Film Archive

My Unknown Soldier

Documentary Film
Czech Republic,
Latvia,
Slovakia
2018
79 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Michal Kráčmer, Sergei Serpuhov
Anna Kryvenko
Andris Dzenitis, Yair Elazar Glotman, David Střeleček
Radka Šišuláková
Daria Chernyak
Anna Kryvenko
Viktor Krivosudský
The Prague Spring, Soviet tanks, the invasion of Warsaw Pact troops, the epoch-making year of 1968: the starting points of a family history between Czechia, Ukraine and Russia. “The occupation translates to a man with a dachshund being entitled to yell at a young girl in a tram because he can’t tell Ukrainian and Russian apart.”

A series of family album photos from which a man was removed sets Anna Kryvenko, a Ukrainian who studies film in Prague, on the trail of her great-uncle: the “unknown soldier”, to whom so many monuments are dedicated that one almost forgets that this sweeping gesture of remembrance refers to concrete faces, names, dates of birth and death, biographies cut short. After some initial hesitation the filmmaker’s family break their silence and gradually the pieces combine to form a new picture in which family and world history intersect.

Fabian Tietke


Nominated for the MDR Film Prize

Nabbin

Documentary Film
Czech Republic,
Israel
2018
30 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nadav Harel, Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Rotem Dror
After years in Israel the filmmaker returns to Nabbin in the Czech Republic, the place where she grew up, and to the people who surrounded her then.

The Winter Garden’s Tale

Documentary Film
Czech Republic,
Ukraine
2018
75 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Alex Chepiga, Taras Bosak, Artem Koliubaiev
Simon Mozgovyi
Roman Grygoriv, Elliah Razumeiko
Denis Melnik
Mykola Bazarkin, Simon Mozgovyi
Simon Mozgovyi
Natalya Avramenko, Andrii Nidzelskyi, Michal Pajdiak
For 45 years, all her working life, Valentina Voronina has worked in the greenhouse of the “Exhibition of the Achievements of the National Economy of the Ukrainian Soviet Republic” in Kiev, now the “Expocenter of the Ukraine” and very much in need of renovation. She spends her days in a modest wooden bungalow in the middle of her small empire of plants, not far from the impressive but decaying giant winter garden. Now, in the midst of preparations for the next winter, she’s to go. The management is to be taken over by a landscape architect. But Valentina Voronina refuses to give way. She is convinced that the welfare of the plants depends on her personally. All at once her life’s work, the history of the greenhouse to which the plants bear testimony, is threatened. A film about the end of an era.

Fabian Tietke


Nominated for the MDR Film Prize

Filmarchiv

My Unknown Soldier

Dokumentarfilm
Tschechische Republik,
Lettland,
Slowakei
2018
79 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Michal Kráčmer, Sergei Serpuhov
Anna Kryvenko
Andris Dzenitis, Yair Elazar Glotman, David Střeleček
Radka Šišuláková
Daria Chernyak
Anna Kryvenko
Viktor Krivosudský
Prager Frühling, sowjetische Panzer, der Einmarsch der Truppen des Warschauer Paktes, das epochemachende Jahr 1968: Ausgangspunkte einer Familiengeschichte zwischen Tschechien, der Ukraine und Russland. „Die Besetzung von 1968 übersetzt sich in einen Mann mit einem Dachshund, der sich berechtigt fühlt, ein junges Mädchen in der Tram anzuschreien, weil er Ukrainisch nicht von Russisch unterscheiden kann.“

Eine Reihe von Fotos aus einem Familienalbum, aus denen ein Mann entfernt wurde, setzt Anna Kryvenko, die als Ukrainerin in Prag Film studiert, auf die Fährte einer Spurensuche nach ihrem Großonkel. Der „unbekannte Soldat“, dem so viele Mahnmale gewidmet sind, dass man beinahe vergisst, dass mit der summarischen Gedenkgeste konkrete Gesichter, Namen, Geburts- und Sterbedaten, vor der Zeit abgebrochene Biografien gemeint sind. Nach anfänglichem Zögern bricht die Familie der Filmemacherin das Schweigen und allmählich fügen sich die Teile zu einem neuen Bild. Familien- und Weltgeschichte kreuzen sich.

Fabian Tietke


Nominiert für den MDR-Filmpreis

Nabbin

Dokumentarfilm
Tschechische Republik,
Israel
2018
30 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nadav Harel, Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Rotem Dror
Nach Jahren in Israel kehrt die Filmemacherin nach Nabbin in Tschechien zurück, an jenen Ort, an dem sie aufgewachsen ist, und zu den Menschen, die sie damals umgaben.

The Winter Garden’s Tale

Dokumentarfilm
Tschechische Republik,
Ukraine
2018
75 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Alex Chepiga, Taras Bosak, Artem Koliubaiev
Simon Mozgovyi
Roman Grygoriv, Elliah Razumeiko
Denis Melnik
Mykola Bazarkin, Simon Mozgovyi
Simon Mozgovyi
Natalya Avramenko, Andrii Nidzelskyi, Michal Pajdiak
45 Jahre lang, ihr ganzes Arbeitsleben hindurch, hat Valentina Voronina im mittlerweile stark renovierungsbedürftigen Gewächshaus der „Ausstellung der Errungenschaften der Volkswirtschaft der Ukrainischen Sowjetrepublik“, dem heutigen „Expocenter der Ukraine“, in Kiew gearbeitet. Inmitten ihres kleinen Pflanzenreiches verbringt sie ihre Tage in einem bescheidenen Holzbungalow in der Nähe des imposanten, aber verfallenden Riesenwintergartens. Nun, mitten in den Vorbereitungen auf den nächsten Winter, soll sie gehen. Die Leitung will man einem Landschaftsarchitekten übertragen. Doch Valentina Voronina ist nicht gewillt, so einfach zu weichen. Sie ist überzeugt, dass Wohl und Wehe der Pflanzen von ihr, und zwar ganz persönlich, abhängen. Mit einem Mal scheint ihr Lebenswerk, scheint die Geschichte des Gewächshauses, von der die Pflanzen zeugen, bedroht. Ein Film über das Ende einer Ära.

Fabian Tietke


Nominiert für den MDR-Filmpreis