Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

International Programme 2014
Olga Miroslav Janek

Art, parties and politics merge in the life of the Prague dissidents around Vaclav Havel. A tightly woven image of the time and a portrait of his wife that tells of the lightness of resistance.

Olga

Documentary Film
Czech Republic
2014
87 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jarmila Poláková
Miroslav Janek
Miroslav Janek
Tonička Janková
Miroslav Janek
Vladimír Chrastil
It’s a community of misfits living on the margins of society in whose lives art, partying, performance and politics merge inextricably. One of them is Olga.
After his masterpiece “Citizen Havel”, Miroslav Janek now turns his attention to the long time companion of the Czech playwright, dissident and president, Václav Havel, who died in 1996. He portrays her as a “girl from Žižkov”, the Prague working class neighbourhood, as a down to earth and wise woman whose contribution to her husband’s work cannot be overestimated. The co-signatory of the Charta 77 took Havel’s place while he was in prison, kept the Café “Slavia” circle together, was active as a writer and publisher of Samizdats and always spoke her mind, even as First Lady – much to the protocol officers’ chagrin.
Yet Janek does not make this a hagiography but, above all, an atmospheric vision of that time, in a densely interwoven montage of black and white images of old Prague, Super 8 films, photos, private journals, secret service reports and vividly staged memories of companions. Rather than the portrait of an individual, this is the portrait of an artistic and political avant-garde who – unlike their East German counterparts – never took themselves too seriously. At the same time, it is a tale of resistance and its lightness only a Czech could pull off.
Grit Lemke
Doc Alliance Selection 2014
The Great Night Petr Hátle

In praise of the night! Sadness and ecstasy, loneliness and crystal. The fates of people in Prague gradually emerge from the shadows. The pull of darkness, set to baroque arias.

The Great Night

Documentary Film
Czech Republic
2013
72 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Tomáš Hrubý, Pavla Kubečková, Tereza Polachová, Hana Kastelicová
Petr Hátle
Prokop Souček
Šimon Hájek
Petr Hátle
Martin Klusák
Without light there are no colours. And that’s what they look like, these people of the night – as if they had been drained of all colour. Who knows whether they became this way because their life happens at night or whether they entered the night because of its fading colours. At any rate, they are looking for surrogates of everything they left behind or that simply stayed behind in a world ruled by a certain degree of timelessness and instability. Drugs, sex, alcohol, and gambling provide help or occasions to while away the time, pass the night and perhaps avoid delving into the oppressive blackness they carry inside and around themselves. “People are exactly like a bench or metal. People are only objects. They disappear like fog and leave nothing behind”, says Zdeněk, one of the protagonists. Maybe it doesn’t matter then when the great night begins and how it ends.
Kids DOK 2014
The Little Cousteau Jakub Kouřil

A long, long time ago the sea was everywhere. That’s how the little Cousteau sees his environment and goes on to have a few deep sea adventures in the middle of the city.

The Little Cousteau

Animated Film
Czech Republic
2013
8 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Bara Prikaska
Jakub Kouřil
Marek Gabriel Hruška
Jakub Kouřil
Roman Tesacek
Jakub Kouřil
Jakub Kouřil
Vladimir Chorvatovic
A long, long time ago the sea was everywhere. That’s how the little Cousteau sees his environment and goes on to have a few deep sea adventures in the middle of the city.

Filmarchiv

Sections (Film Archive)

Olga

Dokumentarfilm
Tschechische Republik
2014
87 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jarmila Poláková
Miroslav Janek
Miroslav Janek
Tonička Janková
Miroslav Janek
Vladimír Chrastil
Es ist eine Gemeinschaft unangepasster Außenseiter, in deren Leben Kunst, Party, Performance und Politik untrennbar miteinander verschmelzen. Eine von ihnen ist Olga.
Miroslav Janek widmet sich nach seinem Meisterwerk „Občan Havel“ nun der 1996 verstorbenen langjährigen Gefährtin des tschechischen Dramatikers, Dissidenten und Präsidenten Václav Havel. Er zeigt sie als „Mädchen aus Žižkov“, dem Prager Arbeiterbezirk, als bodenständige und lebenskluge Frau, deren Beitrag zum Werk ihres Mannes nicht hoch genug zu schätzen ist. Die Mit-Unterzeichnerin der Charta 77 nahm während Havels Haftzeit seinen Platz ein, hielt den Kreis aus dem Café „Slavia“ zusammen, war als Autorin und Samisdat-Herausgeberin tätig und sagte auch als First Lady – sehr zum Leidwesen der Protokoll-Verantwortlichen – immer, was sie dachte.
Dennoch zeichnet Janek keine Hagiografie, sondern vor allem ein stimmungsvolles Zeitbild: in einer dicht gewebten Montage aus Schwarz-Weiß-Bildern des alten Prag, Super-8-Filmen, Fotos, privaten Aufzeichnungen, Geheimdienst-Berichten und lebendig inszenierten Erinnerungen von Weggefährten. Vielmehr als das Porträt einer einzelnen Person ist es das einer künstlerischen und politischen Avantgarde, die sich selbst – im Gegensatz zu ihrem ostdeutschen Pendant – nie allzu ernst nahm. Und zugleich eine Erzählung vom Widerstand und seiner Leichtigkeit, wie sie nur Tschechen gelingt.
Grit Lemke

The Great Night

Dokumentarfilm
Tschechische Republik
2013
72 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Tomáš Hrubý, Pavla Kubečková, Tereza Polachová, Hana Kastelicová
Petr Hátle
Prokop Souček
Šimon Hájek
Petr Hátle
Martin Klusák
Ohne Licht gibt es keine Farben. So scheinen sie auch ein wenig, diese Menschen der Nacht, als wäre ihnen die Farbe entzogen worden. Wer weiß, ob sie nun so geworden sind, weil sich ihr Leben nachts abspielt, oder ob sie sich aufgrund der schwindenden Farben in die Nacht begeben haben. Zumindest suchen sie in einer Welt, die von einer gewissen Zeit- und Haltlosigkeit bestimmt ist, nach Ersatz für all das, was sie hinter sich gelassen haben oder was einfach hinter ihnen liegenblieb. Drogen, Sex, Alkohol, Glücksspiel fungieren dabei als Helfer oder Anlass, um die Zeit wegzuleben, die Nacht rumzubringen und vielleicht nicht ganz in die bedrückende Schwärze eintauchen zu müssen, die sie in sich tragen und welche sie umgibt. „Menschen sind das Gleiche wie eine Bank oder Metall. Menschen sind nur Gegenstände. Wir verschwinden wie Nebel und lassen nichts zurück“, sagt der Protagonist Zdeněk. Vielleicht ist es dann auch egal, wann die große Nacht beginnt und wie sie endet.
Kids DOK 2014
The Little Cousteau Jakub Kouřil

Vor langer, langer Zeit war überall das Meer. So nimmt auch der kleine Cousteau seine Umgebung wahr und erlebt mitten in der Stadt seine Tiefseeabenteuer.

The Little Cousteau

Animationsfilm
Tschechische Republik
2013
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Bara Prikaska
Jakub Kouřil
Marek Gabriel Hruška
Jakub Kouřil
Roman Tesacek
Jakub Kouřil
Jakub Kouřil
Vladimir Chorvatovic
Vor langer, langer Zeit war überall das Meer. So nimmt auch der kleine Cousteau seine Umgebung wahr und erlebt mitten in der Stadt seine Tiefseeabenteuer.