Film Archive

My Unknown Soldier

Documentary Film
Czech Republic,
Latvia,
Slovakia
2018
79 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Michal Kráčmer, Sergei Serpuhov
Anna Kryvenko
Andris Dzenitis, Yair Elazar Glotman, David Střeleček
Radka Šišuláková
Daria Chernyak
Anna Kryvenko
Viktor Krivosudský
The Prague Spring, Soviet tanks, the invasion of Warsaw Pact troops, the epoch-making year of 1968: the starting points of a family history between Czechia, Ukraine and Russia. “The occupation translates to a man with a dachshund being entitled to yell at a young girl in a tram because he can’t tell Ukrainian and Russian apart.”

A series of family album photos from which a man was removed sets Anna Kryvenko, a Ukrainian who studies film in Prague, on the trail of her great-uncle: the “unknown soldier”, to whom so many monuments are dedicated that one almost forgets that this sweeping gesture of remembrance refers to concrete faces, names, dates of birth and death, biographies cut short. After some initial hesitation the filmmaker’s family break their silence and gradually the pieces combine to form a new picture in which family and world history intersect.

Fabian Tietke


Nominated for the MDR Film Prize

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Hello, Horse!

Documentary Film
Latvia
2017
24 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Laila Pakalniņa
Laila Pakalniņa
Ivars Burtnieks
Ivars Burtnieks
Anrijs Krenbergs
Images composed of statics and movement. Something is standing firmly in the landscape (a pylon, a traffic sign, a house et cetera), something else moves, races, clatters, marches through this landscape. There is twittering and squeaking and quacking and cuckooing and slurping on the soundtrack. Colours, moods and seasons change and return. Dust is raised and settles. A delicately orchestrated mechanism of passing and returning.

Esther Buss

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

International Programme
Blueberry Spirits Astra Zoldnere

The Latvian forest – it’s the time of the blueberry harvest. In other places the fruit with the perfect five point star are sacred because they serve as children’s food in times of draught.

Blueberry Spirits

Documentary Film
Latvia
2016
12 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Kaspars Braķis
Astra Zoldnere
Jan Schöwer
Kaspars Braķis
Astrīda Konstante
Ron Rosenberg
Anrijs Krenbergs
The Latvian forest – it’s the time of the blueberry harvest. In other places the fruit with the perfect five point star are sacred because they serve as children’s food in times of draught. For the extended family around Bruno, too, the blueberry harvest is existential. Price negotiations in Latvian and Romani are going on in the improvised camp. Among Roma, however, they tell tales of spirits in the forest that hardly anyone escapes. Family spirits are a fixed part of the history of the country.

Nadja Rademacher

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

International Programme
Isle of Seals Edmunds Jansons

In the middle of a grey sea there is a grey island with grey hunters. Life is simple and harsh. Seals and hunters live together in a cruel balance. One day, a photographer arrives to document this life.

Isle of Seals

Animated Film
Latvia
2014
6 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Sabīne Andersone
Edmunds Jansons
Jēkabs Nīmanis
Edmunds Jansons
Edmunds Jansons, Mārtiņš Dūmiņš
Edmunds Jansons
Ģirts Bišs
In the middle of a grey sea there is a grey island with grey hunters. Life is simple and harsh. Seals and hunters live together in a cruel balance. One day, a photographer arrives to document this life. For him it turns out to be fatally complicated.

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Choir Tour

Animated Film
Latvia
2012
5 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Sabine Andersone
Edmunds Jansons
Girts Biss
Edmunds Jansons
Edmunds Jansons
Edmunds Jansons
Girts Biss
Even in a world-famous boys’ choir, boys are still curious and adventurous. When their supervisor gets stuck in an elevator, they discover the city on their own and have a lot of fun.

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

My Unknown Soldier

Dokumentarfilm
Tschechische Republik,
Lettland,
Slowakei
2018
79 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Michal Kráčmer, Sergei Serpuhov
Anna Kryvenko
Andris Dzenitis, Yair Elazar Glotman, David Střeleček
Radka Šišuláková
Daria Chernyak
Anna Kryvenko
Viktor Krivosudský
Prager Frühling, sowjetische Panzer, der Einmarsch der Truppen des Warschauer Paktes, das epochemachende Jahr 1968: Ausgangspunkte einer Familiengeschichte zwischen Tschechien, der Ukraine und Russland. „Die Besetzung von 1968 übersetzt sich in einen Mann mit einem Dachshund, der sich berechtigt fühlt, ein junges Mädchen in der Tram anzuschreien, weil er Ukrainisch nicht von Russisch unterscheiden kann.“

Eine Reihe von Fotos aus einem Familienalbum, aus denen ein Mann entfernt wurde, setzt Anna Kryvenko, die als Ukrainerin in Prag Film studiert, auf die Fährte einer Spurensuche nach ihrem Großonkel. Der „unbekannte Soldat“, dem so viele Mahnmale gewidmet sind, dass man beinahe vergisst, dass mit der summarischen Gedenkgeste konkrete Gesichter, Namen, Geburts- und Sterbedaten, vor der Zeit abgebrochene Biografien gemeint sind. Nach anfänglichem Zögern bricht die Familie der Filmemacherin das Schweigen und allmählich fügen sich die Teile zu einem neuen Bild. Familien- und Weltgeschichte kreuzen sich.

Fabian Tietke


Nominiert für den MDR-Filmpreis

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Hello, Horse!

Dokumentarfilm
Lettland
2017
24 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Laila Pakalniņa
Laila Pakalniņa
Ivars Burtnieks
Ivars Burtnieks
Anrijs Krenbergs
Bilder, aus Statik und Bewegung gemacht. Etwas steht fest in der Landschaft (ein Elektrizitätsmast, ein Verkehrsschild, ein Haus et cetera). Etwas anderes zieht, düst, rattert, marschiert durch eben diese hindurch. Auf der Soundspur zwitschert und quietscht und quakt und kuckuckt und schmatzt es. Farben, Stimmungen und Jahreszeiten wechseln und kommen zurück, Staub wird aufgewirbelt und legt sich. Eine fein orchestrierte Mechanik des Vorbeigehens und der Wiederkehr.

Esther Buss

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Internationales Programm
Blueberry Spirits Astra Zoldnere

Der lettische Wald – es ist Blaubeererntezeit. Andernorts gelten die Früchte mit dem perfekt fünfzackigen Stern als heilig, weil sie in Dürrezeiten als Kindernahrung dienen.

Blueberry Spirits

Dokumentarfilm
Lettland
2016
12 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Kaspars Braķis
Astra Zoldnere
Jan Schöwer
Kaspars Braķis
Astrīda Konstante
Ron Rosenberg
Anrijs Krenbergs
Der lettische Wald – es ist Blaubeererntezeit. Andernorts gelten die Früchte mit dem perfekt fünfzackigen Stern als heilig, weil sie in Dürrezeiten als Kindernahrung dienen. Auch für die Großfamilie um Bruno bedeutet die Blaubeerernte Existenzsicherung. Auf Lettisch und Romanes finden im improvisierten Camp die Preisverhandlungen statt. Im Kreis der Roma aber wird von den Geistern im Wald erzählt, denen kaum zu entkommen ist. Die Familiengeister sind fester Bestandteil der Landesgeschichte.

Nadja Rademacher

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Internationales Programm
Isle of Seals Edmunds Jansons

Mitten in einem grauen Meer liegt eine graue Insel mit grauen Jägern. Das Leben ist einfach und hart. Seehunde und Jäger leben in einem grausamen Gleichgewicht miteinander.

Isle of Seals

Animationsfilm
Lettland
2014
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Sabīne Andersone
Edmunds Jansons
Jēkabs Nīmanis
Edmunds Jansons
Edmunds Jansons, Mārtiņš Dūmiņš
Edmunds Jansons
Ģirts Bišs
Mitten in einem grauen Meer liegt eine graue Insel mit grauen Jägern. Das Leben ist einfach und hart. Seehunde und Jäger leben in einem grausamen Gleichgewicht miteinander. Eines Tages kommt ein Fotograf, der dieses Leben dokumentieren will. Für ihn erweist es sich als tödlich kompliziert.

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Choir Tour

Animationsfilm
Lettland
2012
5 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Sabine Andersone
Edmunds Jansons
Girts Biss
Edmunds Jansons
Edmunds Jansons
Edmunds Jansons
Girts Biss
Auch in einem weltbekannten Knabenchor sind die Jungs neugierig und abenteuerlustig. Als ihre Aufsichtsperson in einem Aufzug stecken bleibt, entdecken sie die Stadt auf eigene Faust und haben dabei jede Menge Spaß.

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.