Film Archive

Hotel E

Animated Film
Estonia
1992
30 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Olav Osolin
Priit Pärn
Olav Ehala
Janno Põldma
Kersti Miilen
Meelis Arulepp, Mailis Kuusik, Riina Kütt, Raul Lunia, Piia Maiste, Ülle Metsur, Tiina Mänd, Mati Oja, Triinu Ootsing, Triin Sarapik, Evelin Temmin, Maigi Tross, Tarmo Vaarmets
Priit Pärn
Jaak Elling
Priit Pärn, Valter Uusberg
“But for the sake of this fierce dispute (…) this revelation was given to me (…). But what (…) may follow after this I do not wholly know (…). For when the lightning rises at the centre he looks through it, but he doubtless cannot comprehend it.” Jakob Böhme

A drastic vision of the rebirth of the Estonian Republic after fifty years of Soviet occupation: Materia prima and the dualism between East and West.

Mait Laas

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

In Bed with a Writer

Documentary Film
Estonia
2019
63 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Marju Lepp
Manfred Vainokivi
Manfred Vainokivi
Kersti Miilen
Manfred Vainokivi, Peeter Sauter
Horret Kuus
A friendly, beer-bellied gentleman in boxer shorts and glasses slouches on a couch behind a big shop window in the busy historic city centre of Tallinn. He greets the puzzled, giggling passers-by, along with a simple cardboard sign in the corner of the window that says “Begging for Love”. This nice man next door is the Estonian writer Peeter Sauter. And when he writes, he’s not nice, he provokes with coarse language. He feels close to Charles Bukowski, but as an Estonian writer he’s enough of an outsider.

Sensitive, honest and delicately staged, Manfred Vainokivi encounters this man in his late fifties and in the middle of a writer’s and life crisis in his film. Sauter still sees himself as a little boy, but after a divorce his concern now is which woman could be interested in an old, fat man. He philosophises in the nude, sitting in front of the washing machine with a bottle of beer. The artistic provocateur reveals a deep romantic longing. He exposes himself to comic and irritating role-playing games to reach new horizons of experiences: sleeping on his parents’ grave, learning striptease and modelling for a racist photographer and his terrible motifs. In all his melancholy, Peeter Sauter still walks towards life: “Do you know anyone, who’s gotten anywhere just by thinking?”

André Eckardt

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Substantia Stellaris

Animated Film
Estonia
2007
4 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Kalev Tamm, Riina Sildos
Mati Kütt
Tõnu Kõrvits
Urmas Jõemees
Mati Kütt
Marje Ale, Ülle Metsur, Annely Põldsaar, Tarmo Vaarmets, Tiina Ubar, Maido Hollo
Mati Kütt
Tiina Andreas, Ants Andreas
Mati Kütt
“The whole outward visible world with all its essence is a signification or figure of the inward spiritual world; all that is inward and what its effects are has its outward character, too.” Jakob Böhme

In the poetry of “Substantia Stellaris”, as in Dadaism and Surrealism, everything that’s dead or living in the tangible world has a signature that refers to the incomprehensible.

Mait Laas

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

International Programme
The Weight of All the Beauty Eeva Mägi

The last cowboy sits alone at the kitchen table. He is surrounded by the voices of memory and demons, but he has survived. Someone must remain to commemorate the dead.

The Weight of All the Beauty

Documentary Film
Estonia
2019
24 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Liis Nimik
Eeva Mägi
Tanel Kadalipp
Mattias Veermets
Jette-Krõõt Keedus
Eeva Mägi
Tanel Kadalipp
The last cowboy has grown old. When he walks through the light broadleaf forest or sits at the kitchen table in his house he is and yet isn’t alone. Around him echo voices of memories, affects are condensed into a halting rock music sound carpet. The agile and flowing camera evokes the demon of the bottle, the demon of alcoholism that once took four friends and devastated a village. But the last cowboy survived. Someone must remain to commemorate the dead.

Lukas Foerster

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Toomas Beneath the Valley of the Wild Wolves

Animated Film
Croatia,
Estonia,
France
2019
18 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Chintis Lundgren, Draško Ivezić, Emmanuel-Alain Raynal, Pierre Baussaron
Chintis Lundgren
Terence Dunn
Chintis Lundgren
Chintis Lundgren, Draško Ivezić
Chintis Lundgren, Draško Ivezić, Darko Vidačković
Chintis Lundgren, Draško Ivezić
Pierre Yves Drapeau, Benoît Coallier
Toomas, an attractive wolf who meets with many immoral offers, opens a gigolo service after losing his job. After slow beginnings, business is soon flourishing – even a film offer is not long in coming. He keeps it all to himself. And thus imitates his wife, who, instead of Yoga classes, goes to a female empowerment guru called Alexandra Horn-Eye who was suggested to her via Juutub. Their relationship gradually gains momentum.

Carolin Weidner

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Hotel E

Animationsfilm
1992
30 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Olav Osolin
Priit Pärn
Olav Ehala
Janno Põldma
Kersti Miilen
Meelis Arulepp, Mailis Kuusik, Riina Kütt, Raul Lunia, Piia Maiste, Ülle Metsur, Tiina Mänd, Mati Oja, Triinu Ootsing, Triin Sarapik, Evelin Temmin, Maigi Tross, Tarmo Vaarmets
Priit Pärn
Jaak Elling
Priit Pärn, Valter Uusberg
„Aber um des heftigen Streites willen (…), ist mir diese Offenbarung gegeben worden (…). Was aber (…) hiernach folgen möchte, weiß ich nicht gänzlich (…). Denn wenn der Blitz im Centrum aufgehet, so siehet er hindurch, aber er kann’s nicht wohl fassen.“ Jakob Böhme

Eine drastische Vision zur Wiedergeburt der Estnischen Republik nach fünfzig Jahren sowjetischer Okkupation: Materia prima und der Dualismus zwischen Ost und West.

Mait Laas

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

In Bed with a Writer

Dokumentarfilm
2019
63 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Marju Lepp
Manfred Vainokivi
Manfred Vainokivi
Kersti Miilen
Manfred Vainokivi, Peeter Sauter
Horret Kuus
Hinter einem großen Schaufenster im belebten Zentrum von Tallinns Altstadt lümmelt bierbauchig in Boxershorts und mit Brille ein freundlicher Herr auf einem Sofa. Er grüßt die verwunderten, kichernden Passanten. Mit ihm grüßt ein schlichtes Pappschild in der Fensterecke, das sagt: „Begging for Love“. Der nette Mann von nebenan ist der estnische Schriftsteller Peeter Sauter. Und wenn er schreibt, ist er nicht nett, sondern provoziert mit grober Sprache. Er fühlt sich Charles Bukowski nahe, aber ist als estnischer Autor Außenseiter genug.

Sensibel, ehrlich und mit feinsinnigen Inszenierungen begegnet Manfred Vainokivi in seinem Film dem Endfünfziger in dessen Schreib- und Lebenskrise. Sauter sieht sich selbst immer noch als kleinen Jungen. Allerdings macht ihm nach seiner Scheidung nun zu schaffen, welche Frau an einem alten, fetten Mann interessiert sein sollte. Er philosophiert nackt und mit Bierflasche vor der Waschmaschine sitzend. Der künstlerische Provokateur offenbart eine tiefliegende romantische Sehnsucht. Für neue Erfahrungshorizonte setzt er sich komischen wie auch irritierenden Rollenspielen aus. Er schläft auf dem Grab seiner Eltern, lernt Striptease und steht für einen rassistischen Fotografen und seine schrecklichen Motive Modell. In all seiner Melancholie geht Peeter Sauter auf das Leben zu: „Gibt es irgendwen, den allein das Denken irgendwohin gebracht hat?“

André Eckardt

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Substantia Stellaris

Animationsfilm
2007
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Kalev Tamm, Riina Sildos
Mati Kütt
Tõnu Kõrvits
Urmas Jõemees
Mati Kütt
Marje Ale, Ülle Metsur, Annely Põldsaar, Tarmo Vaarmets, Tiina Ubar, Maido Hollo
Mati Kütt
Tiina Andreas, Ants Andreas
Mati Kütt
„Die ganze äußere sichtbare Welt mit all ihrem Wesen ist eine Bezeichnung oder Figur der inneren geistlichen Welt; alles was im Inneren ist, und wie es in der Wirkung ist, also hats auch seinen Charakter äußerlich.“ Jakob Böhme

In der Poesie von „Substantia Stellaris“, genau wie in Dadaismus und Surrealismus, hat alles Tote und Lebendige in der greifbaren Welt eine Signatur, die auf das Unbegreifliche verweist.

Mait Laas

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Internationales Programm
The Weight of All the Beauty Eeva Mägi

Der letzte Cowboy sitzt allein am Küchentisch. Er ist umgeben von Erinnerungsstimmen und Dämonen, aber er hat überlebt. Einer muss übrig bleiben, um der Toten zu gedenken.

The Weight of All the Beauty

Dokumentarfilm
2019
24 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Liis Nimik
Eeva Mägi
Tanel Kadalipp
Mattias Veermets
Jette-Krõõt Keedus
Eeva Mägi
Tanel Kadalipp
Der letzte Cowboy ist alt geworden. Wenn er durch den lichten Laubwald läuft oder in seinem Haus am Küchentisch sitzt, ist er allein und ist es doch wieder nicht. Um ihn hallen Erinnerungsstimmen, Affekt verdichtet sich zum verschleppt rockenden Soundteppich. Der agil fließende Kamerablick beschwört den Flaschendämon herauf, den Dämon der Trunksucht, der einst vier Freunde geholt und ein Dorf verwüstet hatte. Der letzte Cowboy jedoch überlebte. Einer muss übrig bleiben, um der Toten zu gedenken.

Lukas Foerster

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Toomas Beneath the Valley of the Wild Wolves

Animationsfilm
2019
18 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Chintis Lundgren, Draško Ivezić, Emmanuel-Alain Raynal, Pierre Baussaron
Chintis Lundgren
Terence Dunn
Chintis Lundgren
Chintis Lundgren, Draško Ivezić
Chintis Lundgren, Draško Ivezić, Darko Vidačković
Chintis Lundgren, Draško Ivezić
Pierre Yves Drapeau, Benoît Coallier
Toomas, ein attraktiver Wolf, dem so manch unmoralisches Angebot begegnet, eröffnet, nachdem er seinen Job verloren hat, einen Gigolo-Service. Nach zögerlichem Anfang floriert das Geschäft bald – sogar eine Filmanfrage lässt nicht lange auf sich warten. Das alles behält er für sich. Und tut es damit seiner Frau gleich, die anstelle von Yoga-Klassen einen Female-Empowerment-Guru namens Alexandra Horn-Eye aufsucht, der ihr über Juutub vorgeschlagen wurde. Allmählich kommt Bewegung in die Beziehung.

Carolin Weidner

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.