Film Archive

Edition

Countries

When the Silence Comes

Animated Film
2018
4 minutes
subtitles: 
English
German
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Huang Liang-Hsin
Huang Liang-Hsin
Sarah Playford
Two figures fall silent and meet in sibling-like familiarity and mutual dissociation. Separated, they don’t fare particularly well, seem ill. As if attracted by an invisible magnet, the two keep searching each other, flow into each other, hair first, and form a protected world of their own, free from the grasp of words. Huang Liang-Hsin uses spare drawings and pointed animation to create delicate moments of silence.

André Eckardt

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

DOK Neuland
Your Spiritual Temple Sucks John Hsu

According to Taoist tradition, our fate is represented by a spiritual temple. Guided by a monk, a blindfolded person can enter the afterworld during their lifetime. The VR headset as an analogue blindfold is ritually charged.

2017

Your Spiritual Temple Sucks

360° Film
2017
10 minutes
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Estela Valdivieso Chen (Serendipity Films), Pu-Yuan Cheng (Funique VR Studio)
John Hsu
Owen Wang
Wayne Lo
John Hsu
Aacross Studio
Paul Batt
Ctwo, Sun Ke-Fang, Han Chang, Andy Tsai, Wei Hao Tseng, Liu Kuan-Ting
John Hsu
Funique VR Studio
According to Taoist tradition, our fate is represented by a spiritual temple. Guided by a monk, a blindfolded person can enter the afterworld during their lifetime. The VR headset as an analogue blindfold is ritually charged in order to follow Mister Chang to his temple of fate. Once there, we follow his attempts to resolve marital and financial problems.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Jahr

Countries

When the Silence Comes

Animationsfilm
2018
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
deutsche
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Huang Liang-Hsin
Huang Liang-Hsin
Sarah Playford
Zwei Figuren verstummen und begegnen sich in geschwisterlicher Vertrautheit und gegenseitiger Abgrenzung. Getrennt geht es ihnen nicht besonders gut, dann wirken sie krank. Wie von einem unsichtbaren Magneten angezogen, suchen sich die beiden immer wieder aufs Neue, fließen, mit den Haarschöpfen voran, ineinander und bilden eine geschützte Welt für sich, frei vom Zugriff der Worte. Huang Liang-Hsin gestaltet mit reduzierten Zeichnungen und pointierter Animation empfindsame Momente der Stille.

André Eckardt

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

DOK Neuland
Your Spiritual Temple Sucks John Hsu

Nach taoistischer Tradition repräsentiert ein spiritueller Tempel das eigene Schicksal. Geführt von einem Mönch, kann eine Person das Jenseits betreten. Das VR-Headset wird als analoge Augenbinde rituell aufgeladen.

2017

Your Spiritual Temple Sucks

360°- Film
2017
10 Minuten
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Estela Valdivieso Chen (Serendipity Films), Pu-Yuan Cheng (Funique VR Studio)
John Hsu
Owen Wang
Wayne Lo
John Hsu
Aacross Studio
Paul Batt
Ctwo, Sun Ke-Fang, Han Chang, Andy Tsai, Wei Hao Tseng, Liu Kuan-Ting
John Hsu
Funique VR Studio
Nach taoistischer Tradition repräsentiert ein spiritueller Tempel das eigene Schicksal. Geführt von einem Mönch, kann eine Person mit verbundenen Augen zu Lebzeiten das Jenseits betreten. Das VR-Headset wird als analoge Augenbinde rituell aufgeladen, um gemeinsam mit Mister Chang in dessen Schicksalstempel zu gelangen. Dort begleiten wir seine Versuche, Eheprobleme und finanzielle Sorgen zu beheben.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.