Film Archive

Keeping & Saving – Or How to Live

Documentary Film
Netherlands
2018
85 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Monique Busman, Michiel van Erp
Digna Sinke
Jan Wich
Albert Elings
Digna Sinke
Mark Wessner
An old box full of various treasures: a bracelet made of chicken bones, a small paper fan in which razor blades used to be concealed, a beer mat carrying the signature of a crush. And a notebook with a few brown stains: “Right, I had a nosebleed.”

Director Digna Sinke knows that she likes to collect lots of stuff. But: “We have to tidy up, is what I read everywhere. A tidy home is a tidy life.” She’s attached to objects to which she in turn attaches wishes, hopes, passions – in brief, everything that makes up a human life. And she is not the only one. She meets persons with similar leanings everywhere. But also those who decided to get rid of everything. The director begins to realise that she is caught in an interim time. On the one hand there’s the material past, full of bric-a-brac, tangible stuff, ballast. On the other there’s the digital future with its clouds, collective owners, impersonal things. Sinke weighs both options against each other, examines her own tendency, her own attachment and the freedom of others that she doesn’t quite seem to trust but addresses with an open mind.

Carolin Weidner

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

The Principal Wife

Documentary Film
Netherlands
2018
70 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Koert Davidse, Marc Thelosen
Hester Overmars
Diego van Uden
Jefrim Rothuizen
Ralf Verbeek
Hester Overmars
Diego van Uden
“The Principal Wife” is an impressive and moving demonstration of how to trace one’s family history even if no one is willing to talk about it. At its centre is the 38-year-old painter Marijke van der Meulen, whose mother Aagje left her and the family to join a Christian sect when her daughter was eight. Aagje became the wife of the sect leader, who manipulated his followers and was later convicted of child abuse. Marijke herself escaped the abuse but, without knowing exactly what really happened, is still haunted by traumatic memories of that time.

She comes up against a wall of silence with her questions. Family members and friends grudgingly agree to be interviewed but demand to remain anonymous. Marijke accepts. Henceforth the camera focuses only on her, showing emotions and fears, anger and sadness play over her face. Flanked by her artistic works, the creative stopgap becomes a cinematic godsend. Rarely has a film managed so intensely and thrillingly to be there when an individual recollects the story of her life and makes sense of what happened. At the end only one interview partner is left on Marijke’s list …

Luc-Carolin Ziemann

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

The Trial

Documentary Film
Netherlands
2018
127 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Sergei Loznitsa, Maria Choustova, Peter Warnier
Sergei Loznitsa
Danielius Kokanauskis
Sergei Loznitsa
Vladimir Golovnitski
The trial against the so-called “Industrial Party” took place in the fateful year of the USSR’s first five-year-plan, from 25 November to 7 December 1930. It was not the first show trial under Stalin but it was a crucial moment in history because the show worked and the political calculations paid off. While some of the accused at the Shakhty Trial in 1928 still denied their guilt, everybody involved here confessed, saw reason and showed remorse – completely, ardently, calling themselves “wreckers” and “saboteurs,” in short, “counter revolutionaries.” Consequently, “extreme measures” had to be taken – the thousands in court and the marchers in the streets agreed – for the purposes of “social security:” “death by firing squad.” That was the verdict after whose proclamation, to roaring applause, the crowds burst into tears of joy.

Every new film by Sergei Loznitsa makes one think that it doesn’t get eerier than that. And yet this time the horrors of Soviet rule crawl a bit further under the skin. The historical analyst of cinema combines his carefully researched and uncommented archival footage into a chamber play of rhetorical and directorial perfidiousness. And he reconstructs – necessarily brutal in its wealth of detail – the incident of an all-encompassing legal and political fabrication. An “Industrial Party” never existed …

Barbara Wurm

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Love Is Potatoes

Documentary Film
Netherlands
2017
90 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Frank van den Engel
Aliona van der Horst
Stefano Sasso
Aliona van der Horst, Maasja Ooms
Maasja Ooms, Ollie Huddleston, Aliona van der Horst
Simone Massi
Aliona van der Horst
Tim van Peppen
A cheerful woman exercises on the balcony. Paper is burnt in the snow. A whole room full of worn shoes. The house is bursting with souvenirs, details, whose meaning is elusive – or lost forever. One day the Dutch filmmaker Aliona van der Horst’s mother met a Dutch man, married him and left Russia. Only when van der Horst receives her inheritance – a dilapidated wooden house somewhere in Russia – does she take a closer look at her mother’s, and her mother’s mother’s background and that of the latter’s five daughters.

Intercut with Italian artist Simone Massi’s powerful animations, “Love Is Potatoes” brings a dark chapter of Soviet Russian history to life, faced in various ways by those affected. Dismissal and denial are among their strategies, but also a written approach by letters. This film is informed by great pain. Nonetheless, the director never yields to the temptation to turn it into a showpiece. In a well-composed and measured way she brings together elements that often seem like pieces of a puzzle.

Carolin Weidner



Honorary Mention in the International Competition
Prize of the Interreligious Jury

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Francofonia

Documentary Film
France,
Germany,
Netherlands
2015
87 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Pierre-Olivier Bardet, Thomas Kufus, Els Vandevorst
Alexander Sokurov
Murat Kabardokov
Bruno Delbonnel
Alexei Jankowski, Hansjörg Weissbrich
Alexander Sokurov
André Rigaut, Jac Vleeshouwer
His oeuvre is among the most original produced by the (Russian) cinema of the past decades. In “Francofonia”, the idiosyncrasies of the “grand auteur” Alexander Sokurov reach a new dimension. The result is an animated fictional documentary essay collage of historical archive and re-enacted material about the eventful history of the Louvre in Paris, complete with Skype-based container philosophy, a drone-driven bird’s eye view of the world today and a personally voiced (only slightly cryptic) comment on the eternal relationship between art and war, humanism and power and (cultural) heritage and ideology.

While Hitler is invading France (as seen in Ophül’s “Le Chagrin et la pitié”) and Franz Graf von Wolff-Metternich is collaborating with the Louvre’s director Jacques Jaujard to evacuate the cultural goods according to the “art protection law”, Mrs. Marianne or Mr. Bonaparte occasionally drop by from the hereafter … Or the two Russian immortals, Tolstoy and Chekhov, appear, though at the deathbed …

The great nations, their spirit (and ghosts), Europe and art, the world and its condition. Wild chains of associations are cast here, but Sokurov is in full control of his powers. Amazing enough when we consider the waves of opposition this contemplative artist faces today.

Barbara Wurm

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

The Event

Documentary Film
Belgium,
Netherlands
2015
74 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Sergei Loznitsa, Maria Choustova, Nicola Mazzanti
Sergei Loznitsa
Sergei Loznitsa, Danielius Kokanauskis
Sergei Loznitsa
Vladimir Golovnitski
As in earlier films, Sergei Loznitsa uses black and white archive material to reconstruct, if not construct, history. In this case images of the historic event that inaugurated the final collapse of the Soviet Union: the failed coup of 19 August 1991. People are standing in the streets of St. Petersburg, which was still called Leningrad then. The camera moves through the crowds, capturing faces whose expression is one of ignorance. They are all waiting, listening to the endless announcements.

Loznitsa’s ingenious artistic intervention happens on the soundtrack. During the three-day coup d’état, the national television of the USSR continuously broadcast – as usual in crisis situations – recordings of Tchaikovsky’s ballet “Swan Lake”. The director takes up the musical motif and uses it to divide his film into chapters. Radio reports are another narrative element which Loznitsa turns into a quasi comment that underlines the state of insecurity, not knowing and non-information. This is not a re-interpretation of history, though, but rather an attempt to pierce the surface of reality and look for possible interpretations – in the hope of gaining insights into how insurgencies and changes of power work in general.

Zaza Rusadze



Award winner of the Film Prize "Leipziger Ring"

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Keeping & Saving – Or How to Live

Dokumentarfilm
Niederlande
2018
85 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Monique Busman, Michiel van Erp
Digna Sinke
Jan Wich
Albert Elings
Digna Sinke
Mark Wessner
In einer alten Box finden sich allerlei Schätze: ein Armband aus Hühnerknochen, ein kleiner Papierfächer, in dem sich einst Rasierklingen versteckten, ein Bierdeckel, beschrieben von einem Schwarm. Und ein Heft mit einem braunen Flecken darin: „Stimmt, ich hatte Nasenbluten.“

Regisseurin Digna Sinke ist bewusst, dass sie gern und viel sammelt. Doch: „Überall lese ich, dass wir aufräumen müssen. Ein ordentliches Zuhause ist ein ordentliches Leben.“ Sie hängt an Dingen, an denen für sie wiederum Wünsche, Hoffnungen, Leidenschaften hängen – kurz: das, was ein Menschenleben ausmacht. Und sie ist nicht die einzige. Überall trifft sie Personen, denen es ähnlich geht. Aber auch solche, die sich entschieden haben, nichts mehr zu besitzen. Die Regisseurin ahnt: Sie befindet sich in einer Zwischenzeit. Einerseits die materielle Vergangenheit, voller Kunsthandwerk, Greifbarem, Ballast. Da die digitale Zukunft mit ihren Clouds, kollektiven Eigentümern, Unpersönlichem. Sinke stellt beide Optionen einander gegenüber, überprüft den eigenen Hang, die eigene Anhänglichkeit und die Freiheit der anderen, der sie nicht ganz zu trauen scheint, aber mit Offenheit begegnet.

Carolin Weidner

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

The Principal Wife

Dokumentarfilm
Niederlande
2018
70 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Koert Davidse, Marc Thelosen
Hester Overmars
Diego van Uden
Jefrim Rothuizen
Ralf Verbeek
Hester Overmars
Diego van Uden
Wie man der eigenen Familiengeschichte auf die Spur kommt, obwohl niemand offen darüber sprechen will, zeigt „The Principal Wife“ auf beeindruckende und berührende Weise. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei die 38-jährige Malerin Marijke van der Meulen, deren Mutter Aagje sie und ihre Familie verließ, um sich einer christlichen Sekte anzuschließen, als die Tochter acht Jahre alt war. Aagje wurde zur Frau des Sektenführers, der seine Anhänger manipulierte und den man später unter anderem wegen Kindesmissbrauchs verurteilte. Marijke selbst entging zwar den Übergriffen, wird aber bis heute von den traumatischen Erinnerungen an diese Zeit verfolgt, ohne genau zu wissen, was eigentlich vorgefallen ist.

Mit ihren Fragen stößt sie auf eine Mauer des Schweigens. Widerwillig lassen sich Familienmitglieder und Freunde auf ein Gespräch ein, wollen allerdings anonym bleiben. Marijke akzeptiert. Fortan konzentriert sich die Kamera komplett auf sie und zeigt, wie sich Emotionen und Ängste, Wut und Trauer auf ihrem Gesicht Bahn brechen. Flankiert von ihren eigenen künstlerischen Arbeiten wird aus der kreativen Notlösung ein filmischer Glücksfall. Nur selten ist es einem Film auf so intensive und packende Weise gelungen, dabei zu sein, wenn ein Mensch die eigene Lebensgeschichte nachvollzieht und dem Geschehenen einen Sinn gibt. Am Ende steht nur noch eine Gesprächspartnerin auf Marijkes Liste …

Luc-Carolin Ziemann

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

The Trial

Dokumentarfilm
Niederlande
2018
127 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Sergei Loznitsa, Maria Choustova, Peter Warnier
Sergei Loznitsa
Danielius Kokanauskis
Sergei Loznitsa
Vladimir Golovnitski
Der Prozess gegen die sogenannte „Industrie-Partei“ fand im Schicksalsjahr des Ersten Fünfjahresplanes der UdSSR statt, vom 25. November bis zum 7. Dezember 1930. Es war nicht der erste Schauprozess unter Stalin, aber historisch deshalb so zentral, weil die Show hier klappte und das Kalkül voll aufging. Hatten beim Schachty-Prozess 1928 noch einige Angeklagte ihre Schuld bestritten, so gestanden hier alle, zeigten Einsicht und Reue. Vollständig, inständig. „Schädlinge“ und „Saboteure“ seien sie – „Konterrevolutionäre“ also. Zum Zwecke der „sozialen Sicherheit“ mussten demnach – darüber waren sich die Tausenden im Saal mit den draußen auf den Straßen Marschierenden einig – „die höchsten Maßnahmen“ ergriffen werden: „Tod durch Erschießen“. So lautete denn auch das Urteil, nach dessen Verkündung die Menge unter tosendem Applaus in Freudentränen ausbrach.

Gespenstischer, so denkt man sich bei jedem neuen Film Sergei Loznitsas, geht es nicht mehr. Und doch kriecht der Horror der Sowjetmacht diesmal noch ein Stückchen weiter unter die Haut. Unkommentiert baut der Geschichtsanalytiker des Kinos das sorgfältig recherchierte Archivmaterial zu einem Kammerspiel der rhetorischen und inszenatorischen Perfidie. Und er rekonstruiert – in der Ausführlichkeit notwendig brutal – das Ereignis einer allumfassenden juristisch-politischen Fabrikation. Eine „Industrie-Partei“ hat es nie gegeben …

Barbara Wurm

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Love Is Potatoes

Dokumentarfilm
Niederlande
2017
90 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Frank van den Engel
Aliona van der Horst
Stefano Sasso
Aliona van der Horst, Maasja Ooms
Maasja Ooms, Ollie Huddleston, Aliona van der Horst
Simone Massi
Aliona van der Horst
Tim van Peppen
Eine lustige Frau turnt auf dem Balkon. Im Schnee wird Papier verbrannt. Ein ganzer Raum voller getragener Schuhe. Das Haus birst vor Erinnerungsstücken, Details, nach deren Bedeutung man sucht. Oder die für immer vergessen sind. Die Mutter der niederländischen Filmemacherin Aliona van der Horst lernte eines Tages einen Niederländer kennen, heiratete ihn und verließ Russland. Erst als van der Horst ihr Erbe empfängt – ein heruntergekommenes Holzhaus im russischen Niemandsland – befasst sie sich eingehender mit der Herkunft ihrer Mutter und deren Mutter und deren fünf weiteren Töchtern.

Durchsetzt von den kraftvollen Animationen des italienischen Künstlers Simone Massi, erwacht in „Love Is Potatoes“ ein dunkles Kapitel sowjetrussischer Geschichte zum Leben, dem sich die Betroffenen auf ganz unterschiedliche Weise stellen. Abwehr und Leugnung zählen zu den Strategien, aber auch die schriftliche Annäherung über Briefe. Dieser Film ist von großer Schmerzhaftigkeit geprägt. Trotzdem gibt seine Regisseurin an keiner Stelle der Versuchung nach, daraus einen Schauwert zu machen. Wohl komponiert und maßvoll bringt sie die Elemente, die oft an Puzzlestücke erinnern, zusammen.

Carolin Weidner



Lobende Erwähnung im Internationalen Wettbewerb
Preis der Interreligiösen Jury



Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Francofonia

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich,
Deutschland,
Niederlande
2015
87 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Pierre-Olivier Bardet, Thomas Kufus, Els Vandevorst
Alexander Sokurov
Murat Kabardokov
Bruno Delbonnel
Alexei Jankowski, Hansjörg Weissbrich
Alexander Sokurov
André Rigaut, Jac Vleeshouwer
Sein Schaffen zählt zum Eigenwilligsten, das das (russische) Kino in den letzten Jahrzehnten hervorgebracht hat. In „Francofonia“ finden die Idiosynkrasien des „grand auteur“ Alexander Sokurov zu neuen Dimensionen. Eine animiert-fiktionale Dokumentar-Essay-Collage aus historischem Archiv- wie Reenactment-Material zur bewegten Geschichte rund um den Pariser Louvre ist das Resultat, mit Skype-basierter Container-Philosophie, drohnengetriebener Vogelschau auf die Welt von heute und persönlich eingesprochenen (nur wenig raunenden) Kommentaren zur ewig währenden Beziehung von Kunst und Krieg, Humanismus und Macht sowie (Kultur-)Erbe und Ideologie.

Während Hitler in Frankreich einmarschiert (man kennt das aus Ophüls‘ „Le Chagrin et la Pitié“) und Franz Graf von Wolff-Metternich mit Louvre-Direktor Jacques Jaujard über die Evakuierung von Kulturgut im Sinne der „Kunstschutz“-Verpflichtung kollaboriert, schauen aus dem Jenseits mal Frau Marianne, mal Herr Bonaparte zur Tür herein … Oder die beiden russischen Unsterblichen tauchen auf, Tolstoi und Tschechow, jedoch am Sterbebett …

Die großen Nationen, ihr Geist (und ihre Geister), Europa und die Kunst, die Welt und ihr Verbleib. Es sind wilde Assoziationsketten, die hier ausgeworfen werden, und doch ist Sokurov darin ganz bei sich. Erstaunlich angesichts der Wellen, die dem kontemplativen Kunstschaffenden gerade heute entgegenschlagen.

Barbara Wurm

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

The Event

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien,
Niederlande
2015
74 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Sergei Loznitsa, Maria Choustova, Nicola Mazzanti
Sergei Loznitsa
Sergei Loznitsa, Danielius Kokanauskis
Sergei Loznitsa
Vladimir Golovnitski
Wie schon in früheren Filmen verwendet Sergei Loznitsa Schwarz-Weiß-Aufnahmen aus Archiven, um damit Geschichte zu rekonstruieren, wenn nicht zu konstruieren. Es sind Bilder des historischen Ereignisses, das den endgültigen Zerfall der Sowjetunion einleitete: der gescheiterte Putschversuch am 19. August 1991. In den Straßen von Sankt Petersburg, das damals noch Leningrad hieß, stehen die Menschen. Die Kamera bewegt sich durch die Massen und erfasst Gesichter, ihr Ausdruck: nichtwissend. Sie alle warten und hören den endlosen Verlautbarungen zu.

Loznitsas gekonnte künstlerische Intervention betrifft die Tonspur. Während des dreitägigen Coup d‘État sendete das staatliche Fernsehen der UdSSR – wie stets in Krisensituationen – ununterbrochen Aufzeichnungen des Tschaikowski-Balletts „Schwanensee“. Der Regisseur nimmt das Musikmotiv auf, es gliedert den Film in Kapitel. Die Berichterstattung aus dem Radio ist ein weiteres narratives Element, das Loznitsa zu seinem Quasi-Kommentar macht und damit den Zustand der Unsicherheit, des Nicht-Wissens und der Nicht-Information unterstreicht. Dennoch geht es nicht um eine Neu-Interpretation der Geschichte, sondern eher darum, die Oberfläche des Realen zu durchdringen und nach Deutungsmöglichkeiten zu suchen – in der Hoffnung, zu einer Erkenntnis zu gelangen, wie Aufstände und Machtwechsel generell funktionieren.

Zaza Rusadze



Ausgezeichnet mit dem Filmpreis "Leipziger Ring"

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.