Film Archive

International Programme
Advantage Mohammad Kart

A man yet or still a boy? This is the pivotal decision in a home for addicts in Tehran, where you have to face up to your dependencies if you want to get off the streets for good.

Advantage

Documentary Film
Iran
2016
68 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Mohammad Kart, Aban Askari
Mohammad Kart
Saba Neda’ee
Javad Razzaqizadeh
Esma’il Alizadeh
Mohammad Kart
Mehdi Kart
There is a place in Tehran where you learn whether you’re a man or still a boy. At least that’s how a member of the staff at a home where several dozens of men have found shelter to escape life on the street describes it. They all share a problem with addiction, injected heroin and cocaine, lived on garbage and left their families. In the home they want to get back on their feet, detoxify and learn to lead abstinent lives. Mohammad Kart is there when Hossein is admitted, a young man who has been mainlining for two years and promises to obey the rules. “I’ll remind you in 3 days.” Cold turkey comes next. Hossein and several others squirm in a room, sweat, have spasms. At last he is welcomed in a festive ceremony. He is even asked to play in the home’s football team, who are preparing for a prominent opponent.

Kart combines light episodes of community and hope with individual trips to nocturnal shelters on the outskirts of the Iranian capital. Images of misery alternate with images of sunrays shining into the dormitory in the morning, while bracing music is to lend support at the start of a new day.

Carolin Weidner

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Maned & Macho

Animated Film
Iran
2017
11 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Shiva Sadegh Asadi
Shiva Sadegh Asadi
Amir Pourkhalaji
Shiva Sadegh Asadi
Mohammad Nasseri, Shiva Sadegh Asadi
Shiva Sadegh Asadi
Shiva Sadegh Asadi
Changiz Sayad
An adolescent girl rejects the social role it’s meant to play and hides all her feelings and thoughts in a secret world filled with animal creatures. Over time it grows into a large outdoor enclosure for all kinds of quiet fantasies, dreams and fears which soon become untameable. Shiva Sadegh Asadi uses fascinating, flowing paintings to talk quietly about an “I” that grows louder and louder.

André Eckardt


Nominated for Young Eyes Film Award

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Post-Angst
Tunnel Maryam Kashkoolinia

Transporting a sheep, a man finds himself on a dangerous, sand animated course through an underground that has political backgrounds.

Tunnel

Animated Film
Iran
2012
7 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Mohammad Habibi
Maryam Kashkoolinia
Maryam Kashkoolinia
Maryam Kashkoolinia
Maryam Kashkoolinia
Maryam Kashkoolinia
Hosein Mafi
Transporting a sheep, a man finds himself on a dangerous, sand animated course through an underground that has political backgrounds.

Franziska Bruckner

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Internationales Programm
Advantage Mohammad Kart

Schon Mann oder noch Junge? Das entscheidet sich in einem Heim für Suchtkranke in Teheran. Hier gilt es, sich seinen Abhängigkeiten zu stellen, wenn man der Straße endgültig entfliehen will.

Advantage

Dokumentarfilm
2016
68 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Mohammad Kart, Aban Askari
Mohammad Kart
Saba Neda’ee
Javad Razzaqizadeh
Esma’il Alizadeh
Mohammad Kart
Mehdi Kart
Es gibt einen Ort in Teheran, an dem sich entscheidet, ob man ein Mann oder doch nur ein Junge ist. So jedenfalls beschreibt es einer der Mitarbeiter des Heims, in welchem mehrere Dutzend Männer Obhut gefunden haben, um der Straße zu entkommen. Sie alle teilen ein Suchtproblem, injizierten Heroin und Kokain, aßen Abfälle und verließen ihre Familien. Im Heim wollen sie wieder auf die Beine kommen, entziehen und lernen, abstinent zu leben. Mohammad Kart ist bei der Aufnahme Hosseins dabei, einem jungen Mann, der seit zwei Jahren drückt und verspricht, sich an die Regeln zu halten. „Ich erinnere dich in drei Tagen nochmal daran.“ Was folgt, ist ein kalter Entzug. In einem Raum windet sich Hossein mit mehreren anderen, schwitzt, krampft. Und wird schließlich in einem festlichen Akt willkommen geheißen. Er soll sogar mit dem hauseigenen Fußballteam trainieren, das sich gerade auf einen prominenten Gegner vorbereitet.

Kart verbindet lichte Episoden von Gemeinschaft und Hoffnung mit einzelnen Ausflügen in nächtliche Unterschlüpfe an den Rändern der iranischen Hauptstadt. Bilder voller Kläglichkeit wechseln mit solchen von Sonnenstrahlen, die morgens in den Schlafraum scheinen, während eine anstiftende Musik beim Beginnen eines neuen Tages Beistand gewähren soll.

Carolin Weidner

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Maned & Macho

Animationsfilm
2017
11 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Shiva Sadegh Asadi
Shiva Sadegh Asadi
Amir Pourkhalaji
Shiva Sadegh Asadi
Mohammad Nasseri, Shiva Sadegh Asadi
Shiva Sadegh Asadi
Shiva Sadegh Asadi
Changiz Sayad
Ein heranwachsendes Mädchen lehnt die ihm zugedachte soziale Rolle ab und versteckt all seine Gefühle und Gedanken in einem Geheimnis voller tierischer Gestalten. Über die Zeit entsteht ein großes Freigehege für allerhand stille Fantasien, Träume und Ängste, die sich bald nicht mehr bändigen lassen. Mit faszinierend fließenden Malereien spricht Shiva Sadegh Asadi leise über ein lauter werdendes Ich.

André Eckardt


Nominiert für Young Eyes Film Award

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Nach der Angst
Tunnel Maryam Kashkoolinia

Ein Mann transportiert ein Schaf … und gerät auf einen gefährlichen, sandanimierten Parcours durch den Untergrund, der politische Hintergründe hat.

Tunnel

Animationsfilm
2012
7 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Mohammad Habibi
Maryam Kashkoolinia
Maryam Kashkoolinia
Maryam Kashkoolinia
Maryam Kashkoolinia
Maryam Kashkoolinia
Hosein Mafi
Ein Mann transportiert ein Schaf … und gerät auf einen gefährlichen, sandanimierten Parcours durch den Untergrund, der politische Hintergründe hat.

Franziska Bruckner

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.