Film Archive

  • All
Young Cinema Competition 2013
Kalyug Juri Mazumdar

The ancient Indian tribe of the Bhil in the age of decline, the mythical Kalyug – caused by HIV. Legends and contemporary reality interwoven in archaic images.

Kalyug

Documentary Film
Italy
2013
74 minutes
subtitles: 
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Heidi Gronauer, Lorenzo Paccagnella
Juri Mazumdar
Anke Riester
Giorgio Chiodi
Gero Hecker
Once upon a time there were a brother and sister who had illicit sexual relations. That was the beginning of the age of Kalyug, the age of downfall in Hindu cosmology. Has it started again? The Bhil, an ancient tribe, must think so. Modern society has condemned them to live in poverty and loneliness as migrant workers. Worse, a terrible disease is raging among them: HIV. It’s hard to develop a rational attitude towards the causes and effects of the virus on the background of traditional beliefs and the hierarchy in Indian hospitals. At least now the medicine is reaching the patients. A young medical student brings it on his motorcycle, travelling endless miles through a barren, dusty landscape. But his fight for enlightenment seems a fight against windmills.
“Kalyug”’s sophisticated dialectic narrative, which interweaves ancient legends and the stories of the present age, is compelling. The film moves without breaks from a background story, a storyteller at a campfire, to three different internal stories which in turn are linked in a kind of circular structure, with one motive prompting the next. Embedded in the serene flow of the narrative, the archaic images have a mythical effect – while remaining firmly rooted in the reality of the here and now.

Lars Meyer
Next Masters Competition 2019
Never Whistle Alone Marco Ferrari

A cool and therefore all the more breathtaking study of corruption and truth that presents courageous whistleblowers from the “back benches”. Political, abysmal, activating.

Never Whistle Alone

Documentary Film
Italy
2019
74 minutes
subtitles: 
English
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Priscilla Robledo, Francesco Crespi
Marco Ferrari
Francesco Leali, Alessandro Branca
Stefano Govi
Neil Devetti
Syd Golding
Marco Ferrari
Vito Martinelli
Ever since Chelsea Manning and Edward Snowden everyone knows what a whistleblower is. Betraying secrets for a good cause brings a lot of honour to those who dare expose criminal systems. But becoming a whistleblower also means you lose your (former) life, risk mobbing, persecution and exile.

Director Marco Ferrari talks to seven people from his home country Italy who took this decision, asking them about their motives and the consequences – on a personal level as well as with regard to the crimes they denounced. Even if each of the interviewees worked up the individual courage to denounce system failures, their stories are uncannily similar: Anyone who gets out and does the right thing is immediately faced with aggression, intimidation, corruption, harassment and isolation. The police and judiciary seem not even close to being able to protect whistleblowers adequately respectively deal with their information sensibly. Ferrari doesn’t emphasize the individual characteristics but shows, by means of deliberately exaggerated stagings, what universal patterns of intimidation, cover-ups and thoughtlessness corrupt organisations are founded on. An important, tense film, whose protagonists seem like a blueprint for more moral courage at the desk.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann
Young Cinema Competition 2012
White Men Alessandro Baltera, Matteo Tortone

White among blacks: dozens albinos are killed in Africa. Four men’s lives between mortal fear and defiant rebellion, in compelling black and white.

White Men

Documentary Film
Italy
2011
65 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Enrico Giovannone, Babydocfilm
Alessandro Baltera, Matteo Tortone
Rodolfo Mongitore
Matteo Tortone
Alessandro Baltera, Enrico Giovannone
Alessandro Baltera, Matteo Tortone
Nicolò Angelino
The white citizens of Tanzania are the rich settlers. The “white men”, the albinos, however, the white ones among the black ones, are considered underprivileged and leprous. And not only that: especially in the region around Lake Victoria superstition has it that anyone who owns a part of their body will suddenly become rich. So they live like fair game, constantly in danger of being attacked, mutilated or hacked to pieces. The film manages to make this permanent feeling of exposure palpable by following the protagonists on long walks through streets lined with shabby cabins. What is garbage here, what is furniture? They seem defenceless, forced to run this gauntlet every day while people are calling from all sides: Hey, white man. The two Italian directors Baltera and Tortone portray four of them, show how they organise their survival, how they fight back. The rapper Dixon, for example, takes the offensive: as Mr. White he angrily cries out his lyrics at the local Kiss Club. Or Alfred Kapole, president of the local Albino Center, who collects all the horrible news from the region, usually unable to help. The idea of shooting the film in black and white is almost mandatory as a format if you want to take the albinos’ perspective. Those who are different face difficulties all across the globe, but here, where the perpetrators have practically nothing to fear, the albinos live in dread.
– Cornelia Klauß

Filmarchiv

Kalyug

Dokumentarfilm
Italien
2013
74 Minuten
Untertitel: 
deutsche

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Heidi Gronauer, Lorenzo Paccagnella
Juri Mazumdar
Anke Riester
Giorgio Chiodi
Gero Hecker
Es waren einmal ein Bruder und seine Schwester, die miteinander in Unzucht lebten. Das war der Beginn des Zeitalters Kalyug, der Epoche des Niedergangs in der hinduistischen Kosmologie. Ist es jetzt wieder angebrochen? Für die Bhil, einen uralten Volksstamm, muss es so aussehen. Nicht nur, dass die moderne Gesellschaft sie dazu verdammt hat, als Wanderarbeiter in Armut und Einsamkeit zu leben. Es grassiert auch eine furchtbare Krankheit: HIV. Ein rationaler Umgang mit Ursachen und Wirkung des Virus fällt vor dem Hintergrund eines traditionellen Volksglaubens und der Hierarchie in den indischen Krankenhäusern schwer. Immerhin kommen jetzt Medikamente zu den Patienten. Ein junger Medizinstudent bringt sie ihnen auf seinem Motorrad endlose Kilometer weit durch die karge, staubige Landschaft. Doch sein Kampf um Aufklärung scheint ein Kampf gegen Windmühlenflügel.
„Kalyug“ fesselt durch seine raffinierte, dialektische Erzählweise, in der alte Legenden und die Geschichten der Gegenwart sich wechselseitig durchdringen. Ohne Brüche leitet der Film von der Rahmenhandlung, einem Geschichtenerzähler am Lagerfeuer, zu drei Binnenhandlungen über, die wiederum in der Art eines Reigens miteinander verbunden sind. Ein Motiv stößt das nächste an. Eingebettet in einen ruhigen Erzählfluss, entfalten die archaischen Bilder eine mythische Wirkung – und bleiben doch der Wirklichkeit des Hier und Jetzt verhaftet.

Lars Meyer
Next Masters Wettbewerb 2019
Never Whistle Alone Marco Ferrari

Eine kühle und gerade deshalb atemberaubende Studie zu Korruption und Wahrheit, die mutige Whistleblower „aus der zweiten Reihe“ vorstellt. Politisch, abgründig, aktivierend.

Never Whistle Alone

Dokumentarfilm
Italien
2019
74 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
deutsche

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Priscilla Robledo, Francesco Crespi
Marco Ferrari
Francesco Leali, Alessandro Branca
Stefano Govi
Neil Devetti
Syd Golding
Marco Ferrari
Vito Martinelli
Seit Chelsea Manning und Edward Snowden weiß jeder, was ein Whistleblower ist. Der Geheimnisverrat um der guten Sache willen bringt denen, die sich trauen, kriminelle Systeme offenzulegen, viel Ehre ein. Wer zum Whistleblower wird, verliert aber auch sein (bisheriges) Leben, riskiert Mobbing, Verfolgung und Exil.

Regisseur Marco Ferrari spricht mit sieben Menschen aus seinem Heimatland Italien, die diese Entscheidung getroffen haben, und befragt sie zu ihren Beweggründen und den Folgen – sowohl auf persönlicher Ebene als auch in Hinblick auf das angezeigte Verbrechen. Auch wenn jeder der Sprechenden ganz individuell den Mut aufbrachte, Systemfehler anzuprangern, gleichen sich die Geschichten auf unheimliche Weise: Wer aussteigt und das Richtige tut, ist sofort mit Aggressionen, Einschüchterungen, Korruption, Schikane und Isolation konfrontiert. Polizei und Justiz scheinen nicht ansatzweise in der Lage zu sein, Whistleblower angemessen zu schützen beziehungsweise mit ihren Informationen sinnvoll umzugehen. Ferrari betont nicht die jeweils besonderen Ausprägungen, sondern zeigt mit gezielt überprononcierten Inszenierungen, welche allgemeingültigen Muster von Einschüchterung, Vertuschung und Gedankenlosigkeit korrupten Organisationen zugrunde liegen. Ein wichtiger, spannungsgeladener Film, dessen Akteure wie eine Blaupause für mehr Zivilcourage am Schreibtisch wirken.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann

White Men

Dokumentarfilm
Italien
2011
65 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Enrico Giovannone, Babydocfilm
Alessandro Baltera, Matteo Tortone
Rodolfo Mongitore
Matteo Tortone
Alessandro Baltera, Enrico Giovannone
Alessandro Baltera, Matteo Tortone
Nicolò Angelino
Die Weißen in Tansania, das sind die reichen Siedler. Dahingegen gelten die „white men“, die Albinos, die Weißen unter den Schwarzen, als unterprivilegiert und aussätzig. Aber nicht nur das: insbesondere in der Region um den Viktoriasee geht der Wunderglaube um, wer Körperteile von ihnen besitzt, dem wird plötzlicher Reichtum zuteil. So leben sie wie Freiwild, in der ständigen Gefahr, angegriffen, verstümmelt oder zerstückelt zu werden. Dem Film gelingt es, dieses permanente Gefühl des Ausgeliefertseins spürbar zu machen, indem die Kamera seine Protagonisten bei langen Gängen durch die von schäbigen Hütten gesäumten Straßen verfolgt. Was ist hier Müll, was Mobiliar? Schutzlos wirken sie, die tagtäglich den Spießrutenlauf ertragen müssen, wenn es von allen Seiten schallt: He, white man. Die beiden italienischen Regisseure Baltera und Tortone portraitieren vier von ihnen, zeigen, wie sie ihr Überleben organisieren, wie sie sich wehren. Der Rapper Dixon zum Beispiel, er geht in die Offensive: Als Mr. White schleudert er im örtlichen Kiss Club wütend seine Texte raus. Oder Alfred Kapole, der Vorsteher des Albino Centers, er sammelt all die Horrormeldungen aus der Gegend, helfen kann er in der Regel nicht. Dass der Film in Schwarz-Weiß gedreht wurde, ist als formale Idee geradezu zwingend, will man die Perspektive der Albinos nachvollziehen. Das Andersartige hat es nirgendwo auf der Welt leicht, aber hier, wo die Straftäter kaum etwas befürchten müssen, bleibt den Albinos die Angst im Nacken.
– Cornelia Klauß