Film Archive

A Sister’s Song

Documentary Film
Canada,
Israel
2018
91 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Danae Elon, Paul Cadieux
Danae Elon
Peter Venne
Danae Elon, Itamar Mendes Flohr
Vincent Guignard, Alexandre Leblanc
Danae Elon
Benoît Dame
Marina and Tatiana moved from Russia to Israel with their family as children. Being immigrants, their arrival in the new country wasn’t easy. This back story resonates in their search for models and identity. The narrative focuses on Marina. As an adolescent her younger sister Tatiana followed her spiritual father to a strict Orthodox convent in Greece. That was twenty years ago. They last saw each other four years ago. Since then, Marina has more and more gained the impression that her sister is unhappy there, and she wants to get her back. But is she responsible for Tatiana’s happiness? How can you understand a close person’s decision that’s in conflict with your own position?

The Canada-based award-winning Israeli director and cinematographer Danae Elon returns once more to her home country for this film. Discretely and yet very much present, she watches the two sisters’ encounter, included only occasionally – but almost like an accomplice – in the protagonists’ conversation. Her tale of the sisters Marina and Tatiana is dramaturgically outstanding and innovative. “A Sister’s Song” – a film about love and loss and the art of following one’s inner voice.

Annina Wettstein
International Programme 2018
Like Us, Lovers Dotan Moreno

The story of how an Israeli father found himself. An animated and precise observation of our daily life and the sudden surges of its hidden sensuality.

Like Us, Lovers

Animated Film
Israel
2018
16 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dotan Moreno
Dotan Moreno
Amit Hai Cohen
Dotan Moreno
Dotan Moreno
Dotan Moreno
Dotan Moreno
Andres Rapaport
The story of an Israeli father’s road to finding himself. He, mother and child – a nice but alienated core family in a nice but lifeless suburb. The boy accidentally hurts a girl. The father, leading his son by the hand, goes to apologize and finally finds what he desires. An animation film full of precise observations of our daily life and its hidden and unexpected bursts of sensuality.

Saskia Walker

Nabbin

Documentary Film
Czech Republic,
Israel
2018
30 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nadav Harel, Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Rotem Dror
After years in Israel the filmmaker returns to Nabbin in the Czech Republic, the place where she grew up, and to the people who surrounded her then.

Narrating Hebron

Documentary Film
Austria,
Israel,
Palestinian territories
2017
21 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Viktoria Bayer
Viktoria Bayer
Viktoria Bayer
Viktoria Bayer
Viktoria Bayer
Viktoria Bayer
History is created by the person who tells it. And there are many different ways of telling it. Biases shift, details are left out or emphasised. In Hebron, a city in West Jordan divided into zones and inhabited by both Israelis and Palestinians, convictions about history and truth intersect with and are superimposed upon each other. The film collects the different narratives, told by Israeli and Palestinian city guides.

Carolin Weidner

Phoenix

Documentary Film
Israel
2018
69 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Anat Tel
Anat Tel
Alberto Shwartz
Emmanuelle Mayer
Noam Amit
Anat Tel
Rotem Dror
Ahfrahn Phoenix grew up among the African Hebrew Israelites in the Israeli town of Dimona. He was excluded from the community when he began to talk openly about the fact that he was raped repeatedly by a member of the community as a child. In his early thirties now, he is trying to carve out a present for himself despite the trauma of the past, in conversations with his parents and other victims of abuse from the religious group in Dimona.

“I’m riding a bike that I can’t manage to get off of,” that’s the metaphor Ahfrahn Phoenix uses for the memories he can’t shake off. Alternating between conversations and self-reflexive moments, the protagonist’s inner turmoil is reflected in the film’s images. The Israeli documentary filmmaker Anat Tel follows him on his way from surviving to living in a portrait of great intimacy which also raises fundamental questions about how to deal with sexual abuse in closed communities.

Fabian Tietke
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2018
Place – Part 1 Avi Dabach, Harmke Heezen, Judith Manassen Ramon, Mike Robbins

The main synagogue of Aleppo in Syria was heavily damaged in the civil war. This is the visualisation, detached from space and time, of the history of a place that no longer exists.

Place – Part 1

(none)
Canada,
Germany,
Israel
2018
10 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

High Road Productions, Micha’s Films, Helios Design Labs
Avi Dabach, Harmke Heezen, Judith Manassen Ramon, Mike Robbins
Stephan Schüritz (Honig Studios)
Mike Robbins
The main synagogue of Aleppo in Syria was heavily damaged in the civil war. This is the visualisation, detached from space and time, of the history of a place that no longer exists. It’s like stepping into an old black and white film where several strands of time converge. Encounters are suddenly possible: with characters who are still alive or who died decades, centuries ago.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann

Filmarchiv

A Sister’s Song

Dokumentarfilm
Kanada,
Israel
2018
91 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Danae Elon, Paul Cadieux
Danae Elon
Peter Venne
Danae Elon, Itamar Mendes Flohr
Vincent Guignard, Alexandre Leblanc
Danae Elon
Benoît Dame
Marina und Tatiana sind als Kinder mit ihrer Familie aus Russland nach Israel gezogen. Als Einwanderinnen war die Ankunft im neuen Heimatland nicht einfach. Diese Backstory schwingt bei ihrer Suche nach Vorbildern und Identität mit. Im Zentrum der Erzählung steht Marina. Ihre jüngere Schwester Tatiana ist als Jugendliche ihrem spirituellen Vater in ein streng orthodoxes Kloster in Griechenland gefolgt. Das ist zwanzig Jahre her. Vor vier Jahren haben sie sich zum letzten Mal gesehen. Seither verstärkt sich bei Marina der Eindruck, ihre Schwester sei dort unglücklich, und sie möchte sie zurückholen. Doch ist sie verantwortlich für Tatianas Glück? Wie kann man Verständnis aufbringen für die Entscheidung eines nahestehenden Menschen, der im Widerspruch zur eigenen Haltung steht?

Die in Kanada lebende preisgekrönte israelische Regisseurin und Kamerafrau Danae Elon kehrt auch für diesen Film in ihr Heimatland zurück. Diskret und doch sehr präsent schaut sie der Wiederbegegnung der beiden Schwestern zu. Nur punktuell, aber fast komplizenhaft wird sie von den Protagonistinnen ins Gespräch einbezogen. Die Geschichte von Marina und Tatiana erzählt sie dramaturgisch herausragend und innovativ. „A Sister’s Song“ – ein Lied über Liebe und Verlust und über die Kunst, seiner inneren Stimme zu folgen.

Annina Wettstein
Internationales Programm 2018
Like Us, Lovers Dotan Moreno

Die Geschichte der Selbstfindung eines israelischen Vaters. Animierte, genaue Beobachtung unseres Alltags und dessen versteckter und unvermutet hervorbrechender Sinnlichkeit.

Like Us, Lovers

Animationsfilm
Israel
2018
16 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dotan Moreno
Dotan Moreno
Amit Hai Cohen
Dotan Moreno
Dotan Moreno
Dotan Moreno
Dotan Moreno
Andres Rapaport
Die Geschichte der Selbstfindung eines israelischen Vaters. Er, Mutter, Kind – eine nette, aber entfremdete Kleinfamilie in einem netten, aber leblosen Vorort. Der Junge verletzt aus Versehen ein Mädchen. Der Vater geht sich entschuldigen, mit seinem Sohn an der Hand, und findet endlich, was er begehrt. Ein Animationsfilm mit genauer Beobachtung unseres Alltags und dessen versteckter und unvermutet hervorbrechender Sinnlichkeit.

Saskia Walker

Nabbin

Dokumentarfilm
Tschechische Republik,
Israel
2018
30 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nadav Harel, Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Kat Tolkovsky
Rotem Dror
Nach Jahren in Israel kehrt die Filmemacherin nach Nabbin in Tschechien zurück, an jenen Ort, an dem sie aufgewachsen ist, und zu den Menschen, die sie damals umgaben.

Narrating Hebron

Dokumentarfilm
Österreich,
Israel,
Palästinensische Autonomiegebiete
2017
21 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Viktoria Bayer
Viktoria Bayer
Viktoria Bayer
Viktoria Bayer
Viktoria Bayer
Viktoria Bayer
Geschichte entsteht durch den, der sie erzählt. Und es gibt sehr viele unterschiedliche Arten, sie zu erzählen. Gewichtungen verlagern sich, Details werden ausgespart oder hervorgehoben. In Hebron, einer in Zonen aufgeteilten Stadt im Westjordanland, die sowohl von Israelis als auch von Palästinensern bewohnt wird, kreuzen wie überlagern sich Überzeugungen von Historie und Wahrheit. Der Film sammelt die verschiedenen Narrative, vorgetragen von israelischen und palästinensischen Stadtführern.

Carolin Weidner
Internationales Programm 2018
Phoenix Anat Tel

Ahfrahn Phoenix versucht mit Anfang 30, sich eine Gegenwart zurückzuerobern, nachdem er als Kind in der Gemeinschaft der African Hebrew Israelites missbraucht wurde.

Phoenix

Dokumentarfilm
Israel
2018
69 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Anat Tel
Anat Tel
Alberto Shwartz
Emmanuelle Mayer
Noam Amit
Anat Tel
Rotem Dror
Ahfrahn Phoenix wuchs bei den African Hebrew Israelites im israelischen Dimona auf. Er wurde aus der Gemeinschaft ausgeschlossen, als er begann, offen darüber zu reden, dass er als Kind wiederholt von einem Mitglied der Community vergewaltigt wurde. Mit Anfang dreißig versucht er in Gesprächen mit seinen Eltern und mit anderen Opfern von Missbrauch aus der religiösen Gruppe in Dimona, sich trotz des Traumas der Vergangenheit eine Gegenwart zu erarbeiten.

„Ich sitze auf einem Fahrrad und kann nicht absteigen“, so das Bild, das Ahfrahn Phoenix für seine nicht abzuschüttelnden Erinnerungen gebraucht. Im Wechsel von Gesprächen und selbstreflexiven Momenten schlägt sich die innere Bewegung des Protagonisten in Filmbildern nieder. Die israelische Dokumentarfilmerin Anat Tel begleitet ihn auf seinem Weg vom Überleben zurück ins Leben in einem Porträt von großer Intimität, das zugleich grundsätzliche Fragen nach dem Umgang mit sexuellem Missbrauch in geschlossenen Gemeinschaften aufwirft.

Fabian Tietke
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2018
Place – Part 1 Avi Dabach, Harmke Heezen, Judith Manassen Ramon, Mike Robbins

Die Hauptsynagoge von Aleppo in Syrien wurde im Bürgerkrieg schwer beschädigt. Losgelöst von Raum und Zeit wird hier die Geschichte eines Ortes visualisiert, der nicht mehr existiert.

Place – Part 1

(none)
Kanada,
Deutschland,
Israel
2018
10 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

High Road Productions, Micha’s Films, Helios Design Labs
Avi Dabach, Harmke Heezen, Judith Manassen Ramon, Mike Robbins
Stephan Schüritz (Honig Studios)
Mike Robbins
Die Hauptsynagoge von Aleppo in Syrien wurde im Bürgerkrieg schwer beschädigt. Losgelöst von Raum und Zeit wird hier die Geschichte eines Ortes visualisiert, der nicht mehr existiert. Es ist, als trete man in einen alten Schwarz-Weiß-Film, in dem mehrere Zeitstränge zusammenlaufen. Begegnungen werden möglich: mit Charakteren, die noch leben oder vor Jahrzehnten, Jahrhunderten gestorben sind.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann