Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

Resonance

Documentary Film
Germany,
Israel
2019
56 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Itay Marom
Itay Marom
Itay Marom
Sunjha Kim, Itay Marom
Rotem Dror
Music can trigger the deepest and most secret emotions in us, be a physical, mental or spiritual experience – for the musicians who create it, too. Aspiring singers take private lessons to reach the highest level of classical singing. The film follows three renowned voice and singing teachers and their students over the course of a semester. It is tough physical training, hours of practice, breathing, finding the exactly right positions of tongue and jaws. Because ultimately the magic of extreme emotionality can be produced only on the basis of technical perfection, by pouring ones personality into it, by an interplay of effort and the ability to let go.

Though we learn little about the singers, listening primarily to their voices, we feel the intensity and intimacy that arises between teacher and student in these kinds of private lessons – an atmosphere in which something great, transcendent is being built. The light and usually quiet concrete building of one of the three music academies visited by Itay Marom for his film seems almost like a Zen monastery.

Frederik Lang



Awarded with the DEFA Sponsoring Prize.

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

DOK Neuland
The Holy City Nimrod Shanit, Timur Musabay

In a mix of room-scale gaming and live action film Jerusalem can be experienced as a religious epicentre where three world religions overlap.

The Holy City

VR Experience
Canada,
Israel
2019
20 minutes
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Nimrod Shanit, Sean Thomas Evans
Nimrod Shanit, Timur Musabay
Ophir Leibovitz
William McMaster, Jurek Ostefeld
Brady Bothwell, Nimrod Shanit, Lenadro Amorim-Downie
Mishal Alam, Oury Atlan
Nimrod Shanit
Yuval Baron, Graham Bertie
Victoria Braverman
Scott Cairns
Mishal Alam, Oury Atlan
Mishal Alam
Nimrod Shanit
Lena Georgian
Daeve Fellows, Ariel Shtern
Matt Bilewicz
William McMaster
In a mix of room-scale gaming and live action film Jerusalem can be experienced as a religious epicentre where three world religions overlap. Believers of all denominations work on the narrative of the place, pleading for mutual understanding. The starting point of this intellectual game is the ambivalent term of Abrahamism which initiates a trialogue between Judaism, Christianity and Islam.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Re-Visionen
Z32 Avi Mograbi

An elite soldier of the Israeli army reveals in front of the camera that he murdered Palestinians in a retaliatory operation executed by his commando. What to do and how to deal with this knowledge?

Z32

Documentary Film
France,
Israel
2008
81 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Les Films d’Ici, Avi Mograbi, Le Fresnoy – Studio National des Arts Contemporains
Avi Mograbi
Noam Enbar
Philippe Bellaïche
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi, Noam Enbar
An elite soldier of the Israeli army reveals in front of the camera that he murdered Palestinians in a retaliatory operation executed by his commando. What to do and how to deal with this knowledge? By now, director Avi Mograbi has some routine in dealing with the experience of “getting quick applause from the wrong side”. In consequence, he sees his work as fundamentally controversial.

Ralph Eue

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Resonance

Dokumentarfilm
2019
56 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Itay Marom
Itay Marom
Itay Marom
Sunjha Kim, Itay Marom
Rotem Dror
Tiefste und verborgene Gefühlsregungen kann Musik in uns auslösen, eine körperliche, seelische oder spirituelle Erfahrung sein – auch für die sie erzeugenden Musiker. Um das höchste Niveau klassischen Gesangs zu erreichen, nehmen angehende Sängerinnen und Sänger Privatunterricht. Über den Verlauf eines Semesters folgt der Film drei renommierten Stimm- und Gesangslehrenden und ihren Schülerinnen und Schülern. Es ist ein hartes körperliches Training, stundenlanges Üben, Atmen, das Finden der exakt richtigen Positionen von Zunge und Kiefer. Denn nur auf der Basis technischer Perfektion kann letzten Endes die Magie der höchsten Emotionalität entstehen, durch ein Hineingeben der eigenen Persönlichkeit, ein Wechselspiel aus Anstrengung und Loslassen-Können.

Auch wenn wir wenig über die Singenden erfahren, sondern vor allem ihren Stimmen lauschen, spürt man die Intensität und Intimität, die bei dieser Art von Einzelunterricht zwischen Lehrenden und Lernenden entsteht – eine Atmosphäre, in der sich etwas Großes, Erhabenes aufbaut. Der lichte und meist stille Betonbau einer der drei Musikhochschulen, die Itay Marom für seinen Film aufsucht, mutet dabei fast wie ein Zen-Kloster an.

Frederik Lang



Ausgezeichnet mit dem DEFA Förderpreis.

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

DOK Neuland
The Holy City Nimrod Shanit, Timur Musabay

In einem Mix aus Room-Scale-Gaming und Realfilm wird Jerusalem als religiöses Epizentrum erfahrbar, in dem sich drei Weltreligionen überlagern.

The Holy City

VR-Erfahrung
2019
20 Minuten
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Nimrod Shanit, Sean Thomas Evans
Nimrod Shanit, Timur Musabay
Ophir Leibovitz
William McMaster, Jurek Ostefeld
Brady Bothwell, Nimrod Shanit, Lenadro Amorim-Downie
Mishal Alam, Oury Atlan
Nimrod Shanit
Yuval Baron, Graham Bertie
Victoria Braverman
Scott Cairns
Mishal Alam, Oury Atlan
Mishal Alam
Nimrod Shanit
Lena Georgian
Daeve Fellows, Ariel Shtern
Matt Bilewicz
William McMaster
In einem Mix aus Room-Scale-Gaming und Realfilm wird Jerusalem als religiöses Epizentrum erfahrbar, in dem sich drei Weltreligionen überlagern. Gläubige aller Konfessionen arbeiten am Narrativ des Ortes und plädieren gleichzeitig für Verständigung. Ausgangspunkt für das Gedankenspiel ist der ambivalente Begriff des Abrahamismus, der einen Trialog zwischen Judentum, Christentum und Islam in Gang setzt.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Re-Visionen
Z32 Avi Mograbi

Ein Elitesoldat der israelischen Armee offenbart vor der Kamera, bei einer Vergeltungsaktion seines Kommandos Palästinenser ermordet zu haben. Was tun und wie umgehen mit diesem Wissen?

Z32

Dokumentarfilm
2008
81 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Les Films d’Ici, Avi Mograbi, Le Fresnoy – Studio National des Arts Contemporains
Avi Mograbi
Noam Enbar
Philippe Bellaïche
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi, Noam Enbar
Ein Elitesoldat der israelischen Armee offenbart vor der Kamera, bei einer Vergeltungsaktion seines Kommandos Palästinenser ermordet zu haben. Was tun und wie umgehen mit diesem Wissen? Regisseur Avi Mograbi geht inzwischen routiniert mit der Erfahrung um, „schnellen Beifall von der falschen Seite“ zu bekommen. So sieht er seine Arbeiten auch grundsätzlich als Streitstücke.

Ralph Eue

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.