ihren Schuldgefühlen und der Ohnmacht angesichts der neuen Lebenssituation. Die Animation lässt ihre Gefühle und Gedanken für uns sichtbar werden.

Annegret Richter
Internationaler Wettbewerb Animadok (2015-2017) 2015
Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Mike's Story Dan Binns

Was weniger bekannt ist: Postnatale Depression betrifft nicht nur Frauen, die nach der Geburt keinen Zugang zu ihrem Kind und ihrem neuen Leben finden. Die Krankheit zieht auch einschneidende Veränderungen für den Partner und die Familie nach sich.

UK

UK
2015

Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Mike's Story

Animadok
UK
2015
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andy Glynne
Dan Binns
Alexander Parsons
Dan Binns
Alexander Parsons
Was weniger bekannt ist: Postnatale Depression betrifft nicht nur Frauen, die nach der Geburt keinen Zugang zu ihrem Kind und ihrem neuen Leben finden. Die Krankheit zieht auch einschneidende Veränderungen für den Partner und die Familie nach sich. Hier zeigt „Animated Minds“, wie Mike als Mann und Vater die Situation erlebt.

Annegret Richter
Filmpreis Leipziger Ring 2015
Black Sheep Christian Cerami

Zwei Brüder aus einer Suburb in Nordengland geraten unter den Einfluss der rechtsgerichteten „English Defence League“, die sich vor allem durch ihren lautstarken Anti-Islamismus-Kurs hervortut.

Black Sheep

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2015
16 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Alex Sedgley
Christian Cerami
Simon Plunkett
Samuel Haskell
Vicky Harris
Zwei Brüder aus einer Suburb in Nordengland geraten unter den Einfluss der rechtsgerichteten „English Defence League“, die sich vor allem durch ihren lautstarken Anti-Islamismus-Kurs hervortut. Was mit Neugier beginnt, wird für den Älteren zum Trip in die Welt der harten Jungs mit klarer Gesinnung, für den erst 13-jährigen Jack aber zum Albtraum. Mit einer am Spielfilm geschulten Kamera fängt der Regisseur mit beeindruckender Präzision das Kräftemessen nicht nur zweier ungleicher Charaktere ein.

Cornelia Klauß
Internationales Programm 2015
If the Cuckoo Don’t Crow Steve Kirby

Weil der Kuckuck nicht zu hören ist, ruft die 94-jährige Doris bei der BBC an, um einen großen Sturm zu melden. Und sie liegt richtig. Die Wetterexperten sind überrascht.

If the Cuckoo Don’t Crow

Animationsfilm
UK
2015
2 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Steve Kirby
Steve Kirby
Steve Kirby
Nic Pandolfi, Brian from Melton
Weil der Kuckuck nicht zu hören ist, ruft die 94-jährige Doris bei der BBC an, um einen großen Sturm zu melden. Und sie liegt richtig. Die Wetterexperten sind überrascht. Einige Zeit später erklärt ihr Sohn in einem (realen) Radiointerview, wie es dazu kam. Das Interview allein ist schon amüsant, aber die Animation gibt einen ganz besonders erquickenden Einblick in das Leben der Frau, die das Wetter versteht.

Annegret Richter
Internationales Programm 2015
No Signal Katharina Huber

Die Gewaltaktion ist geplant. Ob als Protest oder einfach nur als Statement, das Manifest und der Stein zum Werfen liegen schon bereit. Jetzt heißt es warten, die Zeit totschlagen und sich mental auf die Konfrontation vorbereiten.

No Signal

Animationsfilm
UK
2014
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Katharina Huber
Wolf Eyes
Katharina Huber
Marian Mentrup
Die Gewaltaktion ist geplant. Ob als Protest oder einfach nur als Statement, das Manifest und der Stein zum Werfen liegen schon bereit. Jetzt heißt es warten, die Zeit totschlagen und sich mental auf die Konfrontation vorbereiten. Wie ein Krieger. Doch die Angst geht nicht weg und jedes Geräusch, jede Bewegung erinnert an das, was gleich passieren kann.

Annegret Richter
Internationales Programm 2015
Territory Eleanor Mortimer

Gibraltar aus Sicht der Affen. Scheinbar verwundert beobachten sie das unermüdliche Treiben ihrer menschlichen Mitbewohner, lassen sich aber weder durch Baulärm noch von Blasrohren in die Flucht schlagen.

Territory

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2015
17 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Eleanor Mortimer, Jacob Thomas
Eleanor Mortimer
Fraya Thomsen
Eleanor Mortimer
Nina Rac
Florentin Tudor
Gibraltar aus Sicht der Affen. Scheinbar verwundert beobachten sie das unermüdliche Treiben ihrer menschlichen Mitbewohner, lassen sich aber weder durch Baulärm noch von Blasrohren in die Flucht schlagen. Ohne Respekt für die britische Krone schaukeln sie an Laternenpfählen und rutschen Regenrinnen hinab. Ein kluger Schnitt und ein sorgfältiges Sounddesign offenbaren die doppelte Besetzung des Felsens sowie die doppelte Bedeutung des Wortes „Kolonie“. Wem gehört das Gebiet hier eigentlich?

Lars Meyer

The Deal

Animadok
UK
2015
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ewa Smyk
Ewa Smyk
Ewa Smyk
Ewa Smyk
Ewa Smyk
Tommaso Russo
Wird ein altes Buch aufgeblättert, weht einem mehr als nur der Inhalt entgegen. Da ist der Geruch alter Zeiten, die Haptik des einst Vertrauten. Die verspielte Buchseitenanimation nutzt verschiedene Techniken, um die Aufzeichnungen des Großvaters lebendig werden zu lassen. Praktische Hinweise zur volkstümlichen Brautwerbung im polnisch-weißrussischen Grenzgebiet. Wir lernen: Die jungen Leute waren zu schüchtern, um für sich selbst zu sprechen, dafür die Regeln klar. Wie kompliziert ist die Welt doch heute.

Lars Meyer