Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

Die fünfte Himmelsrichtung

Documentary Film
Germany,
Italy
2017
78 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Martin Prinoth, Valerio B. Moser, Andreas Pichler
Martin Prinoth
Max Andrzejewski, Marco Mlynek
Jytte Hill
Martin Prinoth
Martin Prinoth, Akın E. Şipal
Martin Prinoth
The drama is reflected in geological dimensions, in primeval depths. Where does mankind’s desire to learn how the world was created come from? Where do we come from? There is stardust, the primary matter, the answer to the question, in the rocks at the bottom of the ocean. The origin of all life can be studied, but not necessarily the origin of an individual life.

Martin Prinoth took his film to the bottom of the sea – where the primary stone is found. And where his cousin Georg’s body sank when he was killed in a plane crash over the Atlantic in 2009. Georg was adopted, like his brother Markus. They were born in Brazil and moved into a village in the Dolomites when they were small children, with no knowledge of their origin and who were or are their biological mothers. “The Fifth Point of the Compass” goes on an exceptionally sensitive and attentive quest for the roots and identities of its protagonists – from South Tyrol to Brazilia and finally to the bottom of the ocean.

Lukas Stern


Nominated for Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Next Masters Wettbewerb
Funeralopolis. A Suburban Portrait Alessandro Redaelli

Two young men in a town near Milan who challenge life itself, love and death. They risk themselves because everything else seems even riskier.

Funeralopolis. A Suburban Portrait

Documentary Film
Italy
2017
94 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Barbara Guieu
Alessandro Redaelli
Ruggero Melis
Alessandro Radaelli
Daniele Fagone, Ruggero Melis, Alessandro Redaelli
Daniele Fagone, Ruggero Melis, Alessandro Redaelli
Michele Benedetti
Losing senses is often the path to finding meaning. Drug paraphernalia in the tiny dirty train toilet. Cut. A belt around a thin upper arm. Fade to black. A needle hanging from a vein. Fade to black. A trickle of blood on the arm. Can you use the water here to wash yourself? Better not. We meet Vash and Felce between Bresso, Sesto San Giovanni and Milan. Vash is younger than Felce, cheerful, with his hair in something that makes him look “like a mushroom”. Felce used to study architecture. They make music, party and take drugs.

Alessandro Redaelli used to shoot juice commercials featuring colourfully dressed and laughing young people. But in this film there are no colours. Some laughing though – and crying. Everything races past and we don’t know where. This “suburban portrait” deals with vanities and fashion, provocation and the right timing. Redaelli insists that his film is not about heroin and definitely not an educational film about the consequences of addiction. To him it’s a film about two friends looking for a meaning in life.

Carolin Weidner

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Post-Angst
Metachaos Alessandro Bavari

Dissolving bodies spinning through dystopian worlds, seemingly randomly. But the chaos follows disturbing rules of mutation and mitosis.

Metachaos

Animated Film
Italy
2010
9 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Alessandro Bavari
Alessandro Bavari
Jeff Ensign
Alessandro Bavari, Fulvio Sturniolo
Alessandro Bavari
Alessandro Bavari
Alessandro Bavari
Alessandro Bavari
Dissolving bodies spinning through dystopian worlds, seemingly randomly. But the chaos follows disturbing rules of mutation and mitosis.

Franziska Bruckner

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Next Masters Wettbewerb
The Strange Sound of Happiness Diego Pascal Panarello

The Sicilian Diego, plagued by existential crises, is haunted by a vision: the image of a Jew’s harp. His search for the history of this instrument takes him into deepest Siberia.

The Strange Sound of Happiness

Documentary Film
Germany,
Italy
2017
89 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Edoardo Fracchia
Diego Pascal Panarello
Bartolomeo Sailer
Matteo Cocco
Enrica Gatto, Carmen Kirchweger
Alvise Renzini
Diego Pascal Panarello
Danilo Romancino, Michael Haesters, Sorin Apostol
After twenty years, the failed musician Diego returns to his Sicilian hometown of Augusta with no money, job or perspectives. In a dream he has a vision of a Jew’s harp, called Marranzano in Italian. The half vibrant, half buzzing sound of this small musical instrument echoes in the chant of the omnipresent cicadas – and in the sound of an electric shaver. After some initial research at the local souvenir shop, Diego soon finds himself in freezing Yakutia, where the Jew’s harp is called Khomus and considered a lucky charm. In Siberia Diego also meets the most famous Khomus player in the world, a generally respected blacksmith with a striking resemblance to the master from “The Karate Kid”, and learns about the rich mythology of the instrument. People say, for example, that one of the best Marranzani flew into space one night to be played by a Russian cosmonaut. Diego’s research on the universal history of the Jew’s harp merges with the story of his personal pursuit of happiness, while his journey is driven in equal measure by self-questioning, ethnographical interest and associative enthusiasm.

Esther Buss



Honorary Mention Next Masters Competition;
Nominated for Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Die fünfte Himmelsrichtung

Dokumentarfilm
2017
78 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Martin Prinoth, Valerio B. Moser, Andreas Pichler
Martin Prinoth
Max Andrzejewski, Marco Mlynek
Jytte Hill
Martin Prinoth
Martin Prinoth, Akın E. Şipal
Martin Prinoth
Das Drama spiegelt sich in geologischen Dimensionen, in urgeschichtlichen Tiefen. Woher kommt die Sehnsucht des Menschen zu erfahren, wie die Welt entstand? Woher kommen wir? In den Gesteinen aus der Tiefe des Ozeans steckt der Sternenstaub, die Urmaterie, die Antwort auf die Frage. Der Ursprung allen Lebens lässt sich erforschen. Der Ursprung eines ganz bestimmten Lebens jedoch nicht unbedingt.

Martin Prinoth hat seinen Film bis auf den Meeresgrund gebracht – dorthin, wo das Urgestein liegt. Und dorthin, wo die Leiche seines Cousins Georg sank, als der 2009 bei einem Flugzeugabsturz über dem Atlantik ums Leben kam. Georg war ein Adoptivkind, genau wie sein Bruder Markus. Sie wurden in Brasilien geboren und zogen als kleine Kinder in ein Dorf in den Dolomiten – ohne jede Kenntnis über ihre Herkunft, ohne zu wissen, wer ihre leiblichen Mütter waren oder sind. Mit besonderer Sensibilität und Aufmerksamkeit begibt sich die „Die fünfte Himmelsrichtung“ auf die Suche nach den Wurzeln und der Identität seiner Protagonisten – von Südtirol bis nach Brasilien und schließlich bis auf den Grund des Meeres.

Lukas Stern


Nominiert für Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Next Masters Wettbewerb
Funeralopolis. A Suburban Portrait Alessandro Redaelli

In einer Gemeinde bei Mailand fordern zwei junge Männer das Leben heraus, die Liebe, den Tod. Sie riskieren sich selbst, weil alles andere riskanter erscheint.

Funeralopolis. A Suburban Portrait

Dokumentarfilm
2017
94 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Barbara Guieu
Alessandro Redaelli
Ruggero Melis
Alessandro Radaelli
Daniele Fagone, Ruggero Melis, Alessandro Redaelli
Daniele Fagone, Ruggero Melis, Alessandro Redaelli
Michele Benedetti
Der Verlust der Sinne ist der Weg, Sinn zu finden. Auf der kleinen schmutzigen Zugtoilette das Spritzbesteck. Schnitt. Gürtel um den mageren Oberarm. Schwarzblende. Nadel hängt in einer Vene. Schwarzblende. Blutrinne am Arm. Kann man sich mit dem Wasser hier waschen? Lieber nicht. Zwischen Bresso, Sesto San Giovanni und Mailand trifft man Vash und Felce. Vash ist jünger als Felce, aufgekratzt und trägt eine Frisur, mit der er aussieht „wie ein Pilz“. Felce hat Architektur studiert. Sie machen Musik und Party und nehmen Drogen.

Alessandro Redaelli hat Werbung für Fruchtsäfte gedreht, in der man bunt angezogene junge Leute sieht, die lachen. In seinem Film aber gibt es keine Farben. Gelacht wird trotzdem. Und geweint. Alles rast und man weiß nicht, wohin. In diesem „suburbanen Porträt“ geht es um Eitelkeiten und um Mode, Provokation und das richtige Timing. Redaelli besteht darauf, dass sein Film nicht von Heroin erzählt und schon gar nicht über die Folgen von Sucht aufklären will. Für ihn ist es ein Film über zwei Freunde auf der Suche nach Bedeutung im Leben.

Carolin Weidner

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Nach der Angst
Metachaos Alessandro Bavari

Sich auflösende Körper wirbeln durch dystopische Welten, scheinbar zufällig. Doch das Chaos folgt den verstörenden Regeln von Mutation und Mitose.

Metachaos

Animationsfilm
2010
9 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Alessandro Bavari
Alessandro Bavari
Jeff Ensign
Alessandro Bavari, Fulvio Sturniolo
Alessandro Bavari
Alessandro Bavari
Alessandro Bavari
Alessandro Bavari
Sich auflösende Körper wirbeln durch dystopische Welten, scheinbar zufällig. Doch das Chaos folgt den verstörenden Regeln von Mutation und Mitose.

Franziska Bruckner

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

The Strange Sound of Happiness

Dokumentarfilm
2017
89 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Edoardo Fracchia
Diego Pascal Panarello
Bartolomeo Sailer
Matteo Cocco
Enrica Gatto, Carmen Kirchweger
Alvise Renzini
Diego Pascal Panarello
Danilo Romancino, Michael Haesters, Sorin Apostol
Nach zwanzig Jahren kehrt der gescheiterte Musiker Diego ohne Geld, Job und Perspektiven in seine sizilianische Heimatstadt Augusta zurück. Im Traum erscheint ihm das visionäre Bild einer Maultrommel, im Italienischen: Marranzano. Der schwingend-brummende Klang dieses kleinen Musikinstruments hallt im Gesang der allgegenwärtigen Zikaden wider – und im Geräusch eines Rasierapparats. Nach ersten Nachforschungen im örtlichen Souvenirladen findet sich Diego schon bald im eiskalten Jakutien wieder. Die Maultrommel heißt dort Khomus und gilt als Glücksbringer. In Sibirien begegnen Diego auch der berühmteste Khomus-Spieler der Welt, ein allseits respektierter Schmied, der dem Meister aus „Karate Kid“ auffallend ähnlich sieht, sowie die reiche Mythengeschichte des Instruments. So erzählt man sich, dass eine der besten Marranzani eines Nachts ins Weltall flog, um von einem russischen Kosmonauten gespielt zu werden. Diegos Forschung nach der Universalhistorie der Maultrommel verbindet sich mit der Geschichte seiner persönlichen Glücksuche, wobei seine Reise von Selbstbefragung, ethnografischem Interesse und Assoziierfreude gleichermaßen getragen wird.

Esther Buss



Lobende Erwähnung im Next Masters Wettbewerb;
Nominiert für Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.