Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

Focus Latin America 2012
With my Heart in Yambo Fernanda Restrepo

In 1988 the director’s brothers were killed by the Ecuadorian police. Her search for the truth and a look at a survivors’ family who are fighting against forgetting.

With my Heart in Yambo

Documentary Film
Ecuador
2011
136 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Fernanda Restrepo
Fernanda Restrepo
Iván Mora Manzano
Francois Laso, Cristina Salazar
Iván Mora Manzano, Carla Valencia
Jorge de los Santos, La que Cruza
María Fernanda Restrepo
Esteban Brauer
In January 1988, the director’s two older brothers disappeared after a police check. Maria Fernanda Restrepo was ten years old. Her brothers were probably killed and thrown into Lake Yambo by the police. For more than twenty years, her father has gone to the city of Quito every week to protest against forgetting this case. Solving this crime, which is part of a long tradition of human rights violations in the history of Ecuador, has become the family’s sole purpose in life.
Maria Fernanda, the daughter, also sets out to find the perpetrators. Armed with a camera and microphone she defies policemen, secret service agents and once even a former president to confront them with the truth. Even though she hits a wall of silence or is mislead by false information and fake clues again and again, she gradually comes closer to the truth. Intelligent questions, bitter comments and angry humour are the tools the director uses to expose cowardice and lies, while her off-screen voice sets important accents in a traditional narrative.
The film makes us feel how every member of the family bears their disappointments, hopes and frustrations deep inside and how hard it is for them to share these feelings. And yet they stand together and draw incredible strength from their fight against forgetting. Their courage gives “Con mi corazón en Yambo” its powerful intensity.

– Paulo de Carvalho

Filmarchiv

Sections (Film Archive)

Jahr

Fokus Lateinamerika 2012
With my Heart in Yambo Fernanda Restrepo

1988 wurden die Brüder der Regisseurin von der ecuadorianischen Polizei ermordet. Suche nach der Wahrheit und Blick in eine Familie, die weiterlebt und gegen das Vergessen kämpft.

With my Heart in Yambo

Dokumentarfilm
Ecuador
2011
136 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Fernanda Restrepo
Fernanda Restrepo
Iván Mora Manzano
Francois Laso, Cristina Salazar
Iván Mora Manzano, Carla Valencia
Jorge de los Santos, La que Cruza
María Fernanda Restrepo
Esteban Brauer
Im Januar 1988 verschwanden die beiden älteren Brüder der Regisseurin bei einer Polizeikontrolle. Maria Fernanda Restrepo war damals zehn Jahre alt. Ihre Brüder wurden vermutlich von der Polizei ermordet und in den See Yambo geworfen. Seit über zwanzig Jahren protestiert der Vater im Stadtzentrum von Quito jede Woche gegen das Vergessen des Falls. Die Aufklärung des Verbrechens, das in der langen Tradition von Menschenrechtsverletzungen in der Geschichte Ecuadors steht, ist für die Familie zum Lebensinhalt geworden.
Auch Tochter Maria Fernanda macht sich auf, die Verantwortlichen zu finden. Mit Kamera und Mikrofon bewaffnet, trotzt sie Polizisten, Geheimdienstlern und sogar einem ehemaligen Präsidenten und konfrontiert sie mit der Wahrheit. Auch wenn sie immer wieder auf eine Mauer des Schweigens trifft oder durch falsche Informationen und vermeintliche Spuren in die Irre geführt wird, kommt sie der Wahrheit Schritt für Schritt näher. Mit klugen Fragen, bitteren Kommentaren und wütendem Humor stellt die Regisseurin Feigheit und Lügen bloß und setzt durch ihre nur aus dem Off hörbare Stimme wichtige Akzente in einer klassischen Erzählstruktur.
Der Film zeigt eindringlich, wie jedes Familienmitglied seine Enttäuschungen, Hoffnungen und Frustrationen in sich trägt und wie schwer es für sie ist, diese Gefühle zu teilen. Dennoch halten sie fest zusammen und schöpfen eine unglaubliche Kraft aus dem Kampf gegen das Vergessen. Ihr Mut verleiht „Con mi corazón en Yambo“ seine enorme Intensität.
– Paulo de Carvalho