Film Archive

3 Stolen Cameras

Documentary Film
Spain,
Sweden
2017
17 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
Mariem Hassan
RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
David Gülich
We don’t see or hear much coming out of Western Sahara. The region was annexed by Morocco in 1979 and the Moroccan occupiers were able to impose an almost complete media blockade since then. For years, activists of the Equipe Media group have been the only ones who covertly film rallies, police brutality and human rights violations and smuggle the material abroad, while they themselves frequently get in the line of fire of the occupation forces.

Ralph Eue

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Burka Songs 2.0

Documentary Film
Sweden
2017
45 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Hanna Högstedt, Archana Khanna
Hanna Högstedt
Annika Busch, Maja Kekonius
Hanna Högstedt, Annika Ivarsson
Hanna Högstedt
Gustaf Berger
After a nationwide debate wearing a face veil was legally banned in France in 2011. The supporters argued that the veil was opposed to the values of the republic: equality of the sexes and freedom from religious oppression. The Swedish filmmaker Hanna Högstedt believes that this is populist symbolic politics and decides to act in a performance on the Avenue des Champs-Élysées that she has recorded on film: dressed in a black burka she sings the French national anthem at the top of her voice.

The reactions are not as expected. “Burka Songs 2.0” is Högstedt’s way of coming to terms with what happened during the filming and what reflections this triggered. She describes how difficult it is to find an attitude towards a political rhetoric regarded as dishonest and courting the masses without being drawn into the maelstrom of attributions herself. She realises that she won’t find satisfactory answers to her questions and decides to make her perplexity the starting point of this film. Högsted’s perspective is changed by talking to people who experience racism – with no intention to provoke – in their daily life. The Swedish filmmaker works her way through the ambivalence of her subject and at last reaches the conclusion that her own actions were – and are – not without presumption either.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Escaping Realities
I Was a Winner Jonas Odell

An armed warrior is running through a lonely forest. There used to be more of his kind here – more adventurers, more gamers.

2016

I Was a Winner

Animadoc
Sweden
2016
14 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Johan Edström
Jonas Odell
Niklas Lundgren
Jonas Odell, Richard Dinter
Frippe Jonsater
An armed warrior is running through a lonely forest. There used to be more of his kind here – more adventurers, more gamers. He and other players in an online role-playing game reflect on the times when it was more important to them than anything else. The outside world couldn’t reach them – relationships and families happened in the game, if at all. The protagonists, represented by their former avatars here, had to learn the painful way that fun had turned into a burden and then into addiction. In his animadoc film the director shows how hard it can be to log out of a virtual reality and return to the real world.


Kim Busch

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

3 Stolen Cameras

Dokumentarfilm
2017
17 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
Mariem Hassan
RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
RåFILM Filmmakers Collective, Equipe Media
David Gülich
Aus der Westsahara gibt es wenig zu sehen und zu hören. Seit 1979 ist das Gebiet von Marokko annektiert und die marokkanischen Besatzer konnten seither eine quasi vollständige Medienblockade durchsetzen. Aktivisten der Gruppe Equipe Media sind seit Jahren die Einzigen, die heimlich Aufnahmen von Demonstrationen, Polizeiübergriffen oder anderen Menschenrechtsverletzungen machen und ins Ausland schleusen. Immer wieder geraten sie dabei selbst in die Schusslinie der Okkupationsmacht.

Ralph Eue

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Internationales Programm
Burka Songs 2.0 Hanna Högstedt

Eine Performance gegen das Verschleierungsverbot in Frankreich wird zum Ausgangspunkt einer vielschichtigen Auseinandersetzung mit (strukturellem) Rassismus und (aktivistischer) Anmaßung.

Burka Songs 2.0

Dokumentarfilm
2017
45 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Hanna Högstedt, Archana Khanna
Hanna Högstedt
Annika Busch, Maja Kekonius
Hanna Högstedt, Annika Ivarsson
Hanna Högstedt
Gustaf Berger
Nach einer landesweiten Diskussion wurde in Frankreich das Tragen einer Gesichtsverschleierung 2011 gesetzlich verboten. Die Befürworter argumentierten, sie stehe im Gegensatz zu den Werten der Republik: Geschlechtergleichheit und Freiheit von religiösem Zwang. Die schwedische Filmemacherin Hanna Högstedt hält das für populistische Symbolpolitik und beschließt, eine Performance auf der Avenue des Champs-Élysées durchzuführen, bei der sie sich filmen lässt: Bekleidet mit einer schwarzen Burka, singt sie aus vollem Hals die französische Nationalhymne.

Die Reaktionen sind anders als erwartet. Mit „Burka Songs 2.0“ arbeitet Högstedt auf, was während der Aufnahmen geschah und welche Überlegungen dies bei ihr auslöste. Sie beschreibt, wie schwierig es ist, sich zu einer als verlogen empfundenen, um die Stammtische buhlenden Politrhetorik zu verhalten, ohne selbst in den Strudel der Zuschreibungen gezogen zu werden. Sie realisiert, dass sie auf ihre Fragen keine befriedigenden Antworten findet und entscheidet sich, ihre Ratlosigkeit zum Ausgangspunkt dieses Films zu machen. Im Gespräch mit Menschen, die im Alltag – ohne jede Absicht zur Provokation – Rassismus erfahren, ändert sich Högstedts Perspektive. Nach und nach arbeitet sich die Schwedin an der Ambivalenz des Themas ab und kommt schließlich zu der Erkenntnis, dass auch ihr eigenes Handeln nicht frei von Anmaßung war – und ist.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Escaping Realities
I Was a Winner Jonas Odell

Ein bewaffneter Krieger rennt durch einen einsamen Wald. Früher waren mehr von seiner Sorte hier – mehr Abenteurer, mehr Gamer.

2016

I Was a Winner

Animadok
2016
14 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Johan Edström
Jonas Odell
Niklas Lundgren
Jonas Odell, Richard Dinter
Frippe Jonsater
Ein bewaffneter Krieger rennt durch einen einsamen Wald. Früher waren mehr von seiner Sorte hier – mehr Abenteurer, mehr Gamer. Er und weitere Teilnehmer eines Online-Rollenspiels reflektieren über die Zeit, als es nichts Wichtigeres für sie gab. Die Außenwelt konnte nicht zu ihnen durchdringen – Beziehungen und Familien fanden, wenn überhaupt, im Spiel statt. Die Protagonisten, die hier durch ihre früheren Avatare repräsentiert werden, mussten schmerzhaft feststellen, dass aus dem Vergnügen eine Last und eine Sucht geworden war. Der Regisseur zeigt in seinem Animadok-Film, wie schwer es sein kann, sich aus der virtuellen Realität auszuloggen, um in die tatsächliche zurückzukehren.

Kim Busch

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.