Film Archive

Craboom

Animated Film
Italy
2012
12 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Craboom is the onomatopoeic sound of a strong explosion. An animatio where daily life elements turn into imagery symbols. In a paper world populated by two-dimensional characters, the interference of a disruptive vision breaks the “inexorable running” of a clock, blasting the harmony of a normal family life into small lonelinesses.

Das Venedig Prinzip

Documentary Film
Germany,
Italy,
Austria
2012
80 minutes
subtitles: 
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Thomas Tielsch, Filmtank GmbH
Andreas Pichler
Jan Tilman Schade
Attila Boa
Florian Miosge
Andreas Pichler, Thomas Tielsch
Stefano Bernardi
It’s hard to find a more popular city than Venice. But what is a dream for many people has become a nightmare for the residents. This film shows cruise ships and coaches spilling their loads of tourists at the banks of the old town, from which they flood squares, bridges and alleys. The tourists may bring money – especially for the big corporations -, but they are also the curse of this city.
This film follows a few residents, perhaps the last of their kind, through their Venice. They show an infrastructure on the verge of collapse. Food stores are rare; schools and post offices have closed, replaced by ever more hotels and piers for huge cruise ships. “What can you do?” a Venetian woman asks resignedly. “Sell glassware and souvenirs?” She too rents out her house to pay for its refurbishment. Another born Venetian is forced to move to the mainland because he can’t afford the rent. Only foreigners and rich Italians can pay the expensive prices per square meter, an embittered real estate agent concludes. Only 60000 residents still live in the historic city centre today. The same number of people visit the city every day. Venice is degenerating into an open air museum. The film takes a sobering look behind the picture postcard idylls of Doge’s Palace, Rialto Bridge and the pigeons of St. Mark’s Square.

– Antje Stamer

Frosted Chocolate Mouse

Animated Film
Italy
2011
3 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Donato Sansone, Milkyeyes
Donato Sansone
Enrico Ascoli
Donato Sansone
Donato Sansone
Donato Sansone
Donato Sansone
Enrico Ascoli
Not only the worldnever stops but also the stream of consciousness. A dreamlike and surreal vision in which the same elements swirl around, running after themselves in an infinite sequence.
International Programme 2012
Isqat al Nizam - At The Regime Border Antonio Martino

An expedition to the Syrian border, encounters with refugees, deserted soldiers, Internet activists. Blood, beatings, torture, executions. A harrowing border experience.

Isqat al Nizam - At The Regime Border

Documentary Film
Italy
2012
78 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Roberto Ruini, Pulsemedia
Antonio Martino
Mario Romanazzi, Valerio Pellegri, Vincenzo Scorza
Antonio Martino
Giuseppe Trepiccione, Simone Incerti Zambelli
Giordano Raggi
Diego Schiavo
This powerful film about the Syrian revolution features a variety of borderline experiences. For example the exiled journalist who is collecting material for an oppositional television network at the Turkish-Syrian border. He meets compatriots from all population groups – deserted soldiers, Internet fighters, refugees. The camera in these live sound passages is almost frozen, the shadows on the faces sharply delineated: stories of the beginning of the revolution, of dead friends and siblings. Then there are the disturbing YouTube films produced by the hundreds every day – a system running amuck. Soldiers in heavy boots jumping on the heads of tied-up protesters. Soldiers shooting a prisoner. Soldiers taking whole cities hostage. Orders to snipers: shoot everyone filming with a mobile phone! A young man who a moment ago was recording is bleeding to death on the backseat of a taxi. His brother continues. Upload to the Web. It’s mind-boggling when the agents of the system film each other at work. On camera torture. Executions. And beatings, beatings, beatings. There are no more restraints here. Finally the panic in a young girl’s voice as she watches soldiers storming her parents’ house. And we, who are watching all this? We allow the statesmen and special envoys and commissioners to play their game of oil, military bases and geopolitics. We have become so tired of all the images flooding us, and so weak. Still – there is no alternative to publishing this horror. The revolt is circling on the web. The fever is rising.
– Matthias Heeder

White Men

Documentary Film
Italy
2011
65 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Enrico Giovannone, Babydocfilm
Alessandro Baltera, Matteo Tortone
Rodolfo Mongitore
Matteo Tortone
Alessandro Baltera, Enrico Giovannone
Alessandro Baltera, Matteo Tortone
Nicolò Angelino
The white citizens of Tanzania are the rich settlers. The “white men”, the albinos, however, the white ones among the black ones, are considered underprivileged and leprous. And not only that: especially in the region around Lake Victoria superstition has it that anyone who owns a part of their body will suddenly become rich. So they live like fair game, constantly in danger of being attacked, mutilated or hacked to pieces. The film manages to make this permanent feeling of exposure palpable by following the protagonists on long walks through streets lined with shabby cabins. What is garbage here, what is furniture? They seem defenceless, forced to run this gauntlet every day while people are calling from all sides: Hey, white man. The two Italian directors Baltera and Tortone portray four of them, show how they organise their survival, how they fight back. The rapper Dixon, for example, takes the offensive: as Mr. White he angrily cries out his lyrics at the local Kiss Club. Or Alfred Kapole, president of the local Albino Center, who collects all the horrible news from the region, usually unable to help. The idea of shooting the film in black and white is almost mandatory as a format if you want to take the albinos’ perspective. Those who are different face difficulties all across the globe, but here, where the perpetrators have practically nothing to fear, the albinos live in dread.
– Cornelia Klauß

Filmarchiv

Craboom

Animationsfilm
Italien
2012
12 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Francesco Arcuri
Kabumm ist der lautmalerische Ausdruck für eine große Explosion. Dies ist eine Animation, in der alltägliche Dinge sich in Symbole verwandeln. In einer Welt aus Papier, die von zweidimensionalen Wesen bevölkert wird, durchbricht eine störende Vision den „unerbittlichen Gang“ einer Uhr und zerlegt die Harmonie eines normalen Familienlebens in lauter kleine Einsamkeiten.

Das Venedig Prinzip

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland,
Italien,
Österreich
2012
80 Minuten
Untertitel: 
deutsche

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Thomas Tielsch, Filmtank GmbH
Andreas Pichler
Jan Tilman Schade
Attila Boa
Florian Miosge
Andreas Pichler, Thomas Tielsch
Stefano Bernardi

Kaum eine Stadt ist so beliebt wie Venedig. Aber was für die einen ein Traum, ist für die Bewohner zum Albtraum geworden. Der Film zeigt wie ganze Kreuzfahrtschiffe und Busladungen voller Touristen am Ufer der Altstadt ausgekippt werden und sich über die Plätze, Brücken und Gassen ergießen. Die Touristen bringen zwar Geld – vor allem den großen Konzernen, sind aber auch der Fluch dieser Stadt. Der Film begleitet einige Venezianer, vielleicht die letzten ihrer Art, durch ihr Venedig. Sie zeigen, dass die Infrastruktur zusammenbricht. Lebensmittelgeschäfte rar sind, Schulen und die Post dicht gemacht haben. Dafür entstehen immer mehr Hotels und Hafenflächen für riesige Kreuzfahrtschiffe. „Was soll man hier machen?“, fragt eine Venezianerin resigniert. „Glassachen und Souvenirs verkaufen?“ Auch sie vermietet ihr Haus, um die Sanierung zu bezahlen. Ein anderer Ur-Venezianer muss aufs Festland ziehen, da er sich die Miete nicht mehr leisten kann. Nur Ausländer und reiche Italiener können die teuren Quadratmeterpreise bezahlen, bilanziert ein verbitterter Immobilienmakler. Im historischen Zentrum leben heute nur noch 60000 Einwohner. Das sind genauso viele Menschen wie Besucher pro Tag. Venedig verkommt zum Freilichtmuseum. Der Film wirft einen ernüchternden Blick hinter die Postkartenidylle von Dogenpalast, Rialtobrücke und den Tauben vom Markusplatz. – Antje Stamer


Frosted Chocolate Mouse

Animationsfilm
Italien
2011
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Donato Sansone, Milkyeyes
Donato Sansone
Enrico Ascoli
Donato Sansone
Donato Sansone
Donato Sansone
Donato Sansone
Enrico Ascoli
Nicht nur die Welt hält nie an, sondern auch der Bewusstseinsstrom. Eine traumartige und surreale Vision, in der die immer gleichen Elemente herumwirbeln und sich endlos selbst verfolgen.
Internationales Programm 2012
Isqat al Nizam - At The Regime Border Antonio Martino

Erkundungen an der syrischen Grenze, Begegnungen mit Flüchtlingen, desertierten Militärs, Internet-Aktivisten. Blut, Schläge, Folter, Exekutionen. Eine erschütternde Grenz-Erfahrung.

Isqat al Nizam - At The Regime Border

Dokumentarfilm
Italien
2012
78 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Roberto Ruini, Pulsemedia
Antonio Martino
Mario Romanazzi, Valerio Pellegri, Vincenzo Scorza
Antonio Martino
Giuseppe Trepiccione, Simone Incerti Zambelli
Giordano Raggi
Diego Schiavo
Grenzerfahrungen bietet dieser heftige Film über die syrische Revolution in vielfacher Hinsicht. Da ist zum Einen der im Exil lebende Journalist, der an der türkisch-syrischen Grenze Material für einen TV-Sender der Opposition sammelt. Er trifft auf Landsleute aus allen Bevölkerungsteilen - desertierte Soldaten, Internet-Kämpfer, Flüchtlinge. Die Kamera ist in diesen O-Ton Passagen wie festgefroren, die Schatten auf den Gesichtern scharf: Erzählungen über den Beginn der Revolution, über tote Freunde und Geschwister. Dann sind da die verstörenden You Tube-Filme, die täglich zu Hunderten entstehen - das System läuft Amok. Soldaten, die mit schweren Stiefeln auf den Köpfen gefesselter Demonstranten herumspringen. Soldaten, die einen Gefangenen abknallen. Soldaten, die ganze Städte als Geisel nehmen. Befehl an die Scharfschützen: Handyfilmer erschießen! Auf dem Rücksitz eines Taxis verblutet ein junger Mann, der eben noch gedreht hat. Sein Bruder macht weiter. Upload ins Netz. Irrsinnigerweise filmen sich die Agenten des Systems gegenseitig bei ihrer Arbeit. Folter vor laufender Kamera. Exekutionen. Und Schläge, Schläge, Schläge. Hier existiert keine Grenze mehr. Schließlich die Panik in der Stimme eines jungen Mädchens, als sie sieht, wie die Soldaten das Haus der Eltern stürmen. Und wir, die wir zuschauen? Wir lassen die Staatsmänner und Sonderbotschafter und Bevollmächtigten ihr Spiel um Öl und Stützpunkte und Geopolitik treiben. So müde sind wir geworden der vielen Bildern, die uns überfluten - und so kraftlos. Dennoch - zur Veröffentlichung des Entsetzens existiert keine Alternative. Das Aufbegehren kreisti im Netz. Die Fieberkurve steigt.
– Matthias Heeder

White Men

Dokumentarfilm
Italien
2011
65 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Enrico Giovannone, Babydocfilm
Alessandro Baltera, Matteo Tortone
Rodolfo Mongitore
Matteo Tortone
Alessandro Baltera, Enrico Giovannone
Alessandro Baltera, Matteo Tortone
Nicolò Angelino
Die Weißen in Tansania, das sind die reichen Siedler. Dahingegen gelten die „white men“, die Albinos, die Weißen unter den Schwarzen, als unterprivilegiert und aussätzig. Aber nicht nur das: insbesondere in der Region um den Viktoriasee geht der Wunderglaube um, wer Körperteile von ihnen besitzt, dem wird plötzlicher Reichtum zuteil. So leben sie wie Freiwild, in der ständigen Gefahr, angegriffen, verstümmelt oder zerstückelt zu werden. Dem Film gelingt es, dieses permanente Gefühl des Ausgeliefertseins spürbar zu machen, indem die Kamera seine Protagonisten bei langen Gängen durch die von schäbigen Hütten gesäumten Straßen verfolgt. Was ist hier Müll, was Mobiliar? Schutzlos wirken sie, die tagtäglich den Spießrutenlauf ertragen müssen, wenn es von allen Seiten schallt: He, white man. Die beiden italienischen Regisseure Baltera und Tortone portraitieren vier von ihnen, zeigen, wie sie ihr Überleben organisieren, wie sie sich wehren. Der Rapper Dixon zum Beispiel, er geht in die Offensive: Als Mr. White schleudert er im örtlichen Kiss Club wütend seine Texte raus. Oder Alfred Kapole, der Vorsteher des Albino Centers, er sammelt all die Horrormeldungen aus der Gegend, helfen kann er in der Regel nicht. Dass der Film in Schwarz-Weiß gedreht wurde, ist als formale Idee geradezu zwingend, will man die Perspektive der Albinos nachvollziehen. Das Andersartige hat es nirgendwo auf der Welt leicht, aber hier, wo die Straftäter kaum etwas befürchten müssen, bleibt den Albinos die Angst im Nacken.
– Cornelia Klauß