Film Archive

Countries (Film Archive)

(Be)Longing

Documentary Film
France,
Portugal,
Switzerland
2014
77 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Luís Urbano
João Pedro Plácido
João Pedro Plácido
Pedro Marques
João Pedro Plácido, Laurence Ferreira Barbosa
Hugo Leitão
Uz, a hamlet in the north of Portugal, is home to about 50 people. Four generations, including the filmmaker João Pedro Plácido’s grandparents, so there’s reason to assume that he was emotionally involved with this project long before the first take was even a remote possibility. In Uz time passes as if clocks didn’t exist. Few things happen, lots of things are going on. The elements provide the rhythm. The story of village life over the course of a year develops organically between cattle drives, an overturned dung cart, harvest and the feast on the day the animals are slaughtered, between vespers and fireworks, confession and longing. The characters, too, develop quite naturally. There’s even a boy-meets-girl story which gradually emerges from the flow of events between Daniel, the youngest lad in this village community, and a young woman from nearby. It’s a touching moment when Daniel thinks about what kind of relationship a guy like him can probably expect from the future – that is “ordering” a Thai or Brazilian bride on the Internet. Even more touching is the fact that he (and the Brazilian or Thai) are spared this fate, at least for the time being. The film portrays people and events with sober tenderness, beautifully balanced between precise observation and sparing poetry.

Ralph Eue
International Programme 2017
209 rue Saint-Maur, Paris, 10ème – The Neighbours Ruth Zylberman

The reconstruction of a dissolved house community. An experimental, historiographical look behind the scenes of a Paris building.

209 rue Saint-Maur, Paris, 10ème – The Neighbours

Documentary Film
France
2017
103 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Paul Rozenberg, Céline Nusse (Zadig Productions)
Ruth Zylberman
Nicolas Repac
Cédric Dupire
Valérie Loiseleux
Benjamin Bober, Graciela Barrault
The French director and historian Ruth Zylberman is sitting in a living room in the USA, visiting a 79-year-old man whom his Jewish parents hid with a stranger’s family during the German occupation of Paris. Henry Osman, born Henri Ossmann, hardly remembers his parents – not what they looked like, not what they did for a living. Zylberman has brought a pile of paper copies and is able to reconstruct parts of that childhood.

The house whose address gave the film its title – and where Osman lived as a small boy – is located in the Jewish district of Paris. Zylberman reconstructed the house community during the war in great detail: who lived here? Who knew whom? Re-enactments with dollhouse furniture and drawn floor plans at the former residents’ kitchen tables alternate with contemporary views of the building as she re-creates this typical Paris building in the Saint-Maur No. 209 as an anachronistic space in which history is still alive, right down to the cobbled courtyard. A highly focused and at the same time extremely emotional piece of experimental historiography.

Lukas Stern
International Programme 2015
8 Bullets Frank Ternier

A French expat businessman in Taipei with a hole in his head who is lost in thought is driven over the edge by his obsession: the smell of fried fish.

8 Bullets

Animated Film
France
2014
12 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Maud Martin
Frank Ternier
Zed
Frank Ternier, Shihhan Shaw, Laurent Moulin
Frédéric Duzan
A French expat businessman in Taipei with a hole in his head who is lost in thought is driven over the edge by his obsession: the smell of fried fish. In reality, he is chasing the scent of revenge, one that will be fiercely wreaked with 8 bullets.
Through different points of view and flashbacks that are entangled like the tentacles of an octopus a disjointed narrative is built around a core of muted lines, backgrounds and colours.

Victor Orozco
International Programme 2017
8, Lenin Avenue Valérie Mitteaux, Anna Pitoun

Long-term observation of a successful integration: From an illegal caravan camp the Romanian Romani Salcuta made her way into French society.

8, Lenin Avenue

Documentary Film
France
2017
101 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Igor Ochronowicz
Valérie Mitteaux, Anna Pitoun
Valérie Mitteaux, Anna Pitoun, Raquel Freire, Sébastien Balanger
Fabrice Rouaud
Hugo Leitão
Long-term observations have their own rules. They often evolve out of earlier film projects and a continued contact with the protagonists. Anna Pitoun and Valérie Mitteaux have followed their protagonist Salcuta Filan’s fate with the camera for almost 15 years, which allows them to draw a wide narrative arc and reveal developments. The first images, showing the citizens of Achères, a community to the north-east of Paris, trying to protect a Roma camp from evacuation were shot in 2003. That was when the first film about Salcuta and her two children, Denisa and Gabi, was produced, “Caravan 55”.

The directors want to show that integration is possible, even for Roma, who are up against stronger prejudices than other immigrants. Right-wing populists use them as scapegoats to be made political examples of. Despite the warm-hearted helpers whose friendship with Salcuta’s family is real, everyday racism and antiziganism are clearly apparent, just like the shift to the right of the past few years which has changed the social climate in France. Nonetheless Salcuta grows from a shy, single widow to a confident matriarch who fights for her rights. In France she finds a voice she never had as a Romani in her home country of Romania.

Sirkka Möller


Nominated for Filmprize "Leipziger Ring"
International Programme 2015
A Baptism of Fire Jérôme Clément-Wilz

The lives of young war reporters who travel to crisis spots at their own expense and risk their lives to shoot the picture that will change everything. A precarious job.

A Baptism of Fire

Documentary Film
France
2015
58 minutes
subtitles: 
English
French

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jérôme Caza – 2P2L
Jérôme Clément-Wilz
Jérôme Clément-Wilz
Ael Dallier Vega
Jérôme Clément-Wilz
Nowadays countless journalists and photographers are travelling the world to supply us with the latest news and images from conflict regions. Stories of heroic war reporters were often told in the cinema. Jérôme Clément-Wilz takes a different perspective: news journalism is an industry, too. Many freelance photographers, most of them young, travel to hotspots at their own expense – hoping to shoot the life-changing picture at the right place at the right time and sell it for a high price to the leading media or agencies. The film is an intimate observation of the lives of young French reporters that gives them the space to reflect on their work. Their dreams come true in the Arab Spring: their pictures make it to the cover pages of the biggest dailies. And yet Clément-Wilz avoids heroic pathos, concentrating instead on his young protagonists’ spirit of adventure and youthful recklessness on the one hand and on the tough business where there are no safety nets and where the ones who risk their lives most readily have the best chances of survival on the other. War reporter – a precarious job.

Zaza Rusadze

A Blue Room

Animated Film
France,
Poland
2014
15 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ron Dyens
Tomasz Siwiński
Rémi Boubal
Tomasz Siwiński
Tomasz Siwiński
Tomasz Siwiński
Tomasz Siwiński
Lionel Guenoun
A man is in a coma. In his mind he wakes up in a room where a window is the only link to the world outside. He can’t open it, but he sees persons and events from his life move past outside.
International Programme 2019
A New Era Boris Svartzman

A long-term observation of the upheavals in China, exemplified by a group of resistant islanders. They refuse to be resettled, they defend their homes, they achieve …

A New Era

Documentary Film
France
2019
71 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Anne-Catherine Witt, Antonio Magliano
Boris Svartzman
Boris Svartzman
Suzana Pedro, Emma Augier
Boris Svartzman, Laurine Estrade
Boris Svartzman
Over ten years, the director and photographer Boris Svartzman repeatedly visited the inhabitants of a plot of land in China. The houses and gardens there are in dispute, above all because of their specific location: an island in the Pearl River, in the middle of the megalopolis of Guangzhou. The area is to be transformed into a “nature paradise” with residential estates and parks for the new Chinese middle class. But the people resist. Their homes were destroyed in 2008. Life went on, just in ruins. They were ejected and returned. Life went on, but not necessarily in the new settlements they were given. Their gardens were destroyed. Life went on, in the gardens they rebuilt.

Loud and quiet resistance against the modernisation that’s going on all over the world seems especially dramatic in China. Svartzman captures in detail the co-existence of a modern, Western-inspired lifestyle and ancient traditions and architectures. This turns the life story of the old gentleman who always cordially welcomes the foreign guest like a ghost into a requiem. The West, fixated on cities, Svartzman says, could have learned a lot about “rural democracy” from China – had the Far East not trampled down its rural spaces and people in such a Western fashion.

Saskia Walker
Kids DOK 2019
A Tiger with No Stripes Raúl “Robin” Morales Reyes

A tiger without stripes? Can the animal that terrifies the other inhabitants of the jungle be a real tiger at all?

A Tiger with No Stripes

Animated Film
France,
Switzerland
2018
8 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Reginald de Guillebon, Nicolas Burlet
Raúl “Robin” Morales Reyes
Yan Volsy, Pablo Pico
Hervé Guichard
Marc Robinet, Pierre Bouvier, Morten Riisberg Hansen
Raúl “Robin” Morales Reyes
Yan Volsy
A tiger without stripes? Can the animal that terrifies the other inhabitants of the jungle be a real tiger at all? To stop being laughed at the little tiger goes in search of his stripes. He discovers them as shadows on his fur, paints them on with mud, but nothing lasts. How else can he get his stripes?

Marie-Thérèse Antony
International Competition (from 2015) 2016
A Young Girl in Her Nineties Valeria Bruni Tedeschi, Yann Coridian

Blanche is vegetating in a nursing home, a victim of Alzheimer’s disease – until the choreographer Thierry Thieû Niang wakes this sleeping beauty through dance and she falls in love … enchanting and tender.

A Young Girl in Her Nineties

Documentary Film
France
2016
85 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marie Balducchi
Valeria Bruni Tedeschi, Yann Coridian
Hélène Louvart, Yann Coridian
Anne Weil
François Waledisch
Like many old people in nursing homes she seems to have drawn a curtain between herself and the world. Without relatives, in the company of other Alzheimer patients, she hardly remembers her melodious name: Blanche Moreau. But then choreographer Thierry Thieû Niang arrives at the hospital. Thierry incorporates the patients’ movements, gestures and words in his dance and doubly animates them: their bodies and their souls. Among the murmurs of French chansons which, of course, talk of the adventure of love, Blanche awakes from her enchanted sleep. And more than that. “Parlez-moi d’amour” and the handsome, attentive stranger open a space for her in which she can once more get lost – or find herself – in the ecstasy of being in love. For Thierry, visibly moved by this development, the task is to create the right balance through dance.

Holding and trusting each other – that also describes the careful attitude of the director towards the dancers: a successful actress and feature film director, Valeria Bruni Tedeschi, in collaboration with Yann Coridian, now delivers a sensitive debut documentary. We learn only what is revealed by the place and situation about the patients’ lives. But in any case the film makes us sense that memories are less about one’s CV than about a reservoir of emotions.

Lars Meyer



Prize of the Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique 2016

Agnieszka

Animated Film
France
2011
10 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dora Benousilio, Les Films de l'Arlequin
Izabela Bartosik
Krysztof Lochowicz
Sara Sponga
Vincent Reignier
Anne Larricque, Sylvie Leonard
Izabela Bartosik, Patricia Valeix
Loïc Burkhardt
Agnieszka experiences a family breakup which causes her to withdraw into herself. The events she goes through in her loneliness allow her to finally reconnect with her mother and to come out of seclusion.

Air-Mail

Animated Film
France,
Switzerland
2015
6 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nicolas Burlet
Isabelle Favez
Mario Batkovic
Fee Liechti
Isabelle Favez
Isabelle Favez
Loïc Burkhart
The boxer and the girl only meet because the cat wanted to eat the gold fish. Will there be a happy ending?
Retrospective 2017
Angela Davis Is at Your Mercy Carole Roussopoulos

In response to the arrest of the philosopher and activist Angela Davis, the French writer Jean Genet read a text denouncing the US justice system.

Angela Davis Is at Your Mercy

Documentary Film
France
1970
8 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Vidéo Out Production
Carole Roussopoulos
Carole Roussopoulos
Carole Roussopoulos
Carole Roussopoulos
An agitprop film made by Carole Roussopoulos: In response to the arrest of the philosopher and activist Angela Davis (born 1944–), the French writer Jean Genet (1910–1986) read a text denouncing the US justice system.

Ralph Eue
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2015
ARTE360 – Plattform für 360°/VR-Video Thomas Wallner

ARTE is currently working on new 360° and virtual reality projects in the fields of culture, documentary and fiction which can be experienced via the ARTE360 platform and through virtual reality glasses.

ARTE360 – Plattform für 360°/VR-Video

(none)
Canada,
France,
Germany
2015
480 minutes
subtitles: 
(none)

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Thomas Wallner, Irene Vandertop, DEEP Inc.
Thomas Wallner
Scott Hermann, Joshua Park, Franz Hildgen, James Acres
ARTE is currently working on new 360° and virtual reality projects in the fields of culture, documentary and fiction which can be experienced via the ARTE360 platform and through virtual reality glasses.

The exhibition offers visitors access to the first documentaries through virtual reality headsets and cardboard glasses.
International Programme 2018
Ash and Ember Manon Ott, Grégory Cohen

A banlieue film outside of hackneyed stereotypes in which we meet remarkable people. A confident statement on the history of European labour in the past half-century.

Ash and Ember

Documentary Film
France
2018
72 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Céline Loiseau
Manon Ott, Grégory Cohen
Akosh Szelevényi
Manon Ott, Grégory Cohen
Pascale Hannoyer
Manon Ott, Grégory Cohen
A waking city, presented in majestic black and white and equally sparse and elaborate percussion sounds. Les Mureaux is a banlieue west of Paris, built in the 1960s to house the people coming from Sub-Saharan Africa and the Maghreb as close as possible to the great Renault production facility in Flins-sur-Seine. At the time, the formerly state-owned car manufacturer’s hunger for labour was insatiable. You could, if not live well, at least work well here as a labourer. Later, in May 1968, Flins was the site of one of the longest-running factory occupations ever to take place in France.

Today Les Mureaux is ruled by a strange synchronicity of traditions and breaks. Manon Ott and Grégory Cohen meet their protagonists, who exist as contemporary pragmatists, on equal terms, thus bringing out their individual vitality. And what an ear! Testimonies, stories, statements that want to be more than just information, want to be sound, or let’s say: life as lived. Their film creates a collective discourse on the critique of daily life, from the labour struggles of the past to the social insecurity of the modern slaves, unemployed and temporary workers, which is at the same time a condensed testimony on the European social and labour history of the past half-century.

Ralph Eue


Nominated for the Healthy Workplaces Film Award

Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2019
Ayahuasca – Kosmik Journey Jan Kounen

Guided by the meditative chants of a virtual Shipibo healer we embark on an inner journey. Kaleidoscopic visions create a meditative state whose intensity is heavily dependent on our level of attention.

Ayahuasca – Kosmik Journey

VR Experience
France,
Luxembourg
2019
18 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Antoine Cayrol (Atlas V), Marion Guth (a_BAHN), François Le Gall (a_BAHN), Vincent Guttmann (small)
Jan Kounen
Small by Mac Guff
Jan Kounen
Nicolas Becker
Jan Kounen, Guillermo Arévalo
Guided by the meditative chants of a virtual Shipibo healer we embark on an inner journey. Our companions are snakes, beetles and scorpions. The destination of our journey is a world that seems to be pure geometry. Kaleidoscopic visions create a meditative state whose intensity is heavily dependent on our level of attention.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann

Filmarchiv

Countries (Film Archive)

(Be)Longing

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich,
Portugal,
Schweiz
2014
77 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Luís Urbano
João Pedro Plácido
João Pedro Plácido
Pedro Marques
João Pedro Plácido, Laurence Ferreira Barbosa
Hugo Leitão
In Uz, einem Weiler im Norden Portugals, leben etwa 50 Menschen. Vier Generationen. Auch die Großeltern des Filmemachers João Pedro Plácido kommen von hier. So kann man vermuten, dass er mit diesem Projekt emotional bereits lange begonnen hatte, bevor an die erste Klappe für den Film überhaupt zu denken war. In Uz verstreicht die Zeit, als gäbe es keine Uhr. Wenig passiert, vieles geschieht. Den Takt schlagen die Elemente. Organisch entwickelt sich die Geschichte eines dörflichen Jahres zwischen Viehtrieb und umgestürztem Mistwagen, Ernte und Schlachtfest, Vesper und Feuerwerk, Beichte und Sehnsucht. Auch Charaktere nehmen wie selbstverständlich Kontur an. Gar eine Boy-meets-Girl-Story zwischen Daniel, dem jüngsten Burschen dieser Dorf-Community, und einer jungen Frau aus der näheren Umgebung schält sich aus den Ereignissen heraus. Bewegend, wenn Daniel darüber nachsinnt, was einem wie ihm vermutlich als die normale Zukunft seines Beziehungslebens bevorsteht, nämlich eine Thailänderin oder Brasilianerin im Internet zu „bestellen“. Noch bewegender, dass ihm (und der Brasilianerin oder Thailänderin) das zumindest vorerst erspart bleibt. Die Zeichnung von Menschen und Ereignissen in diesem Film ist geprägt von einer empfindsamen Nüchternheit, in schöne Balance gebracht zwischen genauer Beobachtung und sparsamer Poesie.

---Ralph Eue

209 rue Saint-Maur, Paris, 10ème – The Neighbours

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
2017
103 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Paul Rozenberg, Céline Nusse (Zadig Productions)
Ruth Zylberman
Nicolas Repac
Cédric Dupire
Valérie Loiseleux
Benjamin Bober, Graciela Barrault
Die französische Regisseurin und Historikerin Ruth Zylberman sitzt in den USA in einem Wohnzimmer – zu Besuch bei einem 79-jährigen Mann, der während der Besatzung von Paris durch die Deutschen von seinen jüdischen Eltern bei einer fremden Familie versteckt wurde. Heute kann sich Henry Osman, geboren als Henri Ossmann, an seine Eltern kaum erinnern – nicht, wie sie aussahen, nicht, was sie beruflich taten. Zylberman hat einen Stapel kopierter Dokumente dabei und kann diese Kindheit in Teilen rekonstruieren.

Das Haus mit der titelgebenden Adresse – hier lebte Osman als kleiner Junge – liegt im jüdischen Viertel von Paris. Minutiös hat Zylberman die ehemalige Hausgemeinschaft während der Kriegsjahre nachgebildet: Wer hat hier gewohnt? Wer hat wen gekannt? Reenactments mit Puppenmöbeln und gezeichneten Raumplänen an den Küchentischen der einstigen Bewohner wechseln sich mit Ansichten des Gebäudes von heute ab. Der typische Pariser Bau in der Rue Saint-Maur mit der Hausnummer 209 wird so als ein anachronistischer Raum entworfen, in dem die Geschichte bis in den gepflasterten Innenhof hinein nachlebt. Ein zugleich hoch konzentriertes und hoch emotionales Stück experimenteller Historiografie.

Lukas Stern

8 Bullets

Animationsfilm
Frankreich
2014
12 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Maud Martin
Frank Ternier
Zed
Frank Ternier, Shihhan Shaw, Laurent Moulin
Frédéric Duzan
Ein gedankenverlorener, in Taipeh lebender französischer Geschäftsmann mit einem Loch im Kopf wird von seiner Obsession in den Wahnsinn getrieben: der Geruch von gebratenem Fisch. In Wirklichkeit jagt er dem Duft der Rache nach, die grimmig mit 8 Kugeln geübt werden wird.
Durch verschiedene Blickwinkel und Rückblenden, die ineinander verschlungen sind wie die Tentakel eines Oktopus, wird um einen Kern reduzierter Linien, Hintergründe und Farben herum eine in sich zerrissene Erzählung konstruiert.

Victor Orozco
Internationales Programm
8, Lenin Avenue Valérie Mitteaux, Anna Pitoun

Langzeitbeobachtung einer geglückten Integration: Aus dem illegalen Wohnwagenlager hat es die rumänische Romni Salcuta mit ihren beiden Kindern in die französische Gesellschaft geschafft.

8, Lenin Avenue

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
2017
101 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Igor Ochronowicz
Valérie Mitteaux, Anna Pitoun
Valérie Mitteaux, Anna Pitoun, Raquel Freire, Sébastien Balanger
Fabrice Rouaud
Hugo Leitão
Langzeitbeobachtungen haben ihre eigenen Regeln. Oft entwickeln sie sich aus vorherigen Filmen und dem anhaltenden Kontakt zu den Gefilmten. Anna Pitoun und Valérie Mitteaux haben das Schicksal ihrer Protagonistin Salcuta Filan über fast 15 Jahre mit der Kamera begleitet. Das erlaubt ihnen, einen großen Erzählbogen zu spannen und Entwicklungen aufzuzeigen. Die ersten Bilder, in denen die Bürger von Achères, einer Gemeinde nordöstlich von Paris, ein Roma-Lager vor der Räumung schützen wollen, wurden 2003 gedreht. Damals entstand „Caravan 55“, ein erster Film über Salcuta und ihre beiden Kinder Denisa und Gabi.

Die Regisseurinnen wollen zeigen, dass Integration sehr wohl möglich ist, und zwar auch für Roma, denen größere Vorurteile als anderen Zuwanderern entgegenschlagen. Rechten Populisten dienen sie als Sündenböcke, an denen sich politische Exempel statuieren lassen. Trotz der herzlichen Helferinnen und Helfer, die Salcutas Familie in echter Freundschaft verbunden sind, werden auch alltäglicher Rassismus und Antiziganismus deutlich, ebenso der Rechtsruck der letzten Jahre, der das gesellschaftliche Klima in Frankreich veränderte. Dennoch entwickelt sich Salcuta von einer schüchternen, alleinerziehenden Witwe zu einer selbstbewussten Matriarchin, die für ihre Rechte kämpft. In Frankreich findet sie eine Stimme, die sie als Romni in ihrer Heimat Rumänien nie hatte.

Sirkka Möller


Nominiert für Filmpreis "Leipziger Ring"

A Baptism of Fire

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
2015
58 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
französische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jérôme Caza – 2P2L
Jérôme Clément-Wilz
Jérôme Clément-Wilz
Ael Dallier Vega
Jérôme Clément-Wilz
Zahlreiche Journalist/innen und Fotograf/innen sind heute auf der ganzen Welt unterwegs, um so schnell wie möglich Neuigkeiten und Bilder aus den Konfliktregionen direkt zu uns nach Hause zu liefern. Oft hat das Kino von Kriegsreportern als Helden erzählt. Jérôme Clément-Wilz nimmt eine andere Perspektive ein: Auch der Nachrichtenjournalismus ist eine Industrie. Viele freiberufliche, zumeist junge Fotografinnen und Fotografen reisen auf eigene Kosten in die Kriegsgebiete – in der Hoffnung, zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort das entscheidende Foto zu schießen und es für teures Geld an die führenden Medien oder Agenturen zu verkaufen. In einer intimen Beobachtung folgt der Film dem Alltag junger französischer Reporterinnen und Reporter und gibt ihnen Raum, über ihre Arbeit zu reflektieren. Während des Arabischen Frühlings erfüllt sich ihr Traum: Ihre Bilder schaffen es auf die Titelseiten der größten Blätter. Dennoch vermeidet Clément-Wilz jedes heldenhafte Pathos, sondern zeigt einerseits Abenteuerlust und jugendliche Unbekümmertheit seiner Protagonist/innen, andererseits aber auch das harte Geschäft, in dem es keine Absicherung gibt und am ehesten der überlebt, der sein Leben am bereitwilligsten aufs Spiel setzt. Der Beruf des Kriegsreporters – ein prekärer Job.

Zaza Rusadze

A Blue Room

Animationsfilm
Frankreich,
Polen
2014
15 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Ron Dyens
Tomasz Siwiński
Rémi Boubal
Tomasz Siwiński
Tomasz Siwiński
Tomasz Siwiński
Tomasz Siwiński
Lionel Guenoun
Ein Mann liegt im Koma. In seiner Wahrnehmung wacht er in einem Raum auf, in dem ein Fenster die einzige Verbindung zur Außenwelt darstellt. Er kann es nicht öffnen, sieht aber Personen und Ereignisse aus seinem Leben vorbeiziehen.
Internationales Programm
A New Era Boris Svartzman

Eine Langzeitbeobachtung der Umbrüche in China, exemplifiziert anhand einer widerständigen Inselbevölkerung. Sie verweigern die Umsiedlung, sie verteidigen ihre Häuser, sie erreichen …

A New Era

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
2019
71 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Anne-Catherine Witt, Antonio Magliano
Boris Svartzman
Boris Svartzman
Suzana Pedro, Emma Augier
Boris Svartzman, Laurine Estrade
Boris Svartzman
Über zehn Jahre besuchte der Regisseur und Fotograf Boris Svartzman die Bewohner eines Fleckens Erde in China. Die Häuser und Gärten dort sind umkämpft, vor allem wegen ihrer spezifischen Lage: eine Insel im Perlfluss, inmitten der Millionenstadt Guangzhou. Das Gelände soll in ein „Naturparadies“ mit Wohnanlagen und Parks für die neue chinesische Mittelschicht umgewandelt werden. Doch die Leute weigern sich. 2008 wurden ihre Behausungen zerstört. Das Leben ging weiter, nun eben in Ruinen. Sie wurden vertrieben und kehrten zurück. Das Leben ging weiter, aber nicht zwangsläufig an den neuen Siedlungsorten, die man ihnen zur Verfügung stellte. Ihre Gärten wurden vernichtet. Das Leben ging weiter, in den Gärten, die sie wieder aufbauten.

Lauter und leiser Widerstand gegen die Modernisierung, der überall auf der Welt geleistet wird, erscheint einem in China besonders dramatisch. Das Nebeneinander von modernem, westlich inspiriertem Lebensstil und alten Traditionen und Architekturen fängt Svartzman im Detail ein. Das macht die Lebensgeschichte des alten Herrn, der den fremden Gast wie einen Geist immer wieder herzlich empfängt, zu einem Requiem. Der auf die Stadt fixierte Westen, so Svartzman, hätte von China viel in Sachen „ländlicher Demokratie“ lernen können – wäre der Ferne Osten nicht so westlich über seine ländlichen Räume und Menschen hinweggetrampelt.

Saskia Walker
Kids DOK
A Tiger with No Stripes Raúl “Robin” Morales Reyes

Ein Tiger ohne Streifen? Kann das überhaupt ein richtiger Tiger sein, der die anderen Bewohner des Dschungels in Angst und Schrecken versetzt?

A Tiger with No Stripes

Animationsfilm
Frankreich,
Schweiz
2018
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Reginald de Guillebon, Nicolas Burlet
Raúl “Robin” Morales Reyes
Yan Volsy, Pablo Pico
Hervé Guichard
Marc Robinet, Pierre Bouvier, Morten Riisberg Hansen
Raúl “Robin” Morales Reyes
Yan Volsy
Ein Tiger ohne Streifen? Kann das überhaupt ein richtiger Tiger sein, der die anderen Bewohner des Dschungels in Angst und Schrecken versetzt? Um nicht mehr ausgelacht zu werden, macht sich der kleine Tiger auf die Suche nach seinen Streifen. Er entdeckt sie als Schatten auf seinem Fell, malt sie mit Schlamm auf, aber nichts davon ist von Dauer. Wie kann er noch zu seinen Streifen kommen?

Marie-Thérèse Antony
Internationaler Wettbewerb (ab 2015)
A Young Girl in Her Nineties Valeria Bruni Tedeschi, Yann Coridian

Blanche dämmert im Pflegeheim in Alzheimer dahin – bis der Choreograf Thierry Thieû Niang sie durch Tanz aus dem Dornröschenschlaf erweckt und sie sich verliebt … Betörend und zart.

A Young Girl in Her Nineties

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
2016
85 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Marie Balducchi
Valeria Bruni Tedeschi, Yann Coridian
Hélène Louvart, Yann Coridian
Anne Weil
François Waledisch
Wie viele alte Menschen im Pflegeheim scheint sie den Vorhang zwischen sich und der Welt zugezogen zu haben. Ohne Angehörige, in Gesellschaft weiterer Alzheimer-Patienten, erinnert sie sich kaum an ihren klingenden Namen: Blanche Moreau. Doch dann erscheint der Choreograf Thierry Thieû Niang in der Klinik. Thierry überträgt Bewegungen, Gesten und Worte der Patienten in seinen Tanz und animiert die Menschen im doppelten Sinne: Er belebt ihre Körper und Seelen. Unter dem Raunen französischer Schlager, die natürlich vom Abenteuer der Liebe sprechen, erwacht Blanche aus einem Dornröschenschlaf. Und mehr als das. Das „Parlez-moi d’amour“ und der schöne, aufmerksame Fremde eröffnen ihr den Raum, sich noch einmal im Taumel der Verliebtheit zu verlieren – oder wiederzufinden. Für Thierry, den diese Entwicklung sichtlich bewegt, stellt sich die Aufgabe, im Tanz die richtige Balance herzustellen.

Sich gegenseitig halten und vertrauen – das ist auch die behutsame Haltung der Regie gegenüber diesen Tanzenden: Valeria Bruni Tedeschi liefert nach vielen Erfolgen als Schauspielerin und Spielfilmregisseurin zusammen mit Yann Coridian ein sensibles Dokumentarfilmdebüt ab. Über das Vorleben der Patienten erfahren wir stets nur so viel, wie Ort und Situation preisgeben. Ohnehin wird spürbar, dass Erinnerungen weniger aus Lebensläufen als vielmehr aus einem Reservoir von Gefühlen gemacht sind.

Lars Meyer



Preis der Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique 2016

Agnieszka

Animationsfilm
Frankreich
2011
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Dora Benousilio, Les Films de l'Arlequin
Izabela Bartosik
Krysztof Lochowicz
Sara Sponga
Vincent Reignier
Anne Larricque, Sylvie Leonard
Izabela Bartosik, Patricia Valeix
Loïc Burkhardt
Als Agnieszka ihre Familie zerfallen sieht, zieht sie sich in sich selbst zurück. Was sie in ihrer Einsamkeit erlebt, ermöglicht es ihr am Ende, die Beziehung zu ihrer Mutter wieder aufzunehmen und aus ihrer selbstgewählten Isolation herauszukommen.

Air-Mail

Animationsfilm
Frankreich,
Schweiz
2015
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Nicolas Burlet
Isabelle Favez
Mario Batkovic
Fee Liechti
Isabelle Favez
Isabelle Favez
Loïc Burkhart
Nur weil die Katze den Goldfisch fressen wollte, begegnen sich der Boxer und das Mädchen. Ein Happy End?
Retrospektive
Angela Davis Is at Your Mercy Carole Roussopoulos

Als Reaktion auf die Inhaftierung der Philosophin und Bürgerrechtlerin Angela Davis trägt der Schriftsteller Jean Genet ein Pamphlet vor.

Angela Davis Is at Your Mercy

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
1970
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Vidéo Out Production
Carole Roussopoulos
Carole Roussopoulos
Carole Roussopoulos
Carole Roussopoulos
Ein Agitationsfilm der linksradikalen Filmemacherin Carole Roussopoulos: Als Reaktion auf die Inhaftierung der Philosophin und Bürgerrechtlerin Angela Davis (1944–) trägt der Schriftsteller Jean Genet (1910–1986) ein Pamphlet vor, in dem er die rassistische US-amerikanische Justiz angreift.

Ralph Eue
DOK Neuland
ARTE360 – Plattform für 360°/VR-Video Thomas Wallner

ARTE arbeitet aktuell an neuen 360°- und Virtual-Reality-Projekten in den Bereichen Kultur, Dokumentation und Fiktion, welche über die ARTE360-Plattform und durch Virtual-Reality-Brillen erlebt werden können.

ARTE360 – Plattform für 360°/VR-Video

(none)
Kanada,
Frankreich,
Deutschland
2015
480 Minuten
Untertitel: 
(none)
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Thomas Wallner, Irene Vandertop, DEEP Inc.
Thomas Wallner
Scott Hermann, Joshua Park, Franz Hildgen, James Acres
ARTE arbeitet aktuell an neuen 360°- und Virtual-Reality-Projekten in den Bereichen Kultur, Dokumentation und Fiktion, welche über die ARTE360-Plattform und durch Virtual-Reality-Brillen erlebt werden können.

In der Ausstellung werden erste Dokumentarfilme durch Virtual-Reality-Headsets und Cardboard-Brillen für den Besucher erfahrbar gemacht.
Internationales Programm
Ash and Ember Manon Ott, Grégory Cohen

Ein Banlieue-Film jenseits abgenutzter Stereotypen, in dem man bemerkenswerten Menschen begegnet. Souveräne Einlassung zur europäischen Arbeitsgeschichte des vergangenen halben Jahrhunderts.

Ash and Ember

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
2018
72 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Céline Loiseau
Manon Ott, Grégory Cohen
Akosh Szelevényi
Manon Ott, Grégory Cohen
Pascale Hannoyer
Manon Ott, Grégory Cohen
Eine erwachende Stadt, in Szene gesetzt mittels majestätischem Schwarz-Weiß und ebenso sparsamen wie elaborierten Perkussionsklängen. Les Mureaux ist eine Banlieue westlich von Paris, hochgezogen in den 1960er Jahren, um die aus Subsahara-Afrika und dem Maghreb kommenden Menschen in nächster Nähe des großen Renault-Fertigungskomplexes in Flins-sur-Seine unterzubringen. Denn der ehemals staatliche Automobilbauer hatte in dieser Zeit einen unerschöpflichen Hunger nach Arbeitskräften. Als Malocher ließ es sich hier, wenn schon nicht gut leben, immerhin gut arbeiten. Später, im Mai 1968, gab es in Flins eine der langanhaltendsten Fabrikbesetzungen Frankreichs.

Heute herrscht in Les Mureaux eine seltsame Gleichzeitigkeit aus Traditionen und Brüchen. Ihren Protagonisten, in allfälligem Gegenwartspragmatismus existierend, begegnen Manon Ott und Grégory Cohen auf Augenhöhe und treiben so deren je eigene Vitalität hervor. Und welches Gehör! Aussagen, Erzählungen, Statements, die nicht nur Mitteilung sein wollen, sondern Sound, oder sagen wir: gelebtes Leben. Von den Arbeitskämpfen der Vergangenheit zur sozialen Unsicherheit der modernen Sklaven, Arbeitslosen und Zeitarbeiter erschaffen sie mit ihrem Film einen kollektiven Diskurs zur Kritik des Alltagslebens, der zugleich eine konzentrierte Einlassung zur europäischen Sozial- und Arbeitsgeschichte des vergangenen halben Jahrhunderts ist.

Ralph Eue


Nominiert für den Healthy Workplaces Film Award

DOK Neuland
Ayahuasca – Kosmik Journey Jan Kounen

Geleitet durch die meditativen Gesänge eines virtuellen Shipibo-Heilers begeben wir uns auf eine Reise in unser Inneres. Kaleidoskopische Visionen stellen einen meditativen Zustand her.

Ayahuasca – Kosmik Journey

VR-Erfahrung
Frankreich,
Luxemburg
2019
18 Minuten
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Antoine Cayrol (Atlas V), Marion Guth (a_BAHN), François Le Gall (a_BAHN), Vincent Guttmann (small)
Jan Kounen
Small by Mac Guff
Jan Kounen
Nicolas Becker
Jan Kounen, Guillermo Arévalo
Geleitet durch die meditativen Gesänge eines virtuellen Shipibo-Heilers begeben wir uns auf eine Reise in unser Inneres. Unsere Begleiter sind Schlangen, Käfer und Skorpione. Reiseziel ist eine Welt, die reine Geometrie zu sein scheint. Kaleidoskopische Visionen stellen einen meditativen Zustand her, dessen Intensität stark von unserer eigenen Aufmerksamkeit abhängt.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann