Film Archive

International Programme 2013
Do You Believe in Love? Dani Wasserman

An unusual matchmaker and her clients: female, male, young, old, healthy, sick, handicapped, normal, and crazy. Politically uncorrect, with lots of fun.

Do You Believe in Love?

Documentary Film
Israel
2013
50 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Barak Heymann
Dani Wasserman
Eli Soorani
Gonen Glazer, Daniel Miran
Ron Goldman
Dani Wasserman
Gil Toren
Tova has been unable to move a finger since the disease has paralysed her muscles. Now she sits enthroned in a huge, upholstered chair like an oracle and receives her clients in the living room. Women, men, young, old, healthy, sick, handicapped, normal, and crazy: they all come to Tova because each and every one of them is searching for the perfect mate. The fact that Tova herself does not believe in love and frequently states this loud and clear does not lessen her success. She works tirelessly to find the right partners for her desperate clients.
With dedication and a sophisticated bookkeeping system, she tries to bring together those who have been unsuccessful on the “free market” so far. But there’s no trace of compassion or misunderstood correctness: Tova’s “star” – a young, slightly spastic woman in a wheelchair – sends her dream man packing without batting an eyelash when he has the impertinence to reproach her for her unhealthy lifestyle on the first date. And so the search goes on.
Dan Wasserman follows this unique matchmaker over the course of a year, allowing us to share the life and sufferings of a strong woman and her family. He succeeds, not least thanks to his amazing protagonist, in making a warm-hearted film about love – or what we think is love.

Lina Dinkla
International Programme 2013
Fading Note Hani Dombe

A woman does the housework in her flat somewhere in Eastern Europe, where she spent her youth with her sister. But she is beset by memories: games played together, piano practice and the dream of ...

Fading Note

Animated Film
Israel
2013
7 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Hani Dombe
Hani Dombe
Yoav Hudin
Hani Dombe
Uriel Malnovitzer
Hani Dombe
Hani Dombe
Yoav Hudin
A woman does the housework in her flat somewhere in Eastern Europe, where she spent her youth with her sister. But she is beset by memories: games played together, piano practice and the dream of shining in the limelight as a duo. The holocaust put a sudden stop to that; only her memories are still alive. Her visions of how things could have been displace the reality around her.
International Programme 2013
Fading Valley Irit Gal

The fields of Palestinian farmers in the occupied territories on the West Bank are withering while the Jewish settlers have water to spare. A look at a drama in quiet images.

Fading Valley

Documentary Film
Israel
2013
56 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Irit Gal
Irit Gal
River
Daniel Gal
Rabab Haj Yahya
Irit Gal
If this film was about illegal substance deals it would be less remarkable that business must be done secretly. The commodity here, however, is not a hallucinogenic substances but something that makes life possible in the first place: water. But isn’t free access to water one of the basic human rights?
The scene is the valley of the Jordan River on the West Bank. Listening to the daily discussions of the water transport man with the resident Palestinians, who are trying to cultivate their land in this region, will give you an idea of what it means to live in an occupied military zone. While the world above ground is permanently threatened by drought, enough water is flowing through the subterranean pipelines. Irit Gal approaches the local conditions and incorporates this contradiction, which extends into quite different areas, too. The quiet images conceal a tragic story that reaches far beyond the boundaries of this valley.

Claudia Lehmann
International Programme 2013
Ponevezh Time Yehonatan Indursky

The closed world of an orthodox Talmud university in Israel. Elite educational establishment, century-old rituals, community, and great pressure. “Beneath the Wheel” with kippa and torah.

Ponevezh Time

Documentary Film
Israel
2012
53 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Einat Pinsky-Goldschmidt, Talia Kleinhendler, Osnat Handelsman-Keren
Yehonatan Indursky
Ophir Leibovitch
Philippe Bellaiche
Tali Halter-Shenkar
Yehonatan Indursky
Yossi Appelbaum
The Ponevezh Yeshiva is one of the most renowned Talmud schools in Israel. More than 1,000 students study the Torah day and night. The daily schedule is strict, of course, or, as one of the Rabbis puts it: If you miss morning prayers only once you ruin everything. At first glance life in this elite boarding school gives one a feeling of security – the security of ultra-Orthodox century-old Jewish rituals and a life devoted to celebrating God. Every exception to the rule is an extremely delicate matter. When you look more closely, you see – and who wonders – insecurity among the adolescents and young men, coupled with the wish to distinguish themselves, for example through ambition. Because the individual is apt to be overlooked when everyone is equal. Many are under pressure. One student is urgently looking for a new study partner; another is coming to terms with his parents’ wish to find the right wife for him. A third feels like a stranger and lonely among his fellow students.
Director Yehonatan Indursky studied at Ponevezh himself, which enabled him to be the first to open a filmic window on this otherwise closed world. He does it with great sensitivity and intuition for his protagonists’ personal questions and desires. Thus his subject becomes not the school as such but the balance between the individual and the community.

Lars Meyer
International Programme 2013
The Lab Yotam Feldman

The Palestinian conflict as a field of experimentation for the Israeli arms industry. An investigation that comes alarmingly close to some of the leading minds and penetrates deeply into the logic behind it all.

The Lab

Documentary Film
Israel
2013
58 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Yoav Roeh, Serge Kestemont, Frank Eskenazi
Yotam Feldman
Guns that shoot around corners, so-called “cornershots”, are among the more profitable special developments of the Israeli arms industry. The army had already tested them in house-to-house fighting before they went on to become an international bestseller. A conspicuous number of former army employees enter the arms industry. They supply not only the tools of war, but the practical experience, too. War as a field of experimentation for the arms industry?
Israel is the fourth-largest arms exporter today. Director Yotam Feldman wants to find out whether the country’s wealth, however unevenly distributed it may be, exists in spite of or precisely because of military conflicts. So he talks to those who ought to know: the leading minds of a deathly industry. He is there when they receive diplomats from all over the world and visit arms fairs. When military philosophers think up the superstructure and the Brazilian police follow suit. “The Lab” is an investigative film in the best sense. As opposed to the likes of Michael Moore, Feldman does not play the provocateur. This seeming neutrality allows him to come really terrifyingly close to those dealers and their logic. This ought to be instructive for German citizens, too. After all, Germany ranks third among the global arms exporters.

Lars Meyer

Filmarchiv

Internationales Programm 2013
Do You Believe in Love? Dani Wasserman

Eine ungewöhnliche Heiratsvermittlerin und ihre Kundschaft: Frauen, Männer, Junge, Alte, Gesunde, Kranke, Behinderte, Normale und Verrückte. PC-frei und Spaß dabei.

Do You Believe in Love?

Dokumentarfilm
Israel
2013
50 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Barak Heymann
Dani Wasserman
Eli Soorani
Gonen Glazer, Daniel Miran
Ron Goldman
Dani Wasserman
Gil Toren
Keinen Finger kann Tova mehr rühren, seit die Krankheit ihre Muskeln lähmt. Nun thront sie wie ein Orakel in einem riesigen, weich ausgepolsterten Sessel und empfängt im Wohnzimmer ihre Kundschaft. Frauen, Männer, Junge, Alte, Gesunde, Kranke, Behinderte, Normale und Verrückte: Alle kommen sie zu Tova, denn jede und jeder von ihnen ist auf der Suche nach dem passenden Deckel. Obwohl Tova selbst nicht an die Liebe glaubt und das auch immer wieder laut und deutlich kundtut, hat das keine Auswirkung auf ihren Erfolg. Unermüdlich ist sie damit beschäftigt, für die Verzweifelten den richtigen Partner zu finden.
Mit Hingabe und einem ausgeklügelten buchhalterischen System versucht sie diejenigen zusammenzubringen, die bislang erfolglos auf „dem freien Markt“ auf der Suche waren. Von Mitleid oder falsch verstandener Korrektheit aber keine Spur: Eiskalt lässt Tovas „Star“ – eine junge, leicht spastische Frau im Rollstuhl – den Traummann abblitzen, als der sich nicht entblödet, ihr beim ersten Date Vorhaltungen über ihren ungesunden Lebensstil zu machen. Und weiter geht die Suche.
Dani Wasserman begleitet die einzigartige Kupplerin über ein Jahr und lässt uns teilhaben an Leben und Leiden einer starken Frau und ihrer Familie. Gelungen ist ihm, nicht zuletzt dank der tollen Protagonistin, ein warmherziger Film über die Liebe – oder eben das, was wir dafür halten.

Lina Dinkla
Internationales Programm 2013
Fading Note Hani Dombe

Eine Frau macht den Haushalt in ihrer Wohnung irgendwo in Osteuropa, wo sie ihre Jugend mit ihrer Schwester verbracht hat. Doch Erinnerungen befallen sie: gemeinsames Spielen, Klavierübungen und der Traum, zu zweit im Rampenlicht Erfolge zu feiern ...

Fading Note

Animationsfilm
Israel
2013
7 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Hani Dombe
Hani Dombe
Yoav Hudin
Hani Dombe
Uriel Malnovitzer
Hani Dombe
Hani Dombe
Yoav Hudin
Eine Frau macht den Haushalt in ihrer Wohnung irgendwo in Osteuropa, wo sie ihre Jugend mit ihrer Schwester verbracht hat. Doch Erinnerungen befallen sie: gemeinsames Spielen, Klavierübungen und der Traum, zu zweit im Rampenlicht Erfolge zu feiern. Mit dem Holocaust fand dies ein jähes Ende. Nur noch die Erinnerungen sind lebendig. Die Vorstellungen, wie es hätte sein können, verdrängen die Realität.
Internationales Programm 2013
Fading Valley Irit Gal

In den besetzten Gebieten der Westbank verdörren die Felder der palästinensischen Bauern, während die jüdischen Siedler Wasser en masse haben. Blick auf ein Drama in ruhigen Bildern.

Fading Valley

Dokumentarfilm
Israel
2013
56 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Irit Gal
Irit Gal
River
Daniel Gal
Rabab Haj Yahya
Irit Gal
Ginge es um den Handel mit illegalen Betäubungsmitteln, wäre es weniger verwunderlich, dass das Geschäft im Verborgenen abgewickelt werden muss. Die Ware, die hier im Mittelpunkt steht, ist allerdings kein Halluzinogen, sondern etwas, ohne das Leben überhaupt nicht möglich ist: Wasser. Aber gehört nicht der freie Zugang zu einer Wasserquelle zu den grundlegenden Menschenrechten?
Der Schauplatz des Geschehens ist das Jordantal in der Westbank. Wenn man den alltäglichen Diskussionen des Wassertransporteurs mit den ansässigen Palästinensern lauscht, die in diesem Gebiet versuchen, ihr Land zu bewirtschaften, bekommt man eine leise Ahnung davon, was es heißt, in einer fremd besetzten Militärzone zu leben. Während die überirdische Welt ständig von der Austrocknung bedroht ist, fließt doch in den unterirdischen Leitungen genügend Wasser. Irit Gal nähert sich den dort herrschenden Verhältnissen und nimmt diesen Widerspruch, der sich in ganz andere Bereiche fortsetzt, auf. Hinter den ruhigen Bildern verbirgt sich eine tragische Geschichte, die weit über die Grenzen dieses Tals hinausreicht.

Claudia Lehmann
Internationales Programm 2013
Ponevezh Time Yehonatan Indursky

Die geschlossene Welt einer orthodoxen Talmudhochschule in Israel. Elitelehranstalt, jahrhundertealte Rituale, Gemeinschaft und großer Druck. „Unterm Rad“ mit Kippa und Thora.

Ponevezh Time

Dokumentarfilm
Israel
2012
53 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Einat Pinsky-Goldschmidt, Talia Kleinhendler, Osnat Handelsman-Keren
Yehonatan Indursky
Ophir Leibovitch
Philippe Bellaiche
Tali Halter-Shenkar
Yehonatan Indursky
Yossi Appelbaum
Die Ponevezh Yeshiva ist eine der renommiertesten Talmudhochschulen in Israel. Über 1.000 Schüler widmen sich tagein tagaus dem Studium der Thora. Der Tagesablauf ist selbstverständlich streng, oder wie es einer der Rabbis sagt: Wer ein einziges Mal das Morgengebet verpasst, ruiniert alles. Auf den ersten Blick verleiht das Leben im Elite-Internat ein Gefühl von Sicherheit – es ist die Sicherheit jahrhundertealter Rituale der ultraorthodoxen Juden und eines Lebens zur Feier Gottes. Jede Ausnahme von der Regel ist eine äußerst delikate Angelegenheit. Auf den zweiten Blick erlebt man unter den Jugendlichen und jungen Männern, wen wundert’s, auch Unsicherheit und den Wunsch, sich hervorzutun, zum Beispiel durch Ehrgeiz. Denn wo alle gleich sind, kann man schnell untergehen. Viele stehen unter Druck. Der eine sucht dringend einen neuen Studienpartner, der andere arrangiert sich mit dem Wunsch der Eltern, eine passende Ehefrau zu finden. Ein Dritter fühlt sich fremd und einsam unter den Mitstudenten.
Regisseur Yehonatan Indursky hat selbst in Ponevezh studiert. Das erlaubt es ihm, als Erster einen filmischen Einblick in diese ansonsten geschlossene Welt zu geben. Er tut es sensibel und mit einem Gespür für die persönlichen Fragen und Sehnsüchte der Protagonisten. So macht er nicht die Schule an sich, sondern das Verhältnis von Individuum und Gemeinschaft zu seinem Thema.

Lars Meyer
Internationales Programm 2013
The Lab Yotam Feldman

Der Palästina-Konflikt als Experimentierfeld der israelischen Rüstungsindustrie. Eine Untersuchung, die führenden Köpfen erschreckend nahekommt und tief in die Logik dahinter eindringt.

The Lab

Dokumentarfilm
Israel
2013
58 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Yoav Roeh, Serge Kestemont, Frank Eskenazi
Yotam Feldman
Gewehre, die um die Ecke schießen, sogenannte „Cornershots“, gehören zu den profitablen Spezialentwicklungen der israelischen Rüstungsindustrie. Von der Armee wurden sie bereits im Häuserkampf erprobt, bevor sie zu internationalen Verkaufsschlagern avancierten. Auffallend viele ehemalige Militärs steigen später ins Waffengeschäft ein. Sie liefern nicht nur die Kriegsgeräte, sondern auch gleich die praktische Erfahrung. Krieg als Experimentierfeld für die Rüstungsindustrie?
Israel ist inzwischen zum viertgrößten Waffenexporteur aufgestiegen. Regisseur Yotam Feldman will herausfinden, ob der Wohlstand in seinem Land, so ungleich er verteilt sein mag, trotz oder aufgrund militärischer Konflikte existiert. Also sucht er die auf, die es wissen müssen: die führenden Köpfe der todbringenden Industrie. Er ist dabei, wenn sie Diplomaten aus aller Welt empfangen und Rüstungsmessen besuchen. Wenn Militärphilosophen den Überbau erdenken und die brasilianische Polizei sich daran ein Vorbild nimmt. „The Lab“ ist ein im besten Sinne investigativer Film. Anders als etwa ein Michael Moore spielt Feldman nicht den Provokateur. Diese scheinbare Neutralität erlaubt es ihm, jenen Händlern und ihrer Logik wirklich erschreckend nahezukommen. Das dürfte auch für deutsche Staatsbürger aufschlussreich sein. Schließlich steht die Bundesrepublik auf Platz drei der weltweiten Rangliste.

Lars Meyer