Film Archive

Film Unlimited 2013
A Chairy Tale Normen McLaren, Claude Jutra

A wooden chair rejects a man who wants to sit down on it and starts to move with a will of its own. After the first consternation, the man’s ambition is kindled and the two begin a bizarre dance which ends in

1957

A Chairy Tale

Animadoc
Canada
1957
10 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Normen McLaren, Claude Jutra
Ravi Shankar, Chatur Lal, Maurice Blackburn
Evelyn Lambart
A wooden chair rejects a man who wants to sit down on it and starts to move with a will of its own. After the first consternation, the man’s ambition is kindled and the two begin a bizarre dance which ends in mutual consent.
“A Chairy Tale” developed the pixilation technique with which McLaren had already experimented in his surprise hit “Neighbours” further. He created alternative versions of the text editions that were also published by the NFB for this extraordinary dance film. The music was the contribution of a then largely unknown Indian musician: Ravi Shankar.

---Annegret Richter
International Competition Animated Film (until 2014) 2013
A Girl Named Elastika Guillaume Blanchet

Elastika is not like any other girl, because she is made of elastics. And because her universe is made of cork. Her journey is also one of a kind, as she jumps from one building to another, crosses an ocean, or travels to space by holding on to a firework rocket.

A Girl Named Elastika

Animated Film
Canada
2012
3 minutes
subtitles: 
French

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet
Bamprod
Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet, Minh Tran
Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet
François Bélanger, Pierre-Hugues Rondot
Elastika is not like any other girl, because she is made of elastics. And because her universe is made of cork. Her journey is also one of a kind, as she jumps from one building to another, crosses an ocean, or travels to space by holding on to a firework rocket.
Cross Media Screening 2013
A Journal of Insomnia

The world of insomnia as an interactive self-experience. Personal stories and staged encounters form a psychological profile of Western society. Intimate, but also disturbing.

A Journal of Insomnia

Documentary Film
Canada
2013
45 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Hugues Sweeney
What is it, what keeps us up at night? The interactive documentary looks into this question inviting users to immerse in the universe of insomnia – a phenomenon that is linked to stress and anxiety and affects one in three people in our contemporary society. Moving beyond the narrative boundaries of the documentary form, “A Journal of Insomnia” collects personal stories of insomnia via video, text and drawings and creates a collaborative experience of affected people from across the world. The revealing testimony of four insomniacs in particular offers an intimate experience of a distressing condition that is usually experienced in solitude.

Blackout

Animadoc
Canada
2013
4 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sharron Mirsky
Sharron Mirsky
Tristan Capacchione
Sharron Mirsky
Sharron Mirsky
Sharron Mirsky, Tristan Capacchione
A short animated documentary film in which several storytellers share their experiences of the Northeast blackout of 2003, which affected much of Ontario, and seven U.S. states. The unexpected effects on the community highlight the best of our humanity under adverse conditions.
Film Unlimited 2013
Blinkity Blank Normen McLaren

Audiences can expect a firework of colours and sounds in this film, arguably the most important work of Norman McLaren’s career. Its motifs, scratched and drawn directly on the film, and the decision to intersperse them with blank frames make it a brilliant experiment on the human eye’s abilities of perception ...

1955

Blinkity Blank

Animadoc
Canada
1955
6 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Normen McLaren
Normen McLaren
Maurice Blackburn
Normen McLaren
Roger Beaudry, Joseph Champagne
Audiences can expect a firework of colours and sounds in this film, arguably the most important work of Norman McLaren’s career. Its motifs, scratched and drawn directly on the film, and the decision to intersperse them with blank frames make it a brilliant experiment on the human eye’s abilities of perception. McLaren’s best-known quote is based on this concept: “Animation is not the art of drawings-that-move, but rather the art of movements that are drawn. What happens between each frame is more important than what happens on each frame.”

---Annegret Richter
Film Unlimited 2013
Canon Normen McLaren, Grant Munro

The combination of image and sound was a vital part of McLaren’s work. In addition to his experiments with soundtracks he drew upon he created a few films like “Canon”, in which he tried to visualise theoretical concepts, in the 1960s ...

1964

Canon

Animadoc
Canada
1964
10 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Normen McLaren, Grant Munro
Eldon Rathburn
Robert Humble
J. Gillissie
Ron Alexander
The combination of image and sound was a vital part of McLaren’s work. In addition to his experiments with soundtracks he drew upon he created a few films like “Canon”, in which he tried to visualise theoretical concepts, in the 1960s. Here he uses rhythmic animation and live action to demonstrate, in collaboration with Grant Munro, how a canon works. Toy blocks, stick figures and real humans serve as visual aids that move to a strict rhythm to form, by means of additional animation, a brilliant and original demonstration of the different types of canons.

---Annegret Richter
Film Unlimited 2013
Cosmic Zoom Eva Szasz

In the spirit of discovery that pervaded the 1960s, this animated documentary explores the endless spaces of the micro- and macrocosm in only eight minutes, from the universe to the smallest unit of our body ...

1968

Cosmic Zoom

Animadoc
Canada
1968
8 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Robert Verrall, Joseph Koenig
Eva Szasz
Pierre F. Brault
Tony Ianzelo, James Wilson, Wayne Trickett, Raymond Dumas
Roger Lamoureux
Eva Szasz
Karl Duplessi
In the spirit of discovery that pervaded the 1960s, this animated documentary explores the endless spaces of the micro- and macrocosm in only eight minutes, from the universe to the smallest unit of our body. It starts with a boy who rows across a lake with his dog. The imaginary camera first “zooms” away from him and then into his body. The film was one of seven short NFB animations bought by the US broadcaster ABC in 1971 for its children’s show “Curiosity Shop”.

---Annegret Richter
International Programme 2013
Cosmos Will Save the World Patrick Lapierre

A barren field somewhere in Russia. This is where she spent her childhood. The woman is haunted by the ghosts of a long-gone age reminding her of ...

Cosmos Will Save the World

Animated Film
Canada
2012
6 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Anne Carrier
Patrick Lapierre
Guillaume Campeau-Dupras
Patrick Lapierre, Julie Rouvière, Milan Pejovic
Patrick Lapierre
Ana Dall'ara Majek
A barren field somewhere in Russia. This is where she spent her childhood. The woman is haunted by the ghosts of a long-gone age reminding her of once significant words and steps – too big for the little girl she once was and her grandmother.
International Programme 2013
Die Gelübde meines Bruders Stephanie Weimar

A young man who wants to lead a life of celibacy and poverty at a monastery – and his lesbian sister who asks questions: about the church, sexuality, and religion. An unexpected lesson in tolerance.

Die Gelübde meines Bruders

Documentary Film
Canada,
Germany
2013
88 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Frederic Bohbot, Andre Schaefer
Stephanie Weimar
Andre Feldhaus
Fabio DeFelice, Erik Schimschar, Sebastian Lange, Christopher Yapp, Stephanie Weimar
Oliver Bronner, Carl Freed
Stephanie Weimar
Ralf Jakubski, Kyle Stanfield, Frank Mertes
Gregor and Stephanie are siblings who couldn’t be more different. She jets across the world, living with women. It’s not even worth her while to rent a flat because she is so committed to being on the road and getting away from the narrow confines of home. Her top priority is self-fulfilment. Her brother Gregor, on the other hand, looks for contemplation, steadiness and a vocation in this world. A monastery, in a nutshell. To understand his choice, Stephanie Weimar takes up the camera and accompanies him from his first instructions to the day he makes his final vows with the Steyler Missionaries in the monastery of St. Augustin. How can a person voluntarily submit to obedience, poverty, and chastity – and do without sex his whole life? Her perplexity and anger at a church that condemns homosexuality in the name of God, bans condoms, and bears part of the blame for Aids drive this film and determine its perspective. We share Gregor’s – whose decision is a radical one – doubts and reflections on this road to enlightenment. But it’s the director who learns what real tolerance means. Because the fact is that we are all seekers for meaning.

Cornelia Klauß
Film Unlimited 2013
Free Fall Arthur Lipsett

In “Free Fall”, Arthur Lipsett, the NFB’s “boy genius”, who inspired directors like Stanley Kubrick, George Lucas and Stan Brakhage, edited a fast-paced montage of modern stereotypes. Film footage, photos, animations accompanied by fragments of words and music ...

1964

Free Fall

Animadoc
Canada
1964
10 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Tom Daly, Colin Low
Arthur Lipsett
Arthur Lipsett
Arthur Lipsett
Arthur Lipsett
In “Free Fall”, Arthur Lipsett, the NFB’s “boy genius”, who inspired directors like Stanley Kubrick, George Lucas and Stan Brakhage, edited a fast-paced montage of modern stereotypes. Film footage, photos, animations accompanied by fragments of words and music, live sounds of all kind grow into an associative maelstrom of images modelled on Dalí and surrealism. The mundane is juxtaposed with symbols charged with meaning, concrete faces with abstract figures, rapid movement with stagnation, the old with the new. The closing image is that of a cell from which everything grows. Lipsett himself said: “An attempt to express in filmic terms an intensive flow of life – a vision of a world in the throes of creativity – the transformation of physical phenomena into psychological ones – a visual bubbling of picture and sound operating to create a new continuity of experience – (…) strange shapes shine forth from the abyss of timelessness.”

---Grit Lemke

Gloria Victoria

Animated Film
Canada
2013
7 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

René Chénier, Marc Bertrand
Theodore Ushev
Dmitri Shostakovich
Theodore Ushev
Olivier Calvert
“Gloria Victoria” unfolds on the still-smouldering rubble of a furious 20th century. Resembling a military march with bolero overtones, the music sweeps over imagery of combat fronts and massacres, leading us from Dresden to Guernica, from the Spanish Civil War to “Star Wars”. It is at once a symphony that serves the war machine, that stirs the masses, and art that mourns the dead, voices its outrage and calls for peace.
Film Unlimited 2013
Hen Hop Norman McLaren

A hen performs an exuberant and wild dance to Canadian country music. Sometimes it’s an egg, sometimes it has a leg missing and occasionally it falls apart ...

1942

Hen Hop

Animadoc
Canada
1942
3 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Norman McLaren
Norman McLaren
Norman McLaren
A hen performs an exuberant and wild dance to Canadian country music. Sometimes it’s an egg, sometimes it has a leg missing and occasionally it falls apart. Norman McLaren had a fascination for chickens and eggs because he believed they lent themselves easily to simple drawings, so they became quite popular figures in his films. “It is not so important what is moving as how it moves.” Again, McLaren painted the animation directly on the film.

---Annegret Richter

Hollow Land

Animated Film
Canada,
Denmark,
France
2013
14 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marie Bro, Dora Benousilio, Marc Bertrand
Uri Kranot, Michelle Kranot
Uri Kranot
Michelle Kranot, Uri Kranot
Michelle Kranot, Uri Kranot
Normand Roger, Pierre Yves Drapeau
Solomon and Berta are two seekers who arrive – their treasured bathtub improbably in tow – in a land that promises respite from their many journeys. From the first optimistic moments after their arrival, to the final haunting scene at sea, the film captures the state of being displaced – whether by circumstance or by choice.
Film Unlimited 2013
Keep Your Mouth Shut Norman McLaren

The photographic representation of a human cranium turns into an animated skull, its eyes become swastikas, while the enemy, personified by a Hitler-spy ...

1944

Keep Your Mouth Shut

Animadoc
Canada
1944
3 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Norman McLaren
Norman McLaren
George Dunning
The photographic representation of a human cranium turns into an animated skull, its eyes become swastikas, while the enemy, personified by a Hitler-spy, learns important war secrets from its mouth. A drastic appeal and an intermediate stage on the filmmaker’s path from the concrete to abstraction.

---Grit Lemke
Kids DOK 2013
Maple Syrup Yoshino Aoki

A girl traveled with a lot of baggage from Canada into a new home. She opens her suitcase ...

Animadoc 2013
Mary & Myself Sam Decoste

While Mary and Jia Tsu are rehearsing the play “The Vagina Monologues”, which is about Asian women who were forced to become prostitutes for ...

2013

Mary & Myself

Animadoc
Canada
2013
7 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Annette Clarke
Sam Decoste
Judith Gruber-Stitzer
Sam Decoste
Sam Decoste
Judith Gruber-Stitzer
While Mary and Jia Tsu are rehearsing the play “The Vagina Monologues”, which is about Asian women who were forced to become prostitutes for the armed forces in the 1930s and 40s, the two women discuss their intense feeling of grief and anger in order to be able to perform the play in the end.

Filmarchiv

Film Unlimited 2013
A Chairy Tale Normen McLaren, Claude Jutra

Ein Holzstuhl wehrt sich gegen den Mann, der sich auf ihn setzen möchte, und bewegt sich eigenmächtig. Nach der ersten Fassungslosigkeit wächst der Ehrgeiz des Mannes, und die beiden beginnen einen bizarren Tanz, der ...

1957

A Chairy Tale

Animadok
Kanada
1957
10 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Normen McLaren, Claude Jutra
Ravi Shankar, Chatur Lal, Maurice Blackburn
Evelyn Lambart
Ein Holzstuhl wehrt sich gegen den Mann, der sich auf ihn setzen möchte, und bewegt sich eigenmächtig. Nach der ersten Fassungslosigkeit wächst der Ehrgeiz des Mannes und die beiden beginnen einen bizarren Tanz, der in einer friedlichen Einigung endet.
„A Chairy Tale“ war eine Weiterentwicklung der Pixilationstechnik, mit der McLaren bereits in seinem Überraschungserfolg „Neighbours“ experimentiert hatte. Zu diesem außergewöhnlichen Tanzfilm schuf er alternative Versionen aus den Textreihen, die ebenfalls vom NFB veröffentlicht wurden. Die Musik steuerte der damals noch weitgehend unbekannte indische Musiker Ravi Shankar bei.

Annegret Richter
Internationaler Wettbewerb Animationsfilm (bis 2014) 2013
A Girl Named Elastika Guillaume Blanchet

Elastika ist nicht wie die anderen kleinen Mädchen, denn sie besteht aus Gummibändern. Und ihre Welt ist aus Kork. Einzigartig ist auch ihre Reise, bei der sie von Gebäude zu Gebäude springt, ein Meer überquert und in den Weltraum fliegt, indem sie sich an einer Feuerwerksrakete festhält

A Girl Named Elastika

Animationsfilm
Kanada
2012
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
französische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet
Bamprod
Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet, Minh Tran
Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet
François Bélanger, Pierre-Hugues Rondot
Elastika ist nicht wie die anderen kleinen Mädchen, denn sie besteht aus Gummibändern. Und ihre Welt ist aus Kork. Einzigartig ist auch ihre Reise, bei der sie von Gebäude zu Gebäude springt, ein Meer überquert und in den Weltraum fliegt, indem sie sich an einer Feuerwerksrakete festhält.
Cross Media Screening 2013
A Journal of Insomnia

Die Welt der Schlaflosigkeit als interaktive Selbsterfahrung. Persönliche Geschichten und inszenierte Begegnungen als Psychogramm der westlichen Gesellschaft. Intim, auch verstörend.

A Journal of Insomnia

Dokumentarfilm
Kanada
2013
45 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Hugues Sweeney
Was bringt uns nachts um den Schlaf? Der interaktive Dokumentarfilm geht dieser Frage nach, indem er die Nutzer einlädt, die Welt der Schlaflosigkeit zu erkunden – ein Phänomen, das in Zusammenhang steht mit Stress und Angst und in unserer heutigen Gesellschaft jeden dritten Menschen betrifft. „A Journal of Insomnia“ lotet die erzählerischen Grenzen des Dokumentarfilms aus. Per Video, Text und Zeichnungen werden persönliche Geschichten zu Schlaflosigkeit gesammelt und zu einem kollektiven Erfahrungsraum für Betroffene aus der ganzen Welt verbunden. Insbesondere die erstaunlichen Aussagen von vier Schlaflosen geben intime Einblicke in einen verstörenden Zustand, den wir meist in Einsamkeit durchleben.

Blackout

Animadok
Kanada
2013
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sharron Mirsky
Sharron Mirsky
Tristan Capacchione
Sharron Mirsky
Sharron Mirsky
Sharron Mirsky, Tristan Capacchione
Ein kurzer animierter Dokumentarfilm, in dem mehrere Menschen ihre Geschichten vom Stromausfall 2003, der den größten Teil Ontarios und sieben US-Staaten betraf, erzählen. Die unerwarteten Auswirkungen auf die Gemeinschaft bringen das Beste an einer Gesellschaft unter widrigen Bedingungen hervor.
Film Unlimited 2013
Blinkity Blank Normen McLaren

Ein Feuerwerk aus Farben und Sound erwartet den Zuschauer bei diesem Film, der als wichtigstes Werk in der Karriere von Norman McLaren gilt. Durch seine direkt auf Film gekratzten und gezeichneten Motive sowie die Auswahl von Schwarzbildern dazwischen gerät es zum virtuosen Experiment mit der Wahrnehmung des menschlichen Auges ...

1955

Blinkity Blank

Animadok
Kanada
1955
6 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Normen McLaren
Normen McLaren
Maurice Blackburn
Normen McLaren
Roger Beaudry, Joseph Champagne
Ein Feuerwerk aus Farben und Sound erwartet den Zuschauer bei diesem Film, der als wichtigstes Werk in der Karriere von Norman McLaren gilt. Durch seine direkt auf Film gekratzten und gezeichneten Motive sowie die Auswahl von Schwarzbildern dazwischen gerät es zum virtuosen Experiment mit der Wahrnehmung des menschlichen Auges. Das wohl bekannteste Zitat von McLaren basiert auf diesem Konzept: „Animation is not the art of drawings-that-move, but rather the art of movements that are drawn. What happens between each frame is more important than what happens on each frame.“

Annegret Richter
Film Unlimited 2013
Canon Normen McLaren, Grant Munro

Die Verbindung von Bild und Ton war für McLarens Arbeiten wesentlich. Neben seinen Experimenten mit selbst gezeichneten Tonspuren schuf er in den 1960er Jahren auch einige Filme wie „Canon“, in denen er versuchte, theoretische Konzepte zu visualisieren ...

1964

Canon

Animadok
Kanada
1964
10 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Normen McLaren, Grant Munro
Eldon Rathburn
Robert Humble
J. Gillissie
Ron Alexander
Die Verbindung von Bild und Ton war für McLarens Arbeiten wesentlich. Neben seinen Experimenten mit selbst gezeichneten Tonspuren schuf er in den 1960er Jahren auch einige Filme wie „Canon“, in denen er versuchte, theoretische Konzepte zu visualisieren. Anhand von rhythmisch bewegter Animation und Live-Action demonstriert er hier zusammen mit Grant Munro, wie ein Kanon funktioniert. Bauklötze, Strichmännchen und reale Menschen dienen als Anschauungsobjekte, die sich nach strengen rhythmischen Vorgaben bewegen und durch zusätzliche Animation die unterschiedlichen Formen des Kanons auf einzigartige und virtuose Weise darstellen.

Annegret Richter
Film Unlimited 2013
Cosmic Zoom Eva Szasz

Ganz im Entdeckergeist der 1960er Jahre thematisiert dieser animierte Dokumentarfilm in gerade einmal acht Minuten die unendlichen Weiten des Mikro- und des Makrokosmos vom Weltall bis zur kleinsten Einheit unseres Körpers ...

1968

Cosmic Zoom

Animadok
Kanada
1968
8 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Robert Verrall, Joseph Koenig
Eva Szasz
Pierre F. Brault
Tony Ianzelo, James Wilson, Wayne Trickett, Raymond Dumas
Roger Lamoureux
Eva Szasz
Karl Duplessi
Ganz im Entdeckergeist der 1960er Jahre thematisiert dieser animierte Dokumentarfilm in gerade einmal acht Minuten die unendlichen Weiten des Mikro- und des Makrokosmos vom Weltall bis zur kleinsten Einheit unseres Körpers. Ausgangspunkt ist ein Junge, der mit seinem Hund über einen See rudert. Die imaginäre Kamera „zoomt“ sich erst von ihm fort und dann in ihn hinein. Der Film war einer von sieben kurzen NFB-Animationsfilmen, die der US-amerikanische Fernsehsender ABC 1971 für sein Kinderprogramm „Curiosity Shop“ einkaufte.

Annegret Richter
Internationales Programm 2013
Cosmos Will Save the World Patrick Lapierre

Ein karges Feld irgendwo in Russland. Hier hat sie ihre Kindheit verbracht. Die Geister einer längst vergangenen Ära holen die Frau ein und erinnern an ...

Cosmos Will Save the World

Animationsfilm
Kanada
2012
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Anne Carrier
Patrick Lapierre
Guillaume Campeau-Dupras
Patrick Lapierre, Julie Rouvière, Milan Pejovic
Patrick Lapierre
Ana Dall'ara Majek
Ein karges Feld irgendwo in Russland. Hier hat sie ihre Kindheit verbracht. Die Geister einer längst vergangenen Ära holen die Frau ein und erinnern an einst bedeutsame Worte und Schritte – zu groß für die Großmutter und das kleine Mädchen von damals.
Internationales Programm 2013
Die Gelübde meines Bruders Stephanie Weimar

Ein junger Mann, der in Keuschheit und Armut im Kloster leben möchte – und seine lesbische Schwester, die Fragen stellt: zu Kirche, Sexualität und Religion. Unerwartete Lektion in Toleranz.

Die Gelübde meines Bruders

Dokumentarfilm
Kanada,
Deutschland
2013
88 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Frederic Bohbot, Andre Schaefer
Stephanie Weimar
Andre Feldhaus
Fabio DeFelice, Erik Schimschar, Sebastian Lange, Christopher Yapp, Stephanie Weimar
Oliver Bronner, Carl Freed
Stephanie Weimar
Ralf Jakubski, Kyle Stanfield, Frank Mertes
Gregor und Stephanie sind Geschwister, die nicht unterschiedlicher sein könnten. Sie jettet durch die Welt, lebt mit Frauen. Es lohnt sich für sie nicht einmal, eine Wohnung anzumieten, so sehr hat sie sich dem Unterwegssein und der Abkehr von der heimatlichen Enge verschrieben. Selbstverwirklichung hat oberste Priorität. Bruder Gregor hingegen sucht innere Einkehr, Stetigkeit und eine Bestimmung in der Welt. Kurz gesagt: ein Kloster. Um seine Entscheidung zu verstehen, greift Stephanie Weimar zur Kamera und begleitet ihn von der Ausbildung bis zu jenem Tag, an dem er das Ewige Gelübde bei den Steyler Missionaren im Kloster St. Augustin ablegt. Wie kann sich einer freiwillig Gehorsam, Armut und Keuschheit unterwerfen – und lebenslang auf Sex verzichten? Ihre Ratlosigkeit und ihre Wut auf eine Kirche, die im Namen Gottes Homosexualität verdammt, Kondome verbietet und an Aids Mitschuld trägt, sind die Triebkräfte des Films und definieren den Blickwinkel. Auf diesem Weg der Erkenntnis nehmen wir teil an den Zweifeln und Überlegungen Gregors, dessen Entscheidung eine radikale ist. Aber es ist mehr noch die Regisseurin, die lernt, was wirkliche Toleranz bedeutet. Sinnsucher sind wir in Wahrheit doch alle.

Cornelia Klauß

Gloria Victoria

Animationsfilm
Kanada
2013
7 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

René Chénier, Marc Bertrand
Theodore Ushev
Dmitri Shostakovich
Theodore Ushev
Olivier Calvert
„Gloria Victoria“ wächst aus den immer noch schwelenden Ruinen eines wutentbrannten 20. Jahrhunderts. Die Musik ähnelt einem Militärmarsch, mit einem Anklang von Bolero, und streift über Bilder von Schlachtenfronten und Blutbädern, führt uns von Dresden nach Guernica, vom Spanischen Bürgerkrieg zum „Krieg der Sterne“. Sie ist ebenso eine Symphonie, die der Kriegsmaschinerie dient, die Massen aufpeitscht, wie Kunst, die die Toten betrauert, ihrer Empörung Stimme verleiht und nach Frieden ruft.
Film Unlimited 2013
Hen Hop Norman McLaren

Eine Henne tanzt ausgelassen und wild zu fröhlicher kanadischer Countrymusik. Dabei ist sie manchmal ein Ei, manchmal fehlt ein Bein, und manchmal zerlegt sie ...

1942

Hen Hop

Animadok
Kanada
1942
3 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Norman McLaren
Norman McLaren
Norman McLaren
Eine Henne tanzt ausgelassen und wild zu fröhlicher kanadischer Countrymusik. Dabei ist sie manchmal ein Ei, manchmal fehlt ein Bein und manchmal zerlegt sie sich in mehrere Einzelteile. Norman McLaren war fasziniert von Hühnern und Eiern, weil sie sich seiner Meinung nach für einfache Zeichnungen gut eigneten, und so wurden sie beliebte Motive in seinen Filmen. „It is not so important what is moving as how it moves.“ McLaren malte die Animationen hier wieder direkt auf das Filmmaterial.

Annegret Richter

Hollow Land

Animationsfilm
Kanada,
Dänemark,
Frankreich
2013
14 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marie Bro, Dora Benousilio, Marc Bertrand
Uri Kranot, Michelle Kranot
Uri Kranot
Michelle Kranot, Uri Kranot
Michelle Kranot, Uri Kranot
Normand Roger, Pierre Yves Drapeau
Solomon und Bertha sind zwei Suchende, die – mit ihrer geliebten Badewanne im Gepäck – in ein Land kommen, das Erholung von ihren vielen Reisen verspricht. Von den ersten optimistischen Momenten nach der Ankunft bis zur eindringlichen Schlussszene am Meer fängt der Film den Zustand der Heimatlosigkeit – ob durch äußere Umstände oder aus freien Stücken – ein.
Film Unlimited 2013
Keep Your Mouth Shut Norman McLaren

Das fotografische Abbild eines menschlichen Schädels wird zum animierten Totenkopf, seine Augen zu Hakenkreuzen, und aus seinem Mund erfährt der Feind in Form des Hitler-Spions wichtige ...

1944

Keep Your Mouth Shut

Animadok
Kanada
1944
3 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Norman McLaren
Norman McLaren
George Dunning
Das fotografische Abbild eines menschlichen Schädels wird zum animierten Totenkopf, seine Augen zu Hakenkreuzen, und aus seinem Mund erfährt der Feind in Form des Hitler-Spions wichtige Kriegsgeheimnisse. Ein drastischer Appell und eine Zwischenstation auf dem Weg des Filmemachers vom Konkreten zur Abstraktion.

Grit Lemke
Kids DOK 2013
Maple Syrup Yoshino Aoki

Ein kleines Mädchen ist mit großem Gepäck von Kanada in eine neue Heimat gereist. Sie macht ihren Koffer auf ...

Maple Syrup

Animationsfilm
Kanada
2013
2 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Yoshino Aoki
Yoshino Aoki
James Grant
Yoshino Aoki
Yoshino Aoki
Yoshino Aoki
Yoshino Aoki
Daniel Lagacé
Ein kleines Mädchen ist mit großem Gepäck von Kanada in eine neue Heimat gereist. Sie macht ihren Koffer auf und findet etwas Unerwartetes, aber sehr Vertrautes.
Animadok 2013
Mary & Myself Sam Decoste

Mary und Jia Tsu beschäftigen sich mit dem Theaterstück „Die Vagina-Monologe“ über asiatische Frauen, die in den 1930er und 40er Jahren zur Prostitution ...

2013

Mary & Myself

Animadok
Kanada
2013
7 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Annette Clarke
Sam Decoste
Judith Gruber-Stitzer
Sam Decoste
Sam Decoste
Judith Gruber-Stitzer
Mary und Jia Tsu beschäftigen sich mit dem Theaterstück „Die Vagina-Monologe“ über asiatische Frauen, die in den 1930er und 40er Jahren zur Prostitution mit Soldaten gezwungen wurden. Während der Proben diskutieren die beiden Frauen ihre intensiven Gefühle von Trauer und Wut, um schlussendlich das Stück aufführen zu können.
Film Unlimited 2013
Neighbours Normen McLaren

Bis heute wird die politische Komponente dieses viel prämierten Films in der Filmwissenschaft heiß diskutiert. Während ihn viele für banal halten und andere für hochpolitisch, bezeichete McLaren selbst ihn als „rather a moral film. (…) It can be used for political purposes.“...

1952

Neighbours

Animadok
Kanada
1952
9 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Normen McLaren
Normen McLaren
Normen McLaren
Wolf Koenig
Normen McLaren
Clark Daprato
Bis heute wird die politische Komponente dieses viel prämierten Films in der Filmwissenschaft heiß diskutiert. Während ihn viele für banal halten und andere für hochpolitisch, bezeichete McLaren selbst ihn als „rather a moral film. (…) It can be used for political purposes.“ Er war sogar bereit, für die Auswertung in den USA eine Veränderung vorzunehmen und die toten Frauen und Kinder aus dem Film zu entfernen, bestand aber nach Beginn des Vietnamkrieges wieder auf der ursprünglichen Fassung des Films, um die Tragweite von Konflikten aufzeigen zu können.

Annegret Richter