Film Archive

All I Imagine

Documentary Film
Portugal
2017
30 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Pedro Pinho, Leonor Noivo, Luísa Homem, João Matos, Susana Nobre, Tiago Hespanha (Terratreme Filmes)
Leonor Noivo
Finex
Vasco Viana
João Braz, Joana Góis
Leonor Noivo, André Simões
Rafael Cardoso
Emmy lays out Euro coins in a row: “That separates me from you, see?” There are actually more than a few coins between Emmy and André, two young adults from Alcoitão, a town in the Alcabideche municipality near Lisbon. Leonor Noivo’s direction is striking and highly professional, like many of the works coming from Portugal these days. It’s still a documentary – Noivo witnesses a biographical and emotional in-between state.

Carolin Weidner


Nominated for Young Eyes Film Award

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Lemon Tree

Animated Film
Portugal,
UK
2016
5 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Joana Silva (Royal College of Art)
Joana Silva
Joana Silva
Tim Webb, Joana Silva
Joana Silva
Joana Silva
Alice de Barrau, Mike Wyeld
A biography told by a deserted room. The colour nuances succeed each other like the stages of life, bathing the furniture and plants in the light of memories. The room seems to react organically to time leaps. Experiences of three generations of Joana Silva’s family form the core of the main protagonist, described by the director as an “unknown family member whose body was assembled from fragments of my own.” The smallest objects were animated with a lot of texture.

Nadja Rademacher

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Penumbria

Documentary Film
Portugal
2016
9 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Rodrigo Areias (Bando à Parte)
Eduardo Brito
Joana Gama, Luís Fernandes
Jorge Quintela
Eduardo Brito, Rodrigo Areias
Eduardo Brito
Pedro Marinho
When you come to Penúmbria, stranger, take care! Because there’s nowhere else to go from here. Penúmbria is a fictitious place by the sea. The coast is rough, the clouds hang low over the horizon. Deep sadness drips from every crevice and the infrastructure collapsed a long time ago. The locals decided one day to just leave their community to the course of time. And one day we might say: earth is as uninhabitable as Penúmbria. A dystopia.

Ralph Eue

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Raw

Documentary Film
Portugal
2017
150 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Carlos Ruiz Carmona
Carlos Ruiz Carmona
Carlos Ruiz Carmona
Carlos Ruiz Carmona
Carlos Ruiz Carmona
Carlos Ruiz Carmona, Pedro Ribeiro
“Cru” means “rough”, “raw” or “sore”, all of which applies to this sequence of scenes by Carlos Ruiz Carmona – snapshots of the Portuguese city of Porto, collected over almost a decade. There are movie kisses and vigorously fucking bodies, trembling hands and sex for money. Communion wafers crack and teeth are knocked out. The images are anything but glamorous but highly charged: they show tense and often aggressive people. Carlos Ruiz Carmona’s Porto is a field of energy where tension keeps building and is discharged all over the place, where people are receivers or transmitters of those currents. The film seems both distant and intimate because its director, while renouncing all direct communication, is a penetrating observer. One who is most interested in the surfaces under which things are seething, ready to burst – be it in the shape of eczema, a blow or a birth.

Carolin Weidner

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Surprise

Animadoc
Portugal
2017
9 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Nuno Amorim, Vanessa Ventura
Paulo Patrício
Yasuaki Shimizu & Saxophonettes
Paulo Patrício
Nuno Amorim, Joana Amorim
Daniela Duarte, Carina Beringuilho, Joana Amorim, Ana Sofia Gueifão, Inês Almendra
Paulo Patrício
Duarte Ferreira
Pencil and brush fly across the paper like the rapid and bright thoughts of nearly four-year-old Alice. Watercolour splotches blossom, snaky lines and friendly drawn figures turn the girl’s interior world inside out. Usually with the optimism of a child, occasionally with sadness, the girl discusses her kidney operation with her mother, asking very deliberately when she will get her kidney back without the disease.

André Eckardt

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

The Ashes Remain Warm

Documentary Film
Cape Verde Islands,
Germany,
Portugal
2016
20 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Christoph Manz, Mónica Martins Nunes
Mónica Martins Nunes
Izandro Fernandes Montrond
Mónica Martins Nunes
Mónica Martins Nunes
Mónica Martins Nunes
Tiago Cutileiro, Mónica Martins Nunes
Pico do Fogo is the name of a volcano on the Cap Verde Islands whose last eruption buried the small community of Chã das Caldeiras under lava. It came like a black flood and covered everything. What’s left is a metre-high blanket of intricate forms from which a few scattered roofs protrude. But the colours are gradually returning – new green as well as the people who refuse to leave the area.

Carolin Weidner



Golden Dove for best short documentary in the International Competition Short Documentary and Animated Film

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

The Moon the Sun and the Musketeers

Documentary Film
Armenia,
Portugal
2017
20 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Erika Winkler (Doc Nomads, Golden Apricot)
Vahagn Khachatryan
Vahagn Khachatryan, Rajan Kathet
Tigran Baghinyan, Vahagn Khachatryan
Vahagn Khachatryan
Vasco Pimentel, Katherina Harnack
The planted stone tub under the arcade looks beautiful; out in the street someone is trying to start his vehicle. And what’s this, behind that column? The tail of a dog? We see unobtrusive but well-composed images with the people (mostly elderly) blending in – quietly and idiosyncratically. Scratching lottery tickets and chopping wood, drinking coffee and sitting on benches. Until at night the village becomes haunted …

Carolin Weidner

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

All I Imagine

Dokumentarfilm
2017
30 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Pedro Pinho, Leonor Noivo, Luísa Homem, João Matos, Susana Nobre, Tiago Hespanha (Terratreme Filmes)
Leonor Noivo
Finex
Vasco Viana
João Braz, Joana Góis
Leonor Noivo, André Simões
Rafael Cardoso
Emmy legt eine Linie mit Euromünzen aus: „Die trennt mich von dir, siehst du?“ In Wirklichkeit sind es mehr als ein paar Geldstücke, die zwischen Emmy und André liegen, zwei jungen Erwachsenen aus Alcoitão, einer Ortschaft in der Gemeinde Alcabideche bei Lissabon. Leonor Noivo inszeniert auffällig und zudem hochprofessionell, wie es derzeit vermehrt in Arbeiten aus Portugal zu beobachten ist. Dokumentarisch bleibt es dennoch – Noivo ist Zeugin eines biografisch-emotionalen Dazwischen.

Carolin Weidner


Nominiert für Young Eyes Film Award

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Lemon Tree

Animationsfilm
2016
5 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Joana Silva (Royal College of Art)
Joana Silva
Joana Silva
Tim Webb, Joana Silva
Joana Silva
Joana Silva
Alice de Barrau, Mike Wyeld
Eine Biografie, erzählt anhand eines verlassenen Raumes. Wie Lebensphasen folgen Farbtöne aufeinander. Sie tauchen Möbel und Pflanzen ins Licht der Erinnerungen. Der Raum scheint organisch auf die Zeitsprünge zu reagieren. Erfahrungen aus drei Generationen von Joana Silvas Familie bilden den Kern der Hauptfigur, die die Regisseurin so beschreibt: ein „unbekanntes Familienmitglied, dessen Körper sich aus Fragmenten meiner selbst zusammensetzt“. Animiert wurden kleinste Gegenstände mit viel Textur.

Nadja Rademacher

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Penumbria

Dokumentarfilm
2016
9 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Rodrigo Areias (Bando à Parte)
Eduardo Brito
Joana Gama, Luís Fernandes
Jorge Quintela
Eduardo Brito, Rodrigo Areias
Eduardo Brito
Pedro Marinho
Wanderer, kommst du nach Penúmbria, hab acht! Denn von hier geht’s nirgendwo mehr hin. Penúmbria ist ein fiktiver Ort am Meer. Die Küste ist schroff. Die Wolken hängen schwer über dem Horizont. Tiefe Traurigkeit tropft aus allen Ritzen und die Infrastruktur liegt schon lange brach. Die Einheimischen hatten sich irgendwann entschlossen, ihr Gemeinwesen einfach dem Lauf der Zeit zu überlassen. Und eines Tages wird man vielleicht sagen: Die Erde ist so unbewohnbar wie Penúmbria. Eine Dystopie.

Ralph Eue

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Raw

Dokumentarfilm
2017
150 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Carlos Ruiz Carmona
Carlos Ruiz Carmona
Carlos Ruiz Carmona
Carlos Ruiz Carmona
Carlos Ruiz Carmona
Carlos Ruiz Carmona, Pedro Ribeiro
„Cru“ heißt „rau“, „roh“ oder auch „wund“. All das ist diese szenische Aneinanderreihung von Carlos Ruiz Carmona – Momentaufnahmen aus der portugiesischen Stadt Porto, die er über einen Zeitraum von bald einer Dekade gesammelt hat. Hier gibt es Filmküsse und heftig kopulierende Körper, zitternde Hände und Sex gegen Geld. Hostien knacken und Zähne werden ausgeschlagen. Die Bilder sind alles andere als glamourös und doch sind sie aufgeladen: Die Menschen in ihnen agieren angespannt und häufig aggressiv. Das Porto von Carlos Ruiz Carmona ist ein Energiefeld, in dem sich allerorts Spannung aufbaut und wieder entlädt, wo Menschen mal Empfänger, dann Sender jener Ströme werden. Der Film wirkt distanziert und dabei gleichermaßen intim, weil sein Regisseur zwar auf direkte Kommunikation verzichtet, aber ein bohrender Beobachter ist. Einer, den vor allem die Oberflächen interessieren, unter denen es brodelt und die kurz vorm Aufplatzen stehen – sei es in Form eines Ekzems, eines Schlags oder einer Geburt.

Carolin Weidner

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Surprise

Animadok
2017
9 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Nuno Amorim, Vanessa Ventura
Paulo Patrício
Yasuaki Shimizu & Saxophonettes
Paulo Patrício
Nuno Amorim, Joana Amorim
Daniela Duarte, Carina Beringuilho, Joana Amorim, Ana Sofia Gueifão, Inês Almendra
Paulo Patrício
Duarte Ferreira
Wie die flinken und wachen Gedanken der fast vierjährigen Alice fliegen Stift und Pinsel über das Papier. Aufblühende Aquarellkleckse, sich schlängelnde Linien und freundliche Figurenzeichnungen stülpen die Innenwelt des Mädchens nach außen. Zumeist mit optimistischem Kindermund, zuweilen mit Traurigkeit spricht die Kleine mit ihrer Mutter über ihre Nierenoperation und fragt sehr überlegt, wann sie ihre Niere ohne die Krankheit zurückbekommt.

André Eckardt

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

The Ashes Remain Warm

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Christoph Manz, Mónica Martins Nunes
Mónica Martins Nunes
Izandro Fernandes Montrond
Mónica Martins Nunes
Mónica Martins Nunes
Mónica Martins Nunes
Tiago Cutileiro, Mónica Martins Nunes
Pico do Fogo heißt der Vulkan auf den Kapverdischen Inseln, der während seines letzten Ausbruchs die kleine Gemeinde Chã das Caldeiras unter seiner Lava begrub. Wie eine schwarze Flut kam sie und hat nichts ausgelassen. Zu sehen ist jetzt eine meterhohe Decke verschlungener Formen, aus der einzelne Dächer lugen. Doch nach und nach kommen die Farben zurück – neues Grün sowie die Menschen, die das Gebiet nicht verlassen wollen.

Carolin Weidner



Ausgezeichnet mit der Goldenen Taube für den besten kurzen Dokumentarfilm im Internationalen Wettbewerb kurzer Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

The Moon the Sun and the Musketeers

Dokumentarfilm
2017
20 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Erika Winkler (Doc Nomads, Golden Apricot)
Vahagn Khachatryan
Vahagn Khachatryan, Rajan Kathet
Tigran Baghinyan, Vahagn Khachatryan
Vahagn Khachatryan
Vasco Pimentel, Katherina Harnack
Schön ist der bepflanzte Steinkübel, der unter einer Arkade steht, während auf der Straße jemand versucht, den Motor seines Fahrzeugs anzuwerfen. Und was ist das da, hinter der Säule? Der Schwanz eines Hundes? Mit unauffälligen, doch wohlkomponierten Bildern hat man es hier zu tun, in welche sich die Menschen (zumeist alte) einfügen – ruhig und in Eigenart. Sie rubbeln Lose und hacken Holz, trinken Kaffee und sitzen auf Bänken. Bis nachts das Dorf heimgesucht wird …

Carolin Weidner

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.