Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

International Programme
A Memory in Khaki Alfoz Tanjour

Khaki is the colour found in every Syrian, they say. This thesis is repeated in variations, soaring through art and ideas, while Alfoz Tanjour finds the right images to illustrate it.

A Memory in Khaki

Documentary Film
Qatar
2016
108 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Louai Haffar
Alfoz Tanjour
Kinan Azmeh
Ahmad Dakroub
Alfoz Tanjour
Alfoz Tanjour, Louai Haffar
“My blood is made of this city, of its stones, its neighbourhoods, its shops, its people and its mornings … My blood may be made of the smell of diesel in it.” Alfoz Tanjour visited the Syrian writer Ibrahim Samuel in Damascus in 2009 and filmed him sitting at his desk in an Adidas sweater, with coffee and cigarettes, in front of his manuscript. When Tanjour went to Moldavia to study film in the 1990s, a short story by Samuel was his first material. And this time, too, the intellectual inspires a work which despite its inherent weight is like a graceful flight. “A Memory in Khaki” shares the art and thoughts of people deeply marked by the oppressive Syrian regime – including a colour and its symbolism: khaki.

Carolin Weidner

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

City of the Sun

Documentary Film
Georgia,
Netherlands,
Qatar,
USA
2017
100 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Dea Kulumbegashvili, Rati Oneli, Jim Stark
Rati Oneli
Arseni Khachaturan
Ramiro Suárez
Dea Kulumbegashvili, Rati Oneli
Sonia Matrosova, Alexey Kobzar
Chiatura once set the pulse of the times. With the biggest manganese mine in the world, the city was a motor of the Soviet heavy industry. When Rati Oneli arrives, those days are over. Few things are moving, except for his camera which moves to capture a wide screen shot. Or perhaps there are: the minds and bodies of a music teacher, a miner and two young female athletes who persevere in what has become a ghost town. Oneli combines their portraits in a thrilling atmospheric tale that invokes the Georgian national epic and is enriched by suggestive music, giving a narrative form to his long film debut that at least gets the documentary elements flowing.

Zaza Rusadze

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Internationales Programm
A Memory in Khaki Alfoz Tanjour

Khaki sei die Farbe, die in jedem Syrer stecke, heißt es hier. Die These wiederholt sich in Variationen, fliegt durch Kunst und Gedanken. Und Alfoz Tanjour findet die richtigen Bilder dafür.

A Memory in Khaki

Dokumentarfilm
2016
108 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Louai Haffar
Alfoz Tanjour
Kinan Azmeh
Ahmad Dakroub
Alfoz Tanjour
Alfoz Tanjour, Louai Haffar
„Mein Blut besteht aus dieser Stadt, ihren Steinen, ihren Nachbarschaften, ihren Geschäften, ihren Menschen und ihren Morgen … Mein Blut ist vielleicht aus dem Geruch von Diesel gemacht, der in ihr ist.“ Alfoz Tanjour besucht den syrischen Schriftsteller Ibrahim Samuel 2009 in Damaskus und filmt ihn in seinem Adidas-Pullover am Schreibtisch sitzend, mit Kaffee und Zigarette vor seinem Manuskript. Als Tanjour in den 1990er Jahren nach Moldawien ging, um Film zu studieren, war eine Kurzgeschichte Samuels sein erster Stoff. Auch jetzt ist der Intellektuelle Ausgangspunkt für eine Arbeit, die trotz immanenter Schwere wie ein anmutiger Flug ist. „A Memory in Khaki“ teilt Kunst und Gedanken von Menschen, denen das oppressive syrische Regime eingeprägt ist – mitsamt einer Farbe und ihrer Symbolik: Khaki.

Carolin Weidner

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

City of the Sun

Dokumentarfilm
2017
100 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Dea Kulumbegashvili, Rati Oneli, Jim Stark
Rati Oneli
Arseni Khachaturan
Ramiro Suárez
Dea Kulumbegashvili, Rati Oneli
Sonia Matrosova, Alexey Kobzar
Einst gab Tschiatura der Zeit den Pulsschlag vor. Mit einem der weltweit größten Mangan-Bergwerke war die Stadt Motor der sowjetischen Schwerindustrie. Als Rati Oneli hier eintrifft, sind diese Zeiten vorbei. Wenig bewegt sich, außer seiner in die Breitbildweite fahrenden Kamera. Oder doch: die Gemüter und Körper eines Musiklehrers, eines Bergmannes und zweier junger Athletinnen, die am inzwischen geisterhaften Ort ausharren. Oneli fügt ihre Porträts zu einer fesselnden atmosphärischen Sage zusammen, die das georgische Nationalepos zitiert und mit suggestiver Musik ausgemalt ist. Damit gibt er seinem Langfilmdebüt eine narrative Form, die das Dokumentarische mindestens ins Fließen bringt.

Zaza Rusadze

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.