Film Archive

Chronicle of Oldrich S.

Animadoc
Czech Republic
2011
18 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jakub Hora, AniFest
Rudolf Šmíd
Jaroslav Koran
Jakub Halousek
Lucie Haladova
Rudolf Šmíd
Rudolf Šmíd
Jaroslav Koran
Mr Sedláček was writing one-sentence entries in his chronicle from 1981 to 2005. The chronicle assembles everyday stories of his and his family's life, the life of the village and its surroundings as well as international events side by side.
Narrating eigthy entries from a total of more than two thousand daily notes the film manages to provide a astonishingly concentrated overview of Mr. Sedláček's life and of our society.
International Programme 2012
Private Universe Helena Třeštíková

The diary of a Czech family man from 1974 till today: children are born and grow up, nations are disbanded, and men flies into space – always accompanied by Karel Gott’s songs.

Private Universe

Documentary Film
Czech Republic
2012
83 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Katarina Cerna, Negativ Film Productions
Helena Třeštíková
Karel Gott
Vlastimil Hamernik, Jiri Chod, David Cysar
Jakub Hejna
Helena Třeštíková
Lukas Moudry
“The future is a relative concept. It’s up to us to imagine it.” How right this immaculately coiffed black and white television show host is as she drinks to a potentially coloured future at a time when people take the first steps on the moon and tanks roll into Prague – both events with incalculable consequences. For who really knows how people are going to live in a few decades? When Petr begins a diary on the day of his wedding to Jana in Prague in 1974, he doesn’t know how his world and his little family universe will develop – and influence each other. When Helena Třeštiková starts to accompany Jana’s pregnancy with her camera a little while later she has no idea that 37 years later this will become her longest long-term documentary so far: “Private Universe”.
Petr’s diary provides the variable framework of this thoroughlylight footed family portrait. From this perspective great political upheavals sometimes appear marginal, while first teeth take centre stage. The changes of Czech society are reproduced on a smaller scale, a life between Karel Gott and John Lennon. The actual dimensions of the film’s title are not revealed until the son, Honza, the rebel, gradually becomes the main protagonist. For when he was born 37 years ago he had no idea it was under the star of the camera. A lucky star?

Lars Meyer



MDR Film Prize 2012

Tram

Animated Film
Czech Republic,
France
2012
7 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ron Dyens (Sacrebleu Productions), Katarina Cerna (Negativ Film Productions)
Michaela Pavlatova
Petr Marek
Milos Krejcar
Michaela Pavlatova
Michaela Pavlatova
Daniel Nemec
The humdrum daily routine of a tram driver: like every morning, men get on the vehicle to go to work, all similar, quiet, grey. And yet, on that day, prompted by the jolts and the road vibrations, to the rhythm of the tickets inserted in the ticket-stamping machine, the driver gets turned on and the tram goes erotic.

Filmarchiv

Chronicle of Oldrich S.

Animadok
Tschechische Republik
2011
18 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jakub Hora, AniFest
Rudolf Šmíd
Jaroslav Koran
Jakub Halousek
Lucie Haladova
Rudolf Šmíd
Rudolf Šmíd
Jaroslav Koran
Von 1981 bis 2005 schrieb Herr Sedláček jeweils einen Satz lange Einträge in seine Chronik. Darunter sind Alltagsgeschichten aus seinem Leben und dem seiner Familie, seines Dorfes und der Umgebung ebenso wie internationale Ereignisse. Der Film erzählt 80 von insgesamt über zweitausend täglichen Notizen und gibt so einen erstaunlich konzentrierten Überblick über das Leben von Herrn Sedláček und unserer Gesellschaft.

Private Universe

Dokumentarfilm
Tschechische Republik
2012
83 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Katarina Cerna, Negativ Film Productions
Helena Třeštíková
Karel Gott
Vlastimil Hamernik, Jiri Chod, David Cysar
Jakub Hejna
Helena Třeštíková
Lukas Moudry
„Die Zukunft ist ein relatives Konzept. Sie uns vorzustellen, liegt an uns.“ Wie Recht hat doch diese Fernsehmoderatorin, die zu einer Zeit, in der Menschen erstmals den Mond begehen und Panzer in Prag einfahren – beides mit unabsehbaren Folgen – wohlfrisiert und in schwarz-weiß auf eine womöglich farbige Zukunft anstößt. Denn wer kann schon wirklich wissen, wie die Menschen in einigen Jahrzehnten leben werden. Als Petr 1974 am Tag seiner Hochzeit mit Jana in Prag ein Tagebuch beginnt, weiß er nicht, wie die Welt und wie sein kleines Familienuniversum sich entwickeln werden – und wie sich beides gegenseitig beeinflusst. Als Helena Třeštíková kurz darauf beginnt, Janas Schwangerschaft mit der Kamera zu begleiten, weiß sie nicht, dass daraus 37 Jahre später ihre bisher längste Langzeitdokumentation entstehen sollte: „Private Universe.“
Petrs Tagebuchaufzeichnungen bilden das variable Gerüst für dieses stets leichtfüßige Familienportrait. Aus der Tagebuch-Perspektive erscheinen große politische Umbrüche zuweilen als Randnotizen, während erste Zähne zu zentralen Ereignissen werden. Im Kleinen wird der Wandel der Tschechischen Gesellschaft nachvollzogen, ein Leben zwischen Karel Gott und John Lennon. Die ganze Dimension des Filmtitels offenbart sich aber erst, wenn Sohn Honza, der Widerspenstige, sich zum eigentlichen Protagonisten entwickelt. Denn zur Stunde seiner Geburt vor 37 Jahren ahnte er noch nicht, dass er bereits unter dem Stern der Kamera stand. Ein guter Stern?

Lars Meyer



Ausgezeichnet mit dem MDR-Filmpreis 2012

Tram

Animationsfilm
Tschechische Republik,
Frankreich
2012
7 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ron Dyens (Sacrebleu Productions), Katarina Cerna (Negativ Film Productions)
Michaela Pavlatova
Petr Marek
Milos Krejcar
Michaela Pavlatova
Michaela Pavlatova
Daniel Nemec
Das eintönige Leben einer Straßenbahnfahrerin: Wie jeden Morgen steigen Männer auf dem Weg zur Arbeit ein, alle gleich, ruhig, grau. Und dennoch, an diesem Tag ist alles anders: Das Ruckeln und Rütteln, der Rhythmus der in die Stempelmaschinen geschobenen Fahrkarten erregen die Schaffnerin und die Straßenbahn wird erotisch.