Film Archive

Die Trasse

Documentary Film
Czech Republic,
Germany,
Russia
2013
121 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Natalia Manskaya, Filip Remunda, Vít Klusák, Simone Baumann
Vitaly Mansky
Alexandra Ivanova
Pavel Mendel-Ponamarev
Vitaly Mansky
Dmitry Nazarov
It was – as the “IG Erdgastrasse” (IG Natural Gas Pipeline) claims on a website still designed in the German-Soviet friendship style – the “construction of the century”. It started with the ground-breaking ceremony on 6 June 1966 in near-arctic West Siberia, took on real transcontinental form in the pre-Perestroika years (to Reagan’s horror) and today supplies, among other things, the raw material for one of the major ritual events in Western Europe: the Rheingas-fuelled Rose Monday Parade in Cologne. The “Urengoy-Pomary-Uzhgorod Pipeline” stretches from the Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug to the Gulf of Biscay, as unnoticeable as everything else to do with our energy supply. But in terms of geo-politics, -ecologics and -economics, it’s a massive goldmine – with quite noticeable consequences (dependencies, blind faith in technology, environmental damage).
Vitaly Mansky, who last travelled through Cuba in “Motherland or Death”, now explores our own unfamiliar home along this subterranean trail. The politically obstinate documentary maestro is interested in the lives of those who live near and above the pipeline, though not necessarily off it (no money, no gas): indigenous ice fishers, Orthodox Church processions, Putin-supporting tuba players, Gorbachev-critical veterans, angry Roma, cursing Polish men and Virgin Mary-adoring Polish women. He flirts with stereotypes while adroitly avoiding them. Big screen cinema, visually powerful and with great sound design.

Barbara Wurm



MDR Film Prize 2013

In Sarmatien

Documentary Film
Germany
2013
120 minutes
subtitles: 
English
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Volker Koepp
Volker Koepp
Rainer Böhm
Thomas Plenert
Beatrice Babin
Thomas Huber
There are two contrasting ways to describe Sarmatia: as a region on the edge of the known world – that’s how the old Greeks saw it –, or as the part of Europe where the once carefully measured geographical centre of the continent is. However, you will probably look in vain for Sarmatia in your school atlas, it doesn’t exist as an administrative unit, and Google Maps won’t help either. Yet Sarmatia is not a chimera.
Volker Koepp travelled there for his new film, generously allowing us to share his impressions and encounters in a both unknown and nearby region between Lithuania and Belarus, the Ukraine and Poland, which borders on the Baltic in the North and the Black Sea in the South. This historic landscape has long made frequent appearances in his work, at least since 1972, when he made “Grüße aus Sarmatien für den Dichter Johannes Bobrowski” (Greetings from Sarmatia for the Poet Johannes Bobrowski”). Like Bobrowski, Volker Koepp recognises it as “that dreamland where all nations and religious would find their place if history had not ploughed it all up over and over again”. The rifts left by all this, especially in the people who live there, and how these people still manage to shine from inside, is beautifully depicted here.

Ralph Eue

Filmarchiv

Die Trasse

Dokumentarfilm
Tschechische Republik,
Deutschland,
Russland
2013
121 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Natalia Manskaya, Filip Remunda, Vít Klusák, Simone Baumann
Vitaly Mansky
Alexandra Ivanova
Pavel Mendel-Ponamarev
Vitaly Mansky
Dmitry Nazarov
Es war – so die „IG Erdgastrasse“ auf ihrer noch im deutsch-sowjetischen Freundschaftsstil gehaltenen Website – ein „Bauwerk des Jahrhunderts“, das mit dem Spatenstich am 6. Juni 1966 im fast-arktischen Westsibirien begonnen wurde, in den Vorperestroika-Jahren (zum Schrecken Reagans) reale transkontinentale Form annahm und heute beispielsweise den Rohstoffbedarf eines der wichtigsten rituellen Ereignisse Westeuropas deckt: den Rheingas-betriebenen Rosenmontagszug in Köln. Die „Urengoy–Pomary–Uzhgorod-Trasse“ erstreckt sich vom autonomen Kreis der Jamal-Nenzen bis zum Golf von Biskaya, so unbemerkt wie alles, was mit unserer Energieversorgung zu tun hat. Doch geopolitisch-ökologisch-ökonomisch ist die Pipeline eine riesige Goldader – mit klaren Konsequenzen (Abhängigkeiten, Technikgläubigkeit, Umweltschäden).
Entlang der unterirdischen Fährte erkundet Vitaly Mansky, den es zuletzt mit „Motherland or Death“ nach Kuba zog, diesmal unsere eigene fremde Heimat. Den politisch widerspenstigen Dok-Maître interessiert der Alltag jener, die neben und über der Trasse leben, nicht notwendigerweise jedoch von ihr (wo kein Geld, da kein Gas): indigene Eisfischer, orthodoxe Kirchenprozessionen, Putin-wählende Tuba-Bläser, Gorbatschow-kritische Veteranen, aufgebrachte Roma, fluchende Polen und marienverehrende Polinnen. Er kokettiert mit dem Klischee, weicht ihm aber geschickt aus. Big-Screen-Cinema, bildgewaltig und mit tollem Sounddesign.

Barbara Wurm



Ausgezeichnet mit dem MDR-Filmpreis 2013

In Sarmatien

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland
2013
120 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
deutsche

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Volker Koepp
Volker Koepp
Rainer Böhm
Thomas Plenert
Beatrice Babin
Thomas Huber
Es gibt zwei gegensätzliche Arten, Sarmatien zu beschreiben: als eine Gegend am Rande der bekannten Welt – so sahen es die alten Griechen –, oder als jenen Teil Europas, wo sich das einst sorgfältig vermessene geografische Zentrum des Kontinents befindet. Im Register des aktuellen „Diercke Weltatlas“ wird man Sarmatien indes vergeblich suchen, als Verwaltungseinheit ist es inexistent, und auch Google Maps vermag kein Stück weiterzuhelfen. Dennoch ist Sarmatien kein Hirngespinst.
Für seinen neuen Film ist Volker Koepp dorthin aufgebrochen und lässt uns mit großzügiger Geste teilhaben an seinen Eindrücken und Begegnungen in einer ebenso unbekannten wie eigentlich nahegelegenen Region zwischen Litauen und Weißrussland, zwischen der Ukraine und Polen, welche im Norden an die Ostsee grenzt und im Süden ans Schwarze Meer. Seit langem, mindestens seit 1972, als er „Grüße aus Sarmatien für den Dichter Johannes Bobrowski“ drehte, ist die historische Landschaft in seinem Werk immer wieder präsent. Ähnlich wie Bobrowski sieht auch Volker Koepp hier „jenes Traumland, in dem sämtliche Völker und Religionen ihren Platz fänden, wenn nicht die Geschichte alles eins ums andere Mal umgepflügt hätte“. Die Verwerfungen, die das hinterlassen hat, auch und gerade in den Menschen, die dort leben, und wie diese Menschen trotz allem von innen heraus strahlen, das ist hier aufs Schönste zu erfahren.

Ralph Eue