Film Archive

Denoise

360°-Film
Italy,
Switzerland,
USA
2017
15 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Federico Biasin
Giorgio Ferrero, Federico Biasin
Giorgio Ferrero, Rodolfo Mongitore
Fabrizio Cyreck, Giorgio Ferrero, Federico Biasin
Filippo Vallegra
Giorgio Ferrero, Rodolfo Mongitore
Giorgio Ferrero
A Texas oil field, the engine room of an ocean freighter, an anechoic room, a waste incineration plant – contrasting sceneries that are connected by the protagonists of this 360° collage film. They lead lonely lives, far removed from our own lifestyle. The quiet of the free field chamber clashes with the roaring of the engine room, but ultimately it’s all one.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann
Retrospective 2018
Emigration 68 Luigi Perelli

Migrant labourers tell their stories: of being a “guest” in Belgium, France and the FRG, of experiences of loss that became an aphorism: It’s German in coldland.

Emigration 68

Documentary Film
Italy
1969
33 minutes
subtitles: 
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Luigi Perelli
Franco Potenza
Alberto Marrama
Raimondo Crociani
Dacia Maraini
Migrant labourers tell their stories: of being a “guest” in Belgium, France and the FRG, of experiences of loss that became an aphorism: It’s German in coldland.

Ralph Eue

I Had a Dream

Documentary Film
France,
Italy
2018
84 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Claudia Tosi, Nathalie Combe
Claudia Tosi
Daniele Rossi, Enrico Pasini
Claudia Tosi, Andrea Gioacchini
Marco Duretti
Claudia Tosi
Diego Schiavo
This film is flanked by two men: Silvio Berlusconi, who in 2008 became Italian Prime Minister for the fourth time, and Donald Trump, who was sworn in as president of the United States a little less than a decade later. Manuela, a member of the Italian Parliament, and Daniela, a local politician, see this period, marked as it is by men, as the epitome of political regression. Both have spent years fighting for more sexual equality, better laws to protect women from domestic violence and a more diverse body of political decision makers.

Is politics dead? This brutal question guides Claudia Tosi’s long-term observation of the developments of the past decade in Italy. With a loss of 6.7 % of the votes, the democrats were clearly defeated by the populist and Eurosceptic Five Star Movement. Neither Manuela nor Daniela ever thought that democracy, civil solidarity and the desire for progress would one day be challenged to such an extent or that Berlusconism, which they believed was overcome, would have such pervasive after-effects.

Lukas Stern



Awarded with a Golden Dove in the International Competition Long Film, with the Prize of the Interreligious Jury and with the FIPRESCI Prize

International Programme 2018
My Home, in Libya Martina Melilli

Assisted by young Mahmoud, the director looks from the distant Italian city of Padua to Tripoli – in search of her grandparents’ story.

My Home, in Libya

Documentary Film
Italy
2018
66 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Edoardo Fracchia, Stefano Tealdi, Elena Filippini
Martina Melilli
Nicola Ratti
Nicola Pertino
Enrica Gatto
Martina Melilli
Matteo Valeri
The director’s great-grandfather emigrated from Sicily to Tripoli in the 1930s, in the midst of the colonial war waged by Italy against Libya, and decided to stay. Martina Melilli paints the picture of a distant city from conversations with her grandfather in Padua, photos, street sketches improvised coram publico, Polaroid pictures and memories. Since the filmmaker does not get a visa for Libya she asks young Mahmoud to be her eye in Tripoli. From the chats between the two arises a complex image of the chequered and sometimes violent relations between Italy and Libya, but also a new view of their lives. The search for the right door, the balcony that fits her grandparents’ memories, the empty plots where cinemas used to do business in Tripoli, are set against the present: stagnation in Libya, death in the Mediterranean, communication via Internet: “I want to get as close as I can,” a superimposed handwritten note claims. The closeness is achieved: on circuitous paths, images, writings, communicated and authentic in this communicatedness.

Fabian Tietke

Nijolė

Documentary Film
Italy,
Lithuania
2018
79 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dagnė Vildžiūnaitė, Max Chicco
Sandro Bozzolo
Lina Lapelytė
Sandro Bozzolo
Silvija Vilkaitė, María Cecilia Reyes
Maria Cecilia Reyes, Sandro Bozzolo
Vytis Puronas
Antanas Mockus was Mayor of Bogotá, several times Colombian presidential candidate, and voted into the senate in 2018. But this film is not about the politician, but about his 88-year-old mother, the idiosyncratic artist Nijolė Šivickas. She has consistently protected her private life from the public eye, agreeing only reluctantly to media interviews. Even her son knew almost nothing about her Lithuanian childhood. In her artistic practice, but also emotionally, she had turned her back on her homeland.

Now Nijolė has been invited to give a workshop on the occasion of a great retrospective in Vilnius. The film follows her and Antanas on this journey. It’s basically a son’s look at a mother whose independence and critical social spirit were his constant inspiration. Sandro Bozzolo and his team approach their protagonists with restraint, adapt the montage to their rhythm and focus on the rooms of their creative work, on Nijolė’s meetings with Antanas and their journey home together, which moves both deeply. The son takes his mother by the hand, as does this story of an outer and inner journey with the audience. Which events continue to shape one’s life and which had better be forgotten?

Annina Wettstein


Nominated for the MDR Film Prize

International Programme 2018
Open to the Public Silvia Bellotti

From snappishness to shared smiles – the helpdesk for social tenants in Naples as a stage of life and joint emotional frontline against the multicoloured beast of bureaucracy.

Open to the Public

Documentary Film
Italy
2017
60 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Antonella Di Nocera
Silvia Bellotti
Silvia Bellotti
Silvia Bellotti
Lea Dicursi
Silvia Bellotti
Marco Saitta
Dawn in Naples, neon lamps open blinking eyes in an office, their light in the high cream-coloured old rooms waking up the registries and piles of cardboard files from which peep isolated form sheets and that indicate lengthy proceedings. The quiet yields to growing murmurs and the first sounds of discontent: a queue jumper on one of the two weekly opening days of the helpdesk for social tenants. The day is gathering momentum. The neatly dressed Signora – one of a conspicuous number of widows – and the nonchalant counsellor play their roles between snappishness and shared smiles with passion: “You don’t let us speak.” – “If I have to listen to the crap people talk, it’s better that I speak.” And the hand casually puts another sheet of paper in its proper place.

Four desks in a room whose door is open to a line of waiting people in the corridor – Silvia Bellotti’s film discretely skirts the conversations, attentively squeezes into its position on this narrow and unique stage of life. This is where the desperate, demanding, and understanding negotiate existential housing needs with the counsellors. The employees and psychologists of daily life work at the frontlines of emotion in this bustle, trying to tame the multicoloured beast of bureaucracy and find loopholes in the countless regulations for their customers.

André Eckardt


Honorable Mention Healthy Workplaces Film Award

Per tutta la vita

Animated Film
France,
Italy
2018
6 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Emmanuel-Alain Raynal, Pierre Baussaron (Miyu Productions), Davide Ferazza, Alessandro Giorgio (Withstand Film)
Roberto Catani
Andrea Martignoni
Roberto Catani
Roberto Catani
Andrea Martignoni
Everything begins with a woman looking from a circus caravan at the magician and his rabbit in the snow. The look is followed by bathing in the nude, a wedding feast as gay as a fair, then the easy companionship of vaulting circus acrobats. All this is conjured out of the hat of the past and the future – because this is about love that lasts a lifetime. Roberto Catani celebrates great and small moments under twinkling stars in a tender and melancholy whirl of colours.

Nadja Rademacher
International Programme 2018
Pierino Luca Ferri

The filmmaker follows Pierino, a pensioner and cinephile, over one calendar year. They meet for a shooting date in the latter’s flat every Thursday at 10.30 a.m. on the dot.

Pierino

Documentary Film
Italy
2018
70 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andrea Zanoli
Luca Ferri
Luca Ferri, Samantha Angeloni
Stefano P. Testa
Stefano P. Testa, Luca Ferri
Luca Severino
Pierino is a cheerful pensioner, single and a cinephile. His structured daily life follows a never-changing weekly rhythm. Shopping on Mondays and Fridays are fixed points, as are regular visits to his mother’s grave or the hairdresser – unless the weather doesn’t cooperate.

Luca Ferri follows the well-organised pensioner over one calendar year, starting in January. Shooting is fitted into his schedule, which means their meetings take place every Thursday at 10.30 a.m. on the dot and always begin with a review of the week. Pierino doesn’t mind the camera, because he likes to comment on what he experiences. He turns out to be a fellow with a detailed memory and a broad general knowledge. The protagonist’s meticulousness is not just reflected in the punctuality and reliability of the shooting dates arranged by the filmmaker, but also in the visual tools he employs. The patina of the flat in which nothing has changed for years finds a congenial echo in the 1970s music and in the materiality: shot on VHS, the film is a tribute to the analogue age which is manifest in the images as well as in Pierino’s countless film notebooks and his collection of video tapes. The warm hearted and offbeat chronicle of an unassuming life.

Annina Wettstein

The Sequence of the Paper Flower (Love and Anger)

Documentary Film
France,
Italy
1968
12 minutes
subtitles: 
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Armando Bertuccioli, Castoro Film Rom, Anouchka Film Paris
Pier Paolo Pasolini
Guiseppe Ruzzolini
Pier Paolo Pasolini
A faun in the streets of Rome: youthful exuberance meets contemporary horror images. At the end the voice of a punitive God.

Ralph Eue

Una Primavera

Documentary Film
Austria,
Germany,
Italy
2018
80 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Johannes Schubert
Valentina Primavera
Macarena Solervicens
Valentina Primavera
Federico Neri
Valentina Primavera
Valentina Primavera, Macarena Solervicens
The photos from the time when Fiorella and Bruno married bear the marks of a lost epoch. The bride – white dress, lace veil – looks slightly upward, like a picture of the Virgin Mary. The groom – black hair, black suit – looks straight into the lens, piercing and dark. She can’t say whether she ever loved him, Fiorella, who has just put the heavy, encyclopaedia-sized wedding album on her lap, says. 40 years lie between those photos and the presence of this film – 40 years of losing herself, as Fiorella once confesses in tears.

Valentina Primavera, the couple’s youngest daughter, returns to her parental home with a camera to expose a decade-long history of fights, insults and domestic violence. And she accompanies her mother’s attempt to finally and definitely break up with her husband after 40 years of marriage. The camera is a merciless device. Facing up to its relentlessness, that’s where the physical strength and effort of this film lie.

Lukas Stern


Nominated for the Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize

Filmarchiv

Denoise

360°-Film
Italien,
Schweiz,
USA
2017
15 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Federico Biasin
Giorgio Ferrero, Federico Biasin
Giorgio Ferrero, Rodolfo Mongitore
Fabrizio Cyreck, Giorgio Ferrero, Federico Biasin
Filippo Vallegra
Giorgio Ferrero, Rodolfo Mongitore
Giorgio Ferrero
Ein Ölfeld in Texas, der Maschinenraum eines Überseefrachters, ein schalltoter Raum, eine Müllverbrennungsanlage – verbindendes Element dieser gegensätzlichen Szenerien sind die Protagonisten dieses collageartigen 360°-Films. Sie führen einsame Existenzen, fernab unseres eigenen Lebensstils. Die Stille der reflexionsarmen Kammer trifft auf das Dröhnen im Maschinenraum. Doch am Ende ist alles eins.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann
Retrospektive 2018
Emigration 68 Luigi Perelli

Arbeitsmigranten erzählen: vom „Gast“ sein in Belgien, Frankreich und der BRD, von Verlusterfahrungen, die zum Sinnspruch wurden: Es ist deutsch in Kaltland.

Emigration 68

Dokumentarfilm
Italien
1969
33 Minuten
Untertitel: 
deutsche

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Luigi Perelli
Franco Potenza
Alberto Marrama
Raimondo Crociani
Dacia Maraini
Arbeitsmigranten erzählen: vom „Gast“ sein in Belgien, Frankreich und der BRD, von Verlusterfahrungen, die zum Sinnspruch wurden: Es ist deutsch in Kaltland.

Ralph Eue

I Had a Dream

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich,
Italien
2018
84 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Claudia Tosi, Nathalie Combe
Claudia Tosi
Daniele Rossi, Enrico Pasini
Claudia Tosi, Andrea Gioacchini
Marco Duretti
Claudia Tosi
Diego Schiavo
Zwei Männer flankieren diesen Film: Silvio Berlusconi, der 2008 zum vierten Mal italienischer Ministerpräsident wurde, und Donald Trump, der ein knappes Jahrzehnt später als amerikanischer Präsident vereidigt wurde. Für Manuela, eine Abgeordnete des italienischen Parlaments, und Daniela, eine Lokalpolitikerin, ist dieser dergestalt männlich markierte Zeitraum der Inbegriff für den politischen Regress. Seit Jahren kämpfen die beiden für mehr Gleichberechtigung zwischen den Geschlechtern, für bessere Gesetze zum Schutz vor häuslicher Gewalt gegen Frauen und für ein diverseres Gesamtbild politischer Verantwortungsträger.

Ist die Politik tot? Diese brutale Frage leitet Claudia Tosis Langzeitstudie über die Entwicklungen des letzten italienischen Jahrzehnts an. Mit einem Verlust von 6,7 % der Stimmen unterlagen die Demokraten 2018 deutlich gegen die populistische und europaskeptische Fünf-Sterne-Bewegung. Dass Demokratie, zivilgesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt und Fortschrittswille noch einmal derart infrage stehen, dass der überwunden geglaubte Berlusconismus noch in einem solchen Ausmaß nachwirkt, hätten Manuela und Daniela nicht für möglich gehalten.

Lukas Stern



Ausgezeichnet mit einer Goldenen Taube im Internationalen Wettbewerb Langfilm, mit dem Preis der Interreligiösen Jury und mit dem FIPRESCI Preis



Internationales Programm 2018
My Home, in Libya Martina Melilli

Mithilfe des jungen Mahmoud blickt die Regisseurin aus dem italienischen Padua aus der Ferne nach Tripolis – auf der Suche nach der Geschichte ihrer Großeltern.

My Home, in Libya

Dokumentarfilm
Italien
2018
66 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Edoardo Fracchia, Stefano Tealdi, Elena Filippini
Martina Melilli
Nicola Ratti
Nicola Pertino
Enrica Gatto
Martina Melilli
Matteo Valeri
Der Urgroßvater der Regisseurin emigrierte Mitte der 1930er Jahre, mitten im Kolonialkrieg, den Italien gegen Libyen führte, von Sizilien nach Tripolis und beschloss zu bleiben. Aus Gesprächen mit ihrem Großvater in Padua, aus Fotos, coram publico improvisierten Straßenskizzen, Polaroids und Erinnerungen formt Martina Melilli das Bild einer Stadt in der Ferne. Da die Filmemacherin kein Visum für Libyen bekommt, bittet sie den jungen Mahmoud, ihr Auge in Tripolis zu sein. Aus den Chats zwischen ihr und ihm ergibt sich ein komplexes Bild der wechselvollen und teils gewalttätigen Beziehungen zwischen Italien und Libyen, aber auch ein neuer Blick auf den Alltag der beiden. Die Suche nach der richtigen Tür, dem passenden Balkon zu den Erinnerungen der Großeltern, nach den Brachen, in denen in Tripolis einst Kinos ihr Alltagsgeschäft verrichteten, stehen neben der Gegenwart: Stagnation in Libyen, Sterben im Mittelmeer, Kommunikation via Internet. „Ich will so nah rankommen, wie ich kann“, postuliert eine eingeblendete handschriftliche Notiz. Die Nähe stellt sich her: auf Umwegen, auf Umbildern, auf Umschriften – vermittelt und in ihrer Vermitteltheit authentisch.

Fabian Tietke
Next Masters Wettbewerb 2018
Nijolė Sandro Bozzolo

Porträt der kolumbianischen Künstlerin Nijolė Šivickas und der ungewöhnlichen Beziehung zu ihrem Sohn Antanas Mockus. Eine gemeinsame Reise führt die beiden in Nijolės Geburtsland Litauen.

Nijolė

Dokumentarfilm
Italien,
Litauen
2018
79 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dagnė Vildžiūnaitė, Max Chicco
Sandro Bozzolo
Lina Lapelytė
Sandro Bozzolo
Silvija Vilkaitė, María Cecilia Reyes
Maria Cecilia Reyes, Sandro Bozzolo
Vytis Puronas
Antanas Mockus war Bürgermeister von Bogotá, mehrmals kolumbianischer Präsidentschaftskandidat und wurde 2018 in den Senat gewählt. Doch hier geht es nicht um ihn als Politiker, sondern um seine 88-jährige Mutter, die eigenwillige Künstlerin Nijolė Šivickas. Beharrlich hat sie ihr Privatleben vor der Öffentlichkeit abgeschirmt. Nur widerwillig gab sie in Medieninterviews Auskunft. Selbst ihr Sohn wusste kaum etwas über ihre Kindheit in Litauen. In ihrem künstlerischen Schaffen, aber auch emotional, hat sie sich von ihrem Heimatland abgewandt.

Nijolė ist nun eingeladen, anlässlich einer großen Retrospektive in Vilnius einen Workshop zu halten. Der Film begleitet sie und Antanas auf dieser Reise. Es ist gleichsam der Blick eines Sohnes auf seine Mutter. Ihre Unabhängigkeit und ihr gesellschaftskritischer Geist waren stets seine Inspiration. Sandro Bozzolo und sein Team nähern sich ihrer Protagonistin zurückhaltend, passen sich auch in der Montage ihrem Rhythmus an und konzentrieren sich auf die Räume ihres Schaffens, auf Nijolės Begegnungen mit Antanas und auf die gemeinsame Rückkehr in die Heimat, die beide tief bewegt. So wie der Sohn die Mutter nimmt auch diese Geschichte einer äußeren wie inneren Reise die Zuschauenden an die Hand. Welche Geschehnisse bleiben in einem Leben prägend und welche sollten besser vergessen werden?

Annina Wettstein


Nominiert für den MDR-Filmpreis

Internationales Programm 2018
Open to the Public Silvia Bellotti

Zwischen Kratzbürstigkeit und gemeinsamem Lächeln – die Beratungsstelle für Sozialmieter in Neapel als Lebensbühne und gemeinsame Gefühlsfront gegen das bunte Tier der Bürokratie.

Open to the Public

Dokumentarfilm
Italien
2017
60 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Antonella Di Nocera
Silvia Bellotti
Silvia Bellotti
Silvia Bellotti
Lea Dicursi
Silvia Bellotti
Marco Saitta
Morgengrauen in Neapel, Leuchtstoffröhren öffnen blinzelnd ihre Augen in einem Büro. Sie wecken mit ihrem Licht in den hohen cremefarbenen Altbauräumen die Registraturen und Stapel von Pappheftern, aus denen einzelne Formulare hervorlugen und auf lange Vorgänge verweisen. Die Ruhe erstirbt in aufkommendem Gemurmel und ersten Unmutslauten: Ein Vordrängler an einem der beiden wöchentlichen Öffnungstage der Beratungsstelle für Sozialmieter. Der Tag nimmt Fahrt auf. Die adrett gekleidete Signora – eine von den auffällig vielen Witwen – und der lässige Berater spielen leidenschaftlich ihre Rollen zwischen Kratzbürstigkeit und gemeinsamem Lächeln: „Sie lassen uns nie ausreden.“ – „Bei dem Mist, den ich mir von den Leuten anhören muss, ist es besser, wenn ich spreche.“ Und ganz beiläufig hat die Hand wieder eine Papierseite an den richtigen Platz verbracht.

Vier Tische in einem Raum mit offener Tür zu den Wartenden im Gang – Silvia Bellottis Film tänzelt dezent um Gespräche, quetscht sich wachsam in der Enge dieser besonderen Lebensbühne in Position. Hier verhandeln Verzweifelte, Fordernde, Einsichtige mit den Beraterinnen und Beratern über existenzielle Wohnungsnöte. In dem Gewusel befinden sich die Angestellten und Psychologen des Alltags an der Gefühlsfront, versuchen das bunte Tier der Bürokratie zu zähmen und eine Lücke in den unzähligen Vorschriften für ihre Klienten zu finden.

André Eckardt


Lobende Erwähnung Healthy Workplaces Film Award

Per tutta la vita

Animationsfilm
Frankreich,
Italien
2018
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Emmanuel-Alain Raynal, Pierre Baussaron (Miyu Productions), Davide Ferazza, Alessandro Giorgio (Withstand Film)
Roberto Catani
Andrea Martignoni
Roberto Catani
Roberto Catani
Andrea Martignoni
Alles beginnt mit dem Blick einer Frau aus einem Zirkuswohnwagen zum Zauberer mit seinem Hasen im Schnee. Auf einen Brief folgt Nacktbaden, dann eine Hochzeitstafel, beschwingt wie eine Kirmes, dann das vertraute Miteinander von voltigierenden Zirkusartisten. Alles aus dem Hut der Vergangenheit und Zukunft gezaubert – denn hier geht es um die Liebe fürs Leben. Roberto Catani feiert große und kleine Momente unter blinkenden Sternen in einem zärtlich-melancholischen Taumel an Farben.

Nadja Rademacher
Internationales Programm 2018
Pierino Luca Ferri

Ein Kalenderjahr lang begleitet der Filmemacher Pierino, einen Rentner und Filmliebhaber. Jeden Donnerstag um exakt 10:30 Uhr treffen sie sich zum Drehtermin in dessen Wohnung.

Pierino

Dokumentarfilm
Italien
2018
70 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andrea Zanoli
Luca Ferri
Luca Ferri, Samantha Angeloni
Stefano P. Testa
Stefano P. Testa, Luca Ferri
Luca Severino
Pierino ist ein Rentner mit heiterem Gemüt, alleinstehend und Filmliebhaber. Sein strukturierter Alltag verläuft nach dem immer gleichen Wochenrhythmus. Montags und freitags Einkaufen sind Fixpunkte, genauso wie der regelmäßige Besuch am Grab der Mutter oder beim Frisör – außer das Wetter spielt gerade nicht mit.

Luca Ferri begleitet den gut organisierten Pensionär ein Kalenderjahr lang, beginnend im Januar. Die Aufnahmen sind an seinen Zeitplan angepasst. So finden ihre Treffen jeden Donnerstag exakt um 10:30 Uhr statt und beginnen mit einem Wochenrückblick. Pierino lässt sich von der Kamera nicht stören, denn er kommentiert gern, was er erlebt. Er erweist sich als Zeitgenosse mit detailliertem Gedächtnis und großem Allgemeinwissen. Die Akribie seines Protagonisten schlägt sich nicht nur in der Pünktlichkeit und Verlässlichkeit der vom Filmemacher anberaumten Drehtermine nieder, sondern auch in den filmischen Gestaltungsmitteln. Die Patina der seit Jahren unveränderten Wohnung findet ihre kongeniale Entsprechung in der Musik der Siebziger und in der Materialität: Aufgenommen auf VHS ist der Film eine Verneigung vor der analogen Zeit, die sich im Bild genauso manifestiert wie in Pierinos unzähligen Filmnotizbüchern und in seiner Videokassettensammlung. Die liebevoll-schräge Chronik eines unscheinbaren Alltags.

Annina Wettstein

The Sequence of the Paper Flower (Love and Anger)

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich,
Italien
1968
12 Minuten
Untertitel: 
deutsche

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Armando Bertuccioli, Castoro Film Rom, Anouchka Film Paris
Pier Paolo Pasolini
Guiseppe Ruzzolini
Pier Paolo Pasolini
Ein Faun in den Straßen von Rom: Jugendliche Unbekümmertheit trifft auf Horrorbilder der Gegenwart. Am Ende die Stimme eines strafenden Gottes.

Ralph Eue

Una Primavera

Dokumentarfilm
Österreich,
Deutschland,
Italien
2018
80 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Johannes Schubert
Valentina Primavera
Macarena Solervicens
Valentina Primavera
Federico Neri
Valentina Primavera
Valentina Primavera, Macarena Solervicens
Die Fotos aus der Zeit, in der Fiorella und Bruno geheiratet haben, tragen den Index einer verlorenen Epoche. Die Braut – weißes Kleid, Spitzenschleier – blickt leicht nach oben. Eine Art Marienbildnis. Der Bräutigam – schwarzes Haar, schwarzer Anzug – richtet den Blick ins Objektiv: durchdringend und dunkel. Ob sie ihn damals geliebt habe, könne sie nicht sagen, meint Fiorella, die sich gerade das schwere, enzyklopädisch große Hochzeitsalbum auf den Schoß gelegt hat. 40 Jahre liegen zwischen jenen Aufnahmen und der Gegenwart dieses Films – 40 Jahre eines Selbstverlusts, wie Fiorella einmal unter Tränen erzählt.

Valentina Primavera, die jüngste Tochter der Eheleute, reist nun mit der Kamera zurück ins Elternhaus, um eine jahrzehntelange Geschichte des Streits, der Beleidigungen und der häuslichen Gewalt frei- und offenzulegen. Und sie begleitet ihre Mutter bei dem Versuch, sich nach 40 Jahren Ehe endlich und endgültig von ihrem Mann zu trennen. Die Kamera ist ein gnadenloser Apparat. Ihre Gnadenlosigkeit auszuhalten – darin liegt die physische Kraft und Anstrengung dieses Films.

Lukas Stern


Nominiert für den Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts