Film Archive

Eatself

Animated Film
Poland
2018
14 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Małgorzata Bosek-Serafińska
Edyta Adamczak
Hubert Wińczyk
Edyta Adamczak
Edyta Adamczak
Edyta Adamczak, Andrzej Piotr Morawski
Edyta Adamczak, Michał Mądracki
Michał Jankowski, Hubert Wińczyk
Every evening blood-red lips are smacked – the highlight of a monotonous work routine in reliable solitude. Day out: microwaved meat. Day in: the banal horror of a meat industry production line. Fatten, gut, cut to pieces and wrap conveniently. But what if one’s personified conscience turns up, stares out of the next piece of meat or tempts one to an evening of wine-drinking? A grotesque in delicate black and white lines with shrill touches of colour.

Nadja Rademacher
Next Masters Wettbewerb 2018
Symphony of the Ursus Factory Jaśmina Wójcik

The evocation of a lost way of living and working. The phonosphere of heavy industry, re-created by means of tractors, compositions and body memories.

Symphony of the Ursus Factory

Documentary Film
Poland
2018
61 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Zuzanna Król
Jaśmina Wójcik
Dominik Strycharski
Kacper Czubak, Jakub Wróblewski
Aleksandra Gowin
Jaśmina Wójcik, Igor Stokfiszewski
Dominik Strycharski
The symbolic revival of the glorious age of Polish agricultural machine production. The long-established Ursus company was once among the biggest of its kind in the whole of Europe. When communism collapsed, though, the fate of Ursus was sealed, too. Today the factories are in ruins and to thousands of former employees their own working biography seems no more than a distant, even alien shadow.

A few years ago, a group of choreographers, musicians and filmmakers around the artist Jaśmina Wójcik began to contact former Ursus workers and employees. All participants were astonished to realise how much, in uncontrolled moments, the protagonists’ past activities influenced, even controlled their body language. Body memory, it seems, was better trained than cognitive memory. The resulting film, a documentary re-enactment, is a performance structured according to musical rules. As actors of themselves, the participants play characters they once were in the reality of the factory. In the lamentable reality of today’s ruins, they ritually re-enact a former working day, culminating in a sumptuous tractor ballet that would be a credit to any big budget Hollywood musical.

Ralph Eue


Nominated for the Healthy Workplaces Film Award and the MDR Film Prize

Tango

Animated Film
Poland
1980
9 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Zbigniew Rybczyński
Janusz Hajdun, Mieczysław Janik
Zbigniew Rybczyński
Barbara Sarnocińska
Zbigniew Rybczyński
Janusz Hajdun, Mieczysław Janik
A static camera and 36 characters who enter and leave the room one by one in constant repetition, each figure following their own plot. Meshing but never colliding, they are woven into a compact and precise choreography, a tango without contact and human interaction.

Duscha Kistler
International Programme 2018
The Briefing Filip Drzewiecki

Constantly alternating between stress and exhaustion: Filip Drzewiecki shows medical students in practical training – with a mimetic interest in the physical nature of the profession.

The Briefing

Documentary Film
Poland
2018
19 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ewa Jastrzębska, Jerzy Kapuściński
Filip Drzewiecki
Jakub Giza
Paweł Laskowski
Filip Drzewiecki
Aleksandra Pniak, Weronika Raźna, Franciszek Kozłowski
Stress is followed by exhaustion and exhaustion is followed by stress. A briefing, then things must move quickly: 37 patients, 10 discharges, 2 admissions, 0 deaths. With a mimetic interest in the physicality of the profession, Filip Drzewiecki follows medical students in practical training at the hospital: sensitive and stressed, curious and febrile. Add a soundtrack vibrant with surging blood.

Lukas Stern

The Notebook

Animated Film
Poland
2018
6 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Robert Sowa
Aleksandra Rylewicz
Aleksandra Rylewicz
Aleksandra Rylewicz
Aleksandra Rylewicz
Michał Fojcik
Being a school kid is a pimply monster – mostly dozing, often hard to inspire, with a penchant for being capricious and annoying. The faculty tremble, pull desperate faces and throw the long formula lasso. A funny-sounding report, apparently scribbled directly by a kid into the maths notebook. And somehow timeless.

André Eckardt

The Sisters

Documentary Film
Poland
2018
20 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Agata Golańska
Michał Hytroś
Janusz Szymański
Marcin Wojciechowski
Michał Hytroś
Bogdan Klat
Observed at close range, life behind the walls of the oldest Polish nunnery is different from what one would expect. The twelve sisters, almost all of them over 70, manage their daily life with assiduousness and humour. A portrait of a community of solidarity, where individual weaknesses are tolerated by all, unfolds between work, prayer and games night. The outside is ruled by other values: it’s where the faithful “order” prayers for financial success and “nun” doesn’t look like a dream job.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann
Kids DOK 2018
Their Voices Eri Mizutani

The kids run wild in physical education, hardly anyone feels like maths and there are manifold excuses for forgotten homework.

Their Voices

Documentary Film
Poland
2018
26 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Agata Golańska
Eri Mizutani
Panos Rriska
Alicia Devaux
Sabina Filipowicz, Tamahin Mehanni
Eri Mizutani
Bogdan Klat
The kids run wild in physical education, hardly anyone feels like maths and there are manifold excuses for forgotten homework. Chatting behind the teacher’s back is easier indeed when you communicate by sign language. The film is a perceptive and humorous depiction of life at a school for deaf kids. One thing becomes clear: teenagers are all the same – and all wonderful.

Kim Busch

You Are Overreacting

Animated Film
Poland
2017
4 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Agata Golańska
Karina Paciorkowska
Karina Paciorkowska
A Polish city, a woman’s morning routines: making herself presentable, locking up the flat, the traffic jam, then the underground … Constantly pelted by verbal and non-verbal media and advertising messages. Women are the central subject – among the passengers, too. But however exaggerated the harsh remarks may sound: they are quotes from well-known personalities. A capriciously drawn and courageous film by a student of the renowned Łódź film school.

Nadja Rademacher



Honorable Mention in the International Competition Short Film

Filmarchiv

Eatself

Animationsfilm
Polen
2018
14 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Małgorzata Bosek-Serafińska
Edyta Adamczak
Hubert Wińczyk
Edyta Adamczak
Edyta Adamczak
Edyta Adamczak, Andrzej Piotr Morawski
Edyta Adamczak, Michał Mądracki
Michał Jankowski, Hubert Wińczyk
Allabendlich schmatzende blutrote Lippen – der Höhepunkt des monotonen Arbeitstrottes in zuverlässiger Einsamkeit. Tagaus: Fleisch aus der Mikrowelle. Tagein: der gewöhnliche Horror von Fließbandarbeit in der Fleischindustrie. Mästen, ausnehmen, in Stücke schneiden und handlich verpacken. Doch was, wenn das personifizierte Gewissen auftaucht, aus dem nächsten Fleischstück starrt und gar zu einem Weinabend verführt? Eine Groteske in feinen schwarz-weißen Zeichenstrichen mit grellen Farbakzenten.

Nadja Rademacher
Next Masters Wettbewerb 2018
Symphony of the Ursus Factory Jaśmina Wójcik

Heraufbeschwörung einer untergegangenen Existenz- und Arbeitsweise. Die Phonosphäre der Schwerindustrie, neu erschaffen mittels Traktoren, Kompositionen und Körpererinnerungen.

Symphony of the Ursus Factory

Dokumentarfilm
Polen
2018
61 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Zuzanna Król
Jaśmina Wójcik
Dominik Strycharski
Kacper Czubak, Jakub Wróblewski
Aleksandra Gowin
Jaśmina Wójcik, Igor Stokfiszewski
Dominik Strycharski
Symbolische Wiederbelebung des glorreichen Zeitalters der polnischen Landmaschinenproduktion. Das traditionsreiche Unternehmen Ursus gehörte einst zu den größten seiner Art in ganz Europa. Mit dem Kollabieren des Kommunismus war jedoch auch das Schicksal von Ursus besiegelt. Heute sind die Produktionsstätten verfallen und Tausenden ehemaligen Beschäftigten erscheint die eigene Arbeitsbiografie nur noch wie ein ferner, gar fremder Schatten.

Vor einigen Jahren begann eine Gruppe von Choreografen, Musikern und Filmemachern um die Künstlerin Jaśmina Wójcik, Kontakt zu den früheren Arbeitern und Angestellten von Ursus herzustellen. Alle Beteiligten staunten nicht schlecht, wie sehr die damals ausgeführten Tätigkeiten in vielen unkontrollierten Momenten die Körpersprache der Protagonisten beeinflussten, ja steuerten. Das Körpergedächtnis war offensichtlich besser trainiert als das kognitive. Der nun erarbeitete Film, eine dokumentarische Inszenierung, ist eine nach musikalischen Regeln organisierte Performance. Die Mitwirkenden versetzten sich als Darsteller ihrer selbst in Charaktere, die sie einmal in der Wirklichkeit der Fabrik gewesen sind. In der lamentablen Realität der heutigen Fabriküberreste empfinden sie rituell einen früheren Arbeitstag nach, gipfelnd in einem aufwändigen Traktorenballett, das jedem hochbudgetierten Hollywoodmusical zur Ehre gereichen würde.

Ralph Eue


Nominiert für den Healthy Workplaces Film Award und den MDR Filmpreis

Strictly Animated 2018
Tango Zbigniew Rybczyński

Eine statische Kameraeinstellung, 36 Charaktere und ein Tango ohne Berührung und ohne zwischenmenschliche Interaktion.

Tango

Animationsfilm
Polen
1980
9 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Zbigniew Rybczyński
Janusz Hajdun, Mieczysław Janik
Zbigniew Rybczyński
Barbara Sarnocińska
Zbigniew Rybczyński
Janusz Hajdun, Mieczysław Janik
Eine statische Kameraeinstellung und 36 Charaktere, die nach und nach und in ständiger Wiederholung einen Raum betreten und verlassen: Jede Figur folgt ihrer eigenen Handlung. Ineinandergreifend, jedoch niemals zusammenstoßend, verweben sie sich zu einer dichten und präzisen Choreografie, zu einem Tango ohne Berührung und ohne zwischenmenschliche Interaktion.

Duscha Kistler
Internationales Programm 2018
The Briefing Filip Drzewiecki

Stress und Erschöpfung im ständigen Wechsel: Filip Drzewiecki zeigt Medizinstudenten in der praktischen Ausbildung – mit einem mimetischen Interesse an der Körperlichkeit des Berufs.

The Briefing

Dokumentarfilm
Polen
2018
19 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ewa Jastrzębska, Jerzy Kapuściński
Filip Drzewiecki
Jakub Giza
Paweł Laskowski
Filip Drzewiecki
Aleksandra Pniak, Weronika Raźna, Franciszek Kozłowski
Auf den Stress folgt die Erschöpfung und auf die Erschöpfung folgt der Stress. Ein Briefing, dann muss es schnell gehen: 37 Patienten, 10 Entlassungen, 2 Einlieferungen, 0 Tode. Mit einem mimetischen Interesse an der Körperlichkeit des Berufs begleitet Filip Drzewiecki Medizinstudenten bei der praktischen Ausbildung in der Klinik: sensibel und überlastet, neugierig und fiebrig. Dazu ein Soundtrack, durch den das Blut schießt.

Lukas Stern

The Notebook

Animationsfilm
Polen
2018
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Robert Sowa
Aleksandra Rylewicz
Aleksandra Rylewicz
Aleksandra Rylewicz
Aleksandra Rylewicz
Michał Fojcik
Schülersein ist ein pickliges Monster – ein zumeist dösendes, ein oftmals schwer zu begeisterndes, ein gern unberechenbar nervendes. Der Lehrkörper bebt, schneidet Grimassen der Verzweiflung und wirft das lange Formelkettenlasso aus. Ein lustig tönender Tatsachenbericht, scheinbar aus erster Kinderhand ins Rechenheft gekritzelt. Und irgendwie zeitlos.

André Eckardt

The Sisters

Dokumentarfilm
Polen
2018
20 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Agata Golańska
Michał Hytroś
Janusz Szymański
Marcin Wojciechowski
Michał Hytroś
Bogdan Klat
Das Leben hinter den Mauern des ältesten polnischen Klosters sieht – aus der Nähe betrachtet – anders aus als vermutet. Die zwölf Schwestern, fast alle jenseits der 70, meistern ihren Alltag mit Beflissenheit und Humor. Zwischen Arbeit, Gebet und Spieleabend entfaltet sich das Bild einer solidarischen Gemeinschaft, in der individuelle Schwächen von allen toleriert werden. Draußen gelten andere Werte: Hier „bestellen“ Gläubige Gebete für finanziellen Erfolg und „Nonne“ scheint aktuell kein Traumberuf zu sein.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann
Kids DOK 2018
Their Voices Eri Mizutani

Im Sportunterricht wird getobt, auf Mathe hat kaum einer Lust und die Ausreden für vergessene Hausaufgaben sind vielfältig.

Their Voices

Dokumentarfilm
Polen
2018
26 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Agata Golańska
Eri Mizutani
Panos Rriska
Alicia Devaux
Sabina Filipowicz, Tamahin Mehanni
Eri Mizutani
Bogdan Klat
Im Sportunterricht wird getobt, auf Mathe hat kaum einer Lust und die Ausreden für vergessene Hausaufgaben sind vielfältig. Hinter dem Rücken der Lehrerin zu quatschen, ist allerdings einfacher, wenn man mit Zeichensprache kommuniziert. Der Film zeigt einfühlsam und humorvoll den Alltag in einer Schule für gehörlose Kinder. Eines wird klar: Teenager sind überall gleich – und gleich wunderbar.

Kim Busch

You Are Overreacting

Animationsfilm
Polen
2017
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Agata Golańska
Karina Paciorkowska
Karina Paciorkowska
Eine polnische Großstadt, der morgendliche Alltagstrott einer Frau: sich stadtfein machen, Wohnung abschließen, ab in den Stau, dann in die U-Bahn … Die verbalen und nonverbalen Botschaften aus Medien und Werbung prasseln unablässig auf sie ein. Frauen sind das zentrale Sujet, auch bei den Fahrgästen. So übertrieben die harschen Bemerkungen aber klingen: Es sind Zitate von bekannten Persönlichkeiten. Launisch handgezeichneter und mutiger Film einer Studentin der renommierten Filmschule in Łódź.

Nadja Rademacher



Lobende Erwähnung im Internationalen Wettbewerb Kurzfilm