Film Archive

A Blue Room

Animated Film
France,
Poland
2014
15 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ron Dyens
Tomasz Siwiński
Rémi Boubal
Tomasz Siwiński
Tomasz Siwiński
Tomasz Siwiński
Tomasz Siwiński
Lionel Guenoun
A man is in a coma. In his mind he wakes up in a room where a window is the only link to the world outside. He can’t open it, but he sees persons and events from his life move past outside.
Jean Gabriel Periot 2014
Before I Was Sad Jean-Gabriel Périot

In this film, Périot presents a tongue-in-cheek ultimate solution for all homosexuals: integrate yourself in the world of the heterosexuals, ideally become one yourself.

Before I Was Sad

Documentary Film
France
2002
2 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean-Gabriel Périot
In this film, Périot presents a tongue-in-cheek ultimate solution for all homosexuals: integrate yourself in the world of the heterosexuals, ideally become one yourself. He illustrates it by placing portrait photos from his youth on cut-outs of fashion shots and newspaper pictures and moving them back and forth like nodding dogs.
Annegret Richter
Cross Media Screening 2014
Check-In – Visit Europe in 5 Minutes Andrés Jarach

A trip from the Tyrolean Alps via the Oktoberfest to the Canal Grande in Venice – and through the web. Interactive, satirical, documentary and entertaining.

Check-In – Visit Europe in 5 Minutes

Documentary Film
France
2014
10 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jérôme Duc-Maugé, Cocottesminute Productions
Andrés Jarach
Alexander Knetig
Ilo von Seckendorff
Ilo von Seckendorff
From the Tyrolean Alps to the Oktoberfest right up to the Canal Grande in Venice – this interactive documentary web satire provides its audience with an entertaining experience of mass tourism.

Death of the Serpent God

Documentary Film
France
2014
91 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Xavier Pons
Damien Froidevaux
Ian Saboya
Damien Froidevaux
David Jungman
The back story sounds like a caustic fairytale but is a common practice in Europe. At the age of two, Koumba came to Paris from a Senegalese village with her parents. For 18 years, the French capital was all she knew until she ended up at a police station after a nocturnal fight and was deported within 48 hours.
She finds herself in the isolated village of her ancestors, among relatives she doesn’t know. The old legends in which snake kings rule the people’s fates are still alive here. The upheaval is a brutal shock. “White Koumba”, as she is called here – quite contemptuously – is now the mother of an illegitimate son and trapped. She reacts as she usually does: lashing out fearlessly and rebelliously, making demands and insulting her environment – including the filmmaker, whom she calls selfish. So at first the film is made against its protagonist’s desperate resistance. But Damien Froidevaux doesn’t give up, doesn’t abandon the rebellious girl. Over a period of five years he frequently returns from Paris to Senegal until he finally becomes part of a coping process. Koumba goes through a fascinating change of personality to become the heroine of her own odyssey, while always aware of the role of the camera.
Lars Meyer
Jean Gabriel Periot 2014
Devil Inside Jean-Gabriel Périot, Tom de Pékin

Women march, women exercise, women are part of the revolution. Their performances are sexy – and yet a demonstration of male strength.

2004

Devil Inside

Animadoc
France
2004
3 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean-Gabriel Périot, Tom de Pékin
The Flaming Pussy
Women march, women exercise, women are part of the revolution. Their performances are sexy – and yet a demonstration of male strength. This partly animated film plays with stereotypes by linking the archive material to the characters drawn on it, supported by a score by “The Flaming Pussy”.
Annegret Richter

Dies Irae

Documentary Film
France
2005
10 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Frédéric Dubreuil, Yves Le Yaouanq
Jean-Gabriel Périot
9,000 photos generated from Google, processed and edited to create the illusion of a journey: through streets, corridors, cellars and vaults, on highways, boulevards, through train stations – and a railway track leading to a gate … what looks like a meditative flow ends as a metaphor of civilisation, in ashes and fury.
Grit Lemke
Jean Gabriel Periot 2014
Even if She Had Been a Criminal … Jean-Gabriel Périot

The Marseillaise accompanies pictures of soldiers, battles, rallies and cheering crowds: the victory of liberty, equality and fraternity over Hitler’s barbarians.

Even if She Had Been a Criminal …

Documentary Film
France
2006
10 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Frédéric Dubreuil, Yves Le Yaouanq, Guillaume Desmartin
Jean-Gabriel Périot
The Marseillaise accompanies pictures of soldiers, battles, rallies and cheering crowds: the victory of liberty, equality and fraternity over Hitler’s barbarians. But the smooth flow of images comes to a halt to reveal a different truth about winners and losers, while the song blares on like a jaunty pop song …
Grit Lemke

From My Syrian Room

Documentary Film
France,
Germany,
Lebanon,
Syria
2014
70 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nathalie Combe, Heino Deckert, Georges Schoucair, Myriam Sassine, Hazem Alhamwi
Hazem Alhamwi
Sivan
Hazem Alhamwi, Ghassan Katlabi
Florence Jacquet
Hazem Alhamwi
Nuzha Al Nazer, Frédéric Maury
A feeling of oppression creeps in. Hazem Alhamwi’s nib scratches over a black and white sketch worthy of Hieronymus Bosch. Apocalyptic motives and mordant satire are his speciality and were his salvation. In a country like Syria, where everything, even breathing – as someone bitterly comments – was controlled, havens were needed. Art that resigns itself to being non-public, can be one. This film was made when the protests following the Arab Spring raised hopes that something might change: saying out loud at last what was suppressed and would have lead to long prison sentences for decades. The director talks to friends and relatives to find causes and origins, beginning with childhood experiences of propaganda and personality cults, adaptation and fear. Today, when events happen so fast, we are in the age of fast media. Alhamwi’s nuanced tones, associative motives and trips into the visual worlds of childhood have a hard time keeping up in a present in which Syria is crushed between religious and ethnic interests as well as those of foreign countries. The voices from Alhamwi’s room are echoes of a time when people demanded democratisation and freedom. The film records those short moments when the opposition tried to form and articulate itself. The time allotted to the idealists was very short.
Cornelia Klauß
Jean Gabriel Periot 2014
Gay? Jean-Gabriel Périot

Gays are the people with good taste who hang around in art galleries and smell good, as every child knows. Coming out is as mundane as brushing one’s teeth.

Gay?

Documentary Film
France
2000
2 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean-Gabriel Périot
Gays are the people with good taste who hang around in art galleries and smell good, as every child knows. Coming out is as mundane as brushing one’s teeth. And political correctness sells like hotcakes. But this parody gleefully takes it apart. About time, too.
Grit Lemke
International Programme 2014
Harvest Paul Lacoste

Every year, a colourful bunch of utterly diverse characters meet to pick grapes near Toulouse. An unusual look at a precarious job between poverty and self-determination.

Harvest

Documentary Film
France
2014
82 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Didier Creste
Paul Lacoste
Yvan Quehec
Anthony Brining
The scene: a small wine-growing region to the east of Toulouse. The time: mid-September. The cast: a company of about 15 women and men – “short service volunteers” for the few weeks of the wine harvest, armed with shears and buckets. The group has fanned out among the vines of a medium-sized grower in the Gaillac region. The statistics list them as harvest hands; the sociological term for them is “precariously employed”. The protagonists themselves, however, would qualify this imputation. Accepting it would mean handing over a big part of their pride. This attitude may be called unrealistic, but that’s precisely what director Paul Lacoste seems to be interested in: what people do and what they literally embody because of it rather than the opinions they express. The film still demonstrates almost casually how massively the insecurity of such an existence is inscribed into the protagonists’ behaviour. They all feel constrained by the unvoiced pressures of their situation. They may have more or less talent in suppressing such emotional and mental insights – but their objective effects can hardly be denied.

Ralph Eue



Healthy Workplaces Film Award 2014

Impostor

Animated Film
France,
Switzerland
2013
7 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Claude Barras
Elie Chapuis
Yan Volsy
David Toutevoix
Marina Rosset
Kim Keukeleire, Violaine Picaut
Elie Chapuis, Veronica Da Costa
Yan Volsy
A human-shaped deer tries to steal a man's identity by taking his head off. In the end the woman has to decide which of them is the real man.
Jean Gabriel Periot 2014
Intimate Diary Jean-Gabriel Périot

A man facing a (camera) mirror. The naked, young upper body suggests images and concepts from advertising and the media … which begin to dissolve as the body is revealed as damaged.

Intimate Diary

Documentary Film
France
2000
2 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean-Gabriel Périot
A man facing a (camera) mirror. The naked, young upper body suggests images and concepts from advertising and the media … which begin to dissolve as the body is revealed as damaged and the (voyeuristic) look becomes first embarrassed and then touched.
Grit Lemke
International Programme 2014
Jikoo, a Wish Christophe Leroy, Adrien Camus

A Senegalese National Park. Farmers whose harvests are destroyed by warthogs and an administration that protects the animals for the tourists. The dark side of the safari boom.

Jikoo, a Wish

Documentary Film
France,
Senegal
2014
52 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lucie Bruneteau, Romain Boutin, Christophe Leroy, Adrien Camus
Christophe Leroy, Adrien Camus
Christophe Leroy, Adrien Camus
Christophe Leroy, Adrien Camus, Lucie Bruneteau, Romain Boutin
Christophe Leroy
Christophe Leroy, Adrien Camus
Nothing calms the global middle classes’ conscience like the establishment of nature reserves, preferably in countries that we can confidently bully around in all other respects. Senegal, for example, whose fishing grounds are being cleared out by the EU. Making the “Delta du Saloum” national park at Senegal’s Atlantic coast a World Cultural Heritage site is cheap, good PR and brings ecotourists. The only drawback is that there are people living in the area, some of them for generations, who have found their own way of co-existing with nature and have good reason to doubt that the tourism can be sustainable.
“Jiko, a Wish” portrays this conflict between international agencies, as represented by the park management and its rangers, and the inhabitants of the village of Bakadadji. These people have a very simple wish: a fence, please, so they can protect their fields from marauding warthogs which they are forbidden to hunt under threat of punishment. Because of the ecology – at least as far as those involved understand it. But tens of millions of Euros and US dollars are disappearing down the drip filters of the national administration, which is why, alas, there is no money left for a fence. Let the peasants dance for the ecotourists instead, and then they don’t need their fields any more. What to do? The film does not answer this question. It only holds a mirror up to us.
Matthias Heeder

Filmarchiv

A Blue Room

Animationsfilm
Frankreich,
Polen
2014
15 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ron Dyens
Tomasz Siwiński
Rémi Boubal
Tomasz Siwiński
Tomasz Siwiński
Tomasz Siwiński
Tomasz Siwiński
Lionel Guenoun
Ein Mann liegt im Koma. In seiner Wahrnehmung wacht er in einem Raum auf, in dem ein Fenster die einzige Verbindung zur Außenwelt darstellt. Er kann es nicht öffnen, sieht aber Personen und Ereignisse aus seinem Leben vorbeiziehen.
Jean-Gabriel Périot 2014
Before I Was Sad Jean-Gabriel Périot

Périot präsentiert in diesem Film nicht ohne ein Augenzwinkern die ultimative Lösung für alle Homosexuellen: Eingliederung in die Welt der Heterosexuellen, am besten selbst einer werden.

Before I Was Sad

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
2002
2 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean-Gabriel Périot
Périot präsentiert in diesem Film nicht ohne ein Augenzwinkern die ultimative Lösung für alle Homosexuellen: Eingliederung in die Welt der Heterosexuellen, am besten selbst einer werden. Das erklärt er mittels Porträtfotos aus seiner Jugend, die er auf Cut-outs von Modeaufnahmen und Zeitungsbildern legt und wie Wackeldackel langsam hin und her wandern lässt.
Annegret Richter
Cross Media Screening 2014
Check-In – Visit Europe in 5 Minutes Andrés Jarach

Ein Trip von den Tiroler Alpen über das Oktoberfest bis hin zum Canal Grande in Venedig – und durchs Netz. Interaktiv, satirisch, dokumentarisch und kurzweilig.

Check-In – Visit Europe in 5 Minutes

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
2014
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jérôme Duc-Maugé, Cocottesminute Productions
Andrés Jarach
Alexander Knetig
Ilo von Seckendorff
Ilo von Seckendorff
Von den Tiroler Alpen über das Oktoberfest bis hin zum Canal Grande in Venedig – in dieser interaktiven Web-Doku-Satire wird Massentourismus in Europa in kurzweiliger Form erfahrbar.

Death of the Serpent God

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
2014
91 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Xavier Pons
Damien Froidevaux
Ian Saboya
Damien Froidevaux
David Jungman
Die Vorgeschichte klingt wie ein bitterböses Märchen und ist doch gängige Praxis in Europa. Im Alter von zwei Jahren kam Koumba mit ihren Eltern aus einem senegalesischen Dorf nach Paris. 18 Jahre lang kannte sie nur die französische Hauptstadt, bis sie nach einem nächtlichen Streit auf der Polizeistation landete und innerhalb von 48 Stunden abgeschoben wurde.
Sie findet sich in jenem von der Welt abgeschnittenen Dorf ihrer Vorfahren wieder, unter Verwandten, die sie nicht kennt. Hier leben noch alte Legenden, in denen Schlangenkönige über das Schicksal der Menschen bestimmen. Der Umbruch ist ein brutaler Schock. Die „weiße Koumba“, wie sie hier – durchaus verächtlich – genannt wird, inzwischen Mutter eines unehelichen Sohnes, sitzt in der Falle. Sie reagiert, wie sie es gewohnt ist: Furchtlos und rebellisch schlägt sie um sich, stellt Forderungen und beschimpft ihre Umgebung – auch den Filmemacher, den sie egoistisch nennt.
So entsteht der Film zunächst eher gegen den verzweifelten Widerstand der Protagonistin. Doch Damien Froidevaux lässt nicht locker, gibt die Widerspenstige nicht auf. Über fünf Jahre kehrt er immer wieder aus Paris nach Senegal zurück und wird damit selbst Teil eines Bewältigungsprozesses. Koumba durchläuft eine faszinierende Persönlichkeitsveränderung und wird schließlich zur Heldin ihrer eigenen Odyssee, während zugleich die Rolle der Kamera immer bewusst bleibt.
Lars Meyer
Jean-Gabriel Périot 2014
Devil Inside Jean-Gabriel Périot, Tom de Pékin

Frauen marschieren, Frauen turnen, Frauen sind Teil der Revolution. Sexy sind ihre Auftritte – und dennoch Demonstrationen männlicher Stärke.

Devil Inside

Animadok
Frankreich
2004
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean-Gabriel Périot, Tom de Pékin
The Flaming Pussy
Frauen marschieren, Frauen turnen, Frauen sind Teil der Revolution. Sexy sind ihre Auftritte – und dennoch Demonstrationen männlicher Stärke. Der teilanimierte Film spielt mit den Rollenklischees, indem das Archivmaterial mit den darauf gezeichneten Charakteren in Verbindung gebracht wird, unterstützt durch die Musik von „The Flaming Pussy“.
Annegret Richter

Dies Irae

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
2005
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Frédéric Dubreuil, Yves Le Yaouanq
Jean-Gabriel Périot
9.000 aus Google generierte, bearbeitete und aneinander montierte Fotos als Illusion einer Reise: durch Straßen, Flure, Keller und Gewölbe, über Autobahnen, Boulevards, Bahnhöfe – und Schienen, die zu einem Tor führen … Was anmutet wie ein meditativer Flow, endet als Metapher auf die Zivilisation, in Asche und Zorn.
Grit Lemke
Jean-Gabriel Périot 2014
Even if She Had Been a Criminal … Jean-Gabriel Périot

Die Marseillaise zu Bildern von Soldaten, Schlachten, Aufmärschen und jubelnden Massen: der Sieg von Freiheit, Gleichheit und Brüderlichkeit über die Hitler-Barbaren.

Even if She Had Been a Criminal …

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
2006
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Frédéric Dubreuil, Yves Le Yaouanq, Guillaume Desmartin
Jean-Gabriel Périot
Die Marseillaise zu Bildern von Soldaten, Schlachten, Aufmärschen und jubelnden Massen: der Sieg von Freiheit, Gleichheit und Brüderlichkeit über die Hitler-Barbaren. Doch der Lauf der Bilder stockt und macht eine andere Wahrheit über Sieger und Verlierer sichtbar, während das Lied als flotter Schlager weiterschnarrt …
Grit Lemke

From My Syrian Room

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich,
Deutschland,
Libanon,
Syrien
2014
70 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nathalie Combe, Heino Deckert, Georges Schoucair, Myriam Sassine, Hazem Alhamwi
Hazem Alhamwi
Sivan
Hazem Alhamwi, Ghassan Katlabi
Florence Jacquet
Hazem Alhamwi
Nuzha Al Nazer, Frédéric Maury
Beklemmung überfällt einen. Die Feder von Hazem Alhamwi kratzt über eine Schwarz-Weiß-Skizze, die eines Hieronymus Bosch würdig wäre. Apokalyptische Motive und zugespitzte Satire sind seine Spezialität und waren die Rettung. In einem Land wie Syrien, wo alles, selbst das Atmen – wie einer bitter kommentiert – kontrolliert wurde, brauchte es Fluchträume. Kunst, die auf Öffentlichkeit verzichtet, kann einer sein. Der Film entstand, als die Proteste im Windschatten des Arabischen Frühlings hoffen ließen, dass sich etwas ändern könnte: endlich aussprechen, was jahrzehntelang unterdrückt war und zu hohen Gefängnisstrafen geführt hätte. In Gesprächen mit Freunden und Verwandten betreibt der Regisseur Ursachenforschung, beginnend mit Kindheitserfahrungen von Propaganda und Personenkult, Anpassung und Angst. Heute, da sich die Ereignisse überschlagen, ist die hohe Zeit der schnellen Medien. Alhamwis differenzierte Töne, assoziative Motive und Ausflüge in die Bilderwelt der Kindheit haben es schwer mitzuhalten in einer Gegenwart, in der Syrien zwischen religiösen und ethnischen Interessen sowie denen des Auslands zerrieben wird. Die Stimmen aus Alhamwis Zimmer hallen nach aus einer Zeit, als Demokratisierung und Freiheit gefordert wurden. Diesen kurzen Moment, als die Opposition sich zu formieren und zu formulieren suchte, hält der Film fest. Die Zeit der Idealisten war kurz bemessen.
Cornelia Klauß
Jean-Gabriel Périot 2014
Gay? Jean-Gabriel Périot

Schwule sind die mit dem guten Geschmack, die in Kunstgalerien rumstehen und gut riechen, das weiß jedes Kind. Coming-outs sind so alltäglich wie Zähneputzen. Und Political Correctness geht weg wie geschnitten Brot

Gay?

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
2000
2 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean-Gabriel Périot
Schwule sind die mit dem guten Geschmack, die in Kunstgalerien rumstehen und gut riechen, das weiß jedes Kind. Coming-outs sind so alltäglich wie Zähneputzen. Und Political Correctness geht weg wie geschnitten Brot. In dieser Parodie aber wird sie genüsslich zerlegt. Wurde auch mal Zeit.
Grit Lemke
Internationales Programm 2014
Harvest Paul Lacoste

Jährlich trifft sich ein bunter Haufen unterschiedlichster Typen zur Weinernte bei Toulouse. Ein ungewöhnlicher Blick auf prekäre Beschäftigung zwischen Not und Selbstbestimmung.

Harvest

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
2014
82 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Didier Creste
Paul Lacoste
Yvan Quehec
Anthony Brining
Schauplatz: eine kleine Weinregion östlich von Toulouse. Die Zeit: Mitte September. Das Personal: eine Kompanie von etwa 15 Frauen und Männern – mit Lesescheren und Eimern bewaffnete „Zeitsoldaten“ für die paar Wochen der Weinernte. Der Trupp ist in die Rebzeilen eines mittelständischen Anbaubetriebs in der Region Gaillac ausgeschwärmt. Die Statistik führt sie als Erntehelfer, und im soziologischen Jargon heißen sie „prekär Beschäftigte“. Die Akteure selbst würden diese Zuschreibung jedoch nur bedingt für sich akzeptieren. Sie anzuerkennen hieße, einen großen Teil des eigenen Stolzes herzugeben. Eine solche Haltung mag man unrealistisch nennen, aber genau das scheint den Regisseur Paul Lacoste zu interessieren: mehr, was Menschen tun und was sie damit im wahrsten Wortsinn verkörpern, weniger, was sie an Meinungen äußern. Fast beiläufig vermittelt der Film dann aber doch, wie massiv sich die Unsicherheit einer solchen Existenz in den gesamten Habitus seiner Protagonisten eingeschrieben hat. Alle spüren, wie sie dem stummen Zwang der Verhältnisse unterworfen sind. Sie mögen zwar unterschiedlich virtuos im Verdrängen solch emotionaler und mentaler Erkenntnisse sein – die objektiven Effekte lassen sich kaum leugnen.

Ralph Eue



Ausgezeichnet mit dem Healthy Workplaces Film Award 2014

Impostor

Animationsfilm
Frankreich,
Schweiz
2013
7 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Claude Barras
Elie Chapuis
Yan Volsy
David Toutevoix
Marina Rosset
Kim Keukeleire, Violaine Picaut
Elie Chapuis, Veronica Da Costa
Yan Volsy
Ein Hirsch in menschlicher Gestalt versucht, die Identität eines Mannes zu stehlen, indem er ihm den Kopf abnimmt. Am Ende muss die Frau entscheiden, wer von den beiden der echte Mann ist.
Jean-Gabriel Périot 2014
Intimate Diary Jean-Gabriel Périot

Ein Mann vor dem (Kamera-)Spiegel. Der nackte, junge Oberkörper impliziert Bilder und Vorstellungen aus Werbung und Medien … die sich aufzulösen beginnen.

Intimate Diary

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
2000
2 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean-Gabriel Périot
Ein Mann vor dem (Kamera-)Spiegel. Der nackte, junge Oberkörper impliziert Bilder und Vorstellungen aus Werbung und Medien … die sich aufzulösen beginnen, als der Körper als beschädigter sichtbar wird und aus dem (voyeuristischen) Blick ein peinlich berührter und schließlich ein berührter wird.
Grit Lemke
Internationales Programm 2014
Jikoo, a Wish Christophe Leroy, Adrien Camus

Ein senegalesischer Nationalpark. Bauern, deren Ernten Warzenschweine vernichten, und eine Verwaltung, die die Tiere für den Tourismus schützt. Die dunkle Seite des Safaribooms.

Jikoo, a Wish

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich,
Senegal
2014
52 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lucie Bruneteau, Romain Boutin, Christophe Leroy, Adrien Camus
Christophe Leroy, Adrien Camus
Christophe Leroy, Adrien Camus
Christophe Leroy, Adrien Camus, Lucie Bruneteau, Romain Boutin
Christophe Leroy
Christophe Leroy, Adrien Camus
Nichts beruhigt das bürgerliche Weltgewissen mehr als die Einrichtung von Naturschutzgebieten, vorzugsweise in Ländern, die man ansonsten getrost schikanieren darf. Beispielsweise den Senegal, dessen Fischgründe von der EU leer gefischt werden. Den Nationalpark „Delta du Saloum“ an der senegalesischen Atlantikküste zum Weltkulturerbe zu erklären, ist wohlfeil, bringt gute Presse und Ökotourismus. Unpraktisch nur, wenn in dem Gelände Menschen leben, oft seit Generationen, die ihr ganz eigenes Auskommen mit der Natur gefunden haben und die Nachhaltigkeit des Tourismus aus guten Gründen bezweifeln.
Von diesem Konflikt zwischen internationalen Agenturen, vertreten durch die Parkverwaltung und deren Ranger, und den Bewohnern des Dorfes Bakadadji erzählt „Jikoo, a Wish“. Ein sehr einfacher Wunsch, den die Menschen haben: Einen Zaun bitte, damit sie ihre Felder vor den marodierenden Warzenschweinen schützen können, die unter Androhung von Strafe nicht gejagt werden dürfen. Wegen der Ökologie – jedenfalls, soweit die Beteiligten das verstehen. Doch verschwinden die zig Millionen Euro und US-Dollar des Weltgewissens in den Sickerfiltern der nationalen Administration, weshalb es leider, leider kein Geld für einen Zaun gibt. Sollen die Bauern doch für die Ökotouristen tanzen. Dann brauchen sie auch keine Felder mehr. Was also ist zu tun? Der Film beantwortet die Frage nicht. Er hält uns nur einen Spiegel vor.
Matthias Heeder