Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

Beyond the Wave

Documentary Film
Germany,
Japan
2013
83 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gregor Streiber
Kyoko Miyake
Shigeru Umebayashi
Kozo Natsuumi, Shai Levy
Joby Gee
Kyoko Miyake
Dominik Raetz, Tsukada Dai
Collapsed roofs, broken windowpanes, withered plants, dead animals – a deserted place. A grocery store looks almost exactly as it did on that day in March 2011. The few people one sees wear white paper suits and surgical masks. They are the ones who lost the world they lived in on that March day. One of them is aunt Kuniko. “It’s only natural to look for new sources of energy.” These words once advertised the construction of a nuclear plant in this now dead region. “Beyond the Wave” is a unique demonstration that after the disaster of Fukushima this sentence should become the leitmotif of our future. Caught between the grief of having lost their past and hopes of a personal perspective, the protagonists are forced to redefine themselves in their ruined home, this no-man’s country that many left long ago. Kyoko Miyake shows, not least through her personal voice-over, how a fairly atypical, albeit non-angry rebellion starts to germinate in the remaining Japanese citizens, and how her businesslike aunt and many others are ceaseless attempting to reclaim the meaning of their lives, against all prejudice and in the spirit of “I cannot let this disaster ruin all my efforts.”

Claudia Lehmann
Retrospective 2013
Fortress of the Land Kiichi Hoshi

Spring 1969: Tachikawa Airfield is of extreme importance to the United States’ Vietnam War. A coalition of peasants who already fought against its expansion in the mid-1950s as well as various factions of Japanese student and anti-war movement(s) tries to sabotage air traffic. ...

Fortress of the Land

Documentary Film
Japan
1977
170 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Kiichi Hoshi
Kiichi Hoshi
Kimio Tsukamoto, Takashi Ueda, Masaaki Yoshimaru
Hiroko Kono
Yukio Kubota
Spring 1969: Tachikawa Airfield is of extreme importance to the United States’ Vietnam War. A coalition of peasants who already fought against its expansion in the mid-1950s as well as various factions of Japanese student and anti-war movement(s) tries to sabotage air traffic. As the war ends, the differences between the groups re-emerge …

Olaf Möller
Retrospective 2013
People of Sunagawa: The Wheat Will Never Fall Fumio Kamai

In an attempt to get on the right side of the former occupiers in the late summer of 1955, the government under Prime Minister Hatoyama approved the US armed forces’ plans to expand Tachikawa Airfield – against the people’s wishes, if need be. ...

People of Sunagawa: The Wheat Will Never Fall

Documentary Film
Japan
1955
27 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ono Tadashi
Fumio Kamai
Aramaki Tadashi, Segawa Junichi, Segawa Hiroshi, Kagawa Yoshikazu
Kamei Fumio, Chiaki Shigeo, Teshigahara Hiroshi, Osanai Haruo, Yamazaki Shogyo, Kishi Tomiko
In an attempt to get on the right side of the former occupiers in the late summer of 1955, the government under Prime Minister Hatoyama approved the US armed forces’ plans to expand Tachikawa Airfield – against the people’s wishes, if need be. Naturally, the people took straight to the barricades. A number of violent clashes ensued, starting on September 13th and narrated in this work’s precursor “People of Sunagawa: A Record of the Struggle Against the Military Base” (1955). At the end of this agit-treatise of solidarity with the peasants and students we see images of what was presumably the first Japanese mass protest in front of the US Embassy since the end of the occupation.

Olaf Möller
Kids DOK 2013
Twins in Bakery Mari Miyazawa

A magic incident occurs in an ordinary bakery while the baker is out for a delivery ...

Twins in Bakery

Animated Film
Japan
2012
5 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Yuichi Ito
Mari Miyazawa
Ayatake Ezaki
Mari Miyazawa
Mari Miyazawa
Mari Miyazawa
Mari Miyazawa
Shaun O'Brien
A magic incident occurs in an ordinary bakery while the baker is out for a delivery. The incident makes the bakery the best in town. But it is a secret not to be disclosed.

Filmarchiv

Sections (Film Archive)

Beyond the Wave

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland,
Japan
2013
83 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gregor Streiber
Kyoko Miyake
Shigeru Umebayashi
Kozo Natsuumi, Shai Levy
Joby Gee
Kyoko Miyake
Dominik Raetz, Tsukada Dai
Eingestürzte Hausdächer, zerbrochene Fensterscheiben, vertrocknete Pflanzen, tote Tiere – ein ausgestorbener Ort. In einem Lebensmittelladen findet man beinahe alles noch so vor, wie an einem Tag im März 2011. Die wenigen Menschen, die zu sehen sind, tragen weiße Papieranzüge mit Mundschutz. Es sind jene, die an diesem Tag im März ihren Lebensraum verloren haben. Eine von ihnen ist Tante Kuniko. „Es ist nur natürlich, neue Energiequellen zu suchen.“ Mit diesen Worten wurde einst der Bau des Atomkraftwerkes in der mittlerweile toten Gegend beworben. Dass dieser Satz nach der Katastrophe von Fukushima zum Leitmotiv unserer Zukunft werden sollte, demonstriert uns „Beyond the Wave“ auf eine sehr besondere Weise. Zwischen der Trauer um den Verlust der Vergangenheit und der Hoffnung auf eine persönliche Perspektive müssen sich die Protagonisten in der zerstörten Heimat, diesem Niemandsland, das viele längst verlassen haben, neu definieren. Kyoko Miyake zeigt uns nicht zuletzt durch ihren persönlichen Kommentar, wie unter den verbleibenden Japanern ein eher untypisches, wenn auch zornfreies Aufbegehren entsteht, und wie nicht nur ihre geschäftstüchtige Tante den unablässigen Versuch unternimmt, sich gegen alle Vorurteile und frei nach dem Motto „I cannot let this disaster ruin all my efforts“ den Sinn ihres Lebens zurückzuerobern.

Claudia Lehmann
Retrospektive 2013
Fortress of the Land Kiichi Hoshi

Frühjahr 1969: Der Luftwaffenstützpunkt Tachikawa ist im Vietnamkrieg von außerordentlicher Bedeutung für die USA. Eine Koalition von Bauern, die schon Mitte der 1950er Jahre gegen den Ausbau der Basis kämpften, und ...

Fortress of the Land

Dokumentarfilm
Japan
1977
170 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Kiichi Hoshi
Kiichi Hoshi
Kimio Tsukamoto, Takashi Ueda, Masaaki Yoshimaru
Hiroko Kono
Yukio Kubota
Frühjahr 1969: Der Luftwaffenstützpunkt Tachikawa ist im Vietnamkrieg von außerordentlicher Bedeutung für die USA. Eine Koalition von Bauern, die schon Mitte der 1950er Jahre gegen den Ausbau der Basis kämpften, und verschiedenen Fraktionen der japanischen Studenten- wie Antikriegsbewegung(-en) versucht, den Flugverkehr zu sabotieren. Mit dem Ende des Krieges treten die Unterschiede zwischen den Gruppen wieder stärker in den Vordergrund …

Olaf Möller
Retrospektive 2013
People of Sunagawa: The Wheat Will Never Fall Fumio Kamai

Um sich mit den einstigen Besatzern gut zu stellen, genehmigt die Regierung unter Premierminister Hatoyama im Spätsommer 1955 den Ausbau des Luftwaffenstützpunkts Tachikawa durch die US-amerikanischen Streitkräfte – im Notfall auch gegen den Willen der Bevölkerung. ...

People of Sunagawa: The Wheat Will Never Fall

Dokumentarfilm
Japan
1955
27 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ono Tadashi
Fumio Kamai
Aramaki Tadashi, Segawa Junichi, Segawa Hiroshi, Kagawa Yoshikazu
Kamei Fumio, Chiaki Shigeo, Teshigahara Hiroshi, Osanai Haruo, Yamazaki Shogyo, Kishi Tomiko
Um sich mit den einstigen Besatzern gut zu stellen, genehmigt die Regierung unter Premierminister Hatoyama im Spätsommer 1955 den Ausbau des Luftwaffenstützpunkts Tachikawa durch die US-amerikanischen Streitkräfte – im Notfall auch gegen den Willen der Bevölkerung. Das Volk geht denn auch gleich auf die Barrikaden. Ab dem 13. September kam es zu gewalttätigen Konfrontationen, von denen der Vorgänger dieses Werkes, „People of Sunagawa: A Record of the Struggle Against the Military Base“ (1955), erzählte. Am Schluss dieses mit den Bauern und Studenten solidarischen Agit-Traktats sieht man Bilder der wohl ersten japanischen Massendemonstration seit dem Ende der Okkupation vor der Botschaft der Vereinigten Staaten.

Olaf Möller
Kids DOK 2013
Twins in Bakery Mari Miyazawa

In einer ganz normalen Bäckerei ereignet sich ein magischer Zwischenfal ...

Twins in Bakery

Animationsfilm
Japan
2012
5 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Yuichi Ito
Mari Miyazawa
Ayatake Ezaki
Mari Miyazawa
Mari Miyazawa
Mari Miyazawa
Mari Miyazawa
Shaun O'Brien
In einer ganz normalen Bäckerei ereignet sich ein magischer Zwischenfall, als der Bäcker gerade etwas ausliefert. Durch den Zwischenfall wird die Bäckerei zur besten in der ganzen Stadt. Aber das Geheimnis darf nie verraten werden.