Film Archive

International Programme 2018
A Transplant François Méthé

Three people are waiting for an organ donation. In delicate but nonetheless explicit images, “A Transplant” documents the miracle of the renewal of a waning life.

A Transplant

Documentary Film
Canada
2018
69 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marie-Claude Morazain
François Méthé
Joseph Marchand
Philippe St-Gelais
Sébastien Goyette
François Méthé
Cyril Bourseault
In life’s holding pattern: Shannon, a young woman, three-year-old Nolan and five-times grandmother Suzanne all need an organ donation. A race against the clock and against death, which approaches rapidly and relentlessly while they slowly move up the waiting list step by step. For patients and relatives, this time of waiting is an ever-changing mixture of the fear of loss and the hope for a future. From this existential state of insecurity, worry and hope, “A Transplant” takes us in delicate but explicit images into the operating room and into the body that is being renewed by a team of doctors and helpers – practiced and level-headed, but also aware of the risks and the responsibility weighing down every movement. A film about the, if you will, uniqueness of life. And about the miracle that occasionally and in dire need it can even escape this uniqueness.

Lukas Stern

I’m OK

Animated Film
Canada,
UK
2018
6 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Abigail Addison (Animate Projects), Elizabeth Hobbs, Jelena Popović (National Film Board of Canada)
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Sacha Ratcliffe
Galloping at breakneck speed through the tempestuous delirium of Oskar Kokoschka. After his failed amour fou with Alma Mahler he plunges into war as a dragoon in 1915, is wounded and comes to terms with things by creating the expressionist drama “Orpheus and Eurydice.” Elizabeth Hobbs takes up the dynamic quality of Kokoschka’s drawings and the turmoil of his emotional ecstasy. Restless ink strokes are entwined in a powerful and brightly coloured mesh of short-lived scenes of passion and suffering.

André Eckardt

The Apollo of Gaza

Documentary Film
Canada,
Switzerland
2018
78 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Philippe Coeytaux, Colette Loumède
Nicolas Wadimoff
Claude Fradette
Franck Rabel
Christine Hoffet
Nicolas Wadimoff, Béatrice Guelpa
Carlos Ibañez Diaz
In August 2013, a more than 2,000 year old bronze statue of Apollo turned up in Gaza. A Palestinian fisherman is said to have discovered the 750 kg statue on the ocean floor and, with a lot of effort, recovered it. Photos showing the well-preserved, greenishly shimmering god of light, the arts, medicine and oracles lying on a cloth with a Smurf pattern began to circulate. Though only a few saw the “Apollo of Gaza” with their own eyes, it instantly became an object of mercantile and geopolitical interests and speculations. There were offers and bids, negotiations with museums, suspicions and wild rumours. Then the statue suddenly disappeared, seized by the Hamas government – that’s what people say before they add that they’re not at liberty to discuss the matter.

“The Apollo of Gaza” traces the story of a spectacular find of, if nothing else, some symbolic political weight in a mixture of mystery and investigative research. What’s left at the end are the hopes of a region marked by war and blockades that expects the beautiful bronze god to enable them to reconnect with a buried cultural past.

Esther Buss

Filmarchiv

Internationales Programm 2018
A Transplant François Méthé

Drei Menschen warten auf eine Organspende. Mit behutsamen, aber auch expliziten Bildern dokumentiert „A Transplant“ das Wunder der Erneuerung eines ausgehenden Lebens.

A Transplant

Dokumentarfilm
Kanada
2018
69 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marie-Claude Morazain
François Méthé
Joseph Marchand
Philippe St-Gelais
Sébastien Goyette
François Méthé
Cyril Bourseault
In der Warteschleife des Lebens: Die junge Shannon, der erst dreijährige Nolan und die fünffache Großmutter Suzanne benötigen eine Organspende. Ein Wettlauf gegen die Uhr und gegen den Tod, der rasend und unaufhaltsam näher kommt, während man langsamen Schrittes auf der Bedürftigenliste nach oben rückt. Für Patienten und Angehörige ist diese Zeit des Wartens eine sich stetig neu zusammensetzende Mixtur aus der Angst vor dem Verlust und der Hoffnung auf eine Zukunft. Aus diesem existenziellen Zustand der Unsicherheit, der Sorge und der Zuversicht führt „A Transplant“ mit behutsamen, gleichwohl expliziten Bildern hinein in den OP-Saal und hinein in den Körper, der von einem Team aus Ärzten und Helfern erneuert wird – routiniert und besonnen, aber auch im Bewusstsein des Risikos und der Verantwortung, die auf jedem einzelnen Handgriff lasten. Ein Film über die, wenn man so will, Einzigartigkeit des Lebens. Und über das Wunder, dass es zuweilen und in größter Not seiner Einzigartigkeit sogar entgehen kann.

Lukas Stern

I’m OK

Animationsfilm
Kanada,
UK
2018
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Abigail Addison (Animate Projects), Elizabeth Hobbs, Jelena Popović (National Film Board of Canada)
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Sacha Ratcliffe
Im rasanten Galopp durch das stürmische Delirium von Oskar Kokoschka. Nach gescheiterter Amour fou mit Alma Mahler stürzt er sich 1915 als Dragoner in den Krieg, wird verletzt und arbeitet auf: das expressionistische Drama „Orpheus und Eurydike“ entsteht. Elizabeth Hobbs nimmt die Dynamik von Kokoschkas Zeichnungen und das Bewegte seines emotionalen Rausches auf. Kraftvoll und in leuchtenden Farben verschlingen sich unruhige Tuschestriche zu kurzlebigen Szenen über Leidenschaft und Leiden.

André Eckardt
Internationales Programm 2018
The Apollo of Gaza Nicolas Wadimoff

An der Küste zum Gazastreifen taucht 2013 eine Statue von Apollo auf. Nachdem sie zum Objekt von Spekulationen und merkantilen Interessen wurde, ist sie plötzlich verschwunden.

The Apollo of Gaza

Dokumentarfilm
Kanada,
Schweiz
2018
78 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Philippe Coeytaux, Colette Loumède
Nicolas Wadimoff
Claude Fradette
Franck Rabel
Christine Hoffet
Nicolas Wadimoff, Béatrice Guelpa
Carlos Ibañez Diaz
Im August 2013 taucht in Gaza eine mehr als 2.000 Jahre alte Bronzestatue von Apollo auf. Ein palästinensischer Fischer soll die 750 Kilogramm schwere Plastik auf dem Meeresboden entdeckt und mit viel Arbeit und Mühe geborgen haben. Fotos geraten in Umlauf, die den gut erhaltenen, grünlich schimmernden Gott des Lichts, der Künste, der Heilkunst und der Orakel liegend auf einem Tuch mit Schlumpfmotiven zeigen. Auch wenn nur wenige den „Apollo von Gaza“ mit eigenen Augen zu Gesicht bekamen, wird er unmittelbar zum Objekt von merkantilen wie geopolitischen Interessen und Spekulationen. Es gibt Angebote und Gebote, Verhandlungen mit Museen, Verdachtsmomente und wilde Gerüchte. Dann ist die Statue plötzlich verschwunden, von der Hamas-Regierung beschlagnahmt – so heißt es, bevor man hinzufügt, nicht über die Sache sprechen zu dürfen.

Mit einer Mischung aus Mystery und investigativer Recherche zeichnet „The Apollo of Gaza“ die Geschichte um den spektakulären Fund nach, der nicht zuletzt symbolpolitisches Gewicht hat. Am Ende bleiben die Hoffnungen einer von Krieg und Blockade gezeichneten Region, die sich von dem schönen Gott in Bronze eine Wiederanknüpfung an die verschüttete kulturelle Vergangenheit verspricht.

Esther Buss