Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

Bodycheck 2015
1977 Peque Varela

The game of life is about playing a role. The best actor wins. There are rules for girls and boys, women and men. But what happens if you’re not allowed to play because you don’t fit in?

1977

Documentary Film
Spain,
UK
2007
8 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gavin Humphries
Peque Varela
Natalie Holt
Neus Ollé-Soronellas
Fiona De Souza
Alejandra Jimenez, R. Vetusto, Kaori Hamilton
Peque Varela
Chu-li Shewring
The game of life is about playing a role. The best actor wins. There are rules for girls and boys, women and men. But what happens if you’re not allowed to play because you don’t fit in? How it feels to break out and make your own rules.

---Kim Busch
International Programme 2015
On Football Sergio Oksman

A film about football, but without players or a ball! Father and son, estranged for 20 years, experience the World Cup in São Paulo together: two opponents, counterattacks, passes. Beautifully batty.

On Football

Documentary Film
Spain
2015
67 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sergio Oksman, Guadalupe Balaguer
Sergio Oksman
André Brandao
Carlos Muguiro, Sergio Oksman
Carlos Muguiro, Sergio Oksman
Joao Godoy, Vitor Coroa
Grand: it’s all about football (as the title says), though (or because) not a single ball appears in the whole film and only one stadium (if only from a proper distance). 2014 was the year of the World Cup in Brazil. Sergio, a native Brazilian and now a filmmaker in Spain, agrees with his father Simão to spend the time of the World Cup with him and occasionally watch a match together – like they used to when Sergio was a child. His father owns a small, ailing television repair shop in São Paulo. He is passionately pig-headed and a dedicated smoker into the bargain.

Father and son had next to no contact during the past 20 years and the Cup could be the perfect occasion for a rapprochement. But the outcome of this plan is as uncertain as that of a football match. And so this film is less about football after all, though it works like a match: an open experimental set-up. A playing field. Two opposing parties. Moves. Counter attacks. Double passes. Goals. Everything the football lover’s heart desires, told in dialogues full of very slow-burning humour as they drive their car through a São Paulo exquisitely indifferent to the great global event of football.

Ralph Eue
International Programme 2015
Since the World Was World Günter Schwaiger

Slaughtering, ploughing, harvesting grapes and searching for illegal marihuana plants in the cornfield. Being a farmer in Castile: doggedly traditional in the crisis – a warm-hearted observation.

Since the World Was World

Documentary Film
Austria,
Spain
2015
103 minutes
subtitles: 
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Günter Schwaiger, Cristina G. Alía
Günter Schwaiger
Bence Boka, Los Linces
Günter Schwaiger
Günter Schwaiger, Martin Eller
Günter Schwaiger
Cristina García Alía
Gonzalo is a farmer of the old school who lives with his family in Castile. To be called an agronomist would probably be an insult to someone like him. His way of managing things is in many ways the opposite of the all-devouring economisation of all areas of life. But he only chose this existence as a resistance fighter half-freely – the other half was forced upon him. First of all by a tradition that’s effectively in his bones. Then by a deep rootedness in the soil that nourishes him. And finally by a sturdy philosophy that makes him say such simple and clear things like: “When everyone was throwing money out of the window and lighting fires with banknotes, our kind was considered outdated and backward. Now that most people have lost everything the others are no better off than us, and we are more or less the same.”

Empathetic “Schadenfreude” und a surrealist sense of humour are essential parts of Gonzalo’s rustic world. Günter Schwaiger’s affectionate long-term observation of this world could also be seen as cinematic medication to strengthen our immune system against the temptations of consumerism and agricultural capitalism – defences our mind urgently needs.

Ralph Eue
International Programme 2015
The Night Ocean María Lorenzo

The sea and its dangers and temptations forms the background of reflection for a poem by Robert Hayward Barlow, contrasting the gay swinging society of the 1920s and 30s with the sad and dark beauty of a nocturnal walk by the water.

The Night Ocean

Animated Film
Spain
2015
12 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Enrique Millán Almenar
María Lorenzo
Armando Bernabeu Lorenzo
María Lorenzo
Jordi Abellán
María Lorenzo, Sergio Pilán, Rafael Andrés
María Lorenzo
Pedro Aviñó
The sea and its dangers and temptations forms the background of reflection for a poem by Robert Hayward Barlow, contrasting the gay swinging society of the 1920s and 30s with the sad and dark beauty of a nocturnal walk by the water. Using different materials and techniques, the animation underpins the poem’s wistfulness and lets us look into the soul of the poet who committed suicide at the age of 32.

Annegret Richter
International Programme 2015
Winter Love Isabel Herguera

A winter landscape in Spain, hunters are crossing the field, bare shrubs stand out against the sky. In her atmospheric animation Isabel Herguera gathers a dreamy company of humans and animals around the table, set to the melancholy sound of a guitar.

Winter Love

Animated Film
Italy,
Spain
2015
8 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Isabel Herguera, Alessandro Ingaria
Isabel Herguera
Gianmarco Serra
Arun Prakash
Gianmarco Serra
Ranjeeta Rajeevan, Arun Prakash, Isabel Herguera
Isabel Herguera, Gianmarco Serra, Alessandro Ingaria
Gianmarco Serra, Xabi Erkizia
A winter landscape in Spain, hunters are crossing the field, bare shrubs stand out against the sky. In her atmospheric animation Isabel Herguera gathers a dreamy company of humans and animals around the table, set to the melancholy sound of a guitar. “Love me without talking” – silence unites, even evokes the mythical past and, quite in passing, joins painting and cut-out. A passionate appeal to listen to one’s interior and not to the murmur of the world.

Lars Meyer

Filmarchiv

Sections (Film Archive)

Bodycheck 2015
1977 Peque Varela

Im Spiel des Lebens geht es darum, eine Rolle einzunehmen. Es gewinnt, wer diese bestmöglich ausfüllt. Es gibt Regeln für Mädchen und Jungs, Frauen und Männer. Doch was passiert, wenn man nicht mitspielen darf, weil man nicht reinpasst?

1977

Dokumentarfilm
Spanien,
UK
2007
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gavin Humphries
Peque Varela
Natalie Holt
Neus Ollé-Soronellas
Fiona De Souza
Alejandra Jimenez, R. Vetusto, Kaori Hamilton
Peque Varela
Chu-li Shewring
Im Spiel des Lebens geht es darum, eine Rolle einzunehmen. Es gewinnt, wer diese bestmöglich ausfüllt. Es gibt Regeln für Mädchen und Jungs, Frauen und Männer. Doch was passiert, wenn man nicht mitspielen darf, weil man nicht reinpasst? Wie es sich anfühlt, auszubrechen und sein eigenes Regelwerk aufzustellen.

Kim Busch
Internationales Programm 2015
On Football Sergio Oksman

Ein Film über Fußball, aber ohne Spieler oder Ball! Vater und Sohn, seit 20 Jahren zerstritten, erleben gemeinsam in São Paulo die WM: zwei Gegner, Konter, Pässe. Wunderbar kauzig.

On Football

Dokumentarfilm
Spanien
2015
67 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sergio Oksman, Guadalupe Balaguer
Sergio Oksman
André Brandao
Carlos Muguiro, Sergio Oksman
Carlos Muguiro, Sergio Oksman
Joao Godoy, Vitor Coroa
Großartig: Es geht um Fußball (wie der Titel sagt), obwohl (oder weil) den ganzen Film über nicht einmal ein Ball und nur ein einziges Mal ein Stadion (und dies auch nur aus gehöriger Distanz) zu sehen sind. 2014 war das Jahr der Fußball-WM in Brasilien. Sergio, gebürtiger Brasilianer und inzwischen Filmemacher in Spanien, vereinbart mit seinem Vater Simão, die Zeit der WM miteinander zu verbringen und auch das eine oder andere Spiel gemeinsam zu schauen – so wie früher, als Sergio noch Kind war. Der Vater ist Inhaber einer kleinen, vor sich hinsiechenden TV-Reparaturwerkstatt in São Paulo. Er ist ein passionierter Dickschädel und obendrein leidenschaftlicher Raucher.

Während der vergangenen 20 Jahre hatten Vater und Sohn so gut wie keinen Kontakt, und die WM könnte vielleicht der passende Aufhänger sein, um sich einander wieder zu nähern. Doch wie beim Fußball weiß man bei so einem Vorhaben nicht, wie‘s ausgeht. So handelt dieser Film auch weniger vom Fußball – und funktioniert doch wie ein Match: als offene experimentelle Anordnung. Ein Spielfeld. Zwei gegnerische Hälften. Spielzüge. Konter. Doppelpässe. Tore. Alles, was das Herz des Fußballfans begehrt, erzählt über Dialoge mit einem very-slow-burning Humor. Dabei fahren sie gemeinsam mit dem Auto durch ein São Paulo, das sich wunderbar desinteressiert zeigt am großen Weltereignis Fußball.

Ralph Eue
Internationales Programm 2015
Since the World Was World Günter Schwaiger

Schlachten, pflügen, Wein ernten und im Maisfeld nach illegal gepflanztem Marihuana suchen. Bauer sein in Kastilien: widerständisch traditionell in der Krise, liebevoll beobachtet.

Since the World Was World

Dokumentarfilm
Österreich,
Spanien
2015
103 Minuten
Untertitel: 
deutsche

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Günter Schwaiger, Cristina G. Alía
Günter Schwaiger
Bence Boka, Los Linces
Günter Schwaiger
Günter Schwaiger, Martin Eller
Günter Schwaiger
Cristina García Alía
Gonzalo lebt mit seiner Familie als Bauer von altem Schlag in Kastilien. Für einen wie ihn würde es vermutlich eine Beleidigung bedeuten, sollte ihn jemand als Agronom bezeichnen. Seine Art des Wirtschaftens steht in vielem gegen die alles zermahlende Ökonomisierung sämtlicher Lebensbereiche. Die Existenz als Widerständler aber hat er nur zur Hälfte selbst gewählt. Zur anderen Hälfte ward sie ihm aufgegeben. Erstens von einer Tradition, die ihm gewissermaßen in den Knochen steckt. Zweitens von einer tiefen Verwurzelung in der Erde, die ihn nährt. Und schließlich auch einer handfesten Philosophie, die ihn solch einfache und klare Sätze sagen lässt, wie: „Früher, als alle das Geld zum Fenster hinaus warfen und mit Geldscheinen Feuer machten, wurde unsereins als überholt und rückständig angesehen. Jetzt, wo die meisten Leute nichts mehr haben, geht es den anderen so wie uns und uns nicht viel anders als zuvor.“

Empathische Schadenfreude und surrealistischer Humor sind essenzielle Bestandteile von Gonzalos bäuerlicher Lebenswelt. Günter Schwaigers zugewandte Betrachtung dieser Welt über einen langen Zeitraum hinweg lässt sich auch als kinematografische Arznei zur Steigerung der Abwehrkräfte gegen die Versuchungen von Konsumismus und Agrarkapitalismus sehen. Abwehrkräfte, die dringend gebraucht werden.

Ralph Eue
Internationales Programm 2015
The Night Ocean María Lorenzo

Das Meer mit seinen Gefahren und Verlockungen bietet die Reflexionsebene für ein Gedicht von Robert Hayward Barlow. Während einerseits die unbeschwerte Swing-Gesellschaft der 20er und 30er Jahre gezeigt wird, steht auf der anderen Seite die traurig-dunkle Schönheit eines Nachtspaziergangs am Wasser.

The Night Ocean

Animationsfilm
Spanien
2015
12 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Enrique Millán Almenar
María Lorenzo
Armando Bernabeu Lorenzo
María Lorenzo
Jordi Abellán
María Lorenzo, Sergio Pilán, Rafael Andrés
María Lorenzo
Pedro Aviñó
Das Meer mit seinen Gefahren und Verlockungen bietet die Reflexionsebene für ein Gedicht von Robert Hayward Barlow. Während einerseits die unbeschwerte Swing-Gesellschaft der 20er und 30er Jahre gezeigt wird, steht auf der anderen Seite die traurig-dunkle Schönheit eines Nachtspaziergangs am Wasser. Die Animation mit unterschiedlichen Materialien und Techniken unterstützt die Schwermut des Gedichts und eröffnet den Blick in die Seele des Dichters, der mit 32 Jahren Selbstmord beging.

Annegret Richter
Internationales Programm 2015
Winter Love Isabel Herguera

Eine Winterlandschaft in Spanien, Jäger durchstreifen das Feld, kahle Sträucher ragen in den Himmel. Isabel Herguera versammelt in ihrem atmosphärischen Animationsfilm eine verträumte Tischgesellschaft aus Mensch und Tier zum melancholischen Klang der Gitarre.

Winter Love

Animationsfilm
Italien,
Spanien
2015
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Isabel Herguera, Alessandro Ingaria
Isabel Herguera
Gianmarco Serra
Arun Prakash
Gianmarco Serra
Ranjeeta Rajeevan, Arun Prakash, Isabel Herguera
Isabel Herguera, Gianmarco Serra, Alessandro Ingaria
Gianmarco Serra, Xabi Erkizia
Eine Winterlandschaft in Spanien, Jäger durchstreifen das Feld, kahle Sträucher ragen in den Himmel. Isabel Herguera versammelt in ihrem atmosphärischen Animationsfilm eine verträumte Tischgesellschaft aus Mensch und Tier zum melancholischen Klang der Gitarre. „Love me without talking“ – das Schweigen verbindet, beschwört sogar die mythische Vergangenheit herauf und vereint ganz nebenbei Malerei und Cutout. Ein leidenschaftlicher Appell, nach innen zu horchen, statt auf das Geraune der Welt.

Lars Meyer