Film Archive

A Trip Across Misty Meadows

Documentary Film
Lithuania
1973
11 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lithuanian Film Studio
Henrikas Šablevičius
Romualdas Fedaravičius
Kornelijus Matuzevičius
Regina Lazdauskienė
Vidmantas Puplauskis, Henrikas Šablevičius
A farewell to a slow, narrow-gauge train that recalls the idyllic times of independent Lithuania. The story was originally to be told through silent images only, but following preview screenings the filmmaker was instructed to add a voiceover. The criticism that “the film’s central hero cannot be a railway” led to the addition of a “human character” – the train’s overseer Povilas. Despite this, Šablevičius’s film remains a shining example of the Lithuanian poetic documentary thanks to its unique cinematic language and visual allegories conveying a deep connection to the past, something that the architects of the “new life” struggled to erase.
Next Masters Wettbewerb 2018
Animus Animalis (A Story About People, Animals and Things) Aistė Žegulytė

For animals killed in a hunt death is the start of an existence as objects. Mounted to look lifelike they are being exhibited – and looking at you.

Animus Animalis (A Story About People, Animals and Things)

Documentary Film
Lithuania
2018
69 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Giedrė Burokaitė
Aistė Žegulytė
Gediminas Jakubka
Vytautas Katkus
Mikas Žukauskas
Aistė Žegulytė, Titas Laucius
The trees are covered in thick snow. A peaceful group of hunters tramp through the forest. At night they celebrate their kill. A group of men sworn to their own ethics of the dignity of all creatures. It’s only in the death of the opposite they aimed at that they find respect for the existence of the killed game, for which this violent end of life is the beginning of an existence as an object. Mounted and worked on with extreme skill until they once more resemble the vibrant “before”, the carcasses are processed and made suitable for the human eye and its desire to feast on things. Former but never quite gone deer, muskrats and birds look at you.

The line between the life and death of these animals seems to get blurred in the course of the film, only to be drawn even more strongly. The adoration of the wilderness of tamed nature in rituals of presentation made for humans clearly follows different logics than the comfortable and presentable one of keeping pets. Dead eyes do not look back.

Fabian Tietke


Nominated for the MDR Film Prize

Autumn Snow

Documentary Film
Lithuania
1992
18 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dalia Cibauskaitė
Valdas Navasaitis
Valdas Naudžius, Arko Okk
Vida Buckutė
Valdas Navasaitis
Vidimantas Kazlauskas
The first snow of autumn and the last minutes of an earthling coincide. A poetic-impressionist study on fall, nature, and life. The end comes like winter itself: organic, cyclical – and sublime.

How We Played the Revolution

Documentary Film
France,
Lithuania
2011
72 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dagnė Vildžiūnaitė
Giedrė Žickytė
Viktoras Diawara, Vytautas Bikus
Audrius Kemežys, Eitvydas Doškus, Rimvydas Leipus
Giedrė Žickytė, Samuel Lajus, Laurence Generet
Giedrė Žickytė
Vytis Puronas
In 1984, the beginning of perestroika in the USSR, a group of architects decided to organise a band for a New Year’s party joke in Kaunas, Lithuania. What started as a joke grew into the “Singing Revolution”: the new exciting rock band “Antis” became famous by word of mouth. Their imposing make-up and props, stylised show and lyrics created a pervasive caricature of Soviet propaganda, perfectly discrediting the absurdity of the Soviet reality.

In Memory of a Day Gone By

Documentary Film
Lithuania
1990
39 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Šarūnas Bartas
Valdas Naudžius, Artūnas Leita
Nina Romanovskaja, Ariadna Gruodienė
Šarūnas Bartas
Romualdas Fedaravičius
Šarūnas Bartas’s documentary is one of the first works by the “break generation” of Lithuanian filmmakers who debuted in the 1990s. Marginalised members of society and people with disabilities, invisible in earlier documentaries, came to be principle characters in the new generation’s works, while settings shifted from the romanticised countryside to grimy cities. The shift in aesthetics corresponded to deep changes in the country and represented an attempt by young filmmakers to come to grips with the new reality and find their place in it.

Nijolė

Documentary Film
Italy,
Lithuania
2018
79 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dagnė Vildžiūnaitė, Max Chicco
Sandro Bozzolo
Lina Lapelytė
Sandro Bozzolo
Silvija Vilkaitė, María Cecilia Reyes
Maria Cecilia Reyes, Sandro Bozzolo
Vytis Puronas
Antanas Mockus was Mayor of Bogotá, several times Colombian presidential candidate, and voted into the senate in 2018. But this film is not about the politician, but about his 88-year-old mother, the idiosyncratic artist Nijolė Šivickas. She has consistently protected her private life from the public eye, agreeing only reluctantly to media interviews. Even her son knew almost nothing about her Lithuanian childhood. In her artistic practice, but also emotionally, she had turned her back on her homeland.

Now Nijolė has been invited to give a workshop on the occasion of a great retrospective in Vilnius. The film follows her and Antanas on this journey. It’s basically a son’s look at a mother whose independence and critical social spirit were his constant inspiration. Sandro Bozzolo and his team approach their protagonists with restraint, adapt the montage to their rhythm and focus on the rooms of their creative work, on Nijolė’s meetings with Antanas and their journey home together, which moves both deeply. The son takes his mother by the hand, as does this story of an outer and inner journey with the audience. Which events continue to shape one’s life and which had better be forgotten?

Annina Wettstein


Nominated for the MDR Film Prize

Country Focus Lithuania 2018
No Foe Can Scare Us Edmundas Zubavičius

In director Edmundas Zubavičius’s filmed feuilleton, we observe the absurd reality unfolding in the rehearsals for an imitated nuclear attack of “an enemy behind the border”.

No Foe Can Scare Us

Documentary Film
Lithuania
1978
11 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Edmundas Zubavičius
Romualdas Fedaravičius
Romas Damulis
Edmundas Zubavičius
In director Edmundas Zubavičius’s filmed feuilleton, we observe the absurd reality unfolding in the rehearsals for an imitated nuclear attack of “an enemy behind the border”. The characters of the film are the inhabitants of a small village in Samogitia. They are participating in civil protection exercises and preparing for a civil defence competition. However, although the danger of a new war has escalated and the civil protection exercises have been organized regularly, apparently no one has taken the threat seriously.
Country Focus Lithuania 2018
Sensitivity as Bread Edmundas Zubavičius

The Kaunas Veterinary Academy is at the centre of one of the early films by Edmundas Zubavičius. The observation of the everyday life there reveals a longing for human empathy.

Sensitivity as Bread

Documentary Film
Lithuania
1979
10 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lithuanian Film Studio
Edmundas Zubavičius
Donatas Buklys
Vidmantas Kazlauskas
The Kaunas Veterinary Academy is at the centre of one of the early films by the particularly productive Lithuanian documentary filmmaker Edmundas Zubavičius. The observation of the everyday life there reveals a longing for human empathy – almost as if it was a prayer. The refined connection between image and sound is offset by the poetic cinematic language. Sequences of realistic scenes encourage you to contemplate the link between man and nature.
Country Focus Lithuania 2018
Ten Minutes Before the Flight of Icarus Arūnas Matelis

This film is considered to be a keynote piece for the post-Soviet generation of Lithuanian filmmakers who rejected straightforward declarativity.

Ten Minutes Before the Flight of Icarus

Documentary Film
Lithuania
1990
11 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lithuanian Film Studio, Studio “Nominum”
Arūnas Matelis
Faustas Latėnas
Rimvydas Leipus
Danutė Cicėnaitė
Vidmantas Kazlauskas
This film is considered to be a keynote piece for the post-Soviet generation of Lithuanian filmmakers who rejected straightforward declarativity and immersed themselves in the silent observation of reality. Arūnas Matelis traces the beginnings of post-Soviet transformation not in the main squares in Vilnius but in the daily life of the inhabitants of Užupis – a historical quarter of the old town of Vilnius. The film, awarded at the Oberhausen, Bornholm and Pärnu film festivals, was also screened at the Cannes “International Critics’ Week” in 2005.
Country Focus Lithuania 2018
The Dreams of Centenarians Robertas Verba

Ironically, “The Dreams of Centenarians” was submitted as a feature for the centenary of Lenin’s birth. It was the simplest way to secure authorisation to film old people (some of whom were actually a hundred years old).

The Dreams of Centenarians

Documentary Film
Lithuania
1969
17 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lithuanian Film Studio
Robertas Verba
Algimantas Apanavičius
Algirdas Tarvydas, Robertas Verba
Rimtautas Šilinis
Ironically, “The Dreams of Centenarians” was submitted as a feature for the centenary of Lenin’s birth. It was the simplest way to secure authorisation to film old people (some of whom were actually a hundred years old). The filmmaker also satisfied the Soviet censors’ requirement to focus on working-class people rather than the intelligentsia – the centenarians of the film are indeed ordinary Lithuanian country people. Still, ideologically-minded critics of the time objected to the film’s choice of “unsightly” subjects (a transgression against the USSR’s cult of youth and fitness) and “lack of optimism.”
Country Focus Lithuania 2018
The Earth of the Blind Audrius Stonys

Audrius Stonys, another “break generation” filmmaker, won international recognition with “The Earth of the Blind”, which came to serve as the generation’s manifesto.

The Earth of the Blind

Documentary Film
Lithuania
1992
26 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Studio “Kinema”
Audrius Stonys
Vidmantas Bartulis
Rimvydas Leipus
Danutė Cicėnaitė
Viktoras Juzonis
Audrius Stonys, another “break generation” filmmaker, won international recognition with “The Earth of the Blind”, which came to serve as the generation’s manifesto and was lauded in Lithuania and abroad. In 1992 the film was awarded the European Film Academy’s Felix Prize for Best Documentary. Stonys was a disciple of documentary filmmaker Henrikas Šablevičius, and the latter’s influence is present in “The Earth of the Blind”, a picture that weaves the new generation’s “silent” aesthetics and novel protagonists into the visual poetics of their predecessors.
Country Focus Lithuania 2018
The Field of Magic Mindaugas Survila

“The Field of Magic” is a documentary poem about people living for over two decades in the Būda forest near the abandoned Kariotiškės dump, 40 kilometres from Vilnius.

The Field of Magic

Documentary Film
Lithuania
2011
61 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jurga Gluskinienė, Giedrė Beinoriūtė
Mindaugas Survila
Mindaugas Survila
Danielius Kokanauskis
Saulius Urbanavičius
This is the first film by director Mindaugas Survila, originally trained as a biologist, to tell a story of people, not animals. “The Field of Magic” is a documentary poem about people living for over two decades in the Būda forest near the abandoned Kariotiškės dump, 40 kilometres from Vilnius. The result of four year's work, the film captures the perspective of the dump dwellers by telling the story of a disintegrating community: its uniqueness, daily rhythm, peculiar way of life, everyday joys and sorrows.

The Juggler

Animated Film
France,
Lithuania
2018
11 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Agnė Adomėnė, Delphine Schmit
Skirmanta Jakaitė
Biosphere
Skirmanta Jakaitė
Skirmanta Jakaitė
David Vincent
In juggling the flying objects seem connected by an invisible thread; the same kind on which these stories are threaded, in which someone strings pinned spiders in a chain, someone else is carried through a dark forest in a box. Then there is the strand of muscles and intestines from which flows a red scarf that a girl wears round her neck. Mysterious, uncanny goings-on – seemingly insane, but quite normal.

Carolin Weidner
Country Focus Lithuania 2018
The Old Man and the Land Robertas Verba

One of the iconic early examples of Lithuanian poetic documentary cinema. The hero of Verba’s film, a white-moustached old man, tells his life story.

The Old Man and the Land

Documentary Film
Lithuania
1965
17 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lithuanian Film Studio
Robertas Verba
Algimantas Apanavičius
Vladimiras Kostiugovas, Robertas Verba
Vytenis Imbrasas
Grigorijus Kanovičius, Vytautas Rimkevičius, Robertas Verba
One of the iconic early examples of Lithuanian poetic documentary cinema. Documentaries and newsreels of the time were expected to show country folk rejoicing in their improving Soviet existence and in the new achievements of collective farming, their experiences usually conveyed by voiceover narration. The hero of Verba’s film, a white-moustached old man, is different. By allowing his protagonist to speak for himself, to narrate his own life story, including its woes, and to talk about his children and the love he feels for his wife, Verba created a unique profile of a genuine man from an old Lithuanian (as opposed to Soviet) village.

Filmarchiv

Länderfokus Litauen 2018
A Trip Across Misty Meadows Henrikas Šablevičius

Ein poetischer Abschiedsgruß an eine gemütliche Schmalspureisenbahn, die an die idyllischen Zeiten der litauischen Unabhängigkeit erinnerte.

A Trip Across Misty Meadows

Dokumentarfilm
Litauen
1973
11 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lithuanian Film Studio
Henrikas Šablevičius
Romualdas Fedaravičius
Kornelijus Matuzevičius
Regina Lazdauskienė
Vidmantas Puplauskis, Henrikas Šablevičius

Ein Abschiedsgruß an eine gemütliche Schmalspureisenbahn, die an die idyllischen Zeiten der litauischen Unabhängigkeit erinnerte. Als Bilderzählung ohne Ton geplant, wurde der Filmemacher nach Testvorführungen jedoch angewiesen, ein Voiceover hinzuzufügen. Der Held könne unmöglich ein Zug sein, so die Kritik. Sie mündete in der Einführung einer „menschlichen Figur“, nämlich des Vorarbeiters Povilas. Trotz alledem bleibt Šablevičius’ Film ein leuchtendes Beispiel für Litauens poetischen Dokumentarfilm – dank einer einzigartigen kinematografischen und allegorischen Sprache, die von tiefer Verbundenheit mit der Vergangenheit zeugt. Genau das wollten die Architekten des „neuen Lebens“ tunlichst unterbinden.


Next Masters Wettbewerb 2018
Animus Animalis (A Story About People, Animals and Things) Aistė Žegulytė

Für die auf der Jagd geschossenen Tiere beginnt mit ihrem Tod eine Existenz als Objekt. Lebensähnlich ausgestopft, werden sie ausgestellt – und sehen dich an.

Animus Animalis (A Story About People, Animals and Things)

Dokumentarfilm
Litauen
2018
69 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Giedrė Burokaitė
Aistė Žegulytė
Gediminas Jakubka
Vytautas Katkus
Mikas Žukauskas
Aistė Žegulytė, Titas Laucius
Dick liegt der Schnee auf den Bäumen. Eine Gruppe von Männern stapft in trauter Gemeinschaft bei einer Jagd durch den winterlichen Wald. Am Abend feiern sie ihre Beute. Eine Gruppe von Eingeschworenen mit einer eigenen Ethik der kreatürlichen Würde. Erst im Tod des aufs Korn genommenen Gegenübers finden sie zu Respekt vor dem Dasein des eben geschossenen Wildes, für das mit dem gewaltsam herbeigeführten Lebensende eine Existenz als Objekt beginnt. Ausgestopft, mit größter Handwerkskunst bearbeitet, bis sich die Ähnlichkeit zum vitalen „Vorher“ wieder einstellt, werden die Kadaver hergerichtet, dem schwelgen wollenden Menschenblick angemessen. Gewesene, aber nie so ganz vergangene Rehe, Hirsche, Bisamratten und Vögel sehen dich an.

Die Trennlinie zwischen Leben und Tod der Tiere scheint im Laufe des Films zu verwischen, nur um eben darin umso nachdrücklicher betont zu werden. Die Anbetung der Wildnis gezähmter Natur in Ritualen der für Menschen gemachten Präsentation gehorcht deutlich anderen Logiken als denen der bequemen, präsentablen Haustierhaltung. Tote Augen blicken nicht zurück.

Fabian Tietke


Nominiert für den MDR-Filmpreis

Länderfokus Litauen 2018
Autumn Snow Valdas Navasaitis

Der erste Herbstschnee und die letzten Minuten eines Erdlings fallen zusammen. Eine poetisch-impressionistische Studie über Niedergang, Natur und Leben.

Autumn Snow

Dokumentarfilm
Litauen
1992
18 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dalia Cibauskaitė
Valdas Navasaitis
Valdas Naudžius, Arko Okk
Vida Buckutė
Valdas Navasaitis
Vidimantas Kazlauskas

Der erste Herbstschnee und die letzten Minuten eines Erdlings fallen zusammen. Eine poetisch-impressionistische Studie über Niedergang, Natur und Leben. Das Ende kommt wie der Winter selbst: organisch, zyklisch – und erhaben.


Länderfokus Litauen 2018
How We Played the Revolution Giedrė Žickytė

1984, in der UdSSR beginnt die Perestroika, beschließt eine Gruppe von Architekten im litauischen Kaunas, als Silvesterfeier-Scherz eine Band ins Leben zu rufen.

How We Played the Revolution

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich,
Litauen
2011
72 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dagnė Vildžiūnaitė
Giedrė Žickytė
Viktoras Diawara, Vytautas Bikus
Audrius Kemežys, Eitvydas Doškus, Rimvydas Leipus
Giedrė Žickytė, Samuel Lajus, Laurence Generet
Giedrė Žickytė
Vytis Puronas

1984, in der UdSSR beginnt die Perestroika, beschließt eine Gruppe von Architekten im litauischen Kaunas, als Silvesterfeier-Scherz eine Band ins Leben zu rufen. Was als Witz begann, wuchs sich zur „singenden Revolution“ aus: Die neue, aufregende Rockband „Antis“ ging von Mund zu Mund. Aus eindrucksvollem Make-up und ebensolchen Kulissen, aus stilisierter Bühnenshow und Songtexten wurde eine ausgefeilte Karikatur der sowjetischen Propaganda, die das Absurde der Sowjetwirklichkeit in Vollendung verhöhnte.


Länderfokus Litauen 2018
In Memory of a Day Gone By Šarūnas Bartas

Der Dokumentarfilm von Šarūnas Bartas gehört zu den ersten Arbeiten der sogenannten Break-Generation des litauischen Films in den 1990er Jahren.

In Memory of a Day Gone By

Dokumentarfilm
Litauen
1990
39 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Šarūnas Bartas
Valdas Naudžius, Artūnas Leita
Nina Romanovskaja, Ariadna Gruodienė
Šarūnas Bartas
Romualdas Fedaravičius

Der Dokumentarfilm von Šarūnas Bartas gehört zu den ersten Arbeiten der sogenannten Break-Generation des litauischen Films, die in den 1990er Jahren ihre ersten Schritte machte. Randexistenzen, Menschen mit Behinderungen, die im Dokumentarfilm bis dato nicht vorkamen, erklärten die Filmemacher dieser neuen Generation zu Hauptfiguren. Sie siedelten ihre Geschichten nicht im romantisierten ländlichen Raum an, sondern im Schmutz der Städte. Die ästhetische Verschiebung korrespondierte mit den tiefgreifenden Veränderungen im Land und stand für den Versuch dieser jungen Dokumentaristen, mit der neuen Realität zurechtzukommen und ihren Platz darin zu finden.


Next Masters Wettbewerb 2018
Nijolė Sandro Bozzolo

Porträt der kolumbianischen Künstlerin Nijolė Šivickas und der ungewöhnlichen Beziehung zu ihrem Sohn Antanas Mockus. Eine gemeinsame Reise führt die beiden in Nijolės Geburtsland Litauen.

Nijolė

Dokumentarfilm
Italien,
Litauen
2018
79 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dagnė Vildžiūnaitė, Max Chicco
Sandro Bozzolo
Lina Lapelytė
Sandro Bozzolo
Silvija Vilkaitė, María Cecilia Reyes
Maria Cecilia Reyes, Sandro Bozzolo
Vytis Puronas
Antanas Mockus war Bürgermeister von Bogotá, mehrmals kolumbianischer Präsidentschaftskandidat und wurde 2018 in den Senat gewählt. Doch hier geht es nicht um ihn als Politiker, sondern um seine 88-jährige Mutter, die eigenwillige Künstlerin Nijolė Šivickas. Beharrlich hat sie ihr Privatleben vor der Öffentlichkeit abgeschirmt. Nur widerwillig gab sie in Medieninterviews Auskunft. Selbst ihr Sohn wusste kaum etwas über ihre Kindheit in Litauen. In ihrem künstlerischen Schaffen, aber auch emotional, hat sie sich von ihrem Heimatland abgewandt.

Nijolė ist nun eingeladen, anlässlich einer großen Retrospektive in Vilnius einen Workshop zu halten. Der Film begleitet sie und Antanas auf dieser Reise. Es ist gleichsam der Blick eines Sohnes auf seine Mutter. Ihre Unabhängigkeit und ihr gesellschaftskritischer Geist waren stets seine Inspiration. Sandro Bozzolo und sein Team nähern sich ihrer Protagonistin zurückhaltend, passen sich auch in der Montage ihrem Rhythmus an und konzentrieren sich auf die Räume ihres Schaffens, auf Nijolės Begegnungen mit Antanas und auf die gemeinsame Rückkehr in die Heimat, die beide tief bewegt. So wie der Sohn die Mutter nimmt auch diese Geschichte einer äußeren wie inneren Reise die Zuschauenden an die Hand. Welche Geschehnisse bleiben in einem Leben prägend und welche sollten besser vergessen werden?

Annina Wettstein


Nominiert für den MDR-Filmpreis

Länderfokus Litauen 2018
No Foe Can Scare Us Edmundas Zubavičius

In Edmundas Zubavičius’ gefilmtem Feuilleton ist die Wirklichkeit in all ihrer Absurdität zu betrachten: Die Reaktion auf einen simulierten atomaren Angriff durch „einen Feind hinter der Grenze“ wird geprobt.

No Foe Can Scare Us

Dokumentarfilm
Litauen
1978
11 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Edmundas Zubavičius
Romualdas Fedaravičius
Romas Damulis
Edmundas Zubavičius

In Edmundas Zubavičius’ gefilmtem Feuilleton ist die Wirklichkeit in all ihrer Absurdität zu betrachten: Die Reaktion auf einen simulierten atomaren Angriff durch „einen Feind hinter der Grenze“ wird geprobt. Edmundas Zubavičius zeigt die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner eines kleinen Dorfes in Samogitien bei der Teilnahme an einer zivilen Katastrophenschutzübung und den Vorbereitungen auf einen Zivilverteidigungswettbewerb. Obwohl die Gefahr eines neuen Krieges eskaliert war und Schutzübungen dieser Art regelmäßig abgehalten wurden, nahm offensichtlich niemand die Bedrohung wirklich ernst.


Länderfokus Litauen 2018
Sensitivity as Bread Edmundas Zubavičius

Die Veterinärakademie in Kaunas steht im Mittelpunkt dieses frühen Films von Edmundas Zubavičius. Die Beobachtung des Alltags in der Institution offenbart die Sehnsucht nach menschlicher Anteilnahme.

Sensitivity as Bread

Dokumentarfilm
Litauen
1979
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lithuanian Film Studio
Edmundas Zubavičius
Donatas Buklys
Vidmantas Kazlauskas

Die Veterinärakademie in Kaunas steht im Mittelpunkt dieses frühen Films von Edmundas Zubavičius, einem der produktivsten litauischen Dokumentarfilmer. Die Beobachtung des Alltags in der Institution offenbart die Sehnsucht nach menschlicher Anteilnahme – fast als spräche man ein Gebet. Die poetische kinematografische Sprache betont die raffinierten Verbindungen zwischen Bild und Ton, während realistische Szenenfolgen zum Nachsinnen über die Verbindung von Mensch und Natur auffordern.


Länderfokus Litauen 2018
Ten Minutes Before the Flight of Icarus Arūnas Matelis

Dieser Film gilt als programmatisch für die postsowjetische Generation litauischer Filmemacher, die die geradlinige Verkündungsmentalität verweigerte.

Ten Minutes Before the Flight of Icarus

Dokumentarfilm
Litauen
1990
11 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lithuanian Film Studio, Studio “Nominum”
Arūnas Matelis
Faustas Latėnas
Rimvydas Leipus
Danutė Cicėnaitė
Vidmantas Kazlauskas

Dieser Film gilt als programmatisch für die postsowjetische Generation litauischer Filmemacher, die die geradlinige Verkündungsmentalität verweigerte und sich stattdessen der stillen Wirklichkeitsbetrachtung zuwandte. Arūnas Matelis spürt die beginnende Transformation des Landes nach der Unabhängigkeit von der Sowjetunion nicht etwa an den zentralen Plätzen der Hauptstadt auf, sondern sucht ihre Spuren im Alltag der Einwohner von Užupis, einem historischen Viertel am Rande der Altstadt von Vilnius. Matelis’ Film gewann Preise in Oberhausen, Bornholm und Pärnu und wurde 2005 im Rahmen der „Semaine de la Critique“ in Cannes gezeigt.


Länderfokus Litauen 2018
The Dreams of Centenarians Robertas Verba

Ironischerweise entstand „The Dreams of Centenarians“ als Beitrag zum hundertsten Geburtstag von Lenin. Es war der einfachste Weg, um sich das Filmen alter Leute (von denen einige tatsächlich hundert Jahre alt waren) genehmigen zu lassen.

The Dreams of Centenarians

Dokumentarfilm
Litauen
1969
17 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lithuanian Film Studio
Robertas Verba
Algimantas Apanavičius
Algirdas Tarvydas, Robertas Verba
Rimtautas Šilinis

Ironischerweise entstand „The Dreams of Centenarians“ als Beitrag zum hundertsten Geburtstag von Lenin. Es war der einfachste Weg, um sich das Filmen alter Leute (von denen einige tatsächlich hundert Jahre alt waren) genehmigen zu lassen. Auch erfüllte der Filmemacher die Auflage der sowjetischen Zensur, nach der das Interesse bevorzugt Menschen aus der Arbeiterklasse, nicht der Intelligenzija zu gelten hatte – Robertas Verba’s Hundertjährige sind einfache Leute vom litauischen Land. Dennoch fiel der Film bei den ideologisch geschulten Kritikern der Zeit durch: wegen seiner „unansehnlichen“ Themenwahl (die dem UdSSR-Kult um Jugend und Fitness widersprach) und seinem „mangelnden Optimismus“.


Länderfokus Litauen 2018
The Earth of the Blind Audrius Stonys

Audrius Stonys, ein weiterer Filmemacher der „Break-Generation“, schuf mit „The Earth of the Blind“ das Manifest dieser neuen Dokumentarfilmbewegung.

The Earth of the Blind

Dokumentarfilm
Litauen
1992
26 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Studio “Kinema”
Audrius Stonys
Vidmantas Bartulis
Rimvydas Leipus
Danutė Cicėnaitė
Viktoras Juzonis

Audrius Stonys, ein weiterer Filmemacher der „Break-Generation“, schuf mit „The Earth of the Blind“ das Manifest dieser neuen Dokumentarfilmbewegung, das internationale Anerkennung erlangte. Sein Film wurde sowohl in Litauen als auch im Ausland prämiert und gewann 1992 den Europäischen Filmpreis Felix für den besten europäischen Dokumentarfilm. Stonys war ein Schüler des Dokumentarfilmers Henrikas Šablevičius, dessen Einfluss hier spürbar ist. „The Earth of the Blind“ bindet die „stille“ Ästhetik und die neuen Protagonisten der jungen Dokumentaristen-Generation in die visuelle Poetik ihrer Vorgänger ein.


Länderfokus Litauen 2018
The Field of Magic Mindaugas Survila

„The Field of Magic“ ist ein Dokumentargedicht über Leute, die seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten im Waldgebiet von Būda nahe der stillgelegten Mülldeponie Kariotiškės leben, etwa 40 Kilometer entfernt von Vilnius.

The Field of Magic

Dokumentarfilm
Litauen
2011
61 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jurga Gluskinienė, Giedrė Beinoriūtė
Mindaugas Survila
Mindaugas Survila
Danielius Kokanauskis
Saulius Urbanavičius

Der ursprünglich zum Biologen ausgebildete Regisseur Mindaugas Survila legt hier erstmals einen Film vor, der von Menschen und nicht von Tieren handelt. „The Field of Magic“ ist ein Dokumentargedicht über Leute, die seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten im Waldgebiet von Būda nahe der stillgelegten Mülldeponie Kariotiškės leben, etwa 40 Kilometer entfernt von Vilnius. Vier Jahre Arbeit nahm das Filmprojekt in Anspruch. Aus der Sicht der Deponie-Anwohner wird die Geschichte einer auseinanderbrechenden Gemeinschaft erzählt: von ihrer Einzigartigkeit, ihrem Tagesrhythmus, ihrem besonderen Lebensstil, den alltäglichen Freuden und Sorgen.


The Juggler

Animationsfilm
Frankreich,
Litauen
2018
11 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Agnė Adomėnė, Delphine Schmit
Skirmanta Jakaitė
Biosphere
Skirmanta Jakaitė
Skirmanta Jakaitė
David Vincent
Beim Jonglieren scheinen die fliegenden Gegenstände wie durch einen unsichtbaren Faden verbunden. Und an einem solchen Faden sind auch diese Geschichten aufgezogen, in denen jemand aufgespießte Spinnen zu einer Kette reiht und ein anderer in einer Kiste durch einen finsteren Wald getragen wird. Dann ist da eine Strippe aus Muskelfleisch oder Gedärmen, aus der ein roter Schal fließt, den ein Mädchen um den Hals trägt. Mysteriöse, unheimliche Begebenheiten – wahnsinnig anmutend, aber ganz normal.

Carolin Weidner
Länderfokus Litauen 2018
The Old Man and the Land Robertas Verba

Eines der frühen ikonischen Beispiele für das poetische Dokumentarkino Litauens. Verbas Held, ein weißbärtiger alter Mann, erzählt seine Lebens- und Leidensgeschichte.

The Old Man and the Land

Dokumentarfilm
Litauen
1965
17 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lithuanian Film Studio
Robertas Verba
Algimantas Apanavičius
Vladimiras Kostiugovas, Robertas Verba
Vytenis Imbrasas
Grigorijus Kanovičius, Vytautas Rimkevičius, Robertas Verba

Eines der frühen ikonischen Beispiele für das poetische Dokumentarkino Litauens. Von Dokumentarfilmen und Wochenschauen dieser Zeit erwartete man Landbewohner beim Jubel über ihre sich verbessernde sowjetische Existenz und Fortschritte in der kollektivierten Landwirtschaft. Gewöhnlich übermittelte dies ein Kommentar aus dem Off. Robertas Verbas Held, ein weißbärtiger alter Mann, ist anders. Verba erlaubt ihm, für sich selbst zu sprechen, seine eigene Lebens- und Leidensgeschichte zu schildern, von seinen Kindern und der Liebe zu seiner Ehefrau zu erzählen. Dabei entsteht das einzigartige und authentische Porträt eines Mannes aus einem litauischen (ausdrücklich nicht sowjetischen) Dorf.