Film Archive

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Homage Jon Bang Carlsen
Addicted to Solitude Jon Bang Carlsen

“Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans. And so are films.” This statement, which opens “Addicted to Solitude”, indicates its direction: there is none.

Addicted to Solitude

Documentary Film
Denmark
1999
60 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jon Bang Carlsen
Jon Bang Carlsen
Frédéric Chopin, Johann Strauss
Jon Bang Carlsen
Haley Morris-Hohls
Jon Bang Carlsen
“Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans. And so are films.” This statement, which opens “Addicted to Solitude”, indicates its direction: there is none. The plan was to make a film about South Africa a few years after the end of Apartheid. But somewhere along the way the director lost the original story. What’s left is the research material, which Bang Carlsen turned into a travel diary and undoubtedly one of his most personal films. On the backdrop of the tragic story of two women belonging to the white community somewhere in remote rural South Africa, the ghosts of the past and the fears of the future come alive. But the traveller’s privilege is that he need not pretend to belong to any side. And this freedom enables Bang Carlsen to take a look at the ongoing transition that lays bare the most deep-seated emotional insecurity. White rule was based on voluntary loneliness caused by the exclusion of the black population. They got rid of the rule. The loneliness is still there.
Matthias Heeder

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Homage Jon Bang Carlsen
Before the Guests Arrive Jon Bang Carlsen

The last preparations for the season at a small hotel on the North Sea coast. Managed by an elderly lady and maintained by her only employee, who’s not quite so young either, this house is stuck in some early 1960s style.

Before the Guests Arrive

Documentary Film
Denmark
1986
15 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jon Bang Carlsen, Mads Egmont Christensen
Jon Bang Carlsen
Tom Elling
Grete Møldrup
Jon Bang Carlsen
Niels Arild
The last preparations for the season at a small hotel on the North Sea coast. Managed by an elderly lady and maintained by her only employee, who’s not quite so young either, this house is stuck in some early 1960s style. Maybe it was this marginality in a tourist region that attracted Bang Carlsen to the project. Nothing here is situational, coincidental or unplanned. Every shot was carefully constructed, the two women’s movements orchestrated, the dialogues and texts developed so convincingly that a universal truth about the transience of all things emerges behind the simple image of an ageing family hotel. The director’s wistful look at a somewhat dusty gem, conserved in the film to be passed on to posterity like a time capsule.
Matthias Heeder

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Homage Jon Bang Carlsen
Hotel of the Stars Jon Bang Carlsen

Once the most fashionable spot in the heart of Hollywood, in 1980 the Montecito Hotel on Franklin Avenue is only a shadow of its former heyday. The stars have moved on to fancier palaces.

Hotel of the Stars

Documentary Film
Denmark
1982
45 minutes
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jon Bang Carlsen
Tennyson Stephens
Alexander Gruszynski
Anders Refn
Jon Bang Carlsen
Niels Bokkenheuser
Once the most fashionable spot in the heart of Hollywood, in 1980 the Montecito Hotel on Franklin Avenue is only a shadow of its former heyday. The stars have moved on to fancier palaces. The Montecito is left with the small fry of the industry: bit players, extras, musicians. And a busted elevator. For Bang Carlsen, who sees documentary film as an art form (and not an objective view of the world), it’s natural to have the residents of the hotel play themselves. Dan, an overweight man in his early 40s, assumes the part of the bit player he really is and now plays for Bang Carlsen. Something astonishing happens in the process. Suddenly the mask of the play doesn’t fit Dan any more, slips and reveals a different truth about him and the world he moves in. All protagonists/actors in this film have their entrance, their scene, their moment. All of which Bang Carlsen uses to construct an incredibly authentic story about the America of the losers.
Matthias Heeder

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Homage Jon Bang Carlsen
How to Invent Reality Jon Bang Carlsen

At one point in this essay about documentary staging someone says: “You move into a film like you move into a house.” Whether you feel comfortable there, however, depends on many small, sometimes unnoticeable things.

How to Invent Reality

Documentary Film
Denmark
1996
30 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jon Bang Carlsen
Jon Bang Carlsen
Anúna
Donal Gilligan, Jon Bang Carlsen
Morten Giese
Jon Bang Carlsen
Morten Holm
A demonstration of Jon Bang Carlsen’s method using the example of his film about Irish bachelors, “It’s Now or Never”. At one point in this essay about documentary staging someone says: “You move into a film like you move into a house.” Whether you feel comfortable there, however, depends on many small, sometimes unnoticeable things. That’s what Bang Carlsen talks about in this film: the search for protagonists, places, events, moods, and their translation into a cinematic narrative. That’s why what we finally encounter in the cinema is neither the protagonist’s story nor the director’s. Instead, the film has found its own truth. And that’s the wonderful thing about filmmaking. In that sense you can’t help agreeing to another comment by Bang Carlsen about his documentary method: “It’s a result of mistaken orthodoxy to be limited by the way the world happens to look.”
Matthias Heeder

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Homage Jon Bang Carlsen
It's Now or Never Jon Bang Carlsen

In “It’s Now or Never”, the rough west coast of Ireland forms the backdrop of a documentary comedy about love, or rather about the search for a woman in a fairly depopulated area.

It's Now or Never

Documentary Film
Denmark
1996
50 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jon Bang Carlsen
Jon Bang Carlsen
Dolores Keane, Tommy & Siobhán Peoples, Garry O'Briain
Donal Gilligan
Molly Malene Stensgaard
Jon Bang Carlsen
Darby Carroll
Jon Bang Carlsen
In his films, Jon Bang Carlsen is consistently drawn to people in remote places. In “It’s Now or Never”, the rough west coast of Ireland forms the backdrop of a documentary comedy about love, or rather about the search for a woman in a fairly depopulated area. Jimmy, in his mid-50s and a bachelor for want of opportunity, turns to a local matchmaker who runs his business from a café. So much for the framework of the narrative in which Bang Carlsen transports us to a reality filled with the bachelors’ wishes and doubts, utterly improbably encounters, and innumerable playful moments. It’s soon clear that the reality that unfolds so seductively on the screen is constructed, organised to meet the demands of film: beautifully photographed faces, stone walls placed in the lush green hills like sculptures, changing camera positions, dispersed dialogue, the magic of Irish rain … and Jimmy, always Jimmy, who only wants a woman who’s a good milker.
Matthias Heeder

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Homage Jon Bang Carlsen
Phoenix Bird Jon Bang Carlsen

The very first shot of the film is testimony to the director’s joy of storytelling: a flock of birds in front of a mountain range, backlighted by the rising hot Arizona sun.

Phoenix Bird

Documentary Film
Denmark
1984
45 minutes
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jon Bang Carlsen
Jon Bang Carlsen
Alexander Gruszynski
Anders Refn
Jon Bang Carlsen
Peter Witt
The very first shot of the film is testimony to the director’s joy of storytelling: a flock of birds in front of a mountain range, backlighted by the rising hot Arizona sun, a crushing off commentary by the protagonist about God’s work, cut to a gun, up close. From here on everything in this story can be traced back to this gun – the violence it embodies, the survival it promises, the individual freedom it secures. At least in the eyes of the protagonist of this exciting film about security paranoia – Vietnam vet and ex CIA agent James R. Jarrett, who operates a survival training camp; a warrior of life who relieves his customers of the fear of killing. You can do it! Bang Carlsen has developed his method of “documentary staging” to the point where the staging of the protagonist as a lone cowboy evokes the corresponding Hollywood motive. Which, however, is not used here to calm or legitimise but revealed as the mask of a reality where people mistake individual freedom for the right to use violence.
Matthias Heeder

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Portrait of God

Documentary Film
Denmark
2002
60 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jon Bang Carlsen, Sigve Endresen
Jon Bang Carlsen
Cristóbal de Morales
Jon Bang Carlsen, Michael Buckley
Molly Malene Steensgaard
Jon Bang Carlsen
Henrik Langkilde
No story, no development, no film without doubt. Jon Bang Carlsen’s whole oeuvre is based on this idea – doubting reality, himself, the objectivity of the camera. “I have been fighting to find a filmic structure that would allow doubt to be one of the main characters in my films and yet would still function as a solid framework to hang my filmic fragments on.” In “Portrait of God” – the final part of his “South African Trilogy” – Bang Carlsen as the narrator slips into the role of a detective who investigates a (possible) rumour: the image of God. Full of professional (the detective’s suspiciousness) and personal scepticism, the director of this road movie tracks the ideas that people have of God. In a giant Cape Town prison he at last finds surprising answers and a universal insight: that it’s a sin to look at heaven when you’re looking for God.
Matthias Heeder

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Homage Jon Bang Carlsen
Purity Beats Everything Jon Bang Carlsen

A highly original and bold examination of the Holocaust. On the one hand there are two survivors who found a new home in South Africa after the end of the war – in a country that practiced racial segregation even then.

Purity Beats Everything

Documentary Film
Denmark
2007
30 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Marianne Christensen, Jon Bang Carlsen
Jon Bang Carlsen
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Jon Bang Carlsen
Andri Steinn Guðmundsson
Jon Bang Carlsen
Peter Schultz
A highly original and bold examination of the Holocaust. On the one hand there are two survivors who found a new home in South Africa after the end of the war – in a country that practiced racial segregation even then. The depiction of their horrible experiences in the ghettos and death camps is linked by the director’s reflections on a second level to Apartheid, the basic spiritual patterns of European culture and to a present day susceptible to echoes of the past. In this film Bang Carlsen varies his method of “documentary staging”, by staging not the protagonists and their stories but houses, trees, landscapes, animals, even clothespins, which relates both places and times to each other. There is one shot in the film that’s like a blow in the face: we hear of the black fog over Auschwitz and look at the chimney of the director’s home, turned against the sky, emitting wispy smoke. It’s a past that is never over – and a constant and omnipresent threat.
Matthias Heeder

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Hommage Jon Bang Carlsen
Addicted to Solitude Jon Bang Carlsen

„Leben ist das, was dir widerfährt, während du mit anderen Plänen beschäftigt bist. Genauso ist es mit Filmen.“ Diese Feststellung zu Beginn von „Addicted to Solitude“ weist die Richtung: Es gibt keine.

Addicted to Solitude

Dokumentarfilm
Dänemark
1999
60 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jon Bang Carlsen
Jon Bang Carlsen
Frédéric Chopin, Johann Strauss
Jon Bang Carlsen
Haley Morris-Hohls
Jon Bang Carlsen
„Leben ist das, was dir widerfährt, während du mit anderen Plänen beschäftigt bist. Genauso ist es mit Filmen.“ Diese Feststellung zu Beginn von „Addicted to Solitude“ weist die Richtung: Es gibt keine. Geplant war ein Film über Südafrika, einige Jahre nach dem Ende der Apartheid. Aber die ursprüngliche Geschichte ging dem Regisseur unterwegs irgendwie verloren. Geblieben ist das Material, das während der Recherche entstand und das Bang Carlsen zu einem Reisetagebuch, ganz sicher auch zu einem seiner persönlichsten Filme verarbeitet hat. Vor dem Hintergrund der tragischen Lebensgeschichte zweier Frauen der „white community“ irgendwo in der ländlichen Abgeschiedenheit Südafrikas werden die Geister der Vergangenheit ebenso lebendig wie die Ängste vor der Zukunft. Doch hat der Reisende ein Privileg: Er muss nicht vorgeben, zu irgendeiner Seite zu gehören. Und diese Freiheit ermöglicht Bang Carlsen einen Blick auf das Heute des Übergangs, der tiefste emotionale Verunsicherung freilegt. Die weiße Herrschaft beruhte auf freiwilliger Einsamkeit durch Ausschluss der schwarzen Bevölkerung. Die Herrschaft sind sie los. Die Einsamkeit ist geblieben.
Matthias Heeder

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Hommage Jon Bang Carlsen
Before the Guests Arrive Jon Bang Carlsen

The last preparations for the season at a small hotel on the North Sea coast. Managed by an elderly lady and maintained by her only employee, who’s not quite so young either, this house is stuck in some early 1960s style.

Before the Guests Arrive

Dokumentarfilm
Dänemark
1986
15 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jon Bang Carlsen, Mads Egmont Christensen
Jon Bang Carlsen
Tom Elling
Grete Møldrup
Jon Bang Carlsen
Niels Arild
Die letzten Saisonvorbereitungen in einem kleinen Hotel an der Nordsee. Geführt von einer betagten Dame und in Schuss gehalten von deren einziger Angestellten, auch sie nicht mehr die Jüngste, ist dieses Haus stilistisch irgendwie in den frühen 1960er Jahren hängengeblieben. Vielleicht war es diese Randständigkeit im touristischen Raum, die Bang Carlsen an dem Projekt reizte. Nichts ist hier situativ, zufällig oder ungeplant. An jeder Einstellung wurde sorgfältig gebaut, die Bewegungen der beiden Frauen orchestriert, die Dialoge und Texte so überzeugend entwickelt, dass hinter dem einfachen Bild eines in die Jahre gekommenen Familienhotels eine universelle Wahrheit über die Vergänglichkeit der Dinge aufscheint. Ein wehmütiger Blick des Regisseurs auf ein wenn auch etwas verstaubtes Kleinod, das der Film bewahrt und der Nachwelt wie in einer Zeitkapsel überliefert.
Matthias Heeder

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Hommage Jon Bang Carlsen
Hotel of the Stars Jon Bang Carlsen

Einst der angesagteste Platz im Herzen Hollywoods, ist das Montecito Hotel in der Franklin Avenue Anfang der 1980er Jahre nur noch ein Schatten vergangener, prominenter Tage.

Hotel of the Stars

Dokumentarfilm
Dänemark
1982
45 Minuten
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jon Bang Carlsen
Tennyson Stephens
Alexander Gruszynski
Anders Refn
Jon Bang Carlsen
Niels Bokkenheuser
Einst der angesagteste Platz im Herzen Hollywoods, ist das Montecito Hotel in der Franklin Avenue Anfang der 1980er Jahre nur noch ein Schatten vergangener, prominenter Tage. Die Stars sind weitergezogen, in schickere Paläste. Für das Montecito blieb das Fußvolk der Branche: Kleindarsteller, Statisten, Musiker. Und ein mies funktionierender Lift. Für Bang Carlsen, der den Dokumentarfilm als Kunstform begreift (und nicht als objektiven Blick auf die Welt), ist es naheliegend, dass sich die Menschen, die in dem Hotel leben, selbst spielen. Dan, schwergewichtiger Mann Anfang 40, schlüpft in die Rolle des Kleindarstellers, der er real ist und den er jetzt für Bang Carlsen spielt. Und dabei geschieht etwas Erstaunliches. Plötzlich passt Dan die Maske des Spiels nicht mehr, sie verrutscht und eine andere Wahrheit über ihn und die Welt, in der er sich bewegt, wird sichtbar. Alle Protagonisten/Schauspieler in diesem Film haben ihren Auftritt, ihre Szene, ihren Moment. Woraus Bang Carlsen eine unglaublich authentische Geschichte über das Amerika der Verlierer baut.
Matthias Heeder

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Hommage Jon Bang Carlsen
How to Invent Reality Jon Bang Carlsen

An einer Stelle dieses Essays über das „documentary staging“ heißt es: „Man zieht in einen Film ein, so wie man in ein Haus zieht“. Ob man sich darin allerdings wohlfühlt, hängt von vielen kleinen, mitunter unscheinbaren Dingen ab.

How to Invent Reality

Dokumentarfilm
Dänemark
1996
30 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jon Bang Carlsen
Jon Bang Carlsen
Anúna
Donal Gilligan, Jon Bang Carlsen
Morten Giese
Jon Bang Carlsen
Morten Holm
Die Darstellung der Arbeitsmethode Jon Bang Carlsens am Beispiel seines Films über irische Junggesellen – „It’s Now or Never“. An einer Stelle dieses Essays über das „documentary staging“ heißt es: „Man zieht in einen Film ein, so wie man in ein Haus zieht.“ Ob man sich darin allerdings wohlfühlt, hängt von vielen kleinen, mitunter unscheinbaren Dingen ab. Davon erzählt uns Bang Carlsen in diesem Film: von der Suche nach Protagonisten, Orten, Ereignissen, Stimmungen und deren Übersetzung in eine Filmgeschichte. Deshalb ist es ist nicht die Geschichte des Protagonisten, die uns schließlich im Kino begegnet, und auch nicht die des Regisseurs. Vielmehr hat der Film seine ganz eigene Wahrheit gefunden. Und das ist das Wunderbare am Filmemachen. Insofern muss einem weiteren Kommentar Bang Carlsens zur dokumentarischen Methode zugestimmt werden: „Das Resultat dieses falsch verstandenen orthodoxen Denkens ist es, sich davon begrenzen zu lassen, wie die Welt zufälligerweise gerade aussieht.“
Matthias Heeder

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Phoenix Bird

Dokumentarfilm
Dänemark
1984
45 Minuten
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jon Bang Carlsen
Jon Bang Carlsen
Alexander Gruszynski
Anders Refn
Jon Bang Carlsen
Peter Witt
Schon die erste Einstellung dieses Films belegt die große Lust des Regisseurs am Erzählen: im Gegenlicht der aufgehenden Glutsonne Arizonas ein Vogelschwarm vor Gebirgszug, aus dem Off ein vernichtender Kommentar des Protagonisten über das Wirken Gottes auf Erden. Schnitt auf eine Pistole, nah. Von hier ab entwickelt sich alles in dieser Geschichte im Hinblick auf diese Waffe – die Gewalt, die sie ist, das Überleben, das sie verspricht, die individuelle Freiheit, die sie verkörpert. In den Augen des Protagonisten dieses aufregenden Films über Sicherheitsparanoia jedenfalls – Vietnam-Veteran, Ex-CIA-Mann und Experte für Überlebenstechniken James R. Jarrett. Ein Krieger des Lebens, der seinen Kunden die Angst vorm Töten nimmt. You can do it! Bang Carlsen hat seine Methode des „documentary staging“ in diesem Film so weit entwickelt, dass die Inszenierung des Protagonisten als einsamer Cowboy eng an das entsprechende Hollywood-Motiv angelehnt ist. Allerdings dient es hier nicht der Beruhigung oder der Legitimierung, sondern wird als Maske einer Realität sichtbar, in der die Menschen individuelle Freiheit mit dem Recht auf Gewalt verwechseln.
Matthias Heeder

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Hommage Jon Bang Carlsen
Portrait of God Jon Bang Carlsen

Keine Geschichte, keine Entwicklung, kein Film ohne Zweifel. Das gesamte Werk Jon Bang Carlsens beruht auf diesem Gedanken. Zweifel an der Wirklichkeit, an sich selbst, Zweifel an der Objektivität der Kamera.

Portrait of God

Dokumentarfilm
Dänemark
2002
60 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jon Bang Carlsen, Sigve Endresen
Jon Bang Carlsen
Cristóbal de Morales
Jon Bang Carlsen, Michael Buckley
Molly Malene Steensgaard
Jon Bang Carlsen
Henrik Langkilde
Keine Geschichte, keine Entwicklung, kein Film ohne Zweifel. Das gesamte Werk Jon Bang Carlsens beruht auf diesem Gedanken. Zweifel an der Wirklichkeit, an sich selbst, Zweifel an der Objektivität der Kamera. „Ich kämpfe um eine filmische Struktur, die den Zweifel als eine der Hauptfiguren in meinen Filmen etabliert, und die doch gleichzeitig auch das feste Gerüst bilden muss, das meine filmischen Fragmente trägt.“ In „Portræt af Gud“ – Abschluss seiner „Südafrikanischen Trilogie“ – schlüpft Bang Carlsen als Erzähler in die Rolle eines Detektivs, der sich auf die Suche nach einem (womöglichen) Gerücht begibt: dem Bild Gottes. Professionell (das Misstrauen des Detektivs) und persönlich voller Skepsis folgt der Regisseur in diesem Roadmovie den Vorstellungen, die sich die Menschen von Gott machen. Schließlich findet er in einem gigantischen Gefängnis von Kapstadt überraschende Antworten und eine universelle Einsicht: dass es eine Sünde ist, in den Himmel zu schauen, wenn man Gott sucht.
Matthias Heeder

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Purity Beats Everything

Dokumentarfilm
Dänemark
2007
30 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Marianne Christensen, Jon Bang Carlsen
Jon Bang Carlsen
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Jon Bang Carlsen
Andri Steinn Guðmundsson
Jon Bang Carlsen
Peter Schultz
Eine sehr eigenwillige und mutige Auseinandersetzung mit dem Holocaust. Auf der einen Seite sind da zwei Überlebende, die nach dem Ende des Krieges in Südafrika eine neue Heimat fanden – in einem Land, das schon damals Rassentrennung praktizierte. Die Schilderung ihrer grauenhaften Erlebnisse in den Gettos und Todescamps wird durch die Reflexionen des Regisseurs auf einer zweiten Ebene verbunden mit der Apartheid, spirituellen Grundmustern der europäischen Kultur sowie einer Gegenwart, die anfällig ist für das Echo des Vergangenen. In diesem Film variiert Bang Carlsen seine Methode des „documentary staging“, indem nicht die Protagonisten und ihre Geschichten inszeniert werden, sondern Häuser, Räume, Landschaften, Tiere, sogar Wäscheklammern, wodurch Orte ebenso aufeinander bezogen werden wie Zeiträume. Es gibt eine Einstellung in diesem Film, die wie ein Schlag ins Gesicht ist. Wir hören von dem schwarzen Dunst über Auschwitz und blicken auf den Schornstein des Wohnhauses des Regisseurs, gegen den Himmel gedreht, mit feinem Rauch. Die Vergangenheit, die nie vergeht – und die immer und überall droht.
Matthias Heeder

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.