Film Archive

Ab Ovo

Animated Film
Poland
2013
6 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marcin Malatyński
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
George Antoniv
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
The film shows a new life waking up and the transformation of a female body which loses its former shape. The physical sensation becomes increasingly more distinct until the moment when the baby leaves the boundaries of the mothers body.
International Programme 2013
Mother 24/7 Marcin Janos Krawczyk

The picture of the Black Madonna of Częstochowa in living rooms, hospitals or prisons. A touching episodic look at the lives of believers searching for answers and comfort.

Mother 24/7

Documentary Film
Poland
2013
30 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marcin Janos Krawczyk
Marcin Janos Krawczyk
Michał Lorenc
Marcin Sauter, Michał Marczak, Marcin Kukielski, Karolina Krawczyk
Anna Wagner, Aleksandra Panisko, Tymek Wiskirski
Blessed are the believers?! For the past 55 years, the Black Madonna of the Polish town of Częstochowa has been wandering from house to house, from fate to fate. A copy of the icon, cut down to a handy, portable size, can be rented for 24 hours for a private mass in one’s living room, at the hospital, or in prison. The presence of the miraculous image interrupts daily routines, evokes essential and existential questions of life. It’s about guilt and forgiveness, life on this earth and beyond, the hope of a miracle.
Director Marcin Janos Krawczyk follows the Saint’s convoy through contemporary Poland with great empathy. He finds moving episodes to give us insights into the lives of people wounded in body and soul, who are looking to religion for answers that real life refused to give them. The theme of the mother with whom one seeks reconciliation runs through the film like a thread. The combination of evocative music, long travellings, and the intimacy of encounters that are more like confessions creates a magnetic force that makes the film seem like a kind of cinematic pilgrimage.

Cornelia Klauß
International Programme 2013
The Love Equation of Henry Fast Agnieszka Elbanowska

An old mathematics professor and his erotic fantasies and appetites. A touching story of desires beyond the age of 95 – and spicy comic strips drawn by himself.

The Love Equation of Henry Fast

Documentary Film
Poland
2013
40 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Adam Ślesicki
Agnieszka Elbanowska
Paweł Nadolny
Agnieszka Elbanowska, Maryla Torbus
Agnieszka Elbanowska
The universal validity of an equation can be proved by axioms or assumed to be an axiom itself. A classic axiom describes an immediately evident or conventionally accepted principle or reference to such a principle. The principles on which Polish mathematics professor Henryk Fast’s love equation is based may be deduced by interpreting his erotic drawings. In any case, they suggest that Henryk Fast has more than abstract desires at his fairly advanced age. Henryk is a hopeless romantic and would quite simply like to find a woman. The search might be complicated by the fact that one’s own idea of reality doesn’t necessarily correspond to another person’s. In Henryk’s case the magnitude of this difference can be glimpsed occasionally, for example when his daughter, who lives in America, visits him. Henryk’s equation contains at least one unknown that makes this amiable gentleman’s life so special and tells a touching story of desire at old age, beyond “conventionally accepted” realities.

Claudia Lehmann

Filmarchiv

Ab Ovo

Animationsfilm
Polen
2013
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marcin Malatyński
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
George Antoniv
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
Der Film zeigt das Erwachen eines neuen Lebens und die Veränderung eines weiblichen Körpers, der seine gewohnte Form verliert. Die Sinneswahrnehmungen werden immer deutlicher, bis zu dem Moment, in dem das Baby die Grenzen des mütterlichen Körpers verlässt.
Internationales Programm 2013
Mother 24/7 Marcin Janos Krawczyk

Das Bildnis der Schwarzen Madonna aus Częstochowa in Wohnzimmern, im Krankenhaus oder im Knast. Einblick in das Leben Gläubiger, die Antworten und Trost suchen, in bewegenden Episoden.

Mother 24/7

Dokumentarfilm
Polen
2013
30 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marcin Janos Krawczyk
Marcin Janos Krawczyk
Michał Lorenc
Marcin Sauter, Michał Marczak, Marcin Kukielski, Karolina Krawczyk
Anna Wagner, Aleksandra Panisko, Tymek Wiskirski
Selig, wer glaubt?! Seit 55 Jahren wandert die Schwarze Madonna aus dem polnischen Pilgerort Częstochowa von Haus zu Haus, von Schicksal zu Schicksal. Eine Kopie des Bildes, zurechtgestutzt auf ein handliches, transportfähiges Maß, kann 24 Stunden lang für eine private Messe im eigenen Wohnzimmer, im Krankenhaus oder im Knast gemietet werden. Allein die Anwesenheit des Gnadenbildnisses unterbricht den Alltag, evoziert die essenziellen und existenziellen Fragen des Lebens. Es geht um Schuld und Vergeben, das Leben diesseits und jenseits, die Hoffnung auf ein Wunder.
Mit großer Empathie folgt der Regisseur Marcin Janos Krawczyk in diesem Roadmovie dem Konvoi der Heiligen durch das heutige Polen. In bewegenden Episoden gewährt er Einblick in den Alltag an Leib und Seele Verwundeter, die in der Religion Antworten suchen, die ihnen das reale Leben verweigert. Wie ein roter Faden zieht sich das Motiv der Mutter, mit der Aussöhnung gesucht wird, durch den Film. Durch die Kombination aus beschwörender Musik, langen Kamerafahrten und der Intimität der Begegnungen, die den Charakter einer Beichte haben, entsteht ein Sog, der ihn zu einer Art kinematografischer Wallfahrt stilisiert.

Cornelia Klauß
Internationales Programm 2013
The Love Equation of Henry Fast Agnieszka Elbanowska

Ein alter Mathematikprofessor und seine erotischen Fantasien und Gelüste. Berührende Geschichte von Sehnsüchten jenseits der 95 – und scharfe Comics, gezeichnet von ihm selbst.

The Love Equation of Henry Fast

Dokumentarfilm
Polen
2013
40 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Adam Ślesicki
Agnieszka Elbanowska
Paweł Nadolny
Agnieszka Elbanowska, Maryla Torbus
Agnieszka Elbanowska
Die Allgemeingültigkeit einer Gleichung kann entweder mit Axiomen bewiesen oder selber als Axiom vorausgesetzt werden. Ein klassisches Axiom bezeichnet ein unmittelbar einleuchtendes oder konventionell akzeptiertes Prinzip beziehungsweise die Bezugnahme auf ein solches. Welchen Prinzipien die Liebesgleichung des polnischen Mathematikprofessors Henryk Fast folgt, lässt sich möglicherweise durch die Interpretation seiner erotisch anmutenden Zeichnungen herleiten. In jedem Fall deuten die darauf hin, dass Henryk Fast in seinen nicht mehr ganz jungen Jahren nicht nur abstrakte Bedürfnisse hat. Henryk ist hoffnungslos romantisch und möchte schlicht und ergreifend eine Frau finden. Was die Suche erschweren könnte, ist die Tatsache, dass das Bild, das man selbst von der Wirklichkeit hat, nicht unbedingt dem der anderen entspricht. Wie groß die Differenz zwischen diesen Bildern in Henryks Fall ist, lässt sich in manchen Momenten erahnen, etwa wenn seine in Amerika lebende Tochter zu Besuch kommt. Henryks Gleichung beinhaltet mindestens eine Unbekannte, die das Leben dieses liebenswürdigen Herrn so besonders macht und uns jenseits von „konventionell akzeptierten“ Realitäten eine berührende Geschichte von Sehnsüchten im Alter erzählt.

Claudia Lehmann