Film Archive

Crowded

Animated Film
Germany,
Netherlands,
USA
2019
6 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin, Max Rubin
Nathania Rubin, Max Rubin
A face is being drawn with a pencil. The countenance of a woman emerges. Old and suddenly a girl again. In her bedroom the film of her life unfolds by key moments. Changes are made visible by the eraser and new drawings. The girl becomes a woman, a lover brings a storm of mystical and fantastical elements. The arrival of the child opens new dimensions not only in the room. The child scrutinises the world and looks right into our eyes.

Nadja Rademacher

Little Man, Time and the Troubadour

Documentary Film
Belgium,
Netherlands
2019
104 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jan van der Zanden, Ineke Kanters
Ineke Smits
Walter Hus
Piotr Rosolowski
Katarina Türler
Ineke Smits, Sipa Labakhua
Jeroen Stout
“We didn’t care about nationality,” says an elderly lady. She is showing the house where she lived with her children as a young woman to her friend and the camera crew. The school was right around the corner. Everyone lived harmoniously door to door here: Armenians, Georgians, Abkhazians, Mingrelians. Until the war came. Everyone who could afford it fled. To Russia, to Turkey, to Georgia. Abkhazia, which considers itself a state, lies in the south of the Caucasus and borders on the Black Sea. Under international law the country belongs to Georgia, but has the status of an autonomous region.

The Abkhazian artist Sipa Labakhua has returned home after many years and now tours the country with his autobiographical puppet show. He tells of his own experiences, his flight, his father’s dreams – and collects more stories on his journeys: of Georgian peasants, Orthodox priests, Abkhazian nationalists, Syrian refugees and Russian hippies. The result is the poetic image of a society that couldn’t be more diverse and that is asking itself an essential question that concerns us all: How do you define the national and cultural identity of a country? Sipa Labakhua has a very original answer: He sees himself as a troubadour, his art as his country and his talent as his home.

Julia Weigl
International Programme 2019
Mama Mania Vincent Sparreboom

Mama, a neuroleptic, the telephone and the director: Using few words but telling much, Vincent Sparreboom unfolds t(his) mother-son relationship in which she hopes and he fears.

Mama Mania

Documentary Film
Netherlands
2019
13 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Vincent Sparreboom
Vincent Sparreboom
Joachim Lenting, Vincent Sparreboom
Vincent Sparreboom
Vincent Sparreboom
Erik Langhout, Vincent Sparreboom
“Hey mom, it’s me.” A phone call begins what a short film about a lifelong mother-son-relationship can tell in phone calls, text messages and impressions of the environment: much, all. The dialogue between word and image is sparse, but full of the unspoken. The camera descends from above into two inhabited solitudes: the filmmaker’s and his mother’s. The two discuss the neuroleptic Haldol and a new man in Mom’s life on the phone. Vincent is worried.

Sylvia Görke

Filmarchiv

Sections (Film Archive)

Crowded

Animationsfilm
Deutschland,
Niederlande,
USA
2019
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin, Max Rubin
Nathania Rubin, Max Rubin
Ein Gesicht wird mit Bleistift gezeichnet. Es entsteht das Antlitz einer Frau. Alt und plötzlich wieder Mädchen. In ihrem Schlafzimmer entfaltet sich der Film ihres Lebens durch Schlüsselmomente. Mit Radiergummi und Neuzeichnungen werden Wandlungen sichtbar. Das Mädchen wird zur Frau, mit einem Liebhaber stürmen mystisch-fantastische Elemente herein. Die Ankunft des Kindes eröffnet nicht nur im Raum neue Dimensionen. Das Kind schaut eindringlich in die Welt und uns direkt in die Augen.

Nadja Rademacher

Little Man, Time and the Troubadour

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien,
Niederlande
2019
104 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jan van der Zanden, Ineke Kanters
Ineke Smits
Walter Hus
Piotr Rosolowski
Katarina Türler
Ineke Smits, Sipa Labakhua
Jeroen Stout
„Nationalitäten waren uns egal“, sagt eine ältere Dame. Sie zeigt ihrer Freundin und dem Kamerateam das Haus, in dem sie als junge Frau mit ihren Kindern wohnte. Die Schule war nur um die Ecke. Alle lebten sie hier harmonisch Tür an Tür: Armenier, Georgier, Abchasier, Mingrelier. Bis der Krieg kam. Jeder, der es sich leisten konnte, flüchtete. Nach Russland, in die Türkei, nach Georgien. Abchasien, das sich selbst als Staat betrachtet, liegt im Süden des Kaukasus und grenzt ans Schwarze Meer. Völkerrechtlich gehört das Land zu Georgien, hat jedoch den Status einer autonomen Region.

Der abchasische Künstler Sipa Labakhua ist nach vielen Jahren in seine Heimat zurückkehrt und zieht nun mit seiner autobiografischen Marionettenshow durchs Land. Er erzählt von seinen eigenen Erfahrungen, seiner Flucht, den Träumen seines Vaters – und sammelt auf seinen Reisen weitere Geschichten: von georgischen Bauern, orthodoxen Priestern, abchasischen Nationalisten, syrischen Flüchtlingen und russischen Hippies. Daraus entsteht das poetische Bild einer Gesellschaft, die diverser kaum sein könnte und sich eine essenzielle Frage stellt, die uns alle beschäftigt: Wie definiert sich die nationale oder kulturelle Identität eines Landes? Sipa Labakhua hat darauf eine ganz eigenwillige Antwort: Er sieht sich als Troubadour, die Kunst als sein Heimatland und sein Talent als Zuhause.

Julia Weigl
Internationales Programm
Mama Mania Vincent Sparreboom

Die Mama, ein Neuroleptikum, das Telefon und der Regisseur: Wortkarg, aber vielsagend entfaltet Vincent Sparreboom (s-)eine Mutter-Sohn-Beziehung, in der die eine hofft und der andere bangt.

Mama Mania

Dokumentarfilm
Niederlande
2019
13 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Vincent Sparreboom
Vincent Sparreboom
Joachim Lenting, Vincent Sparreboom
Vincent Sparreboom
Vincent Sparreboom
Erik Langhout, Vincent Sparreboom
„Hallo, Mama, ich bin’s.“ Mit einem Anruf beginnt, was ein kurzer Film über eine lebenslange Mutter-Sohn-Beziehung in Telefonaten, Textnachrichten und Umgebungseindrücken zu erzählen vermag: viel, alles. Der Dialog zwischen Ton und Bild ist wortkarg, aber voll von Nichtgesagtem. Von oben versenkt sich die Kamera in zwei bewohnte Einsamkeiten: die des Filmemachers und die seiner Mutter. Fernmündlich besprechen die beiden das Neuroleptikum Haldol und einen neuen Mann in Mamas Leben. Vincent sorgt sich.

Sylvia Görke