Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

A Marriage Story

Documentary Film
Czech Republic
2017
102 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Kateřina Černá, Pavel Strnad
Helena Třeštíková
David Cysař, Vlastimil Hamerník, Jan Malíř, Miroslav Souček, Ervín Sanders, Jiří Chod, Robert Novák, Antonín Kutík
Jakub Hejna
Helena Třeštíková
Richard Müller
Helena Třeštíková from Prague has filmed marriage stories since the early 1980s, which yielded several long-term documentaries. Ivana and Václav’s holy bond of matrimony is the subject of observation in this instalment, which takes us from the day before wedding day to the present day. At the time, in December 1980, Ivana was 21 years old and Václav 24. They were both studying architecture and married “because we like each other. And other things. Things we shouldn’t talk about.” Their first child was born shortly after the wedding: Honza.

Helena Třeštíková’s film “René” won the Golden Dove in Leipzig in 2008; a piece about a hopeless but charming amoralist who was drawn again and again to the same place: prison. It seems as if Třeštíková, too, is attracted by certain places, but even more so by people and the way they try to give their life a meaningful direction. This “marriage story”, for example, reveals an incredible desire for enlargement and growth that shows in an accumulation of objects, children and responsibilities – one of the inner motives of the Strnads which unfolds over 35 years together.

Carolin Weidner


Nominated for MDR Film Prize

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Awaker

Animated Film
Czech Republic
2017
9 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Lukáš Gregor
Filip Diviak
Jan Nevyjel, Noemi Valentíny, Vít Přibyla, Barbora Kadlíčková
Filip Diviak, Josef Erla
Filip Diviak
Filip Diviak
Jiří Hloušek
Every morning the awaker does his strenuous job. When his strength runs out one day his grandson has a brilliant idea.

Lina Dinkla

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

The House

Animated Film
Czech Republic
2017
5 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Lukáš Gregor, Markéta Janečková
Veronika Zacharová
Michael Lužný
Veronika Zacharová
Veronika Zacharová
Veronika Zacharová
Pavel Vrtěl
The house is outraged: its inhabitants have the gall to move to a modern high tech mansion! It sets out to look for a new place to live.

Lina Dinkla

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Kids DOK
The Little One Diana Cam Van Nguyen

When Rong was a small child she and her parents moved from Vietnam to Prague. Now she is grown up and remembers that time and what it was like to feel like a foreigner.

The Little One

Animadoc
Czech Republic
2017
10 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Karolína Pojarová
Diana Cam Van Nguyen
Viera Marinová
Edgar Ortiz
Diana Cam Van Nguyen, Marek Berger, Martina Chwistková, Filip Javora, Bára Anna Stejskalová
Diana Cam Van Nguyen, Vojtěch Bohuslav
Viera Marinová
When Rong was a small child she and her parents moved from Vietnam to Prague. Now she is grown up and remembers that time and what it was like to feel like a foreigner.

Lina Dinkla

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

A Marriage Story

Dokumentarfilm
2017
102 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Kateřina Černá, Pavel Strnad
Helena Třeštíková
David Cysař, Vlastimil Hamerník, Jan Malíř, Miroslav Souček, Ervín Sanders, Jiří Chod, Robert Novák, Antonín Kutík
Jakub Hejna
Helena Třeštíková
Richard Müller
Geschichten von der Ehe filmt die Pragerin Helena Třeštíková seit den frühen 1980er Jahren, mehrere Langzeitdokumentationen sind auf diese Weise entstanden. Ivana und Václavs ewiger Bund ist Beobachtungsgegenstand dieser Folge, die vom Tag vor der Hochzeit bis ins Heute reicht. Damals, im Dezember 1980, ist Ivana 21 Jahre alt und Václav 24. Beide studieren Architektur und heiraten, „weil wir uns mögen. Und andere Dinge. Dinge, über die man besser nicht spricht.“ Kurz nach der Hochzeit ist das erste Kind da: Honza.

Helena Třeštíkovás Film „René“ gewann 2008 in Leipzig die Goldene Taube, ein Stück über einen hoffnungslosen, aber einnehmenden Amoralisten, den es immer wieder an den gleichen Ort zog: ins Gefängnis. Offenbar ist auch Třeštíková angezogen von bestimmten Orten, vor allem aber von Menschen und der Art, wie sie ihr Leben in sinnvolle Richtungen zu entwickeln versuchen. In dieser „Marriage Story“ lässt sich beispielsweise ein unglaublicher Wunsch nach Vergrößerung und Wachstum ausmachen, der sich in einer Anhäufung von Gegenständen, Kindern und Verantwortlichkeiten zeigt – eines der inneren Motive des Ehepaares Strnad, das sich über 35 gemeinsame Jahre entklappt.

Carolin Weidner


Nominiert für MDR-Filmpreis

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Awaker

Animationsfilm
2017
9 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Lukáš Gregor
Filip Diviak
Jan Nevyjel, Noemi Valentíny, Vít Přibyla, Barbora Kadlíčková
Filip Diviak, Josef Erla
Filip Diviak
Filip Diviak
Jiří Hloušek
Jeden Morgen geht der Aufwecker seiner beschwerlichen Arbeit nach. Als er eines Tages keine Kraft mehr dafür hat, kommt sein Enkel auf die rettende Idee.

Lina Dinkla

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

The House

Animationsfilm
2017
5 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Lukáš Gregor, Markéta Janečková
Veronika Zacharová
Michael Lužný
Veronika Zacharová
Veronika Zacharová
Veronika Zacharová
Pavel Vrtěl
Das Haus ist empört: Da ziehen seine Bewohner doch einfach in eine moderne Hightech-Villa! Es macht sich auf die Suche nach einem neuen Platz zum Leben.

Lina Dinkla

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Kids DOK
The Little One Diana Cam Van Nguyen

Als Kind ist Rong mit ihren Eltern aus Vietnam nach Prag gezogen. Nun ist sie erwachsen und erinnert sich an damals und wie es war, sich fremd zu fühlen.

The Little One

Animadok
2017
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Karolína Pojarová
Diana Cam Van Nguyen
Viera Marinová
Edgar Ortiz
Diana Cam Van Nguyen, Marek Berger, Martina Chwistková, Filip Javora, Bára Anna Stejskalová
Diana Cam Van Nguyen, Vojtěch Bohuslav
Viera Marinová
Als Kind ist Rong mit ihren Eltern aus Vietnam nach Prag gezogen. Nun ist sie erwachsen und erinnert sich an damals und wie es war, sich fremd zu fühlen.

Lina Dinkla

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.