Film Archive

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Ceuta’s Gate

Documentary Film
France,
Morocco
2019
19 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Said Hamich, Sophie Penson, Randa Maroufi
Randa Maroufi
Luca Coassin
Ismaël Joffroy Chandoutis
Everything seems tidy at first in Randa Maroufi’s performative reconstruction. Prettily sorted cars queue up, market women tie up their baggage, security officers do press-ups. On the monotonous grey background the scenes appear schematic, like a blueprint where suddenly everything is graphically condensed, though, with the otherwise observant camera drifting disorientedly in the middle. Everyday life at the border between the Spanish exclave of Ceuta and Morocco, which is crossed illegally by all kinds of goods.

André Eckardt

Tea or Electricity

Documentary Film
Belgium,
France,
Morocco
2012
90 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Christian Martin
Jérome Colin, Jérôme le Maire
Matyas Veress
Jérôme le Maire
Jean-Luc Fichefet, Jérôme le Maire
While others are thinking about alternative energy concepts, this remote Moroccan Atlas mountain range has no electricity at all. The life of the clan is ruled by hard work, bitter poverty and a deadly cough. They only get news from the world outside and food supplies when the narrow path to the village is negotiable. There is no street, let alone a school. One day two employees of an energy company turn up and promise to build a power line that will change the villagers’ lives...
Jerôme le Maire follows this adventurous and arduous undertaking over three years: how all the men in the village must pitch in to heave the heavy compressor up the mountain, how the parts are delivered by donkey and the villagers must first apply for identity cards in town before the switches up the mountain can finally be turned on. Because he looks closely, this tragicomic tale gains most of its depth from the conflicts set in motion by the advent of the modern age in the village community. While some illuminate their premises as bright as daylight, others have barely enough for a dim bulb to light their hut.
The first moving images that arrive on the dusty village square via the new television set – a nod to film history – finally serve as messages from a radiant consumer world. One gets an idea where the path out of the Middle Ages is going to lead straightaway.
– Grit Lemke

Filmarchiv

Jahr

Countries

Ceuta’s Gate

Dokumentarfilm
2019
19 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Said Hamich, Sophie Penson, Randa Maroufi
Randa Maroufi
Luca Coassin
Ismaël Joffroy Chandoutis
In Randa Maroufis performativer Rekonstruktion wirkt zunächst alles aufgeräumt. Fein sortiert stehen Autos Schlange, schnüren Händlerinnen ihr Gepäck, machen Sicherheitsbeamte Liegestütze. Vor dem eintönig-grauen Hintergrund erscheinen die Szenen schematisch wie ein Anleitungsplan, auf dem sich jedoch plötzlich alles grafisch verdichtet – die ansonsten beobachtende Kamera orientierungslos mittendrin. Alltag an der Grenze zwischen der spanischen Exklave Ceuta und Marokko, über die Waren illegal wandern.

André Eckardt

Tea or Electricity

Dokumentarfilm
2012
90 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Christian Martin
Jérome Colin, Jérôme le Maire
Matyas Veress
Jérôme le Maire
Jean-Luc Fichefet, Jérôme le Maire
Während man anderswo über alternative Energiekonzepte nachdenkt, gibt es im abgelegenen Atlas-Hochgebirge von Marokko überhaupt keinen Strom. Harte Arbeit, bittere Armut und ein tödlicher Husten bestimmen den Alltag des Clans. Kontakt mit der Außenwelt und Versorgung mit Lebensmitteln gibt es nur, wenn der kleine Pfad in das Dorf passierbar ist – denn eine Straße gibt es ebensowenig wie eine Schule. Da tauchen zwei Angestellte eines Energieunternehmens auf und versprechen, eine Stromleitung zu legen, die das Leben der Dörfler ändern würde …
Über drei Jahre folgt Jerôme le Maire dem abenteuerlichen und beschwerlichen Unterfangen: Wie alle Männer des Dorfes mit anpacken müssen, um den tonnenschweren Kompressor auf den Berg zu bekommen, wie die Teile per Esel angeliefert werden, die Dorfbewohner sich erst Ausweise in der Stadt besorgen müssen und die Schalter auf dem Berg schließlich angeknipst werden. Weil er genau hinsieht, gewinnt die tragikomische Erzählung den großen Atem vor allem aus dem, was die Ankunft der Moderne an Konflikten in der Dorfgemeinschaft freisetzt. Denn während die einen ihr Anwesen taghell erleuchten, reicht es bei anderen gerade für ein Funzellicht in der Hütte.
Die ersten bewegten Bilder, die aus dem neuen Fernsehgerät auf dem staubigen Dorfplatz ankommen – eine Reminiszenz an die Filmgeschichte – sind schließlich Botschaften einer strahlenden Konsumwelt. Man ahnt, wohin der Weg aus dem Mittelalter schnurstracks führen wird.
– Grit Lemke