Film Archive

Film for Carlos

Documentary Film
Russia
2017
31 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Renato Borrayo Serrano, Marina Razbezhkina
Renato Borrayo Serrano
Renato Borrayo Serrano
Renato Borrayo Serrano
Renato Borrayo Serrano
Renato Borrayo Serrano
What’s the worst thing that could happen to a jubilant young father? A visit from the in-laws. What’s worse, they are citizens of Mother Russia, while the filmmaker father’s native language is Spanish, which means that the baby isn’t named Alyosha but, exactly, Carlos. It’s for him, “Carlushka”, that he wanted to record this hilarious and painful new family constellation unfolding between national chauvinism and loving, well-worn marital arguments, the director says. Sharp tongues, skilfully edited.

Barbara Wurm



Honorary Mention in the International Competition Short Documentary and Animated Film

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

International Programme
Harmony Lidia Sheinin

Grandmother needs nursing now and so five of the younger family members take command. A film about being old, a child, a mother and about sad farewells – to things, to life.

Harmony

Documentary Film
Russia
2017
62 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Lidia Sheinin
Lidia Sheinin
Lidia Sheinin
Lidia Sheinin
Lidia Sheinin, Makar Akhpashev, Andrey Fonin, Pavel Doreuli
It’s difficult to decide whether one should resent the slightly-built grandma for being grumpy. Her granddaughter is moving in to cook and care for her. But she is trailing four little children who brazenly hog the tiny average Soviet-era flat, crawl under their great-grandmother’s feet, leave crumbs everywhere and vividly demonstrate the modern school of educational methods. Babushka becomes a stranger in her own home. She tidies and mops up (after them) – it’s a miracle she never stumbles over the stretched woollen threads and diapered bottoms that are everywhere –, she whines and scolds. But the tears only start to flow when her beloved piano is to be “liquidated”, as she puts it …

Lidia Sheinin captures the emotional oscillations in this daily family chaos with a sure sense of closeness and distance. She surveys generations and attitudes in the smallest spaces, studies characters and relationships – and creates, in the midst of this frenzy, almost infinite zones of reflection about what ties us to each other.

Barbara Wurm


Nominated for MDR Film Prize

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

International Programme
Of Huge and Small Artem Funk

The question is not whether we’re afraid. The question is what we do when we’re afraid, says the activist Zhanna, who lives in Murmansk and has been classified as a “hostile agent” by the security forces for the past few years.

Of Huge and Small

Documentary Film
Germany,
Russia
2017
25 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Artem Funk
Artem Funk
Artem Funk
Artem Funk
Artem Funk
Artem Funk
The question is not whether we’re afraid. The question is what we do when we’re afraid, says the activist Zhanna, who lives in Murmansk and has been classified as a “hostile agent” by the security forces for the past few years. Zhanna lives with her fear and still speaks out about the present political situation – in Russia and elsewhere. It’s the only way she can reassure herself that we ourselves are writing our story.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Periphery

Animated Film
Russia
2017
4 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Nikolay Makovsky
Sasha Vasiliev
Yuri Ilyin
Sasha Vasiliev
Sasha Vasiliev
Sasha Vasiliev
Sasha Vasiliev
Sonya Matrosova
Alyosha would rather play than take the garbage out. Especially since the garbage chute is a giant turtle that carries his home on its back.

Lina Dinkla

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Next Masters Wettbewerb
The Wolf and the Seven Kids Elena Gutkina, Genrikh Ignatov

Father and son live in a house on the edge of the forest. An unusually close look at their daily life which nonetheless – or perhaps because of this – does not yield a general view.

The Wolf and the Seven Kids

Documentary Film
Russia
2017
52 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Elena Gutkina, Genrikh Ignatov
Elena Gutkina, Genrikh Ignatov
Elena Gutkina, Genrikh Ignatov
Elena Gutkina, Genrikh Ignatov
Elena Gutkina, Genrikh Ignatov
Anna Voskoboynikova
It’s as if a curtain was pushed aside. But there is no long shot of the stage or any interaction discernible from the distance. In Elena Gutkina’s and Genrikh Ignatov’s film we’re very close to everything. Very. As if a camera had focused on the interior of a doll’s house, standing fixedly still on thresholds and waiting, or lurking in front of a bed. The frame is just big enough to show the lower body and thighs. This is what we get for a while: a young man pulling up his underpants and pulling them down again, making sounds, perhaps singing.

Gutkina and Ignatov take their time. And so do the two men in whose world they are staying, albeit not moving. A father and his adult son, living in a shabby house on the edge of a forest. It’s hard to know what’s going on here. But something is going on, all the time, this much we know: fingers move, hands grasp. The unusual framing makes the content look abstract, even though everyday life is observed here. Gutkina and Ignatov offer no answers to the question of what to make of it.

Carolin Weidner


Nominated for MDR Film Prize

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Film for Carlos

Dokumentarfilm
2017
31 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Renato Borrayo Serrano, Marina Razbezhkina
Renato Borrayo Serrano
Renato Borrayo Serrano
Renato Borrayo Serrano
Renato Borrayo Serrano
Renato Borrayo Serrano
Schwiegerelternbesuch: Was kann einem überglücklichen Jungvater Schlimmeres passieren!? Dazu kommt, dass diese dem russischen Vaterland angehören, während der filmende Papa Spanisch zur Muttersprache hat und das Baby also nicht Aljoscha heißt, sondern eben: Carlos. Für ihn, „Karluschka“, wollte er, so der Regisseur, die „aberwitzig-schmerzliche“ Familien-Neukonstellation festhalten, die sich zwischen Nationalchauvinismus und liebevollen Alt-Ehegefechten entfaltet. Spitze Zungen, gewieft montiert.

Barbara Wurm



Lobende Erwähnung im Internationalen Wettbewerb kurzer Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Internationales Programm
Harmony Lidia Sheinin

Großmutter wird zum Pflegefall und so übernehmen fünf Jungfamilienmitglieder das Kommando. Ein Film über das Alt-, Kind-, Mutter-Sein und den schweren Abschied – von Dingen, vom Leben.

Harmony

Dokumentarfilm
2017
62 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Lidia Sheinin
Lidia Sheinin
Lidia Sheinin
Lidia Sheinin
Lidia Sheinin, Makar Akhpashev, Andrey Fonin, Pavel Doreuli
Man weiß nicht recht, ob man es der schmalen Omi übel nehmen soll, dass sie so grantig ist. Ihre Enkelin zieht zu ihr, um für sie zu kochen und sie zu unterstützen. Im Schlepptau jedoch sind auch deren vier Kinderchen, die nun ungehemmt die enge Sowjet-Durchschnittswohnung in Beschlag nehmen, ihrer Uroma vor die Füße krabbeln und krümeln und dabei deutlich die Schule moderner Erziehungsmethoden demonstrieren. Babuschka wird zum Fremdkörper in ihren eigenen vier Wänden. Sie räumt und wischt (nach) – dass sie zwischen aufgespannten Wollfäden und Windelpopos nicht stolpert, grenzt an ein Wunder –, sie jammert und schimpft. Erst als ihr geliebtes Klavier, wie sie sagt, „liquidiert“ werden soll, fließen erstmals Tränen …

Lidia Sheinin fängt das emotionale Oszillieren in diesem familiären Lebens- und Alltagswahnsinn mit viel Gespür für Nähe und Distanz ein. Auf engstem Raum durchmisst sie Generationen und Haltungen, studiert Charaktere und Beziehungen – und schafft mitten im wilden Treiben fast unendliche Zonen für die Reflexion darüber, was uns bindet.

Barbara Wurm


Nominiert für MDR-Filmpreis

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Internationales Programm
Of Huge and Small Artem Funk

Die Frage ist nicht, ob wir Angst haben. Die Frage ist, was wir tun, wenn wir Angst haben, sagt die Aktivistin Zhanna, die im Murmansk lebt und seit mehreren Jahren als „feindliche Agentin“ im Visier der Sicherheitskräfte steht.

Of Huge and Small

Dokumentarfilm
2017
25 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Artem Funk
Artem Funk
Artem Funk
Artem Funk
Artem Funk
Artem Funk
Die Frage ist nicht, ob wir Angst haben. Die Frage ist, was wir tun, wenn wir Angst haben, sagt die Aktivistin Zhanna, die im Murmansk lebt und seit mehreren Jahren als „feindliche Agentin“ im Visier der Sicherheitskräfte steht. Zhanna lebt mit der Angst und findet dennoch klare Worte für die gegenwärtige politische Lage – in Russland und anderswo. Nur so kann sie sich der Tatsache vergewissern, dass wir selbst es sind, die unsere Geschichte schreiben.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Periphery

Animationsfilm
2017
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Nikolay Makovsky
Sasha Vasiliev
Yuri Ilyin
Sasha Vasiliev
Sasha Vasiliev
Sasha Vasiliev
Sasha Vasiliev
Sonya Matrosova
Aljoscha will lieber spielen, als den Müll runterzubringen. Zumal der Müllschlucker eine Riesenschildkröte ist, die sein Zuhause auf dem Rücken trägt.

Lina Dinkla

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Next Masters Wettbewerb
The Wolf and the Seven Kids Elena Gutkina, Genrikh Ignatov

Vater und Sohn bewohnen ein Haus am Waldesrand. Aus ungewöhnlicher Nähe wird ihr Alltag gezeigt, der sich dennoch – oder gerade deshalb – dem Überblick entzieht.

The Wolf and the Seven Kids

Dokumentarfilm
2017
52 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Elena Gutkina, Genrikh Ignatov
Elena Gutkina, Genrikh Ignatov
Elena Gutkina, Genrikh Ignatov
Elena Gutkina, Genrikh Ignatov
Elena Gutkina, Genrikh Ignatov
Anna Voskoboynikova
Es ist, als würde ein Vorhang zur Seite geschoben. Doch zeigt sich auf der Bühne keine Totale und in ihr keine Interaktion, die man aus der Entfernung überblicken könnte. Im Film von Elena Gutkina und Genrikh Ignatov ist man nah dran. Sehr nah. Als hätte eine Kamera das Innere eines Puppenhauses in den Blick genommen. Starr steht sie an Türschwellen und wartet. Auch vor einem Bett lauert sie. Der Rahmen ist dann gerade groß genug, um Unterleib und Oberschenkel zu fassen. Mit ihnen hat man es dann auch eine Weile zu tun: Ein junger Mann zieht den Schlüpfer hoch und wieder runter, stößt Laute dabei aus, singt vielleicht etwas.

Gutkina und Ignatov lassen sich Zeit. Und so tun es auch die beiden Männer, in deren Welt sich zwar nicht zu bewegen, aber doch zumindest aufzuhalten ist. Ein Vater und sein erwachsener Sohn, die gemeinsam ein ärmliches Haus bewohnen, am Waldesrand. Man weiß nicht genau, was hier geschieht. Aber das etwas passiert, die ganze Zeit, das weiß man schon: Finger bewegen sich, Hände greifen. Die ungewöhnlichen Ausschnitte lassen Bildinhalte abstrakt wirken, obwohl es ein Alltag ist, den man hier sieht. Was von diesem wiederum zu halten ist, dafür bieten Gutkina und Ignatov keine Antwort an.

Carolin Weidner


Nominiert für MDR-Filmpreis

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.