Film Archive

Countries (Film Archive)

Appunti del passaggio

Documentary Film
Belgium,
Italy,
Switzerland
2016
44 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Maria Iorio, Le Souvenir du Présent
Maria Iorio, Raphaël Cuomo
Alessandra Eramo
Gilles Aubry
“I have no visual memory. I remember emotions.” In their remarkably artistically dense documentary Maria Iorio and Raphaël Cuomo combine various statements of contemporary witnesses into the personal report of an Italian who entered Switzerland in 1965 as a migrant labourer. At the core of this representative of many economic refugees from Southern Europe of the time lies the feeling that she is an “outlaw working body”. She feels humiliated and controlled by procedures at the “border health check”, by massive underpay, dangerous working conditions, psychological pressure in the factory and openly expressed, wounding resentment against the foreigners.

The film is a collage of memories given a voice by a female narrator and kept deliberately vague on the visual level. Vague, but extremely effective and openly sceptical about the reality promised by visual evidence. Besides distorted details and negatives of a few surviving photos it’s the restful contemporary video recordings, for example of an abandoned building with all the traces of use, which offer a suitable poetic space to the narrator’s audio report and a voice performance.

André Eckardt
Kids DOK 2014
Caterpillar and Hen Michela Donini, Katya Rinaldi

The hen and the caterpillar are the best friends in the world. And yet they must say goodbye to each other. Fortunately not forever …

Caterpillar and Hen

Animated Film
Italy
2013
10 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Michela Donini
Michela Donini, Katya Rinaldi
Tiziano Popoli
Michela Donini, Katya Rinaldi
Michela Donini, Katya Rinaldi
Michela Donini, Katya Rinaldi
Michela Donini, Katya Rinaldi
Andrea Martignoni, Tiziano Popoli
The hen and the caterpillar are the best friends in the world. And yet they must say goodbye to each other. Fortunately not forever …

Craboom

Animated Film
Italy
2012
12 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Craboom is the onomatopoeic sound of a strong explosion. An animatio where daily life elements turn into imagery symbols. In a paper world populated by two-dimensional characters, the interference of a disruptive vision breaks the “inexorable running” of a clock, blasting the harmony of a normal family life into small lonelinesses.

Das Venedig Prinzip

Documentary Film
Germany,
Italy,
Austria
2012
80 minutes
subtitles: 
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Thomas Tielsch, Filmtank GmbH
Andreas Pichler
Jan Tilman Schade
Attila Boa
Florian Miosge
Andreas Pichler, Thomas Tielsch
Stefano Bernardi
It’s hard to find a more popular city than Venice. But what is a dream for many people has become a nightmare for the residents. This film shows cruise ships and coaches spilling their loads of tourists at the banks of the old town, from which they flood squares, bridges and alleys. The tourists may bring money – especially for the big corporations -, but they are also the curse of this city.
This film follows a few residents, perhaps the last of their kind, through their Venice. They show an infrastructure on the verge of collapse. Food stores are rare; schools and post offices have closed, replaced by ever more hotels and piers for huge cruise ships. “What can you do?” a Venetian woman asks resignedly. “Sell glassware and souvenirs?” She too rents out her house to pay for its refurbishment. Another born Venetian is forced to move to the mainland because he can’t afford the rent. Only foreigners and rich Italians can pay the expensive prices per square meter, an embittered real estate agent concludes. Only 60000 residents still live in the historic city centre today. The same number of people visit the city every day. Venice is degenerating into an open air museum. The film takes a sobering look behind the picture postcard idylls of Doge’s Palace, Rialto Bridge and the pigeons of St. Mark’s Square.

– Antje Stamer

Denoise

360°-Film
Italy,
Switzerland,
USA
2017
15 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Federico Biasin
Giorgio Ferrero, Federico Biasin
Giorgio Ferrero, Rodolfo Mongitore
Fabrizio Cyreck, Giorgio Ferrero, Federico Biasin
Filippo Vallegra
Giorgio Ferrero, Rodolfo Mongitore
Giorgio Ferrero
A Texas oil field, the engine room of an ocean freighter, an anechoic room, a waste incineration plant – contrasting sceneries that are connected by the protagonists of this 360° collage film. They lead lonely lives, far removed from our own lifestyle. The quiet of the free field chamber clashes with the roaring of the engine room, but ultimately it’s all one.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann
International Programme 2017
Die fünfte Himmelsrichtung Martin Prinoth

A family film about the search for one’s biological mother, for roots, one’s identity. The trail leads to the Dolomite Alps, Brazil and even the bottom of the ocean.

Die fünfte Himmelsrichtung

Documentary Film
Germany,
Italy
2017
78 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Martin Prinoth, Valerio B. Moser, Andreas Pichler
Martin Prinoth
Max Andrzejewski, Marco Mlynek
Jytte Hill
Martin Prinoth
Martin Prinoth, Akın E. Şipal
Martin Prinoth
The drama is reflected in geological dimensions, in primeval depths. Where does mankind’s desire to learn how the world was created come from? Where do we come from? There is stardust, the primary matter, the answer to the question, in the rocks at the bottom of the ocean. The origin of all life can be studied, but not necessarily the origin of an individual life.

Martin Prinoth took his film to the bottom of the sea – where the primary stone is found. And where his cousin Georg’s body sank when he was killed in a plane crash over the Atlantic in 2009. Georg was adopted, like his brother Markus. They were born in Brazil and moved into a village in the Dolomites when they were small children, with no knowledge of their origin and who were or are their biological mothers. “The Fifth Point of the Compass” goes on an exceptionally sensitive and attentive quest for the roots and identities of its protagonists – from South Tyrol to Brazilia and finally to the bottom of the ocean.

Lukas Stern


Nominated for Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize
Retrospective 2018
Emigration 68 Luigi Perelli

Migrant labourers tell their stories: of being a “guest” in Belgium, France and the FRG, of experiences of loss that became an aphorism: It’s German in coldland.

Emigration 68

Documentary Film
Italy
1969
33 minutes
subtitles: 
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Luigi Perelli
Franco Potenza
Alberto Marrama
Raimondo Crociani
Dacia Maraini
Migrant labourers tell their stories: of being a “guest” in Belgium, France and the FRG, of experiences of loss that became an aphorism: It’s German in coldland.

Ralph Eue

Exemplary Behaviour

Documentary Film
Bulgaria,
Italy,
Lithuania,
Slovenia
2019
85 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Rasa Miškinytė, Martichka Bozhilova, Igor Pediček, Edoardo Fracchia
Audrius Mickevičius, Nerijus Milerius
Marjan Šijanec
Audrius Kemezys, Valdas Jarutis, Julius Žalnierukynas, Audrius Mickevičius
Ema Konstantinova, Armas Rudaitis
Rimas Sakalauskas
Audrius Mickevičius, Georgi Tenev
Saulius Urbanavičius
Audrius Mickevičius puts the horribly disfigured face of his murdered brother at the start of his film. He’s interested in the question of how someone atones for such an act. With regard to this particular crime one could say: far too short, because the murderer is released after only five years on the grounds that he proved himself to be an exemplary prisoner. Mickevičius doesn’t confine himself to this individual case, though, but raises his film to a more general level: “Exemplary Behaviour” is almost a meditation about the question whether a final act like murder can be atoned for in a temporal order – and whether the passing of time allows the victim’s family to forgive.

Mickevičius uses the example of two lifers (one of them gets married and wants to have children, the other pours his whole passion into an idea of craftsmanship) and a philosopher with prison experience (Bernhard Stiegler) to make that strange state of suspended life comprehensible. The elegiac undertone is finally reinforced by the information that Audrius Mickevičius fell ill and died during the production of “Exemplary Behaviour”. The film was completed by Nerijus Milerius.

Bert Rebhandl



Awarded with a Golden Dove in the International Competition Long Film, with the Prize of the Interreligious Jury and with the FIPRESCI Prize.

Doc Alliance Selection 2016
Fragment 53 Carlo Gabriele Tribbioli, Federico Lodoli

Former warlords talk about their actions in the Liberian civil war. Extremely intense, meticulously researched and formally austere study of violence and brutality.

Fragment 53

Documentary Film
Italy,
Switzerland
2015
71 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Tommaso Bertani, Federica Schiavo
Carlo Gabriele Tribbioli, Federico Lodoli
Carlo Gabriele Tribbioli, Federico Lodoli
Carlo Gabriele Tribbioli, Federico Lodoli
Carlo Gabriele Tribbioli, Federico Lodoli
Extremly condensed, meticulously researched and journalistic study of Liberia’s recent history. Seven former warlords of different ranks talk in interviews about cruelties they committed on their own or following orders during the first Liberian civil war in the early 1990s. Memories of brutal orgies of violence are recited with almost bureaucratic precision, interrupted only by precisely framed shots of the beautiful landscape in which – as we gradually realise – the now invisible horror took place.

Lina Dinkla

Frosted Chocolate Mouse

Animated Film
Italy
2011
3 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Donato Sansone, Milkyeyes
Donato Sansone
Enrico Ascoli
Donato Sansone
Donato Sansone
Donato Sansone
Donato Sansone
Enrico Ascoli
Not only the worldnever stops but also the stream of consciousness. A dreamlike and surreal vision in which the same elements swirl around, running after themselves in an infinite sequence.
Next Masters Wettbewerb 2017
Funeralopolis. A Suburban Portrait Alessandro Redaelli

Two young men in a town near Milan who challenge life itself, love and death. They risk themselves because everything else seems even riskier.

Funeralopolis. A Suburban Portrait

Documentary Film
Italy
2017
94 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Barbara Guieu
Alessandro Redaelli
Ruggero Melis
Alessandro Radaelli
Daniele Fagone, Ruggero Melis, Alessandro Redaelli
Daniele Fagone, Ruggero Melis, Alessandro Redaelli
Michele Benedetti
Losing senses is often the path to finding meaning. Drug paraphernalia in the tiny dirty train toilet. Cut. A belt around a thin upper arm. Fade to black. A needle hanging from a vein. Fade to black. A trickle of blood on the arm. Can you use the water here to wash yourself? Better not. We meet Vash and Felce between Bresso, Sesto San Giovanni and Milan. Vash is younger than Felce, cheerful, with his hair in something that makes him look “like a mushroom”. Felce used to study architecture. They make music, party and take drugs.

Alessandro Redaelli used to shoot juice commercials featuring colourfully dressed and laughing young people. But in this film there are no colours. Some laughing though – and crying. Everything races past and we don’t know where. This “suburban portrait” deals with vanities and fashion, provocation and the right timing. Redaelli insists that his film is not about heroin and definitely not an educational film about the consequences of addiction. To him it’s a film about two friends looking for a meaning in life.

Carolin Weidner
International Programme 2015
Haircut Virginia Mori

A pupil and a teacher, alone in a bare classroom. On the surface this is about the girl’s hairdo. But what exactly is it that unfolds around the long pigtail: a power game, a showdown, or just a fantasy?

Haircut

Animated Film
France,
Italy
2014
8 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Pascaline Saillant
Virginia Mori
Andrea Martignoni
Lola Capote Ortiz
Virginia Mori
Virginia Mori
Andrea Martignoni
A pupil and a teacher, alone in a bare classroom. On the surface this is about the girl’s hairdo. But what exactly is it that unfolds around the long pigtail: a power game, a showdown, or just a fantasy? Virginia Mori spent a year drawing with pencil and ballpoint pen on paper. Her 3,000 drawings, set to Andrea Martignoni’s music, are condensed into a melancholy and dreamlike chamber play about power and submission.

Nadja Rademacher

I Had a Dream

Documentary Film
France,
Italy
2018
84 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Claudia Tosi, Nathalie Combe
Claudia Tosi
Daniele Rossi, Enrico Pasini
Claudia Tosi, Andrea Gioacchini
Marco Duretti
Claudia Tosi
Diego Schiavo
This film is flanked by two men: Silvio Berlusconi, who in 2008 became Italian Prime Minister for the fourth time, and Donald Trump, who was sworn in as president of the United States a little less than a decade later. Manuela, a member of the Italian Parliament, and Daniela, a local politician, see this period, marked as it is by men, as the epitome of political regression. Both have spent years fighting for more sexual equality, better laws to protect women from domestic violence and a more diverse body of political decision makers.

Is politics dead? This brutal question guides Claudia Tosi’s long-term observation of the developments of the past decade in Italy. With a loss of 6.7 % of the votes, the democrats were clearly defeated by the populist and Eurosceptic Five Star Movement. Neither Manuela nor Daniela ever thought that democracy, civil solidarity and the desire for progress would one day be challenged to such an extent or that Berlusconism, which they believed was overcome, would have such pervasive after-effects.

Lukas Stern



Awarded with a Golden Dove in the International Competition Long Film, with the Prize of the Interreligious Jury and with the FIPRESCI Prize

Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2016
Im Märkischen Sand Nina Mair, Matthias Neumann, Katalin Ambrus

Only four survived. The other 127 were dead when the Germans hastily buried their bodies. Antonio Ceseri, one of the four, could hardly breathe under the sand.

Im Märkischen Sand

(none)
Germany,
Italy
2016
136 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nina Mair, Matthias Neumann
Nina Mair, Matthias Neumann, Katalin Ambrus
Andrea Blasetig, Stefano Fornasaro
Matthias Neumann
Lucian Busse
Cosimo Miorelli
Aurora Kellermann
Romano Casellini
Chris Wilson
Only four survived. The other 127 were dead when the Germans hastily buried their bodies. Antonio Ceseri, one of the four, could hardly breathe under the sand. Sebaldushof near Treuenbrietzen was one of 40,000 labour camps in Nazi Germany. “The Sandmine” is a journey deep into a forgotten part of German-Italian history. In six chapters and 24 episodes the web documentary employs a distinct mixture of animation and documentation to uncover war crimes that seemed long buried under the sand.

Lars Rummel

Filmarchiv

Countries (Film Archive)

Appunti del passaggio

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien,
Italien,
Schweiz
2016
44 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Maria Iorio, Le Souvenir du Présent
Maria Iorio, Raphaël Cuomo
Alessandra Eramo
Gilles Aubry
„Ich habe keine bildliche Erinnerung. Ich erinnere mich an die Empfindungen.“ In ihrem künstlerisch bemerkenswert verdichteten Dokumentarfilm bündeln Maria Iorio und Raphaël Cuomo verschiedene Zeitzeugenaussagen zum persönlichen Bericht einer Italienerin, die 1965 als Arbeitsmigrantin in die Schweiz einreiste. Zentral ist für die Stellvertreterin vieler damaliger Wirtschaftsflüchtlinge aus Südeuropa das Gefühl, ein „vogelfreier Arbeits-Körper“ gewesen zu sein. Sie fühlt sich gedemütigt und kontrolliert durch die Prozeduren in der „Grenzsanität“, durch massive Unterbezahlung, gefährliche Arbeitsbedingungen, psychischen Druck in der Fabrik sowie durch offen geäußerte, verletzende Ressentiments gegenüber dem Fremden.

Der Film ist eine Collage aus Erinnerungsstücken, der eine weibliche Sprecherin ihre Stimme leiht und die bildlich bewusst im Ungefähren bleibt. Im Ungefähren, aber äußerst wirkungsvoll und offensichtlich skeptisch gegenüber realitätsversprechenden visuellen Zeugnissen. Neben verdrehten Detailausschnitten und Negativen von wenigen überlieferten Fotos bieten vor allem ruhige Videoaufnahmen aus der Jetztzeit, etwa die eines verlassenen Gebäudes mit all seinen Gebrauchsspuren, dem Audiobericht der Sprecherin und einer Stimmenperformance den passenden poetischen Raum.

André Eckardt
Kids DOK 2014
Caterpillar and Hen Michela Donini, Katya Rinaldi

Das Huhn und die Raupe sind die besten Freunde der Welt. Trotzdem müssen sie sich voneinander verabschieden. Aber zum Glück nicht für immer …

Caterpillar and Hen

Animationsfilm
Italien
2013
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Michela Donini
Michela Donini, Katya Rinaldi
Tiziano Popoli
Michela Donini, Katya Rinaldi
Michela Donini, Katya Rinaldi
Michela Donini, Katya Rinaldi
Michela Donini, Katya Rinaldi
Andrea Martignoni, Tiziano Popoli
Das Huhn und die Raupe sind die besten Freunde der Welt. Trotzdem müssen sie sich voneinander verabschieden. Aber zum Glück nicht für immer …

Craboom

Animationsfilm
Italien
2012
12 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Kabumm ist der lautmalerische Ausdruck für eine große Explosion. Dies ist eine Animation, in der alltägliche Dinge sich in Symbole verwandeln. In einer Welt aus Papier, die von zweidimensionalen Wesen bevölkert wird, durchbricht eine störende Vision den „unerbittlichen Gang“ einer Uhr und zerlegt die Harmonie eines normalen Familienlebens in lauter kleine Einsamkeiten.

Das Venedig Prinzip

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland,
Italien,
Österreich
2012
80 Minuten
Untertitel: 
deutsche

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Thomas Tielsch, Filmtank GmbH
Andreas Pichler
Jan Tilman Schade
Attila Boa
Florian Miosge
Andreas Pichler, Thomas Tielsch
Stefano Bernardi

Kaum eine Stadt ist so beliebt wie Venedig. Aber was für die einen ein Traum, ist für die Bewohner zum Albtraum geworden. Der Film zeigt wie ganze Kreuzfahrtschiffe und Busladungen voller Touristen am Ufer der Altstadt ausgekippt werden und sich über die Plätze, Brücken und Gassen ergießen. Die Touristen bringen zwar Geld – vor allem den großen Konzernen, sind aber auch der Fluch dieser Stadt. Der Film begleitet einige Venezianer, vielleicht die letzten ihrer Art, durch ihr Venedig. Sie zeigen, dass die Infrastruktur zusammenbricht. Lebensmittelgeschäfte rar sind, Schulen und die Post dicht gemacht haben. Dafür entstehen immer mehr Hotels und Hafenflächen für riesige Kreuzfahrtschiffe. „Was soll man hier machen?“, fragt eine Venezianerin resigniert. „Glassachen und Souvenirs verkaufen?“ Auch sie vermietet ihr Haus, um die Sanierung zu bezahlen. Ein anderer Ur-Venezianer muss aufs Festland ziehen, da er sich die Miete nicht mehr leisten kann. Nur Ausländer und reiche Italiener können die teuren Quadratmeterpreise bezahlen, bilanziert ein verbitterter Immobilienmakler. Im historischen Zentrum leben heute nur noch 60000 Einwohner. Das sind genauso viele Menschen wie Besucher pro Tag. Venedig verkommt zum Freilichtmuseum. Der Film wirft einen ernüchternden Blick hinter die Postkartenidylle von Dogenpalast, Rialtobrücke und den Tauben vom Markusplatz. – Antje Stamer


Denoise

360°-Film
Italien,
Schweiz,
USA
2017
15 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Federico Biasin
Giorgio Ferrero, Federico Biasin
Giorgio Ferrero, Rodolfo Mongitore
Fabrizio Cyreck, Giorgio Ferrero, Federico Biasin
Filippo Vallegra
Giorgio Ferrero, Rodolfo Mongitore
Giorgio Ferrero
Ein Ölfeld in Texas, der Maschinenraum eines Überseefrachters, ein schalltoter Raum, eine Müllverbrennungsanlage – verbindendes Element dieser gegensätzlichen Szenerien sind die Protagonisten dieses collageartigen 360°-Films. Sie führen einsame Existenzen, fernab unseres eigenen Lebensstils. Die Stille der reflexionsarmen Kammer trifft auf das Dröhnen im Maschinenraum. Doch am Ende ist alles eins.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann
Internationales Programm 2017
Die fünfte Himmelsrichtung Martin Prinoth

Ein Familienfilm über die Suche nach der leiblichen Mutter, nach Wurzeln, nach der eigenen Identität. Die Spuren führen in die Dolomiten, nach Brasilien und sogar auf den Grund des Meeres.

Die fünfte Himmelsrichtung

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland,
Italien
2017
78 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Martin Prinoth, Valerio B. Moser, Andreas Pichler
Martin Prinoth
Max Andrzejewski, Marco Mlynek
Jytte Hill
Martin Prinoth
Martin Prinoth, Akın E. Şipal
Martin Prinoth
Das Drama spiegelt sich in geologischen Dimensionen, in urgeschichtlichen Tiefen. Woher kommt die Sehnsucht des Menschen zu erfahren, wie die Welt entstand? Woher kommen wir? In den Gesteinen aus der Tiefe des Ozeans steckt der Sternenstaub, die Urmaterie, die Antwort auf die Frage. Der Ursprung allen Lebens lässt sich erforschen. Der Ursprung eines ganz bestimmten Lebens jedoch nicht unbedingt.

Martin Prinoth hat seinen Film bis auf den Meeresgrund gebracht – dorthin, wo das Urgestein liegt. Und dorthin, wo die Leiche seines Cousins Georg sank, als der 2009 bei einem Flugzeugabsturz über dem Atlantik ums Leben kam. Georg war ein Adoptivkind, genau wie sein Bruder Markus. Sie wurden in Brasilien geboren und zogen als kleine Kinder in ein Dorf in den Dolomiten – ohne jede Kenntnis über ihre Herkunft, ohne zu wissen, wer ihre leiblichen Mütter waren oder sind. Mit besonderer Sensibilität und Aufmerksamkeit begibt sich die „Die fünfte Himmelsrichtung“ auf die Suche nach den Wurzeln und der Identität seiner Protagonisten – von Südtirol bis nach Brasilien und schließlich bis auf den Grund des Meeres.

Lukas Stern


Nominiert für Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts
Retrospektive 2018
Emigration 68 Luigi Perelli

Arbeitsmigranten erzählen: vom „Gast“ sein in Belgien, Frankreich und der BRD, von Verlusterfahrungen, die zum Sinnspruch wurden: Es ist deutsch in Kaltland.

Emigration 68

Dokumentarfilm
Italien
1969
33 Minuten
Untertitel: 
deutsche

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Luigi Perelli
Franco Potenza
Alberto Marrama
Raimondo Crociani
Dacia Maraini
Arbeitsmigranten erzählen: vom „Gast“ sein in Belgien, Frankreich und der BRD, von Verlusterfahrungen, die zum Sinnspruch wurden: Es ist deutsch in Kaltland.

Ralph Eue

Exemplary Behaviour

Dokumentarfilm
Bulgarien,
Italien,
Litauen,
Slowenien
2019
85 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Rasa Miškinytė, Martichka Bozhilova, Igor Pediček, Edoardo Fracchia
Audrius Mickevičius, Nerijus Milerius
Marjan Šijanec
Audrius Kemezys, Valdas Jarutis, Julius Žalnierukynas, Audrius Mickevičius
Ema Konstantinova, Armas Rudaitis
Rimas Sakalauskas
Audrius Mickevičius, Georgi Tenev
Saulius Urbanavičius
Das grässlich entstellte Gesicht seines ermordeten Bruders stellt Audrius Mickevičius an den Beginn seines Films. Er interessiert sich dafür, wie jemand für eine solche Tat büßt. Im Hinblick auf dieses konkrete Verbrechen könnte man meinen: viel zu kurz, denn der Täter kommt schon nach fünf Jahren wieder frei, weil er sich im Gefängnis als mustergültiger Häftling gezeigt hat. Mickevičius bleibt allerdings nicht bei dem individuellen Fall, sondern hebt seinen Film auf eine allgemeinere Ebene: „Exemplary Behaviour“ ist beinahe so etwas wie eine Meditation über die Frage, ob sich in einer zeitlichen Ordnung eine endgültige Tat wie ein Mord sühnen lässt – und ob die verstreichende Zeit es den Hinterbliebenen des Opfers erlaubt zu verzeihen.

Am Beispiel zweier Lebenslänglicher (der eine heiratet und wünscht sich Kinder, der andere legt seine ganze Leidenschaft in eine Idee von Kunsthandwerk) und eines Philosophen mit Hafterfahrung (Bernard Stiegler) macht Mickevičius den eigentümlichen Zustand eines suspendierten Lebens nachvollziehbar. Die elegische Grundstimmung wird schließlich noch verstärkt durch die Information, dass Audrius Mickevičius während der Produktion von „Exemplary Behaviour“ erkrankte und starb. Nerijus Milerius besorgte die Fertigstellung.

Bert Rebhandl



Ausgezeichnet mit einer Goldenen Taube im Internationalen Wettbewerb Langfilm, mit dem Preis der Interreligiösen Jury und mit dem FIPRESCI Preis.

Doc Alliance Selection 2016
Fragment 53 Carlo Gabriele Tribbioli, Federico Lodoli

Ehemalige Warlords über ihre Taten im Liberianischen Bürgerkrieg. Extrem dichte, akribisch recherchierte und formal strenge Studie über Gewalt und Brutalität.

Fragment 53

Dokumentarfilm
Italien,
Schweiz
2015
71 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Tommaso Bertani, Federica Schiavo
Carlo Gabriele Tribbioli, Federico Lodoli
Carlo Gabriele Tribbioli, Federico Lodoli
Carlo Gabriele Tribbioli, Federico Lodoli
Carlo Gabriele Tribbioli, Federico Lodoli
Extrem dichte, akribisch recherchierte und journalistisch angelegte Studie über Liberias jüngere Geschichte. In Interviews sprechen sieben ehemalige Warlords unterschiedlicher Rangordnung über Grausamkeiten, die sie eigenmächtig oder auf Befehl während des ersten Liberianischen Bürgerkrieges Anfang der 1990er Jahre verübten. In einer fast bürokratisch zu nennenden Genauigkeit werden die Erinnerungen an die brutalen Gewaltorgien vorgetragen, nur unterbrochen von präzise komponierten Aufnahmen der wunderschönen Landschaft, in der – wie nach und nach deutlich wird – der nun nicht mehr sichtbare Horror stattgefunden hat.

Lina Dinkla

Frosted Chocolate Mouse

Animationsfilm
Italien
2011
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Donato Sansone, Milkyeyes
Donato Sansone
Enrico Ascoli
Donato Sansone
Donato Sansone
Donato Sansone
Donato Sansone
Enrico Ascoli
Nicht nur die Welt hält nie an, sondern auch der Bewusstseinsstrom. Eine traumartige und surreale Vision, in der die immer gleichen Elemente herumwirbeln und sich endlos selbst verfolgen.
Next Masters Wettbewerb 2017
Funeralopolis. A Suburban Portrait Alessandro Redaelli

In einer Gemeinde bei Mailand fordern zwei junge Männer das Leben heraus, die Liebe, den Tod. Sie riskieren sich selbst, weil alles andere riskanter erscheint.

Funeralopolis. A Suburban Portrait

Dokumentarfilm
Italien
2017
94 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Barbara Guieu
Alessandro Redaelli
Ruggero Melis
Alessandro Radaelli
Daniele Fagone, Ruggero Melis, Alessandro Redaelli
Daniele Fagone, Ruggero Melis, Alessandro Redaelli
Michele Benedetti
Der Verlust der Sinne ist der Weg, Sinn zu finden. Auf der kleinen schmutzigen Zugtoilette das Spritzbesteck. Schnitt. Gürtel um den mageren Oberarm. Schwarzblende. Nadel hängt in einer Vene. Schwarzblende. Blutrinne am Arm. Kann man sich mit dem Wasser hier waschen? Lieber nicht. Zwischen Bresso, Sesto San Giovanni und Mailand trifft man Vash und Felce. Vash ist jünger als Felce, aufgekratzt und trägt eine Frisur, mit der er aussieht „wie ein Pilz“. Felce hat Architektur studiert. Sie machen Musik und Party und nehmen Drogen.

Alessandro Redaelli hat Werbung für Fruchtsäfte gedreht, in der man bunt angezogene junge Leute sieht, die lachen. In seinem Film aber gibt es keine Farben. Gelacht wird trotzdem. Und geweint. Alles rast und man weiß nicht, wohin. In diesem „suburbanen Porträt“ geht es um Eitelkeiten und um Mode, Provokation und das richtige Timing. Redaelli besteht darauf, dass sein Film nicht von Heroin erzählt und schon gar nicht über die Folgen von Sucht aufklären will. Für ihn ist es ein Film über zwei Freunde auf der Suche nach Bedeutung im Leben.

Carolin Weidner
Internationales Programm 2015
Haircut Virginia Mori

Eine Schülerin und eine Lehrerin, allein in einem kargen Klassenraum. Vordergründig geht es um die Frisur des Mädchens. Aber was entspinnt sich da um den langen Zopf: ein Machtspiel, ein Showdown, oder ist es nur ein Fantasiegespinst?

Haircut

Animationsfilm
Frankreich,
Italien
2014
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Pascaline Saillant
Virginia Mori
Andrea Martignoni
Lola Capote Ortiz
Virginia Mori
Virginia Mori
Andrea Martignoni
Eine Schülerin und eine Lehrerin, allein in einem kargen Klassenraum. Vordergründig geht es um die Frisur des Mädchens. Aber was entspinnt sich da um den langen Zopf: ein Machtspiel, ein Showdown, oder ist es nur ein Fantasiegespinst? Virginia Mori zeichnete ein Jahr lang mit Bleistift und Kugelschreiber auf Papier. Ihre 3.000 Zeichnungen verdichten sich mit der Musik von Andrea Martignoni zu einem so melancholischen wie traumartigen Kammerspiel um Macht und Unterwerfung.

Nadja Rademacher

I Had a Dream

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich,
Italien
2018
84 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Claudia Tosi, Nathalie Combe
Claudia Tosi
Daniele Rossi, Enrico Pasini
Claudia Tosi, Andrea Gioacchini
Marco Duretti
Claudia Tosi
Diego Schiavo
Zwei Männer flankieren diesen Film: Silvio Berlusconi, der 2008 zum vierten Mal italienischer Ministerpräsident wurde, und Donald Trump, der ein knappes Jahrzehnt später als amerikanischer Präsident vereidigt wurde. Für Manuela, eine Abgeordnete des italienischen Parlaments, und Daniela, eine Lokalpolitikerin, ist dieser dergestalt männlich markierte Zeitraum der Inbegriff für den politischen Regress. Seit Jahren kämpfen die beiden für mehr Gleichberechtigung zwischen den Geschlechtern, für bessere Gesetze zum Schutz vor häuslicher Gewalt gegen Frauen und für ein diverseres Gesamtbild politischer Verantwortungsträger.

Ist die Politik tot? Diese brutale Frage leitet Claudia Tosis Langzeitstudie über die Entwicklungen des letzten italienischen Jahrzehnts an. Mit einem Verlust von 6,7 % der Stimmen unterlagen die Demokraten 2018 deutlich gegen die populistische und europaskeptische Fünf-Sterne-Bewegung. Dass Demokratie, zivilgesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt und Fortschrittswille noch einmal derart infrage stehen, dass der überwunden geglaubte Berlusconismus noch in einem solchen Ausmaß nachwirkt, hätten Manuela und Daniela nicht für möglich gehalten.

Lukas Stern



Ausgezeichnet mit einer Goldenen Taube im Internationalen Wettbewerb Langfilm, mit dem Preis der Interreligiösen Jury und mit dem FIPRESCI Preis



Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2016
Im Märkischen Sand Nina Mair, Matthias Neumann, Katalin Ambrus

Nur vier überlebten. Die anderen 127 waren tot, als die Deutschen eilig ihre Körper verscharrten. Antonio Ceseri, einer dieser Vier, hatte unter dem Sand kaum Luft bekommen.

Im Märkischen Sand

(none)
Deutschland,
Italien
2016
136 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nina Mair, Matthias Neumann
Nina Mair, Matthias Neumann, Katalin Ambrus
Andrea Blasetig, Stefano Fornasaro
Matthias Neumann
Lucian Busse
Cosimo Miorelli
Aurora Kellermann
Romano Casellini
Chris Wilson
Nur vier überlebten. Die anderen 127 waren tot, als die Deutschen eilig ihre Körper verscharrten. Antonio Ceseri, einer dieser vier, hatte unter dem Sand kaum Luft bekommen. Der Sebaldushof bei Treuenbrietzen war eines von 40.000 Arbeitslagern in Nazi-Deutschland. „Unter dem Märkischen Sand“ ist eine Reise tief in einen vergessenen Teil der deutsch-italienischen Geschichte. In sechs Kapiteln und 24 Episoden enthüllt die Webdokumentation in einer besonderen Mischung aus Animation und Dokumentation Kriegsverbrechen, die längst unter dem Sand begraben schienen.

Lars Rummel